Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Varia RTL515 Radar With Tail Light

GarminVaria RTL515 Radar With Tail Light(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(137 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(128)
(6)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(93%)
(4%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 8/2/2021
by mverni
Cycling Enthusiast
las vegas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin Varia RTL515 Radar With Tail Light

This is my third unit. Worthwhile upgrade from RTL510. Dual notification of approaching cars: visual on the head unit and sensory, by iPhone vibration in your pocket.

Battery is long lasting.

Would never consider road riding without this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2021
by DSS
Cycling Enthusiast
Northampton, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A terrific product, that I highly recommend. Provides an additional level of safety.

I tend to listen to podcasts when I ride, and the auditory signals that the Varia send out provide an alert to switch my attention to traffic approaching from the rear. My experience is that it gives virtually no false positives. The light flashes when a car is approaching, and if someone is riding with me they also get this visual warning to be vigilant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2021
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Most awesome!

The word "awesome" is overused. Not in this case. You feel like you have eyes in the back of your head. The alerts, yellow to red, definitely help with situational awareness. It isn't a solution to distracted drivers, but now I know when a vehicle is approaching too fast, too close or is just big.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by kchester
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It's a lifer saver when riding alone

Initial testing

Tested my new Varia today in today's morning ride - In a straight line it's great - Could not detect the cars sneaking out of alleys - it did- when it's too near. My conclusion -it's good to have both the radar and a mirror

Summary after 2 months

The Varia is a literal lifesaver when riding alone on quiet roads.I�d say the Varia is best suited for quiet country roads and very small groups where you get limited traffic and need a warning that a car is approaching, especially helpful when your mind is wandering from taking in the sights.

There are supposed to be some tricks to reduce false hits when riding in a larger group

When riding in a group, look behind for teammates to stay at a group pace or keep the group together.

When turning right, after an initial check for traffic, I can continue looking while turning, but the Varia radar is still pointing to the angle of the old road.

Wishlist:

Size of car or truck behind. Helps me decide how much I need to swerve out of the way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/5/2021
by MIG
Cycling Enthusiast
CT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It works perfectly.

I use it as my first look when I change lanes in traffic. It works so consistently well I can solely rely on it almost 100% of the time .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2021
by CB
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Worth It for Safety

While this unit is not cheap, it lets your Garmin computer sync and provide information about cars approaching from the rear. Far enough range and give a bit more peace of mind when on the road. Picks up cars long before I hear them approaching.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2021
by Ricky
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice to have when riding solo

It's a great tool to know whether you have traffic sneaking up behind you to remind you to pull to the right. Super useful on roads with light traffic since you will be constantly alerted if you are riding along a busy street. The only improvement I would like to see is a more secure way to mount to the seat post. The rubber band is pretty slim.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2021
by femike99
Cycling Enthusiast
FL and Upstate NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great light!

For a long time, I didn't think a Varia was necessary. I used a "dumb" rear light for several years. But, given some of the roads that we ride, I decided to try it out.

I'm impressed. The combination of the Varia with my Garmin head unit provides a much better than expected warning of approaching cars. There's an additional measure of awareness that I'm sure that I didn't know I was missing.

I' can't ride without it now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2022
by jodieakins
Casual Cyclist
mississippi
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice extra measure of safety

It is great to have an extra set of eyes behind you providing that feeling of safety.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2022
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Prompt service, works great, setup required 12 minutes with Garmin CSR to properly pair.

This is a great product to help you more aware of your surroundings as you cycle. Ultimately, it provides you and those with you a safer riding environment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2021
by 9775
Utah
Overall Rating
Love it

This has been great can't believe I waited so long to by it. It is great on narrow and busy roads. If riding on a frontage rd it will pick up cars from the highway. Can't imagine riding without it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by MooreRE
Cycling Enthusiast
Evans, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The Garmin Varia RTL515 Tail Light is a very 0utstanding light.

I use the light when I'm doing my training rides by myself. It's helps out a lot. I don't have to keep looking back for cars behind me. I also use it during group rides too. I helps keeping the group together and safe. This is a awesome product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by Rob
SoCal Simi Valley
Overall Rating
The Best Rear Light You Can Own!!!

The Garmin Varia RLT515 is the best taillight you can own! It works better than I ever thought, knows if a vehicle is behind you better than looking back. So much safer making a left and just in general. Great product, and BikeTiresDirect got it to me unbelievable fast!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/25/2021
by Miguel
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Situational awareness for both cyclist and motorist in a compact affordable package!

I recently purchased this light to go with my 830 head unit.

No regrets and no more craning your neck to see whats about to hit you.

This thing really works and provides you with real metrics to gauge traffic proximity and speed.

It's a game-changer - highly recommended

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/13/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Rtl515

Great gaget

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/11/2020
by Jessy T.
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, Tx
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Little Light.

The light is small, but more than adequate during the day or night. But the most important aspect is that I can pair it with my i-phone and it gives me clear warnings when there is a car(s) behind me. It generally picks up the cars at about 75 yards, which I think is more than adequate. I am more than happy with it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2020
by MikeM
Cycling Enthusiast
Bluffton, SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Product

It is very nice knowing that a car is approaching without having to use a mirror. The light seems to be very bright and noticeable. Because of the pandemic I have been riding alone so have not determined how it affects other riders in a paceline.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/25/2021
by M. Andrada
San Francisco bay Area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Dont drop device on a hard surface.

Dont drop on a hard surface. It may nor power back on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/18/2021
by Gerrit
Palm Harbor, FL
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent product

Very glad that I bought the Garmin Radar tail light. It's great knowing when a car comes up behind me.

Excellent

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Mark Taylor
Cycling Enthusiast
Lithia, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent product for rear traffic awareness and cyclist visibility.

I really like this product. Before having it I was always wondering about traffic coming on behind and getting distracted with looking back. Now I know what's coming well before it passes me. I also know that the light is helping with visibility as it kicks in to high gear flashing when it detects a car approaching. Fantastic

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 73

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]