Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Ultra Sport (Wire Bead) 27 Inch

ContinentalUltra Sport (Wire Bead) 27 Inch(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(0)
(1)
(2)
(1)
(67%)
(0%)
(8%)
(17%)
(8%)
Reviewed 6/8/2015
by Dome
Casual Cyclist
Los Angeles, Ca.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
What you see what you get.

Pro. Nice and sharp looking.

Smooth ride.

Con. Non.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/17/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Worth, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Tyre!

With only a few centuries on this as a front tire, it has performed well, & withstood some really rocky consructions stretches. I have not had it long enough to determine longevity.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very comfortable tires

Soft and compliant even on bumpy roads at 1-14 wide.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Caldwell, Idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Just Right for Me

I bought an old road bike that had these tires on it. The tires were so old they were crumbling but I kept on using them and using them. They performed so well I didn't give a second thougth to buying this tire to replace the old ones. I think a lot of people who have had trouble with flats haven't learned how to stay on the pavement where car tires have already picked up all the hazards to road bike tires. I learned this bit of advice from another guy I know who logs lots of miles on his road bike with very few flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2012
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
great grip

I use this tire for a front tire, grabs the road on corners better than any tire I have found at the price. I put 60 miles a day on this tire and have no complaints, I get about 3,500-4,000 miles out of one before it gets a little weak on the support. Hardly ever a flat, I will keep using this tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2012
by rickintx
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Exellent grip and handeling

I use the 27x1 14 for a front tire. It has the best grip that I have found and I ride about 3-400 miles a week. Only once in a while will I get a flat and thats only after 2500 miles. It's a good tire and I will keep buying it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/30/2012
by BoiseGBPeddler
Casual Cyclist
Boise, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Nice economical tire, better than what I expected so it was purfect!

The tile kind of says it all, Nice economical tire, better than what I expected so it was purfect!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2012
by CyclingRI
Cycling Enthusiast
Warwick, RI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Just for a Trainer

The tire rolling and cornering are very nice, but they wore out quickly.

I've only put 300 miles on them and the rear tire looks like it has a lot more mileage. They also seem to be made of a soft rubber and kick up dirt and pebbles.

They are not flat or puncher resistant so I would only recommend that they be used on a trainer and not for daily commuting or regular riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2012
by Fujiman50
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston,TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
3,500 hard miles is what I get out of this tire before I get any flats!

I use this as a front tire, it has GREAT grip on pavement or concrete, hugs corners, very good feel. I ride about 60mi. a day as a workout, and put this tire to the test everyday, they have never let me down, I will continue to buy this tire as long as they sell it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2011
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Anchorage, AK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
23 of 29 customers found this review helpful.
Can't recommend for anyone...

These came with my new entry level carbon race bike, forget the fact that they are heavy as all get out, there is absolutely zero puncture protection. I've had 4 flats in the past week, all from TINY shards of glass and some large semi sharp pebbles that I can imagine just about any other tire would have just rolled over...

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/10/2010
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cambridge, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
49 of 61 customers found this review helpful.
Not for city riding.....very porous tread

After getting a flat, I examined the tire and found all sorts of mini shards and even sharp tiny stones. Granted its a fairly urban ride. But there were about 20 places where I had to dig out bits of glass etc. Spongy and porous rubber and hard riding don't mix.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2010
by Big Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
New Brunswick N.J.
Overall Rating
A very good mid - priced performance tire

I bought a pair of continental Ultra Sport 27 x 1 -18 for my old 'Paris Sport' ten speed ,

seams to ride nice can't complain - will know more after a few months .

Hard to find the 1-18 size around anymore for the 27s - nice price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 47

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]