Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Garmin Edge 1030

GarminEdge 1030(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(65 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(17)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(68%)
(26%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 1/11/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairfield Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great bicyle navigation tool.

The Garmin 1030 is a great navigation tool. It's battery life is much better than the Garmin 800 in that it will go over eight hours which is great for touring. The larger screen is good for ailing eyes. The prompts are helpful.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2021
by JW
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great computer

Really like the heart rate load results.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2020
by rlcpross
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The Garmin Edge 1030 is the Big Daddy of the Garmin bike Computers!

I really like the bigger screen the most and the touch screen. Plus I can do short text messages with it as well. It connects to all my sensors with ease. Mapping and navigation is allot easier with the bigger screen and it connects to the super quick to the GPS.

I haven't really found anything that I really dislike about it yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/16/2020
by DocWass
Cycling Enthusiast
PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great upgrade From My Edge 820

Thought about upgrading my Edge 820 for awhile and when the 1030 went on sale at a great price I went all in but with reservations as to how it would compare and was I missing out by not spending the extra money on the 1030 plus. First, the size of the device hits you - it's a brick. I don't mind since my days of being a weight-weenie over components has long passed. The upside of this screen size is not only easier to read but I can fit more fields on a single screen and still maintain the readability - a winwin! The touch interface is much more responsive than that of my 820, which I wasn't expecting. The menus such as History and MyStats are available right on the home screen so more easily accessed. At the end of each ride, the device provides summary data indicating what systems (aerobic, anaerobic) were utilized along with recommendations regarding your training load. This summary data is consistent with my Training Peaks WKO5 data which is another unexpected surprise. I am extremely happy with the Edge 1030 and don't feel like I missed out by spending the extra for the Plus.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2018
by Eric
Daily Commuter
Queens, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
,Great Cycle Computer

Ordered this to work with a newly purchased power meter. The computer works great and tracks accurately. With Broadcast Mode it syncs with the heart rate monitor from my Garmin Forerunner watch. I love the navigation software, plus you can create your own routes with Strava if you are looking to explore a specific path. It recalculates any time you go off course to put you back on. If you connect it to your phone you can also use a live track feature and will notify emergency contacts if it detects a collision. Luckily haven't had to try the collision part, but the live tracking works great. It's a bit pricey, but you get a lot for it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great User Interface, But GPS seems to drift

I love the user interface and the available metrics. I have had none of the issues that have been talked about. The only issue I have is a the accuracy of the GPS, I have to use a speed sensor otherwise my speed is all over the place.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by Snowhog
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbia Heights, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding Cycling GPS

Had a Garmin Edge 1000 previously. Used it A LOT, and the battery performance (discharge rate) began to suffer. I considered replacing the battery, but opted to purchase the Edge 1030 instead. In fact, I now have two Edge 1030's, one for each bike. The battery life on the Edge 1030 is SO MUCH better (and longer) than the Edge 1000. And long battery life is important to me. I'm getting well over 21-hours on a full charge. The Edge 1030 is a rock star in my book.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by epbob
Cycling Enthusiast
El Paso, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Now I can see my stats

I bought 2 for my wife and I in the sales prior to the roll out of the 1030. Finally I have a display that is big enough for display of the fields I want to see on one screen. I like my old 520 but couldn't pass up the deal to get this. The touch screen feature is more useful than I anticipated but it does change screens by itself occasionally when on rougher trails on my gravel bike. I look forward to using the navigation feature and tracking my friends (and wife) during rides.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2020
by hipkneemd
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
unreliable text/phone synching with iphone

The product works well to keep track of my route and miles. The map is reliable. Unfortunately it does not always capture the texts and phone calls. It does share all of the ride data and uploads it to Garmin Connect. I've had many conversations with the folks at Garmin. Finally they acknowledged some communications problems with iPhones. Some days are better than others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Battery is King

I bought this unit to replace my aging 820 whose battery couldn�t last four hours. The battery on the 1030 is like 80% charged after a four hour ride. The larger screen and better touch screen made this a nice upgrade.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/15/2020
by petestony
Cycling Enthusiast
long island
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
good with a big learning curve

difficult downloading a route in the beginning and the instructions were too vague with the relationship between Garmin connect and Strava. I'm using it but still don't have it mastered

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/18/2020
by Tpalfini
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tracks everything and more than I can use

My Garmin experience started 10 years ago and this is my 4th unit. I have not used all the features yet and the one I really want to try out is "get me home". My previous units required using the USB to upload the rides to Garmin Connect. The Edge 1030 does it when I arrive home or even with just my phone service. I bought mine when it went on sale but feel it will serve me well for several years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I recommend it!

This is now my second GPS cycling device, the first being the Garmin 1000, so that is all I can compare it to. After 6 years of good service, the 1000 was getting short on battery life, and the onoff button cover failed. I really like the 1030. It has more features, better displays, and MUCH better battery life. It integrates well with my Android phone, and Shimano D-Fly. Don't leave home without it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2020
by RichardNY
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Improvement over my Edge 1000

The Edge 1030 has everything my Edge 1000 had plus more! Larger screen, longer battery life, ClimbPro, etc.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by DM
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Easy Transition

Compared to the Edge 1000 I've used since 2014, the Edge 1030 has new features that have been useful to me like a larger, easier to read screen and longer battery life. I like that the charging cord plugs into the bottom edge of the device rather than the bottom so it lays flat while charging. Direct connectivity to a Garmin Power Pack mounted underneath is a plus. Configuring data screens is easier since windows can be moved around with the touch of a finger. The LiveTrack feature has worked with variable success. Incident Detection is fairly sensitive and occasionally needs cancelling when activated by a sudden stop. Both involve use of the Garmin Connect app on your mobile phone. I have not figured out how to activateuse messaging between other riders in a group. All in all a worthwhile upgrade made necessary by the micro-USB port on my Edge 1000 going bad. Had it not been for that I probably would not have upgraded just yet, the cost being the main impediment, but I'm not sorry that I did.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2019
by LC
NE Oklahoma
Overall Rating
Its worth upgrading from 810

Better screen than the 810. During the initial setup with my iPhone XS Max, the two would not communicate. I called Garmin and after 1hour and being placed on-hold several times as the representative consulted with others, the problem was resolvedit had to do with a setting in Garmin Connect, not iPhoneyes, it was a Garmin setting. I continue to get occasional messages on the 1030 at the start of a ride that I do not have emergency contacts set upbut I do and the Garmin representative helped me set the contact up. The coolest things are that SMS texts and sharp turn warnings (riding on bike trails without a course loaded) show up on the 1030 screen. Battery life is probably as advertised. Swiping screens is impossible with my long finger gloves.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2020
by William LBowens
Battle Creek mich
Overall Rating
Garman 1030

Garman 1030 ordered this over the phone what a awesome experience. They will be always be my go to site for anything like apparel tires clothing anything to do with bicycling Ive ordered from them several times and always had awesome experiences weather on the phone or online orders things always come second day out what an awesome site.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2018
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Montgomery, AL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
MUCH BETTER THAN THE EDGE 1000

Seems to be made well, obviously better than the Edge 1000. The charging port appears to be sturdier and in a much better location. It should be able to be charged with a remote battery charger while riding (the Edge 1000 could not).

The main improvement for me is the increased battery time. Before I got mine, my buddy had one during a 300k ride that lasted from 0630 until 2300. He said he had 30% left on his battery. This was also the last day my Edge 1000 worked. While charging it during our lunch break, and again later in the ride, the charging port broke became loose, and never worked again. My Edge 1000 lasted 1 12 years, not good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great GPS and route finder. Big improvement over previous model

I broke my Garmin Edge 1000 last year so bought this as a replacement. The 1030 one is a big improvement. The awkward charging of the 1000 is improved, the connectivity is better, the menu is more user-friendly. I ride with this constantly to follow routes and use its data.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/27/2019
by Dr. M
Cycling Enthusiast
FT Lauderdale, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great cycling computer with only one flaw

A great computer which is easy to read and the screen information can be modified to the data the user wants. Easy to pair with the Garmin Varia UT800. Great feature how the light can be controlled by the unit. As well pairing a Polar chest belt HR monitor was easy and as a matter of fact works better than the Garmin HR strap. I have not needed to use the GPS maps but that seems fairly straightforward as well. All in all a great piece of technology except for one item which lowers the score to 4 vs 5 stars. If you are an I Phone user the Bluetooth pairing is sketchy. Easy to pair once you know what needs to be done but it drops the pairing and I find myself pairing it again. To Garmin credit they are aware of this issue and are very cooperative with support. The situation has markedly improved but it is still far from perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 13