Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Tacx Neo 2T Smart Direct Drive Trainer

Garmin TacxNeo 2T Smart Direct Drive Trainer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(47 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(13%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/18/2021
by ChanS
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, OH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
I've tried them all, this one's tops on my list

Over the past 5 years I've gone through the gamut of indoor trainers, starting with low end wheel-on, rollers, eventually springing for direct drive. The wheel-on options never impressed--too noisy, unrealistic feel, chews through tires, etc. I wound up just continuing to ride through winter with better clothing. I did really like rollers for realistic feel and forcing improvements to pedal stroke smoothness, but let's face it--even a second of distraction on rollers can lead to crash/injury, so not exactly something to spin away while streaming. So if you're serious about indoor training, you'll eventually come around to direct drive.

Now when it comes to direct drive, there are a handful of options, and I've used three of the top brands. You can't go wrong with any of them IMO, though I'll point out a couple aspects of this one that on my scorecard put it slightly ahead of the rest:

1--whisper quiet. The nicer ones are all quiet, this one makes no sound at all unless you plug it in, in which case it comically CREATES a but of noise by spinning the freewheel hub when you are simulating descent so that it adds a touch of realism (and this can be disabled if you find that annoying)

2--supports a bit of side to side rocker motion. Fixed/locked trainers only unrealistic "feel" is when you amp up the effort, sprint, etc. and don't get that real-world swaying of the frame. This is why there are a few (expensive) rocker plate solutions for the higher end cyclists. This supports a few degrees of side to side swaying that makes for a more comfortable and realistic ride.

3--a gimmick, to be sure, but this simulates "road surface" changes. So if you're on Zwift and hit a stretch of dirt or cobbles, you'll feel small vibration. I personally think it's cute but if given a choice of including it or dropping the price by $25-50 without this, I'd ditch it. It's very minor vibration, hardly Roubaix pave...

All the main specs, ease of setup, etc. are just what you'd expect at this end of the market, simply outstanding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2022
by jlabombard
Cycling Enthusiast
Plattsburgh NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent high quality trainer!!!

I did a lot of research before purchasing my 1st trainer in Feb 2021. The original brand that I purchased back then was in the same category as this trainer. While both perform at very high levels, the Neo 2T can mimic up to a 25% grade vs my other trainer at 20%. In addition, this trainer is a little quieter (perhaps the quietest of all trainers in this category) and can also operate without electrical power. You'll pay a little more for this trainer compared to others in the same category, but it is worth the investment. Only downside is that it is not quite as portable as my other trainer, but I'm not planning to port this one around to another location very often.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2022
by Andrew
Tulsa, OK
Overall Rating
Great trainer

Easily the best trainer I've owned. No issues with connecting to TrainerRoad for workouts, no need for calibration before each ride. I've forgotten to plug it in before several rides and only realize it about 10-15 minutes into the workout since this thing can work without needing to be connected to a wall outlet. It rocks with you as you ride and reduces saddle soreness that comes with other stationary trainers. I can't recommend it enough, obviously expensive, but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2022
by Curly
Godfrey Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Taco Neo 2t has a natural ride feel .

I was looking for an indoor trainer to help me maintain my legs during the off season when it is below 40 degrees outside . The side to side movement mirrors an actual ride . When riding a course in the Foirds of Norway I leaned when I rode around a curve . Love that I can download our morning training ride course to my Garmin 1030 Plus and ride that course feeling all the changes in elavation , resistance riding up the hill and free wheeling going down .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2021
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Converse Texas USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great machine

BTD shipped this to me as promised. Very easy to setup. Very easy to get started riding also!! The Tacx app works great with Garmin login that I already had with a Garmin watch. I have logged some miles on <10 rides on the trainer. I used mag trainer before this and the TACX trainer makes it more fun using graphics to see the route and stats as I'm riding or just the road with scenery. I should have gotten one of these before but I am happy with this purchase!!

BTD does me good on all my purchases. I keep coming back and they do not disappoint!! Thank you BTD!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2021
by svinson
Competitive Racer
Bellevue, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Simple to set up and highest of quality strait out of the box

BikeTiresDirect had a great price on this trainer and I couldn't resist. It was simple to set up and connecting to my laptop was a breeze. I am already cranking out lots of watts and miles and winter isn't even here in full force yet. Because the trainer is so quite and high quality, I just want to keep on riding! I considered lesser expensive trainers and I am so glad I decided to purchase the Tacx Neo 2T. I don't think it gets any better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/12/2021
by Bryan
Midwest
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
The best trainer on the market!

I love this trainer and. I hate riding indoors. It is accurate (stays in line with both an NgEco and Garmin Rally), very comfortable(side to side motion is huge), stable, and quiet. By far the most realistic trainer I have used I came from a kickr gen 2 and kickr 18. I won't be going back to the Wahoo line. This feels too good. The flywheel based trainers don't feel realistic in less you tow a baby carrier behind you. I had constant bugs with my Kickr and always afraid to update the firmware. This makes indoor training tolerable. A word of warning, my kickr was reading close to 10-15% higher on climbs so it was kind of a bummer to be taken back to reality with an accurate trainer. But what's the point if it's not accurate?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2021
by Matt Can Close that Gap
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best Overall Cycling Upgrade

I got the smart trainer for a fair discount. I've had it for 2 months. Initial set up done within 20 minutes. Just add your cassette of choice, plug it in, calibrate/update with the app and it's good to go. Runs smooth with optimal noise level. Connectivity is seamless. I use Zwift and Rouvy. It's responsive and I can really feel the gradient (especially on 25%ers on Rouvy). You may need to use the spacers (washers) included in the box when your RD Pulley hits the trainer and makes extra noise (instructions found on Tacx Faqx Youtube Channel https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVUp3ou6cq4). Besides the fixable minor issue, it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/19/2022
by Expediter
Cycling Enthusiast
Pocatello, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Trainer

This is my second Tacx trainer and the Neo2T has added road feel I noticed immediately. I've had my first Tacx 2 for 3 years 1500 plus miles no issues. Love the VIP points from BTD thanks, Guys!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2021
by ironfoot
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Expensive but worth the price

When you do a lot of indoor training always having to do a spindown after 10 minutes of riding is a major hurdle. Tacx Neo 2T doesn't require that. Getting accurate power measures without having to do so is a major plus. Also, I really like the road feel simulation on gravel, cobble, wood, etc surfaces. It adds a fresh sensation on otherwise monotonous indoor trainer rides.

Besides the two major points, I also like the look of the trainer. The light emitted towards the ground makes it look futuristic and cool.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/24/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Quiet and accurate

I train indoors 2-4 times a week. The Neo 2T is a solid upgrade from the Saris trainer I was using. It's quiet, stable, and accurate. The "disco party" lighting is kind of dorky but also kind of fun. The trainer is a bit pricey but this is high-end hardware. No complaints after a couple months of use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/25/2021
by Mr. Porky
Cycling Enthusiast
Poulsbo WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Long and thought out choice...

I've been using a wheel on trainer for years with the plan on moving to a direct drive. I ride 7 months out of the year indoors utilizing Zwift and Sufferfest. It was a well thought out process (over a year) with thorough research involved (DC Rainmaker, GPLama, Tacx Faqx and hours of review combing). Narrowed it down to The Italians (Elite), the Americans (Wahoo) and the Netherlands (Tacx). In the meantime Garmin acquired Tacx and here we are today. Final two were the Wahoo KICKR V5 and the Tacx Neo 2T. Review nightmares about "the NEO Tacx time bomb" or "Wahoo's firmware issues" made it extremely hard to choose. Neo 2T cost a bit more but has a few more bells and whistles. The KICKR has the climb. I decided on the NEO 2T with it's 2 year warranty compared to the KICKR one year. The road feel and the freewheel effect going down hill in Zwift is cool. The smoothness and responsiveness in ERG mode of the NEO 2T is amazing. I own Garmin GPS devices so I figured the integration with Tacx can only get better. So far I'm extremely happy with my decision and keeping the faith that this top of the line machine with a top of the line price will last a long while. Oh yeah, I used the VIP points to by the Sterzo but that's another review.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/22/2021
by Tank1988
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Worthe the extra money

Use the trainer 6-8 hours per week in winter. First off this thing is huge, if you need to move it often to train look elsewhere. I have a dedicated space for it so not an issue. The mass gives it a solid feel, I 'm a bigger guy so it feels very planted when I ride it. The road feel is fantastic, the feedback from different surfaces isn't a game changer but definitely makes you more engaged in your virtual rides. Downhill this is the most realistic trainer I have been on. The responsiveness of this unit is excellent it tracks well to grade changes and in erg mode it just works perfectly. It costs a bunch of money, but it's totally worth it. Last, I had a major issue with another brand of trainer I purchased from BikeTiresDirect, your customer service was excellent. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2022
by Bluefox
Daily Commuter
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Too pricy and for a old man to put gears on and assemble wow

I use it when I can't ride outside. If its way too cold and the wind is over 10 miles per hour it is indoors for me. What I don't like about it was the assembly of gears at the price it should come with gears.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/3/2022
by Gecko Sprock
Cycling Enthusiast
Washougal Hills
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Trainer - No Bugs

This is a Great Trainer - No Bugs like those reported in previous versions. Awesome simulation of road surface material, ie. gravel, plank bridges, and cobble, etc. Good pairing with Zwift; flawless operation in the month I've used mine.

It would be good if they develop a riser for grade simulation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2022
by Rachel
Cycling Enthusiast
DFW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
amazing!

I've had this trainer for over a year (purchased from BTD) and I use it at least three times a week...every week. It is amazing! Had to figure out the correct thru-axle to use for my Giant Revolt- but customer service helped me out and it works perfectly. Never had any problems with this trainer whatsoever. I upgraded from a wheel-on Saris smart trainer. That one was good- but this is next level! I can't imagine not having it in my life :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/16/2020
by Greg
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwood Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Smooooth!

Have been using a Kickr Snap for three years without any major problems. Unfortunately, it required a spin down before every ride to get accurate speed and power results. That spin down didn't happen very often. Enter the Tacx Neo 2T! No spin down required, no tire to air up, no tire slipping and no cleaning up tire debris. The Neo 2T ride is smooth and feels like you are outside and virtually no maintenance. Using the Neo 2T it on Zwift is a major upgrade in that you can "feel" the road and power is accurate and now my speed has improved noticeably. With the Bike Tire Direct discounted price the Neo 2T was only a little more than the Kickr. If you can afford this trainer, buy it! No regrets here!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2021
by B.Rad
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent product

This is truly an investment in training. I am an avid cyclist and I allowed myself to lose my fitness edge. With winter riding conditions, the TacX combined with Zwift seem to keep me honest by motivating me to compete against myself, my spouse and others. The TacX is definitely a keeper. My spouse and I now each have one. Easy to set-up, convenient, quiet and seems to be well-built.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing outdoor experience indoors

Just Wow! I have been on a wheel on trainer for years. I migrated to a smart trainer a few years ago. After thousands of miles my partner gave me a Tacx Neo 2T as a gift. I am thrilled with it! It's incredibly simple to set up... Once the cassette (your own... Garmin should providev one, but I'm not grieving that) is installed, then update firmware through the Tacx Utility App. You need only pair it with your watch (For me FR935) and your computerapps (ZwiftRouvyTracx), install your bike and go! It's incredibly quiet, has some pretty cool road feel that really does feel like riding on different surfaces and the resistance is natural. I've used it in both ERG and free ride, in structured workouts and just cruising around in Zwift. Everything feels great! I like it so much I had to buy one for my partner so she can enjoy it too )

Oh, and let us not forget the discount and credit through Bike Tires Direct.

If it continues to be what it is I will be riding happy for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2020
by Jay
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
I'm having fun riding indoors for the first time

I've had trainers in the past and hated them. Even when the weather was incredibly crappy outside, I still preferred getting cold and wet and muddy than riding indoors. Indoor training was so BORING.

Enter the Tacx Neo 2T. I LOVE IT. I've done a fair amount of cycling in Europe over the past ten years and I'm having a blast finding routes that I've ridden in person using the Tacx software and reliving those wonderful memories. I can do a ride through Provence or to the top of Alp d'Huez and have a great time and get a great workout.

Over the past few weeks, I've been more-or-less forced to train indoors with the shelter-in-place order. Yes, I could go out and ride around the neighborhood but I'm not comfortable going far from home, and frankly, with this trainer, I'm having more fun exploring more challenging routes in Europe.

Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 99

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]