Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Fizik X5 Artica GTX MTB Shoe

FizikX5 Artica GTX MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(75%)
(13%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by CYinPA

Reviewed 4/1/2024
by CYinPA
Competitive Racer
PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Incredible just like the road version

I have these also in the road version, and of course, fit and everything is the same, no change other than the cleat interface. I'm a 44 in the road version, 44 in the mtb version, identical, which is a bonus.

To speak of the functionality of the shoe, they're a gamechanger for cold riding. I'm a racer, and to get my volume up I took up bike commuting. My shortest door to door is 10 miles, my "normal" is about 17, if I really want a flat spin it's 21 miles, so half hour to about 75 minute range one way. When I have left the house and it's been 10 to 12 degrees (F), I can wear these, with a normal cycling merino wool sock, and get to work with warm feet.

The main bonus for me is that I don't need shoe covers. I absolutely hate wrestling them on at 4am when I leave, this is easier, shoe, tighten, go.

I've had them soaked with slushy roads as well, and my feet did not get wet. You will get wet from water getting down into the shoe around the ankle if you are in really bad stuff, you can probably get around it with some better dressing but I've been okay.

I'm not a huge fan of the high top from a looks standpoint, it's bulky and looks weird, and I swear it makes my feet flex less, but when you have warm feet in really cold weather, you don't care.

They're my go-to in temps under 35 (F). When I'm in a sunny upper 30's and above, I can use a normal road shoe with wool, and maybe a toe cover. Over 40 (F) and these are way too warm, even with summer socks.

Great shoes though for the purpose, if you ride in bad weather, these are a gamechanger.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/3/2022
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not warm enough

These are a great shoe concerning construction etc. I sized up .5 size from my summer FiZik shoes to fit a thicker sock.

Waterproofing is good, but these are just not as warm as I wanted them to be. Anything below 45 F and my toes are frozen. I have been using toe covers and those help, but for something being advertised as a winter shoe I expected more in the warmth department

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Russ

Reviewed 2/22/2024
by Russ
Cycling Enthusiast
Glenwood, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These shoes are amazing

These shoes are amazing, fit snug but comfortable, warm in cold and dry in rain. I wanted to have gear for any weather conditions that the Iowa winter could throw at me. They are great on gravel and even endurance road rides.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/28/2024
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Seattle. WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Shoes

They fit great, keep my feet warm and dry.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/9/2022
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Minnesota
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable mild winter shoe/boot

For a Fizik shoe this does have a generous fit, not as narrow as most. Shoe is comfortable and certainly repels water/snow. I expected/hoped the shoe would be a bit warmer, but this may be down to the sock one pairs it with. A thinner merino wool sock is good down to maybe 25-F or so, ideally I would throw a thicker sock on for colder days but that made the shoe a bit too tight for my liking. I would say that this shoe's primary function is to keep the foot dry during the shoulder season and extend into a mild winter.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scott

Reviewed 1/6/2023
by Scott
La Crosse
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best In Every Feature

Been riding since 1970's with wool socks, tin foil, plastic bags, GoreTex socks and shoe covers. So with that I went for ride Jan. 1st with temperatures reaching 35 degrees and 10 mph winds. Never felt a bit of cold discomfort and fit with heavy wool socks was superb. I forgot the puddles and snow while riding, so check off waterproof also.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/18/2024
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
So much better than booties

Paired with some merino wool socks these are an excellent addition to my winter kit and far less hassle than overshoes- especially at the end of a long cold ride.

For truly brutal weather you could still add some booties for extra wind protection

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CaptKirk

Reviewed 11/2/2023
by CaptKirk
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Helen�s, OR
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The Fizik X5 Terra Arctica GTX performs as advertised.

Went for a 30 mile road ride recently. The temperature when I left the house was 40 degrees F. Wore one pair of Smartwool medium weight socks. Feet stayed toasty the entire ride. A great addition to my Fall/ Winter riding kit!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]