Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Speed Sensor 2

GarminSpeed Sensor 2(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(67%)
(33%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/14/2020
by Timberwolve17
Central Tx
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fun little upgrade

Although a little pricey for what it does these days, it is effective and far from an expensive investment.

The unit supports bluetooth, slowly but surely we are getting to the point where everyone will need BT just to be considered for purchase (that day can't arrive soon enough). The device has a memory and will work in concert to keep track of rides for uploads later. This can be hilarious and annoying when you are truing a wheel and the device thinks you went on 10 bike rides of two minutes each...

The argument for a speed sensing device becomes more difficult as phones are more ubiquitous and track via GPS as you ride (granted revolutions of a wheel will likely be more accurate than gps will approximate your path but should be negligible).

Since I'm a data nut, I find it hard to believe there will be a day I don't take this along with me. Originally I purchased the device for a second bike since I can never remember to swap these things.

Ultimately I would (and likely will) buy it again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/15/2021
by ScottDG31
Midwest
Overall Rating
Works great!

Works great with Zwift, Strava, and Garmin Cinnect, super easy to setup and connect to all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easily connect to Garmin head unit

I now have three of these on my various bikes. I bought a Velocomp Aeropod which requires a speed sensor. Just got lazy moving the speed sensor to my different bikes. Works well when you go into tunnels and tree cover. Do not experience speed dropouts anymore.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2019
by Six-O
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Works fine, but readings sometimes bounce around.

I enjoy not having to attach a magnet to a spoke to use this sensor. But speed gets erratic when cycling over bridges and roads with a lot of steel in them. The sensor seems to get confused or sends distorted signals to my Garmin head unit. Some others in our club notice the same thing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2020
by Doug
Concord ca
Overall Rating
Works with Zwift

ANT+ for the Garmin 510 and Zwift

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2020
by Michael Barnes
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
So far it's working fine.

Provides a more accurate measure of distance and speed if satellite reception is weak, like in an area with lots of tunnels. However, you should do an manual wheel roll-out with a metric tape measure. The sensor basically counts wheel rotations, just like the old wired cyclometers, so it's only as accurate as your wheel roll-out. The Garmin devices will attempt to estimate your wheel diameter for you, but it is wildly inaccurate. Don't trust it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by BB in AZ
Cycling Enthusiast
AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works well

Quick easy installation. Paired easily to Garmin 1030.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by Jim O
Cycling Enthusiast
Thornton, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works great

Works great out of the box and is easy to install

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2019
by Trainsauce
Gresham
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best yet

Paired to edge 530 & edge explore immediately. It saves 300hrs of data if your computer runs out of juice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/26/2021
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Overall Rating
Solid Update When the Old One Finally Quit

So after ten years or so of pretty hard use, the original speed/cadence sensor that came with my very first Garmin 510 finally gave up the ghost. I bought this one as a replacement. Mounting was a snap. Nothing align; just fasten an elastic band around the hub. It paired effortlessly with my Garmin 1030, and transmits data instantly and accurately. Really, it couldn't be any easier. Didn't need the cadence sensor anymore because I run a Stages power meter that includes a cadence sensor. Good price, fast shipping, easy installation, and flawless operation, even on the crappiest, wettest, coldest winter days. What's not to like?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/18/2021
by Rousslang
Cycling Enthusiast
Gig harbor, WA
Overall Rating
Installed easily, works flawlessly, best price I could find.

Seamless tracking of speed without the need to constantly fiddle with a magnet/sensor system. Zero complaints.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
Cycling Enthusiast
Dublin, OH
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great to improve distance accuracy, especially with mountain bike riding

Garmin GPS head units typically under report distance when riding winding trails with switchbacks. Adding a Garmin Speed Sensor to your bike fixes this issue and provides real distance recorded at the wheel. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 56

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]