Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Giro 100 Proof Glove

Giro100 Proof Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(16 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(5)
(0)
(5)
(0)
(38%)
(31%)
(0%)
(31%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 2/16/2023
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Almost ski gloves

Just rode with these in 29F temps and was almost too warm. There is a bit of a moisture buildup problem, but I'm not sure that any single glove can handle sweat buildup and be so warm. Not having had lobster claw gloves before, I'm not sure about the single index finger design, but I did notice my index finger wasn't as warm as the rest of my hand (but NOT cold). I'd also add a reflective outer shell, because it is lacking in reflectivity for commuting.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/4/2022
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
eastern Massachusetts
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
stiff and not very warm

Not as warm as Castelli Espresso gloves. Not very flexible either. Wore them once at about 35F and never wore them again. One size up might have made them more brake lever friendly but it is hard to see how that would help with warmth. Gordini cross country ski mittens work 15degrees colder that the Espressos, and the Espressos work at least 5 degrees colder than these.

I was a commuter, 15 miles each way. Now I do a single ride 2 or 3 hours a day all temperatures which here means a low of about 14F = -10C

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michael Livingston

Reviewed 1/31/2022
by Michael Livingston
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley - Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
They do not keep index finger and thumb warm at temperatures below 40 degrees, and the desgin and bulk make gear shifting difficult.

I purchased these to use for my winter bicycle rides (about 30 miles). I'd tried other winter gloves, which didn't keep my hands warm, and, based on the product description for these gloves, I thought they'd solve the problem. They didn't. In addition to not keeping my thumb and index finger warm when the temperature was 40 degrees or less, the design and bulk made shifting gears and applying brakes difficult and imprecise, if not dangerous.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/8/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Warm but too restrictive

These gloves are very warm. But, with Di2 shifting it was impossible to move my fingers without accidentally shifting either or both levers. Out of habit, I would try to wrap my fingers around the hoods and, with some regularity, the thickness of the fingers would cause me to press the small shift lever on both sides. I only rode with them once and that was enough. They might work better if I drug out one of my older bikes with different shifters.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MW

Reviewed 2/1/2022
by MW
Cycling Enthusiast
Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Warm and still a decent amount of dexterity

I use these in our super cold Canadian winters (23 F or colder) and these still manage to do the trick with keeping my hands warm. It's important to have warm hands when you first put them on, and try to not take them off during your ride as you'll lose all your heat.

Incredible gloves!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/9/2021
by Anonymous
PNW
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Warm Winter Gloves

Warmth is very good. With three fingers together things stay toasty. I had trouble adapting to using these gloves with Di2 as I usually shift with my index finger and now only the first finger is independent but you get used to it. Also it takes a while to get used to wrapping your hands around the hoods with these. Overall they seem good quality and are quite warm. Sizing seems accurate to other Giro gloves I've used.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/10/2021
by Anonymous
PNW
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Warm Winter Gloves

Warmth is very good. With three fingers together things stay toasty. I had trouble adapting to using these gloves with Di2 as I usually shift with my index finger and now only the first finger is independent but you get used to it. Also it takes a while to get used to wrapping your hands around the hoods with these. Overall they seem good quality and are quite warm. Sizing seems accurate to other Giro gloves I've used.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Blue Lou

Reviewed 2/10/2022
by Blue Lou
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good product

Toasty with room for a hand warmer, too. Good down to 30F at least.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by FestiveNoodle

Reviewed 2/18/2019
by FestiveNoodle
Cycling Enthusiast
Erie, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Okay, weird fit. Not as warm.

Not as warm as I hoped. Index finger is too tight, with the seam pushing slightly in between index and the middle finger. Thumb is ok, but could use more space too. Cuff is too short, and cold air can enter the gloves from there. The back of the hand has nice fleece lining, but not the palm.

Otherwise good for lower 30 to midhigh 20s, but not any better than PI Lobster mitts. I would extend the cuff coverage, and make it a lobster, that way fingers could keep each other warmer.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/18/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, Ma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
a winter must

For those of you who suffer frozen hands and fingers in winter road riding, these are the gloves for you. Rugged yet flexible, they keep out the wind and cold. Indeed, they are too warm for tempreatures above 38 degrees. Terrific find. Thanks to biketiresdirect for solving my winter glove issues.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sam

Reviewed 2/1/2019
by Sam
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent gloves

Ride consistently in 30 degree temps and these are perfect. Shifting and breaking is no problem and these solved my cold hands problem for good. Ordinary finger gloves could never keep my fingers warm no matter how much insulation they had. Something about having your own fingers next to each other made the difference for me.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RZBiker

Reviewed 4/12/2021
by RZBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Product excellent service

Great product, warm and is like advertised

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/7/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
If its like all the other item I have purchase they will be great

I have not used them yet, but they look great.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joning52

Reviewed 2/25/2019
by Joning52
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Pennsylvania
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great for Winter Cycling, down to about 30 degrees.

I found that the sizing is a little small-order up a size. They work great, my hands are warm. But if your hands sweat and you take the gloves off, it is very hard to put them on again-the inner liner is sticky.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GR Biker

Reviewed 2/21/2019
by GR Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids, MI
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No Reason to Ride with Cold Hands

I wear the gloves to ride when it's too cold for regular four-finger gloves. They worked as I had hoped-kept my hands warm (even sweaty) when regular thermal gloves weren't sufficient.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by cindy_bc

Reviewed 1/10/2020
by cindy_bc
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Unfortunately, I ordered a medium and they were huge so I never wore them. I'm a woman and they must be sized for men.

The lobster gloves I've had in the past were a different brand and they've been the only gloves that kept my hands warm so I was excited to replace them. They were too large and bulky, though.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]