Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Varia Radar 2 RTL510 Rear Light

GarminVaria Radar 2 RTL510 Rear Light(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(110 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(90)
(20)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 7/8/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent

Been riding for over 30 years and this is great. Hook it up to your smart phone or garmin and have peace of mind. Picks up vehicles pretty far back and multiple vehicles too. Good light too nice and bright and can be seen far away and has multiple light settings. For the price its a great deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2020
by John
Minnesota
Overall Rating
There are only two kinds of riders....

... those that love their Varia radar and those that havent tried it.

Thats a quote from Ray Maker of DCRainmaker fame and that pretty well nails it when it comes to the Varia Radar.

Excellent taillight that has a great optic that makes it super visible way down the road. The warning is hyper helpful. I dont know a single person that regrets using one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great not having to worry about looking back all the time.

I like that it has good battery life. It has turned its self off a couple of times will riding. When I restarted it came on for the rest of the ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2018
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
53 of 54 customers found this review helpful.
The Radar Taillight v2.0

I had the original Varia Radar taillight and thought it was a great idea. I ride on rural roads that have high speed limits so I only get 5-6 seconds of warning before a vehicle is on me. So knowing what is approaching from behind dynamically is a huge advantage in safety for me.

The Original Varia Radar was great but it had three serious failings First, the taillight was all but useless and was far too low in power. Second, the form factor was all wrong with it being oriented horizontally and tending to interfere with my legs unless it was positioned perfectly. This unit fixes both of those problems. The Taillight is BRIGHT and works great as a daylight flasher. You can see if from a mile away and, as a driver, your eye is drawn to it. The form factor is vertical which solves the leg interference problem. So that's all good. Third, the head unit (available as a bundle) now includes a beeper so you get an audio warning of an approaching target as well.

The only reason I gave it 4 stars for value is that you really should buy the total package of a head unit plus the taillight. Garmin won't sell the head unit separately and should.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/3/2020
by Ross
Southern California
Overall Rating
Love this light

This is a game changer, especially for people like me who can't turn their heads well to look behind. BI still do look back but this radar light has worked 100 percent of the time in terms of cars behind me. I would give it 5 stars but I had some problems with the device staying connected to my Edge 1030. It seems to have corrected itself

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2019
by Baron
Competitive Racer
Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
BUY IT!

If you ride on roads with vehicle traffic, you NEED this item! I no longer have to look behind me or listen for traffic, this device will inform you on your Garmin screen of the vehicles behind you and reference roughly how soon they will be upon you and pass you. The ability to display up to 8 vehicles behind you, on the right side of your Garmin screen, will be appreciated too. It is one of the best cycling safety devices I have purchased. Well worth the price!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2020
by hballe1
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So Happy I got it, I feel safer and more aware

One of the best investments I have made to my bike. Also the price of $$$!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by funrider
Cycling Enthusiast
torrance ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
this rear light makes riding safer

I ride on city streets with traffic and with the radar I know when someone is approaching and how fast they are moving...it really helps to keep me aware of my surroundings...very helpful!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Essential safety equipment

I don't ride on the road without this on my bike. The radar function works extremely well and gives me plenty of warning when a car is coming from behind. It probably wouldn't be as useful on a busy road where there is constant traffic. But I ride in uncongested roads where the cars can be traveling quite fast and this gives me extra peace of mind. The light is a bonus for making me more visible to cars. I especially like the flashing mode.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by relaxed77
Casual Cyclist
San Antonio, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Ideal for high traffic situtations

During road cycling, you don't always know how many vehicles are behind you. not only will you Garmin alert you of upcoming traffic, it can let you know the number of vehicles that are there as well. Love that feature, especially when sudden changes may have to be made.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2020
by Ephil
North CA
Overall Rating
Top stuff

Great product. Easy set up and easy to use. Picks up cars, motorcycles and bikes. Great for quiet mountain roads that see little traffic. Reminds me to be careful for that car I rarely seehear behind me. It picked up 4 ATVs on ride yesterday. I could tell where each was.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2020
by Steven
Henderson
Overall Rating
Varia

Do not leave home without it, never

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2020
by Dave
Fort Myers
Overall Rating
Variable Radar

Originally I thought why would I spend $200 on a tail light for my bike? Well, so far it has been the best money I have spent. Cycling on the road has inherent dangers. With the radar I have a tool that lets me know what is coming up behind me. Combined with mirrors, it certainly helps.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2020
by bkfeinberg
Cycling Enthusiast
Cupertino, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works well, but needs more mount options

I've had this for about three months now. It picks up cars at a good range, but you do need to point it straight back, and for those of us who do long distance rides where we need a large saddle bag that is a challenge. I've been mounting it on the left seat stay when I do that, but then it doesn't point straight back or quite level. It's a pity that there aren't more mount options. Also for long distance, it would be nice if there was a mode where it just acted as a radar, and not a light. The battery could last much longer then.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2020
by Allan
Foster City
Overall Rating
Best Tail Light Ever

I've purchased so many lights I can't even count. It gives me great peace of mind knowing what's coming up behind. It is especially useful when changing lanes. One small complaint is to increase battery capacity. I average about 6-8 hours of ride in a single charge.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by George
Mid Atlantic
Overall Rating
Best Safety Innovation Since the Helmet

Pros Intuitive to use, fast set up and it reliably works. Perfect for light to medium traffic backroads. Alerts both the rider of a car behind well in advance via alert on cyclocomputer and alerts the overtaking driver with different light flashes. After 2 months of using it, I would say at least 80% of drivers slow down more and give me more room due to this device and it snaps me out of any potential day dreaming to alert me of an overtaking vehicle.

Cons if you ride in high density traffic, it will be much less effective as it will go off constantly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/14/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great for solo rides

Light catches all oncoming traffic. But it can also alert you of other bikers you are riding with. Also can drain your battery on your computer quickly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2020
by Sties
Cycling Enthusiast
Loveland, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is indispensible

I'm not sure I can ride without this anymore. It has saved me at least three times from major accidents with cars behind not paying attention. This is now a MUST for when I go out riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/1/2020
by Ross
Chicagoland, IL
Overall Rating
Great product

This light keeps me more aware of traffic and gives me an extra set of eyes when trying to change lanes. I would recommend this to anyone!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great help for solo rides

Wouldnt ride solo without it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 45