FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Dumonde Tech  Bicycle Chain Lubrication

Dumonde Tech Bicycle Chain Lubrication(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(54 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(10)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(19%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 7/27/2018
by Andrew
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Makes for a Quiet drivetrain

I'm not sure if it helps increase the longevity of the chain yet, however I was surprised at how much quieter my chain was after application.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2018
by Al
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is THE bike chain lube! There are no others.

I discovered Dumonde through their motorcycle chain lube but once I tried their bicycle lube, I'm blind to other lubes now. This is THE bicycle chain lube. It takes maybe 2 to 3 applications to fully coat a chain but once it's coated, it works like no other. Worth every dollar that you're going to spend on it. There are 8 bikes in my family, down from 9 just recently, and it takes me about 2 years to go through a 4 ounce bottle. Sure it costs more than Finish Line or Triflow, but it's the longest lasting and least maintenance lube I have ever come across. There's no need to look for anything else. It just works.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/30/2014
by bigborb
Competitive Racer
Toronto & France
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My favorite so far..

I moved from using ProGold for years (which is a very quick, clean and easy solution for chain maintenance) to Dumonde as my preferred lube. It requires less cleaning, (i.e. chain does not get dirty) and seems to keep the links rolling smoothly for longer. Nothing is perfect, but this comes close !! I've been using the 'Lite' version for road and the thicker stuff for off-road, MTB and cyclocross. They are all too expensive for a bit of solvent and a few drops of oil, but hey.. a bottle lasts about a year, so it won't break the bank.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/28/2017
by Dan STL, MO
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best road lube I've used lately.

Began using the lite (yellow bottle) formulation with a new 11 sp. road chain about 700 mi. ago. Drive train shifts crisply, longer than with wax-based lube I was using. Also reapplication is needed less often, no more than every 100 mi. in dry weather for me. Chain stays cleaner than with my old lube, especially if I don't over-lube. It also doesn't smell as bad. Instructions say to reapply when the drive train gets noisy. If you're used to lubing after every ride or two, this will take some getting used to. But the chain definitely stays cleaner with less lube, and still runs well. I don't write many reviews. But wanted to share this one because this product will save you time and take care of your chain and cogs too. Keep on riding!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2014
by fredbyte
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great, and pretty clean lube

I've used a bunch of different lubes over the years. This is the best I've come across so far. The trick, after applying to a clean chain, is to wipe off the excess. This means wiping the chain with a good rag while spinning the crank. Do this for 2-3 minutes. After your first ride on the freshly lubed chain, wipe it again until you get a fairly dry cloth. Dumonde claims you don't have relube it until you hear the chain start to make noise. I relube it when the chain looks particularly dry. Also, I like the Dumonde Regular better than the Lite since it seems to adhere longer to the links in the Northwest rain. Even with Dumonde, there will be a little bit of crud building up on the links. I push a Q-tip through the big links. And, another trick to get some of the crud off: Use a smooth hand cleaner such as Gojo or Fast Orange and apply to a paper towel. Then run the sides of the chain through the daubed paper towel to do a partial cleaning of the chain. (A thorough cleaning necessitates taking the chain off the bicycle and soaking it in gasoline or citrus degreaser.) My wife's SRAM 8-speed chain lasted 4500 miles using the Dumonde Lube. I replaced the chain when the 1.0 mark fell into the links using the Park chain stretch tool. The chain does look cleaner with this lube. And I dont have to reapply the lube right away after riding 1 to 2 hours in a fair to middling rain, as I used to do with some other lubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2017
by rare clan
Competitive Racer
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best I've used

I have only used the Lite version for road biking in the dry. I have found that it lubricates very well and is fairly long lasting. The characteristic I really appreciate is how clean the chain wipes down with this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2009
by Josh (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 17 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth, long lasting, and clean.

I use the original version of this lube more as it is one of the only lubes I have found to last more than a day or two in Portland rain. It is pretty thick yet doesn't get that dirty as long as you wipe off the excess after application. I generally use the lite on my road bike in the dry months as it is a bit cleaner. You can even mix the lite and original together to get whatever viscosity you want. I have tried pretty much every lube out there and this is my favorite.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2017
by rareclan
Competitive Racer
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
New favorite

I use the Lite version on all of my road bikes. Living in Southern CA I normally don't need to worry about wet weather and the Lite is all I need. Before I started using the Dumonde Tech product my go-to was Rock and Roll Gold. I still consider the Rock and Roll product excellent, but I have found the Dumonde product to keep the chain cleaner. I still keep a bottle of the Rock and Roll Gold as a back up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2017
by bikingjoe
Cycling Enthusiast
Souderton, Pa.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Lubricant

On the pricey side, but product works great. A little smelly in confined spaces. I clean my chain several times a month (I ride in all weather conditions) I have noticed chain is quieter and seems to spin easier after applying. Do not notice lubricant attracts dirt. I have tried many products, My favorite is a melted wax chain dipping. I no longer want to spend all that time to lube a chain. I am very satisfied with Dumonde Lube, I use the Lite Formula on my road bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2016
by Old John
Casual Cyclist
Anal Retentive county MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great stuff but not enough in the small tube for 20 bucks.

I prefer the lite for my road bikes chain but this stuff aint cheap I only use it on a clean dry drive train and only enough to

make the chain wet a drop on each link then shift over every sprocket to work it in evenly makes the chain run smooth clean and quiet like a sewing machine no extra residue buildup if road conditions are clear and dry

Our local bike shop still sells it for 10 bucks plus tax

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2017
by Crankin
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Lite is an excellent lube for road bikes

I like that I can tell when my bike needs to b lubed again as it does not shift or ride as easily as usual so I just lube it again

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/14/2015
by c1charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
works GREAT

Used this lube before and during this year's Dirty Kanza 200. After the mile 11-14 hike a bike section, I had peanut butter mud caked around my chain, rear tire, crankset, and front derailleur. I scraped it and squirted it clean with a water bottle and continued on. What else could I do? Reapplied at mile 70 checkpoint and then at 158 after dust, mud, grit and water crossings took their toll. I was starting to hear my chain work right before the second treatment at mile 158, so I guess their recommendations were followed. I am very pleased with the performance of Dumonde Tech original. AWOL, TourRide and Dumonde Tech-no mechanical failures!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/1/2015
by Flight
Cycling Enthusiast
Rutland, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Works flawlessly..

I've tried so many different chain lubes for MTBing and most just fail.. Ideally you are looking for a lube that gets between the roller and stays in place to cushion the wear and tear a chain goes thru..

I've tried Waxes, dry lubes, wet lubes, Motorcycle chain lubes, zinc lubes..

This lube stays on well and is a dirt shedder which is very important with MTBs. The chain looks dry but you can see it being retained between the links..

Highly recommend..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2015
by nor cal biker
Competitive Racer
placerville, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best lube on the market

I use this lube on all bike chains road, cross and mtb. A little goes a long way and it lasts. I use the traditional lube not the light version and it goes on a little thick, but you do not need much to lube a chain. Like all oil based lubes, it does pick up dirt, but not nearly as quickly as most.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2014
by pvbiker
Competitive Racer
Placerville, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
simply the best chain lubricant

No other lubricant works as well. This product goes on and stays on without attracting a lot of dirt. A bottle goes a long way, because it stays on the chain, no dripping and you can apply it sparingly. I have found no other chain lubricant that compares. Great for mountain, road and cross bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/11/2013
by AnAmerican111
Cycling Enthusiast
WPA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Dumonde is my Fav!

Dumonde DryLight is the best I have used.

Have tried too many to list but this one seems to provide excellent lube while not becoming a dirt magnet.

Use it for Road and Mountain Biking. Just need to reapply a bit more for Mountain but if your not cleaning your chain on a regular after ride basis then you are missing the point anyway

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2013
by Kirkland2Redmond
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great lube so far

Just switched to Dumonde Tech Original based on all the great reviews I saw online as well as from coworkers and LBS mechanics.

I live in the Seattle area and commute to work as well as ride my bike for general transportation. So far I am very impressed. I completely cleaned my drive train and let it dry overnight before applying. I wiped the excess and then let it sit another day before riding. I couldn't believe how quiet my drive train was. I have never heard it (or not heard it) that quiet. We had a big windstorm recently followed by heavy rains so our roads and bike lanes are covered in rotting leaves, pine needles and other debris. My bike is filthy but somehow my drive train still looks like I just cleaned it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2014
by Flash
OC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
works great in all conditions

A little dabble do ya. Nothing performs like Dumond's on my cross country MB. Makes my wheels turn.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2014
by OaktownCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Just trying it out, but so far so good!

Would have tried this long ago if not for the price. Only applied twice so far (but that's a good sign in a month, right?) and am still debating whether I buy their whole Only lube when you hear your chain? velosophy.

So far so good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2013
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great lube!

Lasts for several rides. Apply in the evening, wipe residue off in the morning.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.