Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 530 Bundle

GarminEdge 530 Bundle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(178 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(125)
(40)
(7)
(2)
(4)
(70%)
(22%)
(4%)
(1%)
(2%)
Reviewed 5/4/2021
by Jpspyro
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Does the job with HUGE connectivity issues

I like the Edge 530, it's easy to use and mostly does what it's supposed to do... minus connectivity issues. This thing has Bluetooth, BLE (low-energy), Ant+, & Wifi. I think this is where the issues stem from, to many connection options.

I have been using the bundle (heart rate, cadence & speed sensors) for just about 2 months and I have problems with connectivity about 50% of the time I set out on a ride; mostly the heart rate monitor just staying static vs. reading an actual heart rate. I have improved this slightly with wetting the sensor pads on the strap. Yay, sort of.

During the 1st few weeks of riding after initial setup with sensors in Ant+ mode, I had all the sensors just randomly drop connection and I added them as new on-the-fly during my ride. Weird thing is they were added as bluetooth vs. ant+ randomly, no option during setup to pick any other connection type, strange. So I figure this out after digging into the sensors on the Edge and unpair/repair all the sensors again as Ant+ hoping my connectivity issues would be resolved. Unfortunately, Ant+ doesn't seem to solve the problem, as of my last ride my cadence sensor just wasn't picked up by the Edge.

So with that said, the sensors are extremely underwhelming from a connectivity standpoint. I have reached out to Garmin (with some of the best tech support I've seen in the business), and apparently I have a corrupted file. I do some techy things per instruction and I'll see how this plays out over time, I guess.

The other major issue I have is the ride uploading, post-ride. I get home, I review my ride and hit that 'Upload Ride' button, only to fail EVERY SINGLE TIME. But randomly, my ride get's uploaded after I retry the upload ride 3-5 times usually. I have tried with bluetooth only (using iOS app), Wifi only (no bluetooth), Auto-upload over wifi, Auto-upload on bluetooth only... nothing. Super ridiculous from a software perspective.

I have my Di2 paired to the unit (huge reason I wanted a cycling computer in the 1st place), and that has worked 98% of the time no issue. Sometimes the edge reads out my shift mode (S1, S2, etc) randomly 5-15 minutes after a ride (bugs are great eh).

I think the software is pretty good, however I would love to sync my activity profiles with the Garmin app so I could customize there vs. with fumbly button presses... not hard to do really (Looking at Wahoo).

Overall, I'm not super pleased with this unit... while it does work and gets the job done, the amount of time and sanity (likely safety too on the road trying to figure out why the eff my sensor dropped out or HR is stuck at 65 bpm...) is probably a reason to drive me to a competitor in the future.

Value for money here is the big one, I think in no way this unit is worth

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2020
by Red Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Fe, NM
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Edge 530 had opened up so many possibilities in monitoring and navigating on my bikes

I really wasn't sure when I ordered this that I really needed it but going from a simple computer the The Edge 530 has shown me that I had been missing out on a lot! I can download routes and navigate to them. Customizing the screens lets me see the info I want to see when I want to see it. It shows me so much more than a basic computer! And, I love that I am able to move this computer from my road bike, to mountain bike to my indoor spin bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2021
by Anonymous
Springfield, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Useful information that's easy to display

* Setup is involved but not too bad. I watched a video on how to setup the receiver and it wasn't that complicated.

* Wished there was an option for "average moving speed", as the average speed includes time when stopping for traffic lights, etc.

* Still trying to figure out how to utilize the heart rate information - Garmin's website information needs improvement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by mo_rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent overall - makes cycling more fun - but I do miss having a touch screen

I ride typically 4-6 days a week and am very satisfied with the Garmin 530. The heart sensor works great as does the cadence and speed sensors. Super easy to install since its all wireless. The free phone app works very well. Out of the box you can get standard data, like heart rate, respiration and of course speed, altitude, and general statistics for your ride, like some metrics on ride intensity by zone. The app allows you to gauge and compare your overall fitness to your peer group. I recently added a power meter to the bike - it paired easily with the 530, and now I get power and V02 Max, which adds a whole 'nuther level of info (which I highly recommend) - so I am very satiated with the info that I can capture and study, and all this motivates me to continuously improve my performance.

The only thing I don't like about it is the lack of touch screen. This is because navigating the menus with the side buttons is not very intuitive, and sometimes downright confusing - it could really use some improvement on that, and a touch screen would easily address that. One is available but you need to buy the next level up for that,

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excelent product !!!!

Increase your performance with this efficient equipment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/25/2020
by rejcfj
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very good; no complaints

Just what I needed and a good step up from my old 500. Everything worked perfectly right out of the box and it all syncs smoothly with Garmin Connect. BTD's price was as competitive as any and the service was efficient. A fine product and a fine deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
monmouth county ,new jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
easy ,efficient gps for cycling

i ride 100-150 miles per week and use the garmin 530 to monitor distance , heart rate ,cadence ,speed and statistics to recover.I'M still learning how to download routes which is little challenging .

The main complaint is i need to read text messages while riding for work and they are difficult to see.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
really nice!!!

Only been on a few rides so far but the edge 530 is packed with features and you can customize the display screens.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2019
by DAW
Cycling Enthusiast
Myrtle Beach SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin is great!

The Garmin 530 work well and provides all the information needed for fitness and performance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/24/2019
by INBikeBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Indianapolis, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Disappointed - Problems at Every Turn

I cannot express how disappointed I am that I went with this bike computer and bundle over several other competitors. I purchased the new Garmin Edge 530 bundle (with cadence sensor, heart rate sensor, and speed sensor) when it came out. There are several things that Garmin gets correct, like recording rides, having different screens to view while on a ride but there are some pretty basic features that just don't work (and I would consider a lot of these features to be your bare bones requirements to having any decent bike computer).

The biggest one is just uploading rides. No matter if I am connected to WiFi or just my phone or both - I cannot get this thing to upload any rides without tinkering around for 30 minutes. This is a reported issue to Garmin with multiple users experiencing it as well and so far, several months after the product has been released, it remains unsolved. I consider this to be one of the most basic features that any modern bike computer should have and be able to get right.

The heart rate sensor does not sync with the device consistently. It seems like every other ride I lose communication with the sensors or the computer is unable to find the sensors to begin with. I have encountered this issues with the heart rate sensor mostly, but also the cadence sensor.

Those are the two major items that I have encountered. Outside of those I've had issues finding my WiFi (while standing next to the router mind you) and even typing in a password for the WiFi since the graphical keyboard on the computer does not include an apostrophe ('). There are also issues with the responsiveness and touch of the buttons, which I expected, but I know others have had greater challenges with this than myself - this too is a issue that has been reported to Garmin with no corrective action in place several months after product release.

Incredibly disappointed with this piece of technology. I always considered Garmin to be one of the higher brands in terms of quality but this piece of junk fails to meet even the basic requirements of a bike computer, to throw it in the trash would be an insult to my trashcan. I will not be buying Garmin again anytime in the future nor will I be suggesting this device to any of my friends. Buyer beware.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
So sorry you had this experience with your 530. A ton of our staff use this computer and are thrilled with it. We have also had great experience with Garmin's customer service and warranty department. I would be extremely surprised if they did not offer to send you a replacement if you contacted them directly and explained your problems to them.
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2019
by RichRies
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
best MTB GNSS ever

Dramatic improvement over the 500 it replaced for me. Lots of additional, valuable features such as anticipated recovery time from a ride and jump data (number of jumps, time and distance in the air). Easy to use. But satellite reception still isn't great. The device usually pairs reliably with the IMUs for speed and cadence. But when it doesn't and it records speed and distance by satellite instead, numbers can be way off (like 30 percent or more underreported). Even so, this is the best product for MTB use of the many Garmins I've owned and vastly superior to any phone app I've used. BTD was the best price by many dollars, had the unit in stock when others sellers did not (which I discovered during price checks) and had the unit in my hands in two days. Very pleased with the product and the purchase process.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2019
by Gabriel Carrillo
Miami
Overall Rating
EDGE 530 bundle

Perfect product enjoying from the first day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2019
by Zeek
idaho
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I like it

Im new to the bike computer scene and now I know why Ive been so reluctant. This unit was a nightmare to set up and the customer service was b team at best. Really surprised that such a big company would put out a product that needed updating and customer service right out of the box. Anyways, after a lot of frustration it is set up and I absolutely love it!

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Glad you got it sorted out!
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Garmin ever!

Great bike computer. The battery life is amazing (definitely lasts longer than any ride I'll ever do!) and the climb pro feature is a game-changer. Definitely worth it to upgrade from the 520.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830 Bundle
Reviewed 5/4/2021
by drewkora
Cycling Enthusiast
Patterson, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A proven winner

I cross-shopped the 830 with the new Hammerhead Karoo 2, which is lauded for its super bright, high resolution display. As gorgeous as the K2 screen is, however, I felt it had too many flaws in the everyday functionality to make it worth the investment. The Garmin 830, by comparison, has proven performance that just works. It's smaller, lighter and has an incredibly long last battery. Strava integration is seamless, and you can dial in and customize all of your data screens for different bikes and riding styles.

Many reviewers felt the 830s screen is pixelated and feels dated. While it's no iPhone, I was pleasantly surprised by the sharpness of the screen. It's plenty crisp and clear to read, especially for something I'm only glancing at during a ride. It's bright, too. In full sun I have no problem seeing the display. Virtually no glare. The touch screen is very responsive, even with my gloves on and with some light rain. And the battery is fantastic! I rode a century last weekend. The effort took around 8 hours, and the screen was on the entire time. At the end of the ride, I had more than 50% battery left. Not bad!

Gripes? Well, the menu system is a little confusing. I'm still learning all the functions, many of which are buried in sub-menus or tied to the iPhone apps in hard-to-understand ways. So don't expect to figure it out for the first time during a ride, and don't expect to fiddle with it 15 minutes before a big ride or you'll be frustrated. Be patient with it when you're not rushed and it'll start to make sense.

Overall, I'm very happy with this unit. The bundle is an excellent value. The speed, cadence and heart rate senors sync up flawlessly. And the bundle comes with three mounts (inlcuding the awesome "out front" mount), so I can use this on any of my three bikes. Garmin packed a lot into this featherweight unit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 830
Reviewed 6/3/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great head unit with bonus features I was not aware of

I was an avid phone user for my cycling "computer" until a friend talked me into the 830. At purchase it was a cool toy that enable Ant+ pairing with my various sensors so things connected very easily and quickly. I have been very impressed by the cycling dynamics feature (power meter pedal integration), map rerouting, favorite Strava routes (you can star someone else's route on Strava and download that route to the 830 for mapping), and the Strava segments. Really like the real time segment popup that shows how you are doing against the KOM and/or your PR. Battery seems to last a really long time too. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530
Reviewed 6/4/2021
by Damonpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Happy I upgraded

Upgraded from Edge 130 and very happy.

Able to move seamlessly from my trainer to my road bike with different profiles. (Original edge 130 does not allow this).

Screen much larger than 130.

Love that it uploads my ride via WiFi on trainer rides. When I get home from a ride it seems I have to link via phone to Garmin Connect instead.

Haven't taken advantage of climb pro yet because I typically don't download routes.

Still wonder whether touch screen would be better, but I wear full finger gloves much of the year, so that might be problematic with touchscreen.

I did buy a silicone cover on Amazon in case I drop it as the glass is otherwise unprotected. The Garmin cover is about double the cost of others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
Reviewed 11/5/2020
by Retired HPD Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
AWESOME, FANTASTIC, GREAT! I LOVE IT.

The Garmin Edge 520 Plus has been the most important item I have purchased for my bicycle. I ride around 16 miles a day, and I has improved my skill and speed on the bike. I love that it keeps a record of every ride so that I can track my progress. I also like that I can read incoming texts while riding.

Unfortunately I had an accident one dark morning on a isolated bike trail, where I dropped a chain, cracked my carbon fiber frame, and injured my right knee. When I came to a stop the Garmin sent an emergency text to my contacts, alerting them I had an accident, and before I could get up from the ground I received a phone call from one of them. It was really reassuring that I could get help if I was total disabled in a crash. I'm riding again and will always have my Garmin with me.

I highly recommend other bicyclist get a Garmin Edge 520 Plus, because it could save your life.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530
Reviewed 5/16/2021
by BruceCurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
One Great Upgrade

This was an upgrade from an old Edge 500 and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The unit is so much more customizable, has many more features and color graphics. Like the 500 you can add screens and format them as you wish, but it also has modes for a road bike, a trainer or a mountain bike right out of the box. Pair it with a set of power meter pedals and you'll be overloaded with data during and after your ride. Then when you're done with your ride the 530 provides you an evaluation of your effort and provides a summary. Brilliant!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Garmin Edge 530 MTN Bundle
Reviewed 2/13/2021
by pdep52
Cycling Enthusiast
So Jo, UT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Unit and package price

I went from an edge 510 to this and couldn't be happier with it. I haven't ridden on the road with it yet so I can't speak for how the road mapping works, but on the trails, it is awesome. It has the trails preloaded on the device so it tells you what trails are coming up at as you approach splits in the trail. That means no more stopping to use the trailforks app on my phone to make sure I am going on the right path for new trails I haven't ridden. One thing my 510 has that I haven't figured out on the 530 is the ability to label specific bikes. I'm not saying it doesn't have it for sure, I just haven't figured out how to do it or not does have it. I ride MTB, road, fat, tt, and cross and have sensors on all my bikes. On the 510 I would select which bike it was and the sensors would sink up as long as I didn't forget to do it before I started the ride. Speed was always recorded at least by GPS, and by the sensor if I had one on that specific bike, if I forgot to select the bike it would recognize the cadence or power sensors for example and wouldn't record that data. So far what I have noticed on the 530 is the bike choices are set up more like genres like road, MTB, gravel, etc. I am hoping that since I have paired all the various sensors to the unit that it will automatically connect to the sensors once I get going. It is winter now so I am only riding my fat bike so I haven't been able to determine if that is the case. I will admit that I haven't invested much time into playing around with it because I just assumed it would work like the 510, well it doesn't so I need to put some time into learning more about it. The Bluetooth seems to have better functionality than the 510 especially with call and text notifications.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 88

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]