Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Varia UT800 Smart Headlight

GarminVaria UT800 Smart Headlight(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(19)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(68%)
(25%)
(4%)
(0%)
(4%)
Reviewed 11/16/2020
by Anonymous
california
Overall Rating
Great light but....

I ride about 40 miles in the morning before the sun comes up and will say, this light is amazing with how bright it is and how the beam gets stronger the faster you peddle. With that said, I really wish the battery life was better. For the price, it's a bit of a headache to be riding in the dark and the light go out without warning. I charge it after every ride now but still, for as expensive as it is I probably would've bought something cheaper knowing what I know now

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/16/2020
by JErvin
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Valley, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great light for safety on the roac

This light performs and keeps me safe while on the road. I wish the battery lasted longer so that I could use the light in its full-on settings. I always use it in the daylight blinking mode. It lasts me then on my long rides.

It's been the best light though that I've ever used.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Gab
Cruise
Overall Rating
Good item

Very bright and it connects to garmin computer very easy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2020
by Anonymous
USA
Overall Rating
I love this light so much

Such high quality. I paired it with my Garmin 1030, so I can control it from the computer. I have it in a mount that fits in the stem-no more clutter on my handlebars! I am so happy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Aaron
New Jersey
Overall Rating
Works great with my edge 830

Love this light ! Works perfect with my Garmin Edge 830

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2020
by Dr. Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great light

This light works amazingly well with the Garmin mount allowing the installation of the light under the computer and not on your bars taking up space. That said even though the light comes with an upfront dual mount, that mount places the Garmin Edge (1030 in my case) too high above the bars. But that might be as well a matter of opinion. I purchased from BTD the Garmin Out Front Mount (Edge 1030) Part Number 010-12563-00 and that places the Garmin at my preferred height flush with the bars. Pairing the light with the Garmin Edge is a snap and very easy to operate while riding as far as changing from the various settings. Highly recommend this light.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2020
by Christopher
Philadelphia
Overall Rating
Awesome headlight

Very bright, very 'smart' headlight. Syncs with my Garmin 1030 plus. Long battery life. Highly recommend this headlight

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2019
by Ragemann
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Light

Ive used this bike for about 1,000 miles in sunshine and dark morning rides. First the good, it is compact and mounts well to a GoPro style mount well. I have had to really synch it tight to keep it from slipping down when I hit bumps but as long as I do it works great. The beam at night is really bright and the road is well illuminated I can be seen and see very well. In daylight I use the flashing mode to be seen and to conserve battery. My riding buddys tell me its really visible from a long distance and the flash mode Really catches the eye, which is why I bought it and use it every ride. switching modes manually is reallyeasy with the large tactile button. My rides are 2-3 hours long and I have no battery problem with 1 hour steady and 2 hours flashing. I have not syncd with a cycle computer as mine was not compatible, yet. It takes a while to recharge and once fully charged slowly discharges over time. I charge mine after every ride and if I go a couple of days without use it will lose about 30% of its charge so I have to top off the charge the day of ride if I plan to go long. Hence the 4 not 5 stars. all in all, I would recommend this light.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington D.C.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Garmin has put out a finished great product this time.

After 6 month of use i really like this product. The only thing I could knock would be light adjustable angle pincher screw mount. Sometimes when going over rough road the light will loosen and change angles. I do not want to over tighten it do to the mount is plastic. Garmin should go to a grooved lock design that will stay put.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2020
by Ardul
kansas City, MO
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great light for long rides

Long battery. Perfectly paired with garmin computer one holder for all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2018
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent light

Easy to attach to the Garmin computer dual mount without taking up space on the handlebars. Also, very easy to turn on andor adjust mode while riding. It has a reasonable operating time before required recharging. It is also water-resistant as I found out when I was caught in a rainstorm. The headlight continued to function properly while my taillight (another brand) was not able to handle the deluge. However, the Varia is more expensive than other headlights of similar wattage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2019
by Bryan
Cycling Enthusiast
Rogers AR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great light that works wth Garmin

Run this light on my road and gravel bike. Easy to sync with my Garmin and like how the speed effects the brightness of the light saving power. I run it in flash mode during the day and its bright.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Bright, convenient, good battery life, takes up no room on your handlebar

The best thing about this light is that it doesn't clutter your handlebar with another gadget, but fits under a Garmin in a dual mount. I don't ride at night, but went to Europe and felt comfortable in the long, dark tunnels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2019
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good, not great

Nice beam, but there are some Bontrager and Light & Motion lights that have better ones. Good battery life, but when you use the smart life features the battery can burn through in 1.5 hours or less. Not incredibly expensive, but also not a great deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Francisco Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Look elsewhere

On its highest setting you'll be lucky to get 45 mins of light. Probably less. But wait there's more... when you sync the light up to your Garmin cycling computer using the smart technology be prepared to have the cycling computer completely freeze up and require a factory reset. That's right..... you'll need to re-program all your screens, personal data, etc... On the plus side, it looks nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2019
by RideAK
Cycling Enthusiast
Anchorage, AK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great light when combined with head unit

I have the light mounted to my helmet using a GoPro system. The light works well and the battery life has been very good. When connected to a Garmin head unit, the light will turn onoff automatically and will get brighter with speed. Light coverage is good for the trails I am riding. I generally have a light on the bars plus this one on the helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2018
by KING85
Brooklyn, NY
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Wonderful light

Garmin makes pretty good products and their UT800 is no different. Its bluetooth compatible and you can hook it up to your existing Garmin Edge device for connectivity. Its baytery life is pretty good lasting around a couple of hours on the solid beam section. I have this parked with the Garmin Varia and they work well with one another. Hopefully their next iteration the light will be better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/30/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Convenient and bright light

The road bike version of Varia 800 comes with dual holder for garmin gps and light. Easy to assemble and has settings for night riding to bright flashing for daytime. My only complaint and its not against the light so much but the blue tooth is interfering with my garmin 810. Its not supposed to work with the 810 but its causing pauseresume issues as its tryng to connect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2018
by NewportBeachRoadie
Competitive Racer
Newport Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Light - Well Made - Long Battery Life in Flasher Mode

Love the style, mount and workmanship. Mounts on the bottom of my Garmin mount. I used a 1030 in top and it connects to the light. I use the light in flasher mode to be seen during the day by motorists.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2018
by Alliance Iglesias LLC
Forest Hills NY.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect smartligh

It works flawlessly with my Garmin Varia light system And integrates perfectly with my Garmin edge 1000.

Perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 35