Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530 MTN Bundle GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 MTN Bundle GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(154 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(105)
(40)
(4)
(2)
(3)
(68%)
(26%)
(3%)
(1%)
(2%)
Reviewed 2/13/2021
by pdep52
Cycling Enthusiast
So Jo, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Unit and package price

I went from an edge 510 to this and couldn't be happier with it. I haven't ridden on the road with it yet so I can't speak for how the road mapping works, but on the trails, it is awesome. It has the trails preloaded on the device so it tells you what trails are coming up at as you approach splits in the trail. That means no more stopping to use the trailforks app on my phone to make sure I am going on the right path for new trails I haven't ridden. One thing my 510 has that I haven't figured out on the 530 is the ability to label specific bikes. I'm not saying it doesn't have it for sure, I just haven't figured out how to do it or not does have it. I ride MTB, road, fat, tt, and cross and have sensors on all my bikes. On the 510 I would select which bike it was and the sensors would sink up as long as I didn't forget to do it before I started the ride. Speed was always recorded at least by GPS, and by the sensor if I had one on that specific bike, if I forgot to select the bike it would recognize the cadence or power sensors for example and wouldn't record that data. So far what I have noticed on the 530 is the bike choices are set up more like genres like road, MTB, gravel, etc. I am hoping that since I have paired all the various sensors to the unit that it will automatically connect to the sensors once I get going. It is winter now so I am only riding my fat bike so I haven't been able to determine if that is the case. I will admit that I haven't invested much time into playing around with it because I just assumed it would work like the 510, well it doesn't so I need to put some time into learning more about it. The Bluetooth seems to have better functionality than the 510 especially with call and text notifications.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by Joey
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very useful and I am still learning about all the features

I like the fact that it has a very long battery life so I can now use my phone as a phone not a tracker.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2021
by Joe H
Cycling Enthusiast
San Rafael, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great cycling computer and a nice bundle for MTB

The Edge 530 has been excellent--it provides really usable data, the ability to customize screens to give me just what I want to see while I'm riding, and easy connectivity with HR strap and my trainer when I use it indoors. It has been an excellent training tool and a way to log my workouts, let my family know where I am on the trail, and more. The bundle gave me everything I needed to outfit three bikes--my mountain bike (with the MTB-specific mount) as well as a road bike and my tri bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by agadbois
Bow
Overall Rating
Great product!

Takes a bit to learn how to quickly get the information from it that you want while out on the trail, but once you use it a few times it becomes easy to use. I use it almost exclusively mountain biking. Love the trail forks feature. On the road the navigation/map function is quite useful, but I've only been on the road a few tin times with it. GPS is much more accurate than my phone which is helpful on the mountain bike due to all the tight turns as compared to being on the road. Very happy!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Edge 530

Great device. Battery life is amazing. Now if I can just figure out how to use more of the stuff it�s capable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
Reviewed 7/19/2021
by Anonymous
So Cal high desert
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product

Very happy with this computer. Great battery life. Impressive graphics. Big upgrade from my 520.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Smytty
Ottawa
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great GPS

Easy upgrade from my old 520, automatically carried over my settings in a minute or two. Love the grit and flow ratings for MTB. Road features are excellent too - reminders to eat and drink if you want them. Overall, a great upgrade with improved battery life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer
Reviewed 6/28/2021
by The Caped Crusader
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great improvement over the Edge 820

I replaced my Garmin Edge 820 with the 830. The 830 is quite an improvement over the 820. It finds sensors much, much quicker. Satellite acquisition is a whole lot better. Screen is bigger. There's just too many improvements to mention them all. The only thing I wished Garmin would do for all the Edge models is to be able to "program" the Edged pages, configurations and options from a web page which then could be uploaded directly to the Edge. This would be much simpler for the end user and an obvious feature to employ. Bur that doesn't take away from the Edge 830. The Edge 830 is a nice product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer
Reviewed 7/20/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ottawa On Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It does everything advertised, works very well.

Bought this as I have a few different bikes & it makes mileage tracking easy as you just swap the computer from bike to bike. It has worked well for everything I've used it for: gps files for navigating & just general data. It's smaller than the 1030, so takes up less space on the handlebars, but has the 1030s functionality. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
Reviewed 7/16/2021
by fearlessphil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great cycling computer, once you get used to the confusing interface

I love all of the metrics you can get from the Edge 530. I especially like the detailed maps, turn notifications, nutrition/hydration alerts, and climbpro. The unit has a great screen that is easy read even in the bright sun. The user interface takes some getting used to. I also had trouble with routes I loaded constantly telling me to make a U-turn even though I know I am going right way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Retired HPD Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
AWESOME, FANTASTIC, GREAT! I LOVE IT.

The Garmin Edge 520 Plus has been the most important item I have purchased for my bicycle. I ride around 16 miles a day, and I has improved my skill and speed on the bike. I love that it keeps a record of every ride so that I can track my progress. I also like that I can read incoming texts while riding.

Unfortunately I had an accident one dark morning on a isolated bike trail, where I dropped a chain, cracked my carbon fiber frame, and injured my right knee. When I came to a stop the Garmin sent an emergency text to my contacts, alerting them I had an accident, and before I could get up from the ground I received a phone call from one of them. It was really reassuring that I could get help if I was total disabled in a crash. I'm riding again and will always have my Garmin with me.

I highly recommend other bicyclist get a Garmin Edge 520 Plus, because it could save your life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
Reviewed 6/4/2021
by Damonpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Happy I upgraded

Upgraded from Edge 130 and very happy.

Able to move seamlessly from my trainer to my road bike with different profiles. (Original edge 130 does not allow this).

Screen much larger than 130.

Love that it uploads my ride via WiFi on trainer rides. When I get home from a ride it seems I have to link via phone to Garmin Connect instead.

Haven't taken advantage of climb pro yet because I typically don't download routes.

Still wonder whether touch screen would be better, but I wear full finger gloves much of the year, so that might be problematic with touchscreen.

I did buy a silicone cover on Amazon in case I drop it as the glass is otherwise unprotected. The Garmin cover is about double the cost of others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer
Reviewed 6/13/2021
by Darcy
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Planning trip across country ! In my testing this will be a great tool

Have used a Garmin 500 for years and wanted to have turn by turn directions as I look at finishing my bike ride across the USA. Has all the features I can ask for love the fact that it autoloads the finished ride to Garming & Strava so easily.. Took a while to get text and phone notifications but support site had the answer!

May update this after I speed many weeks on the road with it but my test rides have proven that the battery will last on all day rides and I can turn off things easy enough to conserve battery.

Don't find this device below retail very often but was able to buy on Bike tires direct and saved $80 !!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by Cecil
Competitive Racer
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Improvement on battery life and turn by turn

Having had the 3 other Garmin's in the past 15yrs, The 830 is by far the best for the money spent.

I love the easy download and sync to my cell phone and the turn by turn directions.

Another big improvement was the battery life, being increased to well over 12hrs when you have setting dialed in for maximum battery savings.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 MTN Bundle GPS Computer
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by AJL
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It is a very nice GPS bike computer

The Garmin works well. It gets updates that get downloaded and installed smoothly.

The interface with the app is not as smooth. Connectivity some times is a problem. Some issues don't seem to have a solution. Ie: the emergency call (crash) feature. So I'm not sure it actually calls anyone in a crash. I just don't want to drop my bike to test it.

The majority of the issues are resolved by a tech support department that is easy to get connected with.

Bluetooth is where most of the connectivity problems are but once you get the hang of it or if you are technologically savvy person then the issue disappears.

The other problem I found is that it doesn't record all jumps on the mountain bike only some. Can't figure it out as I'm not such a great dirt and jump ridder and concentrate more on staying upright and improving my technique.

Don't get me wrong it is a great product.

Hope this helps if you are planning on getting one of this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great head unit with bonus features I was not aware of

I was an avid phone user for my cycling "computer" until a friend talked me into the 830. At purchase it was a cool toy that enable Ant+ pairing with my various sensors so things connected very easily and quickly. I have been very impressed by the cycling dynamics feature (power meter pedal integration), map rerouting, favorite Strava routes (you can star someone else's route on Strava and download that route to the 830 for mapping), and the Strava segments. Really like the real time segment popup that shows how you are doing against the KOM and/or your PR. Battery seems to last a really long time too. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
Reviewed 5/16/2021
by BruceCurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
One Great Upgrade

This was an upgrade from an old Edge 500 and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The unit is so much more customizable, has many more features and color graphics. Like the 500 you can add screens and format them as you wish, but it also has modes for a road bike, a trainer or a mountain bike right out of the box. Pair it with a set of power meter pedals and you'll be overloaded with data during and after your ride. Then when you're done with your ride the 530 provides you an evaluation of your effort and provides a summary. Brilliant!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 MTN Bundle GPS Computer
Reviewed 7/23/2021
by Albert
miami
Overall Rating
Excellent

easy to install, easy to use, accurate information, has the MTB tracks on the maps, a great tool for MTB

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer
Reviewed 5/13/2020
by VeloSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great features - almost too many

First of all I'm a tough rater. I don't give five stars unless something is nearly perfect, so don't take 4 stars as a bad sign. This is a great computer overall.

First, some positives. This computer does everything I could ask for. Strava live segments work well, though sometimes segment starts appear when I'm just passing on an adjacent road or trail. Pairing power meters and other devices is seamless. and the data quality is very good. I have the system set to upload rides automatically when I hit the stop button, and they uploads are done faster than my garage door can open. The screen may not be like a top-of-the line phone, but it's a huge upgrade from any bike computer I have had before. The customizable data screens are old news, but really useful, and easy to configure once you get through the first time.

On the negative side, Garmin's software has a few weak spots. At first the computer battery totally drained several times. This wasn't exactly a battery life problem. The computer was getting into a state where it looked off but was actually using full power. Getting the beta firmware solved this. Oddly, the improved firmware hasn't been rolled out to production, though months have passed.

Another one-time problem was updates to the GPS software. It auto-updated during a ride, causing about half of the ride to lose data. Not the end of the world, but it was disconcerting since it was only my 2nd ride or so.

Smaller issues crash detection is a nice idea, but I have triggered it falsely a couple of times, once while simply accelerating from a stop light. I'm not THAT fast. Sorry, everyone, I'm not going to crash myself intentionally to see if it works in that case. The sharp turn warnings have never been useful. The tone either comes after you have already passed the apex, or just before when it would be unsafe to look down to read the message.

This is not really a pro or con, but just be aware that some functions are several levels deep in the menu system. The touch feature is generally very good, but some things may be nearly impossible when flying down a rough road or trail.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
Reviewed 4/8/2021
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love the routing and data

I've had a Garmin 500 for some time, about 5 years, which has worked just fine with no issues. But... the 530 gives me so much more, especially nice is the routing. Yet then there are the other stats, training options and status updates which are great too. And simply put, I don't mind the setup even though it takes a little time to figure out. I've even configured the Activity Profiles individually by bike (4) as well as for the specific activities such as Indoor Training, so I can break out the data more easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 74

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]