Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Fizik Terra X5 MTB Shoe

FizikTerra X5 MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(55 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(32)
(17)
(4)
(1)
(1)
(58%)
(31%)
(7%)
(2%)
(2%)
Reviewed 11/26/2021
by RockinghamRambler
Cycling Enthusiast
Eden, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very nice shoe

I just decided to try "mountain bike pedals" on my road bike. These shoes replaced a pair of the Fizik Power Strap shoes which I recently got and which have worked really well. My last shoes, before the Power Straps, were also of the velcro closure type. I am really liking the Boa closure, it just works great and the shoes feel great, better than the Power Strap. I was a little hesitant to go with the Boa type because my old velcro shoes lasted forever and the Boa wire breaks over time. I guess I'll just have to get a replacement wire and change it before it breaks. The shoe is very walkable. With the Power Strap shoe I was using the Speedplay Zero pedals. The cleat includes a rubber cover and is pretty walkable but this shoe is even better. The fit of this shoe is the same as the Power Strap. The size and fit is also the same as my older Specialized brand shoes were. Unfortunately, at this time I am stuck indoors on a trainer and haven't been able to do any long rides with the shoes. However, since they are so similar to the Power Strap shoes which I was able to use on some good rides this summer I expect them to work well also. I was able to place the cleat in the same position as the Speedplay, which for me is all the way back and the cleat all the way to the inside to push the shoe out, away from the bike, to give me a little more "Stance Width" or "Q factor". Even with the SPD cleat against the inner lugs of the shoe it engages into and disengages from the pedal just fine. So far the fit feels the same as I had with the Speedplay pedals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/29/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My new favorite shoe

Light, relatively inexpensive, and tough. Pick all 3. I own Shimano, Lake, Scott, Sidi, and others. These are the best. I usually wear out a pair each year but I will get at least 2 with these and they fit great for my normal foot.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2021
by Anonymous
kansas city
Overall Rating
Nice trail shoes

Nice and affordable price for this shoes, first time using this brand Fizik, I'm impressed with the quality and conform of this shoes, I'll recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Worst fitting and most uncomfortable shoe I ever worr

Sorry I wanted to like these shoes but there were awful. I don't like writing bad reviews but I wore these for 1.5 hours and could wait to take them off. They dug into my ankles and the soles really hurt, I could barely go down one of my favorite trails. I have owned dozens of Mtb shoes and unfortunately first I ever had to return. FYI I have been riding clipless for 25 years both dirt and road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2021
by Jacob Hines
Baltimore Maryland
Overall Rating
Great Shoes!

Amazing shoes! Love the boa, great color ways and super comfortable hiking and cycling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2021
by Bikerdude11
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome shoe for narrow feet

Very pleased with the quality and fit of this shoe. It's a MTB shoe that doubles as a road shoe I- multi use best of both worlds. Fit is screwy - I wear size 45 European typically and the size that fits correctly is size 43. Just odd but a great shoe for narrow feet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2021
by Julian Munoz
Connecticut
Overall Rating
Good shoe but.

This is a pretty decent and comfortable cycling shoe. I use it for road/gravel riding. I have a narrow foot and these fit well. Probably not for people with wide feet. However do not wet these shoes. The inside lining by the toes will warp and become hard like a rock. Therefore the shoe will be uncomfortable to wear. It happened to my first pair however I love the shoes and bought a second pair.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2020
by SLOLetsGo
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit and performance.

The fit on these MTB shoes mirrors Fizik road shoes (they run large), so a 44 fits as well as a 45 in Sidi. If you like Fizik road shoes, you'll love these for road riding. I'm wearing these on a gravel bike with Look X-Race pedals and they work really well as a road-like shoe on off-road terrain. The uppers are supple and the single Boa dial provides sufficient compression. I don't find that the front velco band alters fit very much. The Terra X5's are clearly more forgiving than a carbon soled road shoe, but they still transmit power well. They are somewhat walkable, but these are definitely not a commuter shoe. If you wear these for an office commute you're going to want to have street shoes to change into when you get to your destination. I did notice that there are a pair of stud mounts at the toe which means these would also work well as a cyclocross shoe in muddy conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2020
by oletabiker
Cycling Enthusiast
S. Fl
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
AWESOMENESS!!

I bought these to replace an aged set of Sidi MTB shoes, and was looking for something that was sleek, functional, durable, affordable, and most of all with a BOA system. the Fizik Terra X5 MTB Shoe not only checked off every box, but also came in this amazing looking olive green color which I like very much. I chose size 42, which is typically a just right fit, these shoes do seem to fit slightly larger, so I should be wearing a 41, other than that, I am really impressed by their performance out on the trails! I Highly Recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by davidc
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fizik shoe with great value!

I bought the shoe for gravel biking. With stiff bottom, I was able to transfer power to the pedal effortlessly. New Boa L6 dial is a huge improvement over earlier generation. It is easy to adjust, and kept my shoes tight and fit on my feet. Because it has stiffer sole, walking can be awkward but it is a good trade off. You don't want to have floppy bottom unless you expect to walk a lot. Overall, great shoe for the money. Five stars!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by tdel010
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The most comfortable bike shoes I've owned.

As the title says, these are the most comfortable bike shoe I've owned. Be aware that they run a little big (long in my case). If you're often on the cusp of shoe sizes (for me it's 10.5 and 11 US), consider going for the lower number. The width seems pretty adjustable with the boa system, so I think these could work with a decent range of widths, but I'm average width, so what do I know?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/13/2021
by docfuel
Cycling Enthusiast
Glendale, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great shoe, needed thicker insole

Overall, I love these shoes, but the insole thickness in insufficient for my feet. The collar of the shoes bumped up against the bottom of my ankle bones (malleoli) until I added a small 3/4 insole to lift my ankles a few millimeters. Now they're great!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2020
by NTX rider
north central texas
Overall Rating
Overall great gravel and off-rd shoe

The first Fizik shoe for me and seems to have the quality needed to withstand the conditions at a lower cost than what I usually buy. The fit is good with the only issue has been the thin instep tongue causing some chafing. Wearing thicker socks solved the issue. I would recommend these for riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2019
by Hockinator
Competitive Racer
Kirkland, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A revelation for those with narrow feet

I have really narrow feet and these are the best fitting shoes BOA shoes I have ever had. The first time I've not had to tighten the BOA all the way to keep my feet from sliding. The fit is very similar to my Giro Empire road shoes. They are also the lightest MTB shoes I've ever had, rivaling the weight of some road shoes. I'm getting away from using road shoes and pedals, so these are primarily used for road and gravel riding. The super light weight of these shoes has been achieved by fewer and lighter lugs on the sole. So, if your use would include significant amounts of hike-a-bike, you may not get the same durability I do.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by Monkeywalker13
Hudson Valley
Overall Rating
Nice quality racer like shoe.

Bought this to replace my Giro teraduro shoes after the the sole came loose again.... I figured I would try something different. These are great shoes along the line of Sidi dominator in fit and sizing. Unfortunately they are a bit slippery on roots and rocks just like Sidi. Not a good replacement if you are a fan of the Terraduro. Very light and stiff and comfortable. I am a 44.5 in Giro size 43 in these! They are not waterproof they breath well. The Boa works well I have no hot spots. I have high arches and the fit does accommodate nicely. Still trying to decide weather I will sell and get Terraduro mid to replace them. Not sure if these fit my wet muddy root rock hilly riding as well as the Giro.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2020
by soonerjon
flyover country
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These shoes are amazing

A big upgrade for me. Wanted a non-heavy MTB shoe, loved the BOA dials. Fit is great, no pinch spots. Put it through the paces in mud and gravel. Even slid out one time and really didn�t scuff. zero guilt about this buying this one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2021
by daleash
Cycling Enthusiast
Hampton, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love Them

I use these shoes as road bike shoe! I did not want cleats I could not walk on, and these have fit the bill. Well made and comfortable. Can't wait for thousands of mile in these babies!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A wonderful upgrade from

Super stiff soles and really comfortable fit overall. If you are currently using some entry-level mtb shoes, you will see a night-and-day difference with these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great shoe, very comfortable.

Shoe fits great and is pretty comfortable. I've had them for about 300 miles or so and have only worn it on rides longer than 3 hours twice, but they've been real nice so far. The dials tend to need tightening a few times every ride, which is a little annoying but nothing that is a deal breaker. I have a narrow foot and these provide just a little bit of wiggle room. The sole of the shoe is very stiff and does an awesome job of transmitting the power to the pedals.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2020
by KD Cagle
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent fit, ventilation and stiffness at a great price.

Use these on a road bike with SPD pedals. The light-weight design and good ventilation make these a great road shoe for those who prefer shoes they can walk in. The boa provides and easy custom fit and the carbon reinforced sole offers excellent power transfer. A great shoe at a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 99

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]