Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
D and D Oberlauda UltraLight Bike Mirror

D and D OberlaudaUltraLight Bike Mirror(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(11)
(2)
(1)
(1)
(71%)
(21%)
(4%)
(2%)
(2%)
Reviewed 9/20/2021
by mjmsmith
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
excellent mirror

Works well, easy to install. Note that it's designed for the left side handlebar. Would buy a right-side one as well if it was available.

P.S. When was the last time you saw a Microsoft Front Page website? http://www.rueckblick-total.de

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by JSTSmember
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Far superior to handlebar end mirrors

Had been frustrated with my handlebar end mirror always moving on rides. Then a friend showed up for a ride with this mirror and said it doesn't move even when hitting bad bumps in the road. I've been using it for a couple of months now. Not only does it stay put but has a larger view than my old mirror and doesn't interfere when I'm in the drops. Very happy with the purchase and fast shipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2019
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Follow-up Comparison, Oberlauda vs Mirrcycle

I'm doing a 2nd review of this product because I was able to do a side-by-side comparison of the Ultralight and the Mirrcycle Bar End. This latter mirror is marketed for straight barsmountain bikes, but it works perfectly well on a drop bar. I was able to mount both mirrors on the same side of my road bike, the Ultralight being clamped about the middle of the bend in the drop bar, and the Mirrcycle plugging into the bar end. I adjusted both mirrors and rode far enough to compare the images. Both, in my opinion, are well constructed and well designed. Both are vibration-free. The advantage of the Ultralight is its wide parabolic view. While the parabolic feature means you can't see quite as far behind you the mirror gives a clear, wide, and steady picture of the road behind. The Mirrcycle does that, too, and may give a slightly longer view, but if I had to pick one for my road bike it would be the Ultralight. To be fair, there are some conditions the Mirrcycle probably does a better job and you won't go wrong buying either of them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2021
by Mitch Friendly
Cycling Enthusiast
Central NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I don't know how i ever got along without this mirror

Every so often a company comes out with a perfect product and this is one of those times. This bicycle mirror, made in Germany, has been around for years and I always had it in the back of my mind to get one. I tried a helmet-mounted mirror, which didn't work for me and just gave up.

Now, with cell phones-distracted drivers and angrier drivers as a result of the pandemic, most of my buddies have given up road riding and switch to trails. I, however, refuse to give up.

The issue with road riding is cars coming up behind and passing with too little room or honking or sometimes purposely harrassing me and once in awhile, running me off the road. I have a helmet, a large reflecting vest and bright lights but that just wasn't enough. Then I installed Ultralights on my three road bikes.

What a game changer! With this mirror, I can see what is (or isn't) behind me. I know exactly how close a vehicle is to me as they are passing. I can check in the mirror if cars are coming when I'm pulling out onto the road. I don't have to turn my head all the time. Having a mirror has taken out much of the stress of road riding. I will never again ride without a mirror.

I just bought another Ultralite mirror, which I am having shipped to my son and will probably buy a few more for friends. Even though it is one of the more pricier mirrors, it is well-designed and is worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Biker Don
Cycling Enthusiast
Chester County PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Mirror

Best Mirror I have ever used. It has a very wide field of view. I could never get used to a helmet mirror and I feel blind without a mirror so this is a great solution. I have a road bike and I don�t find it to be a problem to use. It attaches with Zip straps. I can�t imagine riding without it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/27/2020
by JC Nifty
Reno NV
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good expansion of rear vision

PROS: The convex shape really helps to witness a vehicle over at multiple distances. Great tool to merge lanes (using this as the initial check before an over shoulder glance). Survived ~3 weeks so far on our compost fleet E-Bike so has a certain amount of strength. The metal screws provide the necessary tightening ability to really lock this in place.

CONS: Lots of plastic. So far so good but with the right fall this mirror is prob toast

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Fresno, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent product

One of the few handlebar-mounted mirrors that can be used on a bike with bar-end shifters. Easy to install and does not move with road vibrations. I don't trim the end of the clamp strap so I can move it between bikes if I desire (might help also in reinstalling when I change bar tape). I use it oriented vertically and still provides more than adequate field of view.

Drawbacks - it is a big mirror although very light. Might be more wind resistance that some want. And there is curvature to the mirror (its not flat) so there is some distortion that makes distance judging tricky.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/14/2021
by fl cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Central West coast Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Mirror

I use this mirror on my two wheel recumbent. It allows me to see if anyone is coming up behind me. My handle bars are a little skinny so I had to add a rubber bushing to get it to tighten down. I would never ride without this mirror.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Super lite mirror

I own four. One for every bike. Visibility is great. Very Little vibration due to secure mount. Durable, I have tipped the bike over and landed on mirror without suffering any damage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2021
by flbikerider
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Mirror

I use this on my Bacchetta Basso 3.0. It is a great mirror. I can now see behind me like I never could with any other mirror. It is a sturdy mirror that is easy to mount and adjust. I highly recommend this mirror.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2020
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best Design

This is simply the best bike mirror I've found, and I've tried a lot of them. Field of view is excellent, the ball joints can be tightened, and it can be attached anywhere on a drop bar. The mirror mounts on a stalk which looks a little delicate but it doesn't vibrate in normal use and when it's mounted properly it puts the mirror far enough out so your arm doesn't obscure your view. A rating.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best Mirror I've Found

I've tried a bunch of rear-view mirrors and most have at least one fatal flaw, usually vibration or inadequate view. This is the only mirror I've found that does a reasonably good job of avoiding both of those problems. It has screw-clamp adjustments (more secure than friction), and a wide field of view that includes almost none of my knee. Also, the mounting system is very well thought out. I was able to find a sweet spot to mount it on my drop bars-a challenge for many designs. My one concern is the relatively small-diameter stalk that attaches the mirror to the clamp-it is vulnerable to breakage and easily knocked out of adjustment. But I can't complain too much because the stalk is the reason the mirror has a good field of view, not blocked by the leg. And while the skinny stalk looks like it would let the mirror shake when driving over rough pavement, I haven't found this to be the case. Unless you're hammering over ruts on a dirt road, this mirror will be steady.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2019
by Chaos
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
besst mirror I've found for drop bars

Hard to find a decent mirror for drop bars that works and doesn't look dorky. It has good optics, no distortion and is just convex enough to give nice coverage without making everything tiny. The are several mounting options, I put mine as high on the bar as possible under the brake. I like the vertical orientation. Cars and bikes behind me are easy to see and it does not interfere with my hand. I've dropped the bike hard on the mirror a couple of times and other than some scratching on the plastic it's been fine, the mirror back, mount and stem are pretty rugged. All in all, pretty happy with it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2021
by T Collen
Nebraska
Overall Rating
Exactly what I hoped for

Good pricing with lightning fast delivery. Will shop here again and again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2020
by Ed
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It helps to have a mirror which I didn't have before for a long time.

It's a decent mirror but I have a burning desire to cut the shaft in the middle and add a couple of shaft couplings and a piece of shaft to extend the length. I have it on drop-down bars and half the view is obscured by my arm. If a longer shaft can be supplied, I would buy another one from you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anonymous
Ct
Overall Rating
works for me

attaches easy, good visibility, I mount it vertically, wide end up but you have options

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2021
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
South Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect for my trip through the Florida Keys

Easy fit on the Trek gravel bike drop bars. Lightweight, great price, wide angle and easy to adjust to keep tabs on traffic and my riding partner.. can�t believe I waited so long to get this..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sandy Springs, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Probably the best mirror for a recumbent I have used.

I use it on my recumbent. I use one on the right and one for the left. The wide angle is extremely helpful on turns....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by Psycholist
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate, SC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Spoiled by better products

This is an adequate product. Adequate. Adequate was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2017
by Stephen Mikesell
Madison, wisconsin
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best mirror

I got tired of the cheap, too little mirrors that always needed adjusting or too easily broke. This one solves those problems. Has good visibility from different angles. Not quite perfect because it's mounted on the handle bar and thus there is a little bit of incovenience reaching around it on a road bike. But balanced out by always being in position and being able to be knocked around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 90

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]