Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Dumonde Tech  Bicycle Chain Lubrication

Dumonde Tech Bicycle Chain Lubrication(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(87 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(71)
(15)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(82%)
(17%)
(0%)
(1%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/17/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good Chain Lube

The lube is pretty durable and sheds dirt about as well as any other lube. I�ve used the lite version on my road bike in generally dry conditions. I use the regular version on my gravel bike and cyclocross bike especially for wet and muddy conditions.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/30/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A different way to lube

If you read/watch Dumonde's recommendations for lube, it takes a bit of work at the beginning to strip off all the factory lube and then have the discipline to put one drop of lube on each link and don't lube again until the chain makes noise. Wiping it off each ride seems to bring an endless stream of dirt - where can the lube be? But the chain doesn't squeak. Although I haven't applied a second treatment yet, I can see that although this lube is pricey, it will cost less in the long run than some of the traditional wet or dry lubes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/26/2023
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Probably the best around, but choose carefully between yellow and blue

I have been cycling for 10+ years, racing for about 8 of those. For years I used the lite version of this lube. Treat it as a dry lube. That means if the directions are followed, your chain is going to stay clean(er), but it will be louder, which is usually the case with wax and dry lubes. IME they lubricate your chain, but expect some noise after a 50-60 mile ride (unless you overlube, which will result in a quieter ride but a pretty dirty chain and drivetrain). This has been true for all dry lubes I have used. I recently took a chance with the blue (original) and now, unless I am riding through actual sandy conditions or MTBing in a desert environment, probably won't go back to yellow. Using blue, the chain is much quieter (my biggest concern) and if you thoroughly clean your chain and apply the lube as instructed while doing regular follow-up wipes and re-lubes, your chain and drivetrain will also stay miraculously clean. Yes, the blue is stickier, but IMO it does not actually collect much grime so long as the lube is not left all over the outside of the chain (drop into the rollers and always wipe well) plus you have the added benefits of a much quieter drivetrain. After my first ride I wiped the chain again as well as the chainrings and everything is still pristine. I only have a couple of rides with the blue but I am loving the experience so far.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

Reviewed 3/22/2023
by Paul
Competitive Racer
DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Thin, smelly, dirty

This lube is very thin and hard to drip onto chain rollers without spilling a lot. A better application tip would allow more precise dosing on your chain while minimizing waste. The fumes are pretty horrible, and among the worst of any chain lube I've ever used. Don't apply this indoors and be prepared to leave your bike outside to offgas for a few hours after application...Contrary to other user reviews, I found this lube to break down and get dirty very easily. Specifically, a short 30 minute commute in light rain is enough to wash this off your chain. I bought this on a half-price promotion and still think it's overpriced, more noxious version of Rock n Roll Gold.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Josh

Reviewed 3/26/2009
by Josh (BikeTiresDirect.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
17 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth, long lasting, and clean.

I use the original version of this lube more as it is one of the only lubes I have found to last more than a day or two in Portland rain. It is pretty thick yet doesn't get that dirty as long as you wipe off the excess after application. I generally use the lite on my road bike in the dry months as it is a bit cleaner. You can even mix the lite and original together to get whatever viscosity you want. I have tried pretty much every lube out there and this is my favorite.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/5/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Erie, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lives up to its claims

I use the original formula, and have done so for several years. It was recommended to me years ago by a bike mechanic I trusted, and I have not been disappointed in its performance. The two recommendations for use that I would pass on are that I depend on the sound of the chain rather than its appearance to determine when to lubricate, and that I use soap and water to clean the chain rather than any solvent. I often have to wipe off excess for the first couple of rides after lubrication, but that may be user error. It isn't an issue at any rate.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DQ

Reviewed 1/17/2022
by DQ
South
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Revolutionary lubricant

I am a Machinist and lubricant technology is my main interest. These lubes (Lite, Original, Liquid Grease, Micro Resistance Grease) are unlike all the other types. They flow into micro clearances and stay viscous, amazing they don't dry out! They seem to have a self cleaning action to. So the reviews about wiping the chain off after a ride really does keep it clean. Of course I experiment on everything with these. Door hinges, locks, knife pivots, rusted tight threads, etc. This experimenting helps discover their properties and other uses. Great long lasting lubrication, and rust proofer, the best so far!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bigborb

Reviewed 12/30/2014
by bigborb
Competitive Racer
Toronto & France
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
My favorite so far..

I moved from using ProGold for years (which is a very quick, clean and easy solution for chain maintenance) to Dumonde as my preferred lube. It requires less cleaning, (i.e. chain does not get dirty) and seems to keep the links rolling smoothly for longer. Nothing is perfect, but this comes close !! I've been using the 'Lite' version for road and the thicker stuff for off-road, MTB and cyclocross. They are all too expensive for a bit of solvent and a few drops of oil, but hey.. a bottle lasts about a year, so it won't break the bank.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by fredbyte

Reviewed 3/16/2014
by fredbyte
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Great, and pretty clean lube

I've used a bunch of different lubes over the years. This is the best I've come across so far. The trick, after applying to a clean chain, is to wipe off the excess. This means wiping the chain with a good rag while spinning the crank. Do this for 2-3 minutes. After your first ride on the freshly lubed chain, wipe it again until you get a fairly dry cloth. Dumonde claims you don't have relube it until you hear the chain start to make noise. I relube it when the chain looks particularly dry. Also, I like the Dumonde Regular better than the Lite since it seems to adhere longer to the links in the Northwest rain. Even with Dumonde, there will be a little bit of crud building up on the links. I push a Q-tip through the big links. And, another trick to get some of the crud off: Use a smooth hand cleaner such as Gojo or Fast Orange and apply to a paper towel. Then run the sides of the chain through the daubed paper towel to do a partial cleaning of the chain. (A thorough cleaning necessitates taking the chain off the bicycle and soaking it in gasoline or citrus degreaser.) My wife's SRAM 8-speed chain lasted 4500 miles using the Dumonde Lube. I replaced the chain when the 1.0 mark fell into the links using the Park chain stretch tool. The chain does look cleaner with this lube. And I dont have to reapply the lube right away after riding 1 to 2 hours in a fair to middling rain, as I used to do with some other lubes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/8/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Just enough lube.

Lite formula works great in dry weather. Re-apply when chain becomes noisy, about 100 - 120 mi. or so. Don't over-lube, as over-lubed chain will collect grit and road grime. Re-apply after riding in the rain. After trying many lubes over the years, this one seems like the best balance of lubrication and not attracting contamination. This lube leaves a dark, protective coating, so don't over-do it. And I use an older-style oil that wipes off easily for pivot points in brakes and derailleurs. One bottle lasts me about a year of frequent riding when applied to the chain only.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RMc43

Reviewed 3/17/2019
by RMc43
Competitive Racer
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
ATMO - the best chain lube

I've been riding and racing for 35 years. I began using Dumonde Tech 12 years ago when I moved to the Seattle area, and I've never seen anything better. A dab on each link, spin the crank backwards for a minute or two, wipe the excess off thoroughly. The chain is quiet, smooth, and clean until you need to reapply. I've used the lite (yellow) lube for everything. Wet weather I might need to reapply every two or three days. Dry Weather, once a week. I've found the heavier (blue) lube to be overkill, and more likely to attract dirt.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by 2K

Reviewed 10/5/2018
by 2K
Chicago Suburb
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I use this on all my bikes

It's really not a lube, but rather a dry plastic coating. I no longer get that black chain mark on my clothes or leg, when I get near my chain. You need to reapply when your chain rattles. Started with a sample from a show, and needed the bigger amount for all my bikes.

Review Detail
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by B''ham Biker

Reviewed 10/18/2021
by B''ham Biker
BELLINGHAM
Overall Rating
Good lube

Very good chain lube. Use the heavier lube in winter and the lighter version in summer. The heavier stuff sticks around better in the wet weather. Bought when BTD had a special. Good price when you do it that way!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dan STL, MO

Reviewed 7/28/2017
by Dan STL, MO
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Best road lube I've used lately.

Began using the lite (yellow bottle) formulation with a new 11 sp. road chain about 700 mi. ago. Drive train shifts crisply, longer than with wax-based lube I was using. Also reapplication is needed less often, no more than every 100 mi. in dry weather for me. Chain stays cleaner than with my old lube, especially if I don't over-lube. It also doesn't smell as bad. Instructions say to reapply when the drive train gets noisy. If you're used to lubing after every ride or two, this will take some getting used to. But the chain definitely stays cleaner with less lube, and still runs well. I don't write many reviews. But wanted to share this one because this product will save you time and take care of your chain and cogs too. Keep on riding!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rare clan

Reviewed 7/6/2017
by rare clan
Competitive Racer
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Best I've used

I have only used the Lite version for road biking in the dry. I have found that it lubricates very well and is fairly long lasting. The characteristic I really appreciate is how clean the chain wipes down with this product.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rareclan

Reviewed 4/24/2017
by rareclan
Competitive Racer
SoCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
New favorite

I use the Lite version on all of my road bikes. Living in Southern CA I normally don't need to worry about wet weather and the Lite is all I need. Before I started using the Dumonde Tech product my go-to was Rock and Roll Gold. I still consider the Rock and Roll product excellent, but I have found the Dumonde product to keep the chain cleaner. I still keep a bottle of the Rock and Roll Gold as a back up.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old John

Reviewed 2/21/2016
by Old John
Casual Cyclist
Anal Retentive county MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great stuff but not enough in the small tube for 20 bucks.

I prefer the lite for my road bikes chain but this stuff aint cheap I only use it on a clean dry drive train and only enough to

make the chain wet a drop on each link then shift over every sprocket to work it in evenly makes the chain run smooth clean and quiet like a sewing machine no extra residue buildup if road conditions are clear and dry

Our local bike shop still sells it for 10 bucks plus tax

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeffrey

Reviewed 9/17/2020
by Jeffrey
SE Michigan
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Better stuff

I swapped out ProLink Gold for the Dumonde light. Campy 11 drive went from noisy to silent and runs more smoothly. It is good stuff. One drop per link, spin it, and wipe the excess off and you are good for another 300 miles.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/12/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great in dusty areas!

Quality product and holds up in dusty riding conditions here in NM

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by c1charlie

Reviewed 6/14/2015
by c1charlie
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
works GREAT

Used this lube before and during this year's Dirty Kanza 200. After the mile 11-14 hike a bike section, I had peanut butter mud caked around my chain, rear tire, crankset, and front derailleur. I scraped it and squirted it clean with a water bottle and continued on. What else could I do? Reapplied at mile 70 checkpoint and then at 158 after dust, mud, grit and water crossings took their toll. I was starting to hear my chain work right before the second treatment at mile 158, so I guess their recommendations were followed. I am very pleased with the performance of Dumonde Tech original. AWOL, TourRide and Dumonde Tech-no mechanical failures!

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]