Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Garmin Tacx NEO Motion Plates

Garmin TacxNEO Motion Plates(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(63%)
(38%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by SJD

Reviewed 9/13/2022
by SJD
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A good product even if overpriced

I bought these a while back and finally had a rainy day to try them out. I had been previously using a well-built, homemade, rocker plate but it just never accomplished what I was looking for. The extra side-to-side movement really didn't help with any comfort. After hearing positive reviews on these motion plates, I decided to go ahead and splurge. It turned out to be a good decision. That little bit of fore-and-aft movement makes quite a bit of difference and has a much more natural feel. It definitely feels more like being out on a ride than my rocker plate ever did. I rode about 3 hours on Zwift and didn't start having any saddle issues until about the last 15 minutes or so. As has been pointed out on YouTube, you can't sprint with these plates because they will slam against the fore and aft limits and throw off your pedaling. That's not an issue for me as I don't race or do full-on sprints. However, if you need to stand up while climbing or just to get out of the saddle for a bit, I found that I was easily able to make a smooth transition without hitting the limits at all.

On to the price. Yes, they are overpriced for what they are but as has been pointed out, they are less than other comparable products. Even if you built your own rocker plate with fore-and-aft and side-to-side movement, you would probably spend just as much and end up with something that takes up a lot of real estate. These motion plates take up no space and I love that clean look. In the end, I think they are definitely worth it if you really need some movement in your indoor training.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Matt M.

Reviewed 10/12/2022
by Matt M.
Cycling Enthusiast
Stevensville, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
You're getting a SMARTER trainer

This is brilliant. The movement is really good and takes little getting used to. The little bit of rocking makes it more comfortable and dare I say offers a more realistic feel. I don't recommend steep climbs out of the saddle. Gear down and spin your cranks. Make sure the arrow on the wheel block lines up with the axle on the front wheel. It would be nice if they offered a way to lock these in place or if they made this a permanent feature of the trainer. Hey Garmin are you listening?? A remote lockout would be incredibly convenient so you don't have to remove them for different workouts. Anyway. This is my thoughts, saves space, adds value, less fatiguing, and more realistic.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by L. Brown

Reviewed 5/12/2022
by L. Brown
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Provides fore and aft movement but at a premium cost.

The Neo 2T offers some side to side movement out of the box but the motion plates offer front to back movement. The plates give the Neo a more natural movement and I really like that but when you see what they are and what they are made of you have to wonder "why so expensive". And that is where Garmin has got you if you want more natural motion. They are on par or cheaper than most rocker plates and I think they perform just as well, look better, and take up less space but you will ask yourself why do they cost so much? You can find instructions on the internet for building your own at a fraction of the price but these look like they are just an extension of the Neo itself. Bottom line is they function well and look great but cost way too much for what they are. If you want motion suck it up and buy them. They are custom made for the Neo and are in the ballpark of the price for other rocker plates that do the same thing.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 3/10/2023
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
okahoma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice, Small and easy.

They didn't change the world but they are nice. The side to side movement built into the Neo that other trainers don't have is more important than the forward and back movement of these motion plates. The motion plates do add some comfort and at not a great cost but it isn't that much. They have to be a better deal than one of the big rocker plates especially for for a Neo. Hopefully Garmin will start including these with the Neo soon.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 6/2/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Expensive but effective

This is an ideal alternative to a rocker plate if you have a Tacx Neo. It provides enough fore-aft movement to make long trainer rides more comfortable but doesn't add to the footprint of the trainer.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tnguyen65

Reviewed 1/16/2023
by tnguyen65
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston. TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tacx Neo Motion Plates

Ease of use, easy to install, movement like riding outside.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LALO

Reviewed 5/12/2022
by LALO
Cycling Enthusiast
CALEXIco CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT ITEM

SUPER REAL ROAD SENSATION, YOU REST A LOT.

super easy to install.

great !, great item !!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MHB

Reviewed 3/29/2022
by MHB
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate NY
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Definitely enhances the Neo 2t trainer experience.

Never heard of these until the morning they were released for sale last week, a spur of the moment purchase that actually shipped that night even though they were noted as backordered, I received mine today. During my inaugural ride on Zwift tonight after a remarkably easy installation I found that the inch of fore / aft free float movement radically improved the ride experience. Seems to make the bike "float" in combination with the slight side to side flex built into the Neo, even less feel of being locked in place. More natural. The ride was about 25 miles, I can see where the comfort will help on longer rides. I did not try standing or sprinting, two areas mentioned as being a weakness. Very glad I grabbed a set before they became officially backordered.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]