Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Tacx Flux S Smart Direct Drive Trainer

Garmin TacxFlux S Smart Direct Drive Trainer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(55%)
(45%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 3/17/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
bloomington, indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Why did I wait so long to get a direct drive trainer?

The Tacx Flux Smart Direct Drive trainer replaced my Tacx smart Vortex trainer. One small difference is that I had to use easier gears on the Flux because the resistance seemed harder after I did the calibration than on the Vortex. That isn't a problem, just a difference. The ride response is more road-like due to the heavy flywheel. But the number one reason I like it and wish I had done it a long time ago is that the Flux is extremely quiet. My wife doesn't even know when I am training since the Flux makes less noise and I can decrease the TV volume substantially as well. I love it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2021
by EA
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Entry Level Smart Trainer

Works great, lots of great rides on the TACX and Swift APP. Great simulation real life riding, much better than the resistance trainers. Would be good if it has a on/off switch instead of having to unplug to turn it on/off. No carrying handle but then again I keep it in once place, This is my 1st smart trainer, so I can't compare it to the more expensive smart trainers, but this one works nice, and does what I want it to do, and that is to allow me to ride inside when the weather is not good for riding outside. Great trainer and I would buy it again. No issues so far I have had it about 2 months and ridden about 300 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2022
Bothell, wa
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Review of Tacx Flux S trainer

Got the Tacx Flux S trainer as an upgrade from wheel on trainers. Easy to set up and it JUST WORKS! Easy to swap bikes and pair with Zwift via Bluetooth. The only things United was that cadence from Tacx algorithm was a little lower than crank based. There's also a funny high pitched "womp wimp' sound when riding- not terrible but just something I noticed. Overall, a good solid trainer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2022
Bothell, wa
Overall Rating
Review of Tacx Flux S trainer

Got the Tacx Flux S trainer as an upgrade from wheel on trainers. Easy to set up and it JUST WORKS! Easy to swap bikes and pair with Zwift via Bluetooth. The only things United was that cadence from Tacx algorithm was a little lower than crank based. There�s also a funny high pitched �womp wimp� sound when riding- not terrible but just something I noticed. Overall, a good solid trainer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Germanrazor
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely love it

I wish I could give it a 4.5 overall rating but BTD does not do 1/2 increments. The system is basically together and ready to go. So to the following likes and dislikes.

Likes: Smart trainer that utilizes Bluetooth and ANT+ FE-C; plug it into an outlet than sync with your laptop, tablet or phone; ANT+ reads easily for my laptop to get all functions to be available; fairly small footprint; works with all virtual cycling platforms I have used so far (Sufferfest and TACX) my main use.

Dislikes: Not easily movable due to no carry handle; the indicator lights are on the side of the unit rather than top for looking down on easily; the limited grade ability and watts; does not coast on - grades or free wheels as in real road riding; cannot keep plugged in due to no on/off switch.

I do believe this system to be a great economical smart trainer for those not wanting to sink $1200+ into a system. I do wish it had the options for picking your cassette as a package deal with gearing and speed preference.

Overall, worth the money if it will give years of reliable service. A definite overall rating of 4.5!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2021
by tstoney
Cycling Enthusiast
Ogden, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great investment winter training has never been better

I did a lot of research and finally settled on this trainer. I dove right in using the Garmin training plan and have been riding this for about a month now. Very happy with actually improving my fitness level during the winter. This model works good for where I am in my cycling life. I'm older and don't need all the bells of the more expensive models. Very happy with this one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/29/2021
by DadOnATrainer
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It's a really nice trainer that makes indoor riding suck less.

Sets up easily, connects easily, works well. It has made indoor riding more fun for me. The erg mode helps me with workouts, and when I'm connected to zwift I can feel the hills and descents. The price was incredible.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Jason
Vancouver
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A great smart trainer at the price point

Connects quickly and maintains a solid connection, which has been great. Has a connected app that updates your firmware and helps with calibration.

Only complaint, is I wish the base was a bit wider for increased stability. But, honestly, it works perfect for all sub 800w activity.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
All the features I need for less $ than other trainers

I use the trainer for Zwift mostly. On zwift I do everything from racing, to workouts and the trainer has been great. I did get an ant adapter to use it with a windows laptop. The laptop has bluetooth le support but it would have a hard time making it though a ride without loosing the connection. That was very frustrating! I haven't had that happen since using ant

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2019
by ssd45
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Vegas NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My first wheel off trainer I am completely happy with it, I have had no issues in the first 500 miles.

I spent a lot of time researching trainers before replacing my wheel on trainer. This trainer checked the most boxes for the least money and Bike Tires Direct had the best deal I could find anywhere. They are great and the trainer is great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2021
by Zurich
Cycling Enthusiast
Westminster, MD
Overall Rating
Very good trainer for the money

I use the trainer only when the weather is too nasty to ride outdoors. I don't race, but do enjoy mixed surface rides in very hilly terrain. The trainer is very good, quiet and stable, but it does not accurately replicate steep climbs, rather it calculates an equivalent speed based on power and rider weight. This works well enough, but does require you to run significantly higher gears on a climb than you would on the road in order to get the proper resistance. Also, if you are running Sram XDR cassettes, there are two different XDR freehub conversions available from TACX, but only the newer model will fit this trainer - the description doesn't mention that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 10

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]