Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 520 Plus

GarminEdge 520 Plus(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(49 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(16)
(0)
(0)
(2)
(63%)
(33%)
(0%)
(0%)
(4%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 10/25/2018
by Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
Schenectady NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Goodby Garmin 500 Hello 520 Plus

Replaced my very old Garmin 500 with the 520 Plus. Got it on sale and I couldn't pass it up. Huge improvement over the 500. Finds the satellite very quickly, the 500 took for ever. Ton more features and I love that your able to load in route and it provide directions with visual and audio alters. I ride 3000 miles per year but not competitively. I was also able to use my old upfront mount from the 500 with the 520 Plus. Just purchased the Garmin tail light with radar which will Bluetooth to the 520 Plus. Got that on sales too and saved $. Love doing business with BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2020
by Jim Imezgon
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Worth the money and a well thought out bike computer

Road cycling is my preferred use. I would suggest anyone using this to download the manual. It was very well done in explaining the functions through the various menus. A few minor things were missed, but definitely not a deal breaker. The various data screens can be customized nicely to your preferences of what is important to you to see for each type of activity (type of riding). From the Connect store many addons can be installed so you would be hard pressed not to make this computer personalized. Pairing a Bluetooth ear piece is nice as it will give you periodic stats as you ride along with info on in-coming calls, etc. , too. The navigation map is really done well giving you detailed turn-by-turn directions with uploaded courses. When paired with a Bluetooth ear piece, you'll get audio on directions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice

Have enjoyed this very much for better feedback.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/26/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent

Perfect gps computer, is on the top of the touch version, I deeply recomend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2019
by Richard
Cycling Enthusiast
DC suburbs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Overall pleased

Provides a lot of information and the multiple screens allow you to see key information while keeping the digits large and easy to see. Good to excellent battery life. Only downside is that the climbing information is somewhat inaccurate. When you start climbing, for example, it takes many seconds before the altimeter adjusts. You can be climbing while the altimeter shows the you are on a negative gradient.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2019
by PeterSagan2
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Would not pair with or upload to iPhone, had to return it

Bought the plus to replace my 520 in order to get longer battery life. The plus would not pair to my iPhone nor would it upload rides. Really wanted this computer to work but am tired of the multiple solutions Garmin offer to try to get their products to work properly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good so far.

This computer does everything I need it to and a lot I'll probably never use. Hopefully it will have a good long term reliability like my Garmins have been.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2020
by Bay area road man
Cycling Enthusiast
SF East bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin is dead

I got the 520 Edge for Christmas 2018. Send out to repair USB connection last year and now the charging IC is broken. Probably beyond repair.

I loved it when it worked. Gone far to soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/14/2019
by Alfred
Whittier
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best GPS

This is my 3rd Garmin and definitely the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2019
by Matthew7
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect choice.

Ive wanted to move from a basic computer to something more advance for a while. Really glad this was my choice (well researched). Does everything I want. Works perfectly. Good size. No problems. BTD is awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2018
by Adv116q
Cycling Enthusiast
Grass Valley, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice upgrade and Trailforks is a plus

Coming from a 4 year old Edge, this is easy to read. It finds the satellites quickly, and you can program on the display what you want to see. Trailforks is not as easy to read as on a phone, but if you don't want to ride with your phone on your bars off road, this will save you from pulling it out at every stop.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/18/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Adventure in a box!!

Has worked great recording rides and downloading maps works perfectly. The turn by turn directions is so much fun!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2018
by Omar
Los Angeles CA
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Garmin 520 Plus

This device opened up a while new world for me, the information generated together with my Garmin Vector 3 has made me more aware of my baseline and identified areas where I can improve thus making my cycling experience more enjoyable

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2018
by Hrudy
Cycling Enthusiast
Northport,Ny
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Works well.

I got this unit as a replacement for an Edge 820. The 820 had an almost unusable touch screen and I always wondered why they didnt have a 520 with mapping. Overall , the usability of the unit is great. The buttons positively move from one screen to the next in a deterministic way unlike fumbling with the touch screen. The mapping function is pretty good , I am able to upload routes from my iPhone or computer and it works pretty well. The only thing I wish it had was to navigate to a map point without actually physically being at the point and saving it. There is a work around which involves creating a route on a smartphone and uploading it to the unit. But you need a smartphone to do this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/11/2019
by John
Woodbury , MN
Overall Rating
Easy to use.

Functionally, a third grader could use this

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/27/2018
by Dan
miami beach
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent product

Im am truly enjoying my new Garmin 520 plus it does everything my 1000 did and much more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2020
by Zoom
Des Moines
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Near perfect

This is my second 520. The first died after heavy, heavy use. The cyclone has all the metrics required for effective training in a small body yet readable screen (I use at least 5 screens with 10 elements in each). It is easy to shift from one bike to another, connect to you phone, get messages, alert a designated person in the event of a crash, plan and follow routes, and the list goes on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2020
by Relic
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Overall Rating
it's the 520 only better

I have used the 520 for years and love the simplicity and "BUTTONS". I hear a lot of issues with touch screen. With gloves or cold fingers i can't be messing with touch screen. The only reason to swith to 520 plus was for the Varia integration.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I like it

I was just looking for an upgrade from the garmin edge, and this checks all boxes. I'm not into power management or heart monitoring, just more things that ain't gonna make me faster. Just train. Still need to discover the potential of this like using the nav for set routes or races. No issues, battery life is good. Would recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by Alex D
NYC
Overall Rating
Excellent

I use this product to record my rides. The unit is dependable and has good battery life. It seems overly-complicated (I prefer Lezyne's fewer buttons) and things like backlight and switching screens can be cumbersome. The screens are customizable, but depending on how many fields you're displaying re-sizing a particular field or fields may not be available. Other than that, the unit works well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 48

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]