Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Fizik Tempo R5 Overcurve Road Shoe

FizikTempo R5 Overcurve Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(76%)
(24%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Sterno

Reviewed 3/23/2023
by Sterno
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Pluses and minuses

Pluses:

These are a great value, although I did have to purchase some custom accessories (see below). Materials and workmanship are excellent for a mid-range shoe. Fit is great; I went up a half size from my previous Giro shoes because I needed more length. Love the big toe box, and when you snug-up the Boa dials they are tight, secure and comfortable. This is my first experience with Boa dials and I love them! I have been using retro lace up shoes for a few years, and these have the same tight fit, without the lace loops and you can adjust while riding - a must for long days in the saddle. This is the real value; most other shoes this good with Boa dials are significantly more money.

Minuses:

I have long feet and got 46.5, the cleat mounting holes could have been a few millimeters further back. I use Look cleats and pulled them all the way back but still felt like I was pedaling on my toes. I prefer my cleats further back, so I had to get mid-foot mounting plates to get a better cleat position (I probably would have done this anyway).

They do not have drain/vent holes in the soles. This is pretty standard so not sure why they don't do this, but not a deal breaker. I could always drill them myself.

I have high arches, and the insoles do not provide much support. I have used other brands that give you multiple arch inserts, but Fizik does not offer anything. I may have to buy third party insoles.

So they were initially a great value, and I got them on sale, but due to my particular needs I have had to sink extra money and time into accessories to get the best fit. You may not have any of these issues. Still worth it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SpeedracerFX

Reviewed 8/4/2023
by SpeedracerFX
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable but firm on the ride

I saw a lot of great reviews and this brand is known for quality. I bought a pair and it fits like a glove. Very clean look and seems well built.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John V

Reviewed 8/21/2020
by John V
Cycling Enthusiast
Manteca, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love these Fizik shoes

I needed new road bike shoes and looked everywhere. Read the reviews, looked all over. My LBS didn't have anything so I went online. I found these shoes at BikeTiresDirect.com and after reading up on the shoes, I ordered a pair. They arrived in under a week. Excellent service. The fit is good, and they are comfortable. I needed something with more room in the toe box and forefoot, and they are great. I may swap out the insole, but I love the Boa dial to get the perfect fit. I wanted white and they had them in stock and on sale. The best of all worlds. Thanks.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by gratuitous

Reviewed 6/19/2020
by gratuitous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Don't be put off by the lacing

Being in lockdown, I bought these shoes sight unseen from the website, always a chancy proposition for gear that requires a personal fit. When I opened the box, they looked serviceable enough, but the lacing looked like plastic filament line. I was going to return them before I looked up what Boa lacing systems really consisted of. Short answer Really strong stuff (airplane grade metal filaments).

Anyway, the fit right out of the box was snug, but improved quickly. I've been unable to ride very often due to the lockdown, but every outing the shoes feel better. If I was on my regular cycling commute schedule, I think I'd be even more impressed, but even with the limited use so far, I like these shoes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 8/14/2021
upstate of South Carolina
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
No complaints.

-Shoe figment size is more in line with regular shoes, unlike Shimano.

-twist lock is nice

-shoe is comfortable and reasonably low weight.

-reasonably priced.

-I'll look to purchase this brand in the future.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scubaden

Reviewed 4/30/2020
by Scubaden
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Just what I was looking!

I bought these to replace a 7 year old pair of Specialized road shoes. I cant believe how much different these are in a very good way from the Specialized. So much lighter, more technical, love the tensioners system which make it so easy to adjust and take off the shoes. I ordered size 45, which were the same as my Specialized and I was concerned that they would be to narrow, but they fit perfectly! Plenty of room in the width. These shoes are so aerodynamic and streamlined. Cant believe I waited so long to replace my old shoes with these! I ordered the gray metallic, and love the color!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/17/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Very nice!

Product and customer service was fantastic. Will order from you again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/24/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable shoes

True fit, Strong material, quick release lace, excellent price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by djdawson1

Reviewed 4/15/2019
by djdawson1
Philly
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
When you wont settle for lesser quality!

Bought these to replace old FiZik R5 road shoes. The new R5 is lighter, and more comfortable. Initially you will think they are narrow - but the shoe gives and forms to your foot! Will likely require 2-3 rides to break in. Fantastic shoe, super reliable brand, easy to keep clean. Be the envy of your riding group!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/8/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Love it

True fit and great price

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/25/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Durango, CO
Overall Rating
Comfortable Road Shoe

Fits my average feet well and enjoying long rides with no discomfort. Aside from the only color available in my size was white, I recommend the shoe

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great Shoes

True to size, great quality, nice design, looks good too.....

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RAP in SLC

Reviewed 8/5/2019
by RAP in SLC
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
Great shoe at this price

I was searching for an affordable BOA type road shoe and the Fizik Tempo R5 Overcurve was right on. Fits and feels great and the BOA enclosure ensures a better fit than other type shoes that I have owned. Would definitely buy again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jerome 12

Reviewed 6/1/2019
by Jerome 12
Cycling Enthusiast
Nebraska
Overall Rating
Great buy

This shoe give high performance at a lower cost. Great power transfer. The upper part of the shoe isnt top of the line but it will do your bidding. This is my first pair of Fiziks but not my last. The next purchase will be to the top of their line.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/25/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great shoe

Super - be sure to go 1 size (cm) down if coming from a shimano - fit will be perfect. Not ideal for a wider foot.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/6/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Love it

True fit and great price

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/11/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great shoe

Super - be sure to go 1 size (cm) down of coming from a shimano - fit will be perfect. Not ideal for a wider foot.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]