Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Garmin HRM-PRO Plus

GarminHRM-PRO Plus(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(56%)
(44%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by CDS

Reviewed 4/2/2024
by CDS
Cycling Enthusiast
Chattanooga Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Needed a back up

Planning a 200+mile ride this summer wanted a back up.I have an older Garmin 920XT and this works great with it,tried it with the old H.R.M. that came with 920XT and they are both providing the same data. GARMIN is a great platform and I will continue to use it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CYinPA

Reviewed 2/23/2024
by CYinPA
Competitive Racer
PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product, stays in place super well

I have had a few different variations of Garmin's HRM products, and also some cheapie models too. I have zero issues with accuracy and consistency with them, even the bobo knockoff models.

What I do have issues with is the fit. I'm a skinny rider, 5' 11", 151 pounds, and getting something to stay in place is sometimes tough. I think Garmin made this model for skinny people, because I actually had to adjust it wider, which is almost never for me. I actually thought at first I was gaining a few, but nope, it's just a good, snug fit.

No issues with it at all. I don't use any of the run features it has, but for cycling, it's perfect. I do think it's expensive, but don't fault it, you know how much it costs before you buy it, it's not a surprise, so I made that decision.

Battery life seems incredible, haven't had it even drop off of new status and I ride 15 hours a week.

Even works well in cold, before you get a layer of sweat on there to help conduction.

I guess the only issue is if you're a larger framed user, may not fit, but haven't tested to confirm my hunch.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andrew T.

Reviewed 2/7/2023
by Andrew T.
San Francisco
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Works Great compared to my last HRM Dual

This one seems to work the best out of all the Garmin HRMs I've used so far. My last HRM Dual and the original HRM that came with my 520 Edge both had descent lives but started to become faulty. I figured I'd just go with this one as their successor since it is water proof and I might want to swim in a wet suit with it, plus I sweat like the ocean anyway. Also, the care instructions are way different, with hand washing only, so be sure to read them.

Overall, this one is always instantly picked up on my head unit and it appears very accurate, so the output signal must be super solid. My old HRMs were all over the place and I finally feel like I'm getting accurate feedback at the beginning and end of the entire ride. I also see that I'm getting spot on readings during max FTP training efforts, so I can push if there's anything left in the tank.

There was nothing more frustrating than wearing an HRM for it just to drop off early after being inaccurate for most the ride and this one does not do that at all, and my mind is at ease again aka back to focusing on just riding and not HRM system resets, strap adjustments, fiddly battery replacements.

I've been training with my zones on my head unit display and it's been nice to see my data once again on Zwift.

The new adjustment and clasp design is more streamlined and I think it is more secure and more comfortable across the torso. It has less fabric doubled across the strap so it seems to be a better system for setting and securing the adjustment across your body when compared to the older HRM Dual (washable) strap style. Which I used to wash in a laundry bag hoping to extend the life.

Overall, I have been super pleased with this product. The price is a bit high but I think it's good to splurge for something that will be reliable and secure on your body, day in and day out, when out there putting in the hard training miles.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/14/2024
by Anonymous
South Florida
Overall Rating
Excellent heart rate strap, connects to Garmin

I upgraded my heart rate strap to this Garmin HRM-PRO plus so that I could connect and share data with Garmin Connect.

So far I have no issues.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michigan Rider

Reviewed 7/20/2023
by Michigan Rider
Competitive Racer
SE Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Revised Battery Compartment Design - We'll See!

This is my third Garmin Pro hr strap. First I had the one with the red cover and after the first battery change (about a year), the compartment was somehow compromised. Moisture got in and the batteries began to live shorter and shorter lives and then the strap started having transmission issues. This problem is widely known and discussed on various forums. It is likely due to the thin, fragile o-ring/gasket they use for the cover. Once the cover comes off, that gasket never seats properly again or gets deformed. I reached out to Garmin and they sent me a new one under warranty. The one with the yellow cover. Same experience. I didn't reach out to Garmin again. Instead I just bought this one. The battery compartment cover has been re-designed. We'll see what happens after the first battery change.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kim Butler

Reviewed 1/12/2024
by Kim Butler
Wheeling WV
Overall Rating
Better fit

Strap can adjust tighter. So also works on small females Seems more accurate doing HRV apps Only downside is pricey

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by la15ota

Reviewed 2/16/2023
by la15ota
Casual Cyclist
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very useful

A colleague recommended I pick this heart rate monitor to better track my heart rate during my training for my first half ironman. I don't have anything to compare it to, but I like it. It's comfortable to wear.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by UtahJock

Reviewed 1/20/2023
by UtahJock
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Seems to work okay.....

I wear two of these simultaneously while riding my stationary bike - the new is connected to my laptop for the Rouvy cycling app, my old is connected to the Garmin app on my cell phone. They are nearly touching each other on my chest when worn. Interestingly, they do not record identical max heart rates. They are are as much as 10% different.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by stupech

Reviewed 8/17/2023
by stupech
Cycling Enthusiast
Delray Beach, Florida
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
They don't last forever

Had to replace an older version of the same when it would no longer communicate with my bike computer, even though it still worked with my garmin watch. But long before this, I had to sew the strap where it deteriorated. Although this HRM is supposed to be usable for swimming, I think that's what really led to strap damage, because it still worked on the bike long after I could no longer use it swimming. This new one, I am only using on the bike. It works great, and is comfortable, but I'm sure it will wear out at some point also.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]