Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Donnelly Tires XPlor MSO 700c Tubeless Gravel Tire

Donnelly TiresX'Plor MSO 700c Tubeless Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(12%)
(6%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Doug

Reviewed 10/26/2018
by Doug
Competitive Racer
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
As durable as advertised

I currently have over 2,000 miles on a set of MSO 700x40 TR, and I am very pleased with their performance - as in NO PUNCTURES!! I run them tubeless on a set of HED Belgium. I ran them in the Almanzo 100, DK 200, Heck of the North and lots and lots of gravel training miles (note I have a 2nd wheelset with 700x30 road tires for non-gravel riding). I have no idea how they perform speed-wise compared to other tires, but they seem fast enough for me. And the fact that they havent flated in a race makes them faster than having to stop and fix a flat.

I will definitely be putting a new pair of Donnellys on my bike for 2019 - most likely another set of MSOs.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark in Salem

Reviewed 1/6/2022
by Mark in Salem
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Prelim report - great BTD service, tires mount well

Just wanted to post a **thank you** for B.T. Direct's great service. Ordered two of these, arrived !one! day later. The first one wouldn't mount straight, pulled it off and the second one went on easy (I'm using tubes, btw.) Seems the tread of the first one was crooked, though it was *very* hard to see until you mounted & spun the tire. Just slipped by Donnelly's QC, I guess.

BTD sent me a prepaid return label same day that I asked, and I had the replacement tire in two days total - in holiday season no less. The replacement just went on easy & straight. Tires look very nice; haven't ridden 'em yet, will report back later.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SF architect

Reviewed 3/13/2021
by SF architect
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good grip in the 700x36

I just built up a new gravel bike, but to save some $ I kept my road wheels...so I'm a little limited when it comes to going too wide, as I want to avoid any issues with my rims.

That said, though, I'm a huge fan of these tires. The 36 is, I guess, considered a narrow tire in the world of gravel, but it gives me a level of confidence that brings my off road riding to a whole new level.

On top of that, these tires are barely noticeable on pavement, which is an excellent thing.

Highly recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SF architect

Reviewed 3/12/2021
by SF architect
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good grip in the 700x36

I just built up a new gravel bike, but to save some $ I kept my road wheels...so I'm a little limited when it comes to going too wide, as I want to avoid any issues with my rims.

That said, though, I'm a huge fan of these tires. The 36 is, I guess, considered a narrow tire in the world of gravel, but it gives me a level of confidence that brings my off road riding to a whole new level.

On top of that, these tires are barely noticeable on pavement, which is an excellent thing.

Highly recommended.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Adam

Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Adam
Competitive Racer
San Diego
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
tough, versatile tire - will not puncture!

Excellent tire. Rode it for SBT Grvl race and have gone through several as general gravel use tires. Have ridden the 40c and 36c versions of this. San Diego has tough rocky trails and need something that won't gash side walls if you ride hard. A slightly heavier than average tire because the sidewalls are so strong but result is no cuts. I passed tons of guys with flats on the sharp stuff on races. Great traction and fast on road. IMO 700x40c is the perfect gravel tire to go anywhere and Donnelly's are not going to leave you stranded.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TMH

Reviewed 10/22/2018
by TMH
SE WA state
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
They Took the Beating I Dished Out

Got the MSO 40s in 700c, tubeless. Mounting was not overly difficult. One of my pair inflated directly from a floor pump, the other required the compressor. Sealed (orange) fine. So mounting experience was very good (DT Swiss aluminum hoops). Rode a couple fondos (and other rides) and they took the abuse well. The Fondo was especially abusive with lots of sharp basalt rock and steep climbs. I picked these specifically because of the anticipated conditions for the Fondo and I am impressed. They have pretty good traction as well and the center bar rolls pretty well on the pavement.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wheelio

Reviewed 7/29/2021
by Wheelio
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham Wa.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fast rolling gravel tire

Just finished a 200 mile bike tour in the hot and somewhat smoky Palouse in southeast Washington. These tires roll fast on packed gravel but a bit sketchy on the loose stuff. I'm very impressed on how well they roll. There pricey but I think you get what you pay for.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Reviewed 3/4/2021
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO United States
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great performance but wearing fast

I have these on DT Swiss rims on a Lynskey Backroad frame used for commuting and touring. I like the feel and performance of the tires but with about 2000 miles on them the rear tire is already worn slick in the middle. For that reason I feel they are overpriced.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/21/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
??

Great traction on dirt. Rolls well on pavement.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/31/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great and long-lasting.

Mostly pavement, but some time on gravel roads in Michigan, Georgia, and North Carolina.

Got my first flat at 6,000 miles! Time for a new set.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mayt

Reviewed 11/15/2018
by Mayt
fauetteville Arkansas
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent gravel tire

This tire ran tubeless is comfortable, fast and handles gravel, hardpack very well! Have been on at least 20 rides with no issues whatsoever! Highly recommend!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gravel junkie

Reviewed 7/24/2018
by Gravel junkie
Cycling Enthusiast
Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire !!

Used these tires (700x50c) on my Specialized Elite gravel bike and rode the the first phase of the Great Divide Ride from Banff, AB to Whitefish, Montana. Had about 45 lbs. of gear on bike (self supported). While I could have used a wider tire to handle the fast descents, these tires nevertheless performed exceptionally well. Never had a flat either-)

Without the gear on the bike I could have ridden almost as fast as on my mountain bike. Recommend these tires!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Arcadian

Reviewed 5/14/2021
by Arcadian
Mssouri Ozarks
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Secure in dirt and gravel

I've run other brands, but these feel more secure in dirt and loose gravel. I have dropped back down to 36mm now, and find even with that smaller tire I have better control on soft surfaces.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AMP

Reviewed 7/6/2018
by AMP
Competitive Racer
Shasta, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Raced them at Lost & Found.

Ran them tubeless with 35 psi at this year's Lost & Found gravel grinder. They provided reliable handling in the rough stuff, and were smooth on the pavement sections. No problems through a bunch of rocky sections where others suffered flats. I was very pleased.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/30/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Love these tires.

I have used these tires since I did my first DK 200 on them 2 years ago. Not one issue with them. I run them tubeless or with tubes gor extra protection.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by WIbiker

Reviewed 7/11/2023
by WIbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
North central Wisconsin
Overall Rating
Good tires are hard to find.

I'm a big fan of this excellent tire but they are very hard to find. They work well on gravel and pavement and are durable lasting 1500-1800 miles. When I got one with a factory defect they were quick to replace it at no cost. I will continue to use them as long as I find them.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by T5Gravel Guy

Reviewed 4/3/2020
by T5Gravel Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
All across the US
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
This tire is excellent on all surfaces

This tire is used on my GravelTravel bike. I have had no problems with them in over 6,000 miles

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]