Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 1030 Plus GPS Computer

GarminEdge 1030 Plus GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(86%)
(10%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/14/2020
by Timberwolve17
Central texas
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love it

Get this guy and be the talk among your friends.

This unit has a mountain of features and can help you assess your strengths and weaknesses, if you let it.

The monstrous sized screen is actually not that big (incredible what you get used to, just like cell phones you'll wonder what you did before this) and holds what's really the perfect amount of data.

Among the features you will really appreciate is Garmin allowing you to import devices from your old bike computer, it will let you pair this way, no more new device let's pair all my accessories back in one at a time. I also love the bully in coaching/training features. Garmin will take a look at what you've been up to, and suggest a workout of the day (it's almost like Santa, it knows if you've been naughty or nice with your training). I've used this with my Tacx 2T to control it and no issues.

Battery life, I own a 520+ which lives on my secondary bike and wow, the giant screen, improved GPS and multitude of features almost mean nothing to lifespan. I ride a reasonable amount (600-750 miles per month) and if I feel like pushing lifespan I have gone weeks without charging, 520+ needs at least weekly.

Why wouldn't I buy it? 520+ to this was a huge jump in price and features, if I already had a top end computer, improvements would be too marginal and hate to justify. Do you use features? The worst things to buy are things you don't use.

If you have the money and are serious about cycling you should consider this device, it rocks but cost a cool mountain of cash.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/23/2021
by RC
Overall Rating
Upgrade from 1000

Gifted my 1000 to my Wife. The biggest difference is the battery life. Lasts nearly three times as long.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2021
by JuLiOR
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Bike Computer - full of surprises

I upgraded to the Edge 1030 Plus from an Edge 520 Plus. I was immediately amazed how good and fast the 1030 Plus is and how deficient the 520 Plus was. The battery life is amazing - I can go on several rides and don't have to even think about charging - while on longer rides on the 520 Plus I had to take a battery pack and cable with me and ran into issues with the Micro USB connector. The 1030 is solid - has an acceptable display and very useful functions/features that I am still discovering. The firmware seems to be solid and stable.

A feature that I thought that I would not use frequently is the navigation. I create routes in Strava and started to discover new routes or to become more adventurous. The navigation is really helpful as you don't have to wonder when to turn or stop to look at your phone. Very useful in cities - you can concentrate on the traffic. Re-routing is also ok and sufficiently fast. The touchscreen works well - so far used only in winter only with gloves - no problem. Can't wait for spring. It has a lot of options for configuration - have not tried everything. I love the climb feature and Strava routes and other pleasant surprises and can't wait to use the unit for mountain biking.

Although I got it at BTD at a great deal I was initially hesitant if I should spent this much money on a bike computer - especially since I already had the (slow) 520 Plus. I can say that it was worth to upgrade and I am surprised how much more useful functionality and features the 1030 Plus offers combined with good integration with the GarminConnect App. Considering the frustration and the hassle with external battery packs on my old computer the 1030 Plus seems to be the best solution for all-day riding. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2021
by Greg
Denver, CO
Overall Rating
Great cycling computer

I have been riding with this computer for a month now. It was easy to set up and linked to my other Garmin components including power pedals without and problem. Most importantly, the 1030 plus gives the rider a lot of useful data on one screen. I highly recommend this computer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This one WILL work with long fingered gloves.

I'm the map/route guy for my group. I got this primarily for the larger screen size compared to my old Edge 800. Unlike the 1030, this one WILL work with long fingered gloves which is critical in Portland, OR!

I can't say there are a few bugs to be worked out but overall I'm glad I bought it.

Garmin tech support is actively helping me with an issue now and seem to be genuinely interested in finding a solution.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent

Much better than old 820. Bigger screen makes easier to see, more responsive, much longer battery life

and climb pro helpful.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2020
by dtsloan
California
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
great except routing

Took this on a recent tour.

Everything about it is fantastic - customization, legibility, use, battery life, information, etc., except for one thing, the routing.

The mapping and routing is horrendous. There were some roads, perfectly suitable for riding, that the computer simply refused to use. Even if I established the route on a pc and loaded it, if I varied from that in the slightest, it rerouted, coming up with the worst routing possible. It would try to take me down dead ends, loops, or even off road, all to paternalistically avoid a road I was on. Sometimes the waypoints it established didn't match the physical road, so it's jagged zigzaggy route was telling me to turn every 200 yards, in long winding stretches of road with no intersections anywhere. Google Maps on my phone is a thousand times better.

So, if you are not counting on it for routing, it's great. But, for the money there is no excuse for the routing to be so bad.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Anonymous
Maryland
Overall Rating
Edge 1030 plus

Garmin edge 1030 plus has tons of data fields and you can get all the information you need in one screen. If you are training with data and want to.improve your performance, look no further than the 1030 plus.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2021
by Tidorv
Daily Commuter
Qu�bec Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Verry good computer.

Verry good computer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Jon
Chicago, IL
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
1030+

This unit replaced an Edge 1000 that was slowly dying. Display and fields are slightly larger and easier to read, and the battery life is astounding in comparison. Paired easily with all of my sensors, including power meter, and even tracks my fitness and VO2 Max. Very happy with my purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2021
Cycling Enthusiast
Boardman, OR, USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent product and easy to use

Paired so easily with sensors (power meter, cadence sensor, Fenix 5 watch/heart rate monitor).

Super easy to switch between screens.

Big display so my old eyes can read the items I am trying to read (heart rate, speed, cadence, and power).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by Lutrader
Cycling Enthusiast
NY, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice GPS Cycling computer Upgrade

Longer Lasting Battery and nicer features make the Garmin Edge 1030 Plus a very good buy. It is a bit expensive but well worth the price. I am still learning how to use it and getting used to the differences between 1030 Plus and 1000

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by James
Southern California
Overall Rating
Great product

This is a huge upgrade for me, considering using Edge 510 previously. Love the big screen with touch screen feature, colorful power meter chart , and precise GPS location. It is also made for mountain biking as well. Great product, period.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/7/2020
by Keith Berg
Cycling Enthusiast
Chino CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The current ultimate cycling navigation tool

My wife and I have had Garmin edge units for years. Staring with the 800 then the 1000 and now the 1030 Plus. This has a much longer lasting battery. Because the battery is much better than before she is willing to do live tracking without fear of the battery dying like the 800 or especially the 1000. New navigation features work very well and the wife is very happy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2021
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best in Class

My second Edge 1030 Plus. Love the screen, the higher volume sounds and the flexibility for power meters etc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2020
by Paul F
Cycling Enthusiast
Franklin MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great bike computer

Expensive bike computer but battery life is well worth it and so are the screen capabilities.

Had a 1030 and the 1030 plus battery is incredible. a friend of mine used it on a 200 mile 18 hour gravel adventure and never had to use a battery pack to keep it charged.

endless battery life! Do miss the ridewithgps connect IQ app though

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1030 +

I had a 1030 for 3 years but the 1030+ is way faster to load and the battery last forever

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/6/2020
by Ed R
NJ
Overall Rating
Another great Garmin product

Accurate, reliable and the latest and greatest features.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2020
by callerken
Cycling Enthusiast
Southwest Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome upgrade from the Edge 1000!

Love everything about the 1030 Plus! I'm a dedicated Garmin fan having owned 3 prior models. That being said, this is by far the best!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2020
by Christopher
Philadelphia
Overall Rating
Absolutely amazing computer

This computer is a beast. It is easy to use. The battery last forever. It syncs with my Varia headlight and taillight. The screen is highly visible in all level of light/dark.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 79

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]