Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Crank Bros Eggbeater 3 Pedals

Crank BrosEggbeater 3 Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(82%)
(12%)
(0%)
(6%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Paul

Reviewed 3/14/2024
by Paul
Florida
Overall Rating
Eggcelent:)

I've used Eggbeaters for years, needed a new pair, got these on sale, all good. The 3's are a step up from the base model and have better longevity and durability.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike

Reviewed 8/26/2022
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Eggbeater 3's are great pedals.

This is my 2nd pair of Eggbeater 3 pedals for my original gravel bike. The first pair lasted over 7 years / 14K miles and may still be usable, but the clip springs are getting a bit, well, loose and wobbly. To their credit, I clip/unclip often during rides and in general, I am fairly rough on pedals. Was very happy with my original ones, and these appear to have the same high quality.

All I ever did to maintain my Eggbeater 3's was to clean out the gravel/trail gunk with either soapy water, citrus based solvent or WD40. Of the 3 approaches, no surprise that solvent seemed to work the best. And then I would lube them with teflon based spray lubricant.

Worth the difference in price for longevity vs the Eggbeater 1's, which failed on me on one ride after just a few years of road riding, which is less taxing on a bike and components than gravel/trail adventures.

Great pedals. Also got them on sale. So at full price they are definitely more spendy but if my experience is any guide, they will live long and you'll prosper!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DylanM

Reviewed 3/10/2022
by DylanM
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
I love eggbeaters - these are gorgeous, solid, and a fine deal

I learned about eggbeaters when shopping for pedals for my mountain bike. They're so simple and foolproof, I use them on my commuter, road, cross and mountain bikes. I got these to match the red frame of my commuter - the pedals now tie the color scheme together. Compared to the 20-year old eggbeaters they replaced, they are more solid, and I can get rebuild kits for them, so I anticipate these will last another 20+ years.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tomas

Reviewed 3/2/2017
by Tomas
Seattle
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Convenient and Reliable

I'm a fan of the Crank Bros pedals. I use the Eggbeater 3s on all my bikes that use mtn bike pedals. They clear mud and snow easily, and the metal bodies hold up to abuse well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rmictks

Reviewed 1/14/2021
by rmictks
Competitive Racer
Wichita Kansas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
They just work

I have Eggbeaters on all my bikes, even my road bike in the winter. I have used them for 10 plus years and have not had any regrets. I mostly ride gravel and race CX but for the money you can't (egg) beat them. lol

PS I like the 3 as they are the best value in my opinion.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by peejayemm

Reviewed 8/31/2020
by peejayemm
Cycling Enthusiast
Harstine island, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
I used to be a big fan

I have eggbeaters on both of my bikes and bought a set of replacement 3s a couple of months ago. My last set had maybe 10,000 miles on them, so I thought it was time to replace them. After maybe 500 miles on my road bike, the right pedal slipped off the spindle. The bearing blew out and that's what holds it together. I am now trying to get a warranty claim filed with Crank Brothers. Very frustrating.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ldeb

Reviewed 12/8/2014
by ldeb
Competitive Racer
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best peddle for mountain and cross

Have a set of these on my mountain bike and both cyclocross bikes. Easy and fast for entry and exit. Shed mud, snow, and grime like nobody's business. Have heard people express concerns about the small contact patch to the shoe but with a stiff soled shoe it is not a problem.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/18/2022
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Los Angeles area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The perfect pedals

These pedals are as great as I hoped they would be. Easy to engage, small profile, seemingly very durable. All around great!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/9/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Light, impossible to clog, but not adjustable

Pedals are great - light, impossible to clog, clip in from four sides. No adjustment of spring tension and the standard cleats have a lot of float, way more standard SPD. Consider pairing with a shoe with stiff sole as the contact area is small. Overall I like these a lot.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ron

Reviewed 10/26/2018
by Ron
Cycling Enthusiast
San Marcos
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I use for road peddles

I purchase the adapter for road peddles and use the Eggbeater cleats with my Road bike. I like them because I can clip in quickly and they have lots of knee rotation. Best peddles and very light. Cornering clearance is very good. They last forever and you can re-grease them quickly. Can't go wrong.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OregonTuff

Reviewed 8/31/2017
by OregonTuff
Competitive Racer
Southern Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Hard boiled goodness

I rode a pair of Crank Bros. Candy pedals for many, many years. They were durable for sure and I loved the idea of the stability of the Candy platform. Still, I felt like the platform limited the number of entry points during a cross race (for example), so I opted for the Eggbeaters. These particular 'beaters are light weight and darn pretty. I consider it a facelift to the look of my crosser and so far I am digging them big time.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/13/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great

The best

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/13/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great pedal

Great pedal. Got it fast great service

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Uphill

Review for Crank Bros 2013 Eggbeater 3 Pedals
Reviewed 6/20/2013
by Uphill
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Light and great clip

2 pairs and love both strong clip in easily and out I use with sidi shoes and would not buy anything else!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ggtriguy

Review for Crank Bros 2013 Eggbeater 3 Pedals
Reviewed 9/6/2012
by ggtriguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great for cyclocross

I switched from Speedplay Frogs (on my mountainbike and cyclocross) to Eggbeaters and have been very happy with both my mountain bike and cyclocross bike. It took a few times to get used to slightly different release point but I think it is easier to click out and jump over the barriers and click back in with the Eggbeaters.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by scott.hillson

Reviewed 7/9/2015
by scott.hillson
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Some of the best Eggbeaters yet

It seems like eggbeaters are under appreciated. They have an awesome warranty, they last forever regardless. They're lightweight, bombproof, and have excellent power transfer on the road and off the road. I dare say they're the perfect pedal.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Review for Crank Bros 2013 Eggbeater 3 Pedals
Reviewed 11/16/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Best pedal going!

It is all about personal preference. but these pedals are pretty nuke proof to even include being the only thing I was able to salvage off my bike after I got hit by a car. They survived a couple of trips to the Utah desert where when you go down it is nothing but rock. And, as for mud clearance, if you can get your shoe out of the mud and find the pedal, you can click in.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]