Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
D and D Oberlauda UltraLight Bike Mirror

D and D OberlaudaUltraLight Bike Mirror(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(41 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(10)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(68%)
(24%)
(5%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 9/4/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Fresno, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent product

One of the few handlebar-mounted mirrors that can be used on a bike with bar-end shifters. Easy to install and does not move with road vibrations. I don't trim the end of the clamp strap so I can move it between bikes if I desire (might help also in reinstalling when I change bar tape). I use it oriented vertically and still provides more than adequate field of view.

Drawbacks - it is a big mirror although very light. Might be more wind resistance that some want. And there is curvature to the mirror (its not flat) so there is some distortion that makes distance judging tricky.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2019
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Follow-up Comparison, Oberlauda vs Mirrcycle

I'm doing a 2nd review of this product because I was able to do a side-by-side comparison of the Ultralight and the Mirrcycle Bar End. This latter mirror is marketed for straight barsmountain bikes, but it works perfectly well on a drop bar. I was able to mount both mirrors on the same side of my road bike, the Ultralight being clamped about the middle of the bend in the drop bar, and the Mirrcycle plugging into the bar end. I adjusted both mirrors and rode far enough to compare the images. Both, in my opinion, are well constructed and well designed. Both are vibration-free. The advantage of the Ultralight is its wide parabolic view. While the parabolic feature means you can't see quite as far behind you the mirror gives a clear, wide, and steady picture of the road behind. The Mirrcycle does that, too, and may give a slightly longer view, but if I had to pick one for my road bike it would be the Ultralight. To be fair, there are some conditions the Mirrcycle probably does a better job and you won't go wrong buying either of them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/7/2020
by Ed
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
It helps to have a mirror which I didn't have before for a long time.

It's a decent mirror but I have a burning desire to cut the shaft in the middle and add a couple of shaft couplings and a piece of shaft to extend the length. I have it on drop-down bars and half the view is obscured by my arm. If a longer shaft can be supplied, I would buy another one from you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Super lite mirror

I own four. One for every bike. Visibility is great. Very Little vibration due to secure mount. Durable, I have tipped the bike over and landed on mirror without suffering any damage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
gOOd view

unlike many other mirrors, stays in position unless really knocked.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2020
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Design

This is simply the best bike mirror I've found, and I've tried a lot of them. Field of view is excellent, the ball joints can be tightened, and it can be attached anywhere on a drop bar. The mirror mounts on a stalk which looks a little delicate but it doesn't vibrate in normal use and when it's mounted properly it puts the mirror far enough out so your arm doesn't obscure your view. A rating.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Anonymous
Ct
Overall Rating
works for me

attaches easy, good visibility, I mount it vertically, wide end up but you have options

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Mirror I've Found

I've tried a bunch of rear-view mirrors and most have at least one fatal flaw, usually vibration or inadequate view. This is the only mirror I've found that does a reasonably good job of avoiding both of those problems. It has screw-clamp adjustments (more secure than friction), and a wide field of view that includes almost none of my knee. Also, the mounting system is very well thought out. I was able to find a sweet spot to mount it on my drop bars-a challenge for many designs. My one concern is the relatively small-diameter stalk that attaches the mirror to the clamp-it is vulnerable to breakage and easily knocked out of adjustment. But I can't complain too much because the stalk is the reason the mirror has a good field of view, not blocked by the leg. And while the skinny stalk looks like it would let the mirror shake when driving over rough pavement, I haven't found this to be the case. Unless you're hammering over ruts on a dirt road, this mirror will be steady.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2019
by Chaos
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
besst mirror I've found for drop bars

Hard to find a decent mirror for drop bars that works and doesn't look dorky. It has good optics, no distortion and is just convex enough to give nice coverage without making everything tiny. The are several mounting options, I put mine as high on the bar as possible under the brake. I like the vertical orientation. Cars and bikes behind me are easy to see and it does not interfere with my hand. I've dropped the bike hard on the mirror a couple of times and other than some scratching on the plastic it's been fine, the mirror back, mount and stem are pretty rugged. All in all, pretty happy with it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/10/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sandy Springs, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Probably the best mirror for a recumbent I have used.

I use it on my recumbent. I use one on the right and one for the left. The wide angle is extremely helpful on turns....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2019
by Willy
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This mirror is on all 4 of my road bikes

I use this mirror on all my road bikes because it provides a great view of the road behind. It mounts easily even on drop bars, adjusts well, and provides a large clear image. It's also reasonably durable. Many of my fellow riders ordered one when they saw how well mine worked.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2017
by Stephen Mikesell
Madison, wisconsin
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best mirror

I got tired of the cheap, too little mirrors that always needed adjusting or too easily broke. This one solves those problems. Has good visibility from different angles. Not quite perfect because it's mounted on the handle bar and thus there is a little bit of incovenience reaching around it on a road bike. But balanced out by always being in position and being able to be knocked around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2016
by tinytiny
Casual Cyclist
penna.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
good mirrow for drop handle bars i used my on straight bat on bottom left side shoultrers block view on top overe all good

over all i thought the mirror be bigger in with

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2018
by Drea
Solon
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great mirror

Best mirror I've ever had, great view.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/25/2014
by Philae
Atlanta, Ga
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
best mirror anywhere for drop handlebars.

I love this mirror, the best on the market for drop handlebars. I wish it came with a longer stem and a larger mirror size. The shape of the mirror is genius.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2014
by Pawlicker
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham,WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Light weight, simple design better for touring that a pure road bike.

Maybe it is because I am tall and quite a distance from the mirror but it's size limits it's usefulness. Who knows there may not be a perfect solution on a bike.

I have bar end shifters so can't try a bar end mirror.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2018
by NW Washington rider
Casual Cyclist
NW Washington
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
It is useful, but...

To be useful, the mirror must be placed below the left grip (I placed the clamp just to the inside of the grip). The view it provides is helpful, but is very small and the wide-angle surface, of course, means very little detail can be seen, if any object is seen, you must presume it's a car approaching. So, I'm glad to have it, it looks much better than a large and heavy mirror on top of the handlebar, but the view to the rear is limited and mine needs to be readjusted periodically where it swivels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/14/2014
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
North
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
best mirror

I've tried a lot of mirrors and this one is the best. It has a large viewing range and it's lightweight. Not much more to say. It works.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2014
by Jintsfan
Central Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Works just like my car side view mirror

Tried a couple of different mirrors. One gave me a perfect view of my reciprocating knee. The other made me dizzy the way it jumped around. This mirror Perfection! It's just like looking in my car's side view mirror. And it stays in place. I haven't been over rough terrain, so I can't comment about that.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2014
by Bobthebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Chula Vista, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great mirror

I believe in bike mirrors but I do not like the helmet or glasses mounted type. This mirror works great, it is adjustable, it is clear and easy to see traffic and just is what a good mirror should be.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 97