Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Varia RTL515 Radar With Tail Light

GarminVaria RTL515 Radar With Tail Light(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(97%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/19/2020
by Paul F
Cycling Enthusiast
Franklin Mass
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great kight for visibility on the rear and radar function

excellent battery life

great app for battery and warning of approaching vehicles

Garmin computer syncs seamlessly with the light, and you as a rider can get prepared for passing cars with plenty of warning, ~ 1 mile on a straight road, less on curvy roads. Love it! feel naked riding without one now!

I think this is a must have safety item unfortunately these days, with so many distracted drivers and so many large vehicles that approach us way too close for comfort.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Mark Taylor
Cycling Enthusiast
Lithia, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent product for rear traffic awareness and cyclist visibility.

I really like this product. Before having it I was always wondering about traffic coming on behind and getting distracted with looking back. Now I know what's coming well before it passes me. I also know that the light is helping with visibility as it kicks in to high gear flashing when it detects a car approaching. Fantastic

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2020
by Mike
Liverpool
Overall Rating
Wow ! Such a great product. All my cycling pals have one now .

Easy to set up and link with my Garmin 1000 and phone if needed . Such a great device now you don't have to be Surprised by a car on top of you . Now you'll know When a cars coming from behind.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Thunderhawk
Cycling Enthusiast
Encinitas, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Total game changer

Total game changer. I know now when I need to look over my shoulder when a Tesla sneaks up on me. Love it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2020
by BKane
Competitive Racer
Western Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Immediately indispensable

The Varia RTL515 has immediately become indispensable for me. I ride mostly country roads and have never been able to get used to a helmet mirror, so the Varia is great. It picks up vehicles at the same time as my riding partners with mirrors. The battery life is fantastic - no problem for 100+ mile rides. Garmin undersells what I think is a great feature - the reactive-blink tail light. I think drivers intuit that increasing blinking to mean you know they're there, and they are less apt to brush you with their side view mirror. The only feature/flaw that I see as a negative is that any vehicle that appears on the radar then matches your speed disappears! Once you realize that, you can adjust your perceptions accordingly, but this characteristic of the radar could be in all caps in the manual. Overall, not inexpensive but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best Cycling Product Ever

This product to me is a game changer. I bought this because with the pandemic I was mainly riding alone and felt more vulnerable to cars than in a group of 20 riders. This tells you without looking that a car is coming from about 1 1/2 football fields away (I think actually 143 meters). You can see it approaching you and how fast. I know if I happen to be riding side by side to mover over or if by myself to move as far right as I can. Even if there are things in the road like a hole or debris I know if I can just go right around it or if I need to slow down because there is a car. The brightness of the flashing rear light increases as does the frequency when it detects a car. There is also an audible tone if you want and colors of the approaching car to indicate how fast it is approaching. I see people riding with mirrors but this if far superior. I think at $199 it is the deal of the century. Seems more than worth it to avoid getting hit by a car. Battery life is great. Syncs perfectly every time to my Garmin. Easily can be transferred from bike to bike. Takes about 30 seconds.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/24/2020
by Val b
Mt Vernon NY
Overall Rating
One of the best cycling products that hit the shelf

Out of all the money I have spent as a cyclist this is the greatest investment I've made I feel so safe riding my bike let me know a block and a half away that a car is behind me! And the number of cars to how great is that!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2020
by Anonymous
USA
Overall Rating
I love this light so much

I feel so much safer with this light. I paired it with my new Garmin 1030 & I can control it from the computer! No more twisting around in my seat, or having to get off my bike to change the settings.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2020
by JNaz
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashburn , VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Acts as a eye on the back of the head!

I use the rear tail light (rtl) radar every time ride on roads. It has really given me the confidence to ride on roads with cars approaching me from behind. I feel like it's a third eye (rear-facing).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2020
by Rob Hill
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
May seem unneccesary - until you try it.

It only takes one ride to realize how valuable this is. It works extremely well. It does not get fooled and give false alarms very often. However, if you are riding on a trail that parallels a street, it will rightfully pick up that traffic. If you make a 90 degree turn, the cars passing on the street you just turned off of, will briefly trigger the radar. When you do get an alarm (a very distinct beep) there is plenty of time to react and being able to track its progress is fantastic. If there are multiple cars approaching you will see multiple dots on the screen. It does very well on twisty roads as well. It detects cars approaching around corners sometimes before you can see them. My only word of caution is to always charge it up before every ride. Not that it doesn't have a good battery but It takes a lot of power to do all this and a real bummer if it runs out during a ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I love this thing!

I thought it would be gimmicky but it's my new must have item for any ride! While I still shoulder check for oncoming cars when moving into traffic it's great for taking the lane. I can just ride until it beeps to let me know a car is approaching. And it works great with my Garmin 830.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2020
by Anonymous
CNY
Overall Rating
Amazing Safety Device!

Paired with my edge 530, this thing is a great addition to my road cycling. I feel much less exposed knowing when cars are coming without craning my head around to look, the face that the light gets brighter when a car is coming is also great. The only downside is somewhat limited battery life and the fact that it identifies people who are cycling behind you fairly often.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2020
by OKBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Claremore, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I once thought it would be nice to have, now I won't ride without it!

The ability to detect multiple vehicles and a general idea of how quickly they are approaching you is great. I still check my mirror to confirm, but I hear the beep well before the vehicle. My only wish is that my garmin would sound a little louder, particularly with a headwind (which has nothing directly to do with this unit).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2020
by Mick
Cycling Enthusiast
South Dakota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
I wont ride without it.

Im 75 with bad hearing and cant wear my hearing aids because of the wind noise. I ride in Spearfish Canyon and there is a lot of traffic at times and loging trucks. It works great and if the are several vehicles behind me it will show each one on the led lights.

My son bought it for me on Fathers Day several year ago and I been using it ever since

I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2020
by Jeroen
Oceano
Overall Rating
Awesome light

Light is supper bright and is working great as advertised

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Amazing product.

Very happy with my new Varia Radar. Feel a lot safer on the road in addition to work extremely well out of the box. Would recommend again to any enthusiast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/31/2020
by exsoas
pasadena
Overall Rating
Works as promised

its bright and I have yet to run through the battery

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Must purchase if you ride with traffic

I didn�t need this, at least I didn�t think I did. I was skeptical but I have found this radar to be a great addition to my bike and rides. It alerts you to traffic coming up on you as well as the number of vehicles and relative distances. Four of my riding partners have purchased and we all wonder what took us so long.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Sleek, functional, essential for riding

I Upgraded from the RTL 500. Very happy with this light. High visibility. The vertical profile does forced me to use a less bulky seat bag in order for the radar to clear the rear wheel, and not block the visibility of the lights to approaching cars.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/30/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
total game changer, get one.

obviously tells you when cars are approaching so you can move over, but especially helpful on the down hill so you can take curves wide when the coast is clear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 15