Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Touring Plus Reflex (700c)

ContinentalTouring Plus Reflex (700c)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(67 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(10)
(3)
(5)
(5)
(66%)
(15%)
(4%)
(7%)
(7%)
Reviewed 2/17/2017
by BostonBiker
Daily Commuter
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
great tire, great value

I got this tire with winter city riding in mind. I wanted to balance aggressiveness of the tread, price, and what could fit on my bike (limited by the brake bridge to 32mm). this tire has done great for me in city riding throughout the winter, light snow (1-2in), slush, or hard-packed snow this does handles the conditions pretty well - so very pleased with its value.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2017
by BornAgainBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Garden State, New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire for Casual Riding on Paved surfaces as well as packed stone trails

I purchased the 700c x 42mm tires. Tire grips the surface well and appears to be of good quality. Have not ridden much since getting the tires but the few times I have the ride seemed solid. Also, I purchased Continental tube and installed both at same time. Tire fit snug on the rim, more than my prior tires. Had to use tools to install them. Anyone not familiar with right way to install tubes in tires should read and follow the directions on the website. It was helpful to me. Since putting air in the tires over 2 month ago, I am still riding on the same fill. Hardly lost any air which is surprising. I bought the tires on sale, I think 25% off list, so definitely a good deal for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2016
by Joe H
Cycling Enthusiast
Central NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good grip for a utility tire

Have these on my hybrid around town bike. They have worked well on wet roads. Can't comment on durability yet but Conti's are generally good quality tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2019
by -jeffB
Cycling Enthusiast
Central NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Incredibly durable, my go-to tire

I bought a closeout Novara Randonee in early 2015 with these tires installed (70032).

The rear tire started showing orange wear-through around 3000 miles. In that time, I'd had one flat on it. I replaced it with the same model.

I replaced that tire after 3700 miles. No flats.

I replaced THAT tire after 6300 miles. It was showing quite a lot of orange at that point, but STILL no flats.

I've got about 4000 miles on the current rear tire. I should start keeping an eye on its wear, I guess - I've got a full fender on the back, so I don't see it when I'm riding.

Oh, and the front tire? It's orange all around now - fair enough, since it's got SEVENTEEN THOUSAND MILES on it. With no flats. (Clearly, my weight is mostly over the back, but still.)

Now, I ride on a rail-to-trail that's paved over some of its length, gravel-screened over some, with few road crossings and not a lot of trash. I expect I'd get more flats if I did a lot of road miles. But I've been beyond impressed with these tires, and I'll certainly keep buying them.

To the mounting problems other users have mentioned these are a LITTLE hard to get on, but nothing out of the ordinary in my experience. It may be that my rims are a little looser than some others, or it might be a temperature thing (I've usually changed them in warm weather).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2016
by Long Haul Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My new favorite commuting tire.

I use these tires on my commuter bike. They look great. I have the 37mm width ones, and they measure 34mm with 70 psi. If they are as good as the Continental Country Plus tires I've used, flats will be very rare.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2016
by DB1bybike
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Doesn't Fit 700c

I personally maintain my own fleet of bicycles, have built bikes and wheels from the ground up. I've mounted tires hundreds of time. This tire I bought for my commuter because of the reflective side walls and thick tread. But I have ruined dozens of tubes trying to mount this tire which frankly does not fit a 700c rim. Regular tire levers just snap so went with steel reinforces ones. They are plastic covered so they don't snap but it's nearly impossible to mount the tire without cutting the tube. Finally threw the tire away after using up 4 others on the road. So I gave them a chance. The Continental Gatorskin mounts perfectly fine on the same rims. I don't know why Conti got this tire so wrong, but they won't change it. Save yourself a lot of frustration and do not buy this tire.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Hi,

Thanks for your feedback on the tires! This is the first we have heard of someone having extreme difficulty installing these tires. It sounds like you disposed of them at this point, but we would be happy to answer any fitment questions you may have regarding tire/rim options in the future. Please give us a call or email at your convenience and we will help get you back on the road.

Best, Derek

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2015
by Gavro2
Cycling Enthusiast
IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great entry level commuter tire

I've only had these tires for a few months now, but they they have definitely served me well. I ride every day to and from work and then occasionally on weekends for errands, so I've had ample opportunity to test them out in both wet and dry conditions as well as through sharp debris on the side of the road. Zero flats. The installation was simple though depending on your rim they can be quite tight so tire levers are a must (I pinched my old inner tube during the first install but I'm cracking that up to user error.)

Overall, great tires and good quality for the price!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2018
by Ipsociety
SF Bay Area
Overall Rating
Inconsiderate Lack of Produvr Marking

My tires fail to visually indicate recommended psi OR even diameter. (Do I look like a walking tape measure???)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/28/2015
by mbell
Northern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
great tire for the price!

Recently purchased these tires in a 42mm. Using them for urban and light touring. Great tire for the price and easy install. They seem to roll very nice with little resistance.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2014
by Matt
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid commuting tire

Purchases for wet weather commuting and short winter training rides. The good - reasonably durable and good value. The bad - sketchy handling, actual width closer to 25mm and not the advertised 28mm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2014
by Mt Biker
Casual Cyclist
Harlowton, Mt
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Spend more money & get a tire less prone to being punctured by virtually nothing.

While the price is about what you would expect from a tire of this quality, I am certain I would have been much happier with a more expensive tire. These tires came new with a recent bike purchase. The front tire went flat before I ever rode the bike. When I was putting in a new tube I noticed the tire was riddled with thorns. Apparently someone had test driven it through some thistles. Let's be clear these were not particularly long or hard thorns - probably Russian Thistle. The front is holding so far with the new tube. The rear had the same thorns all through it and has a slow leak which will be very hard to find. I intend to replace the tubes with puncture proof tubes before I attempt any serious ride. I will never own Continental Touring plus tires again

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Thanks for the review. We are sorry to hear about so many thorns right off the bat. Get in touch with us before you purchase replacements and we can try and help with a tire better suited for your location and needs. -Thomas
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2014
by Dave in Murrieta CA
Cycling Enthusiast
So Cal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Wear and Flat Resistance

I have accumulated 3,206 miles on a set of these tires. I rotated them once about 1,500 miles ago.

No flats, run true, mount easily (for me at least)and are only now showing wear in the center. No visible warning treads as yet.

Mine are 700 X 37's.

Price and weight are very competitive with Panaracer's and other similar no flat tires.

All of my mileage is in bike lanes where the usual trash accumulates from cars. Have run over glass, nails, staples, tin cans, et al, with no issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Smooth riding for commuting

Seattle is in the midst of a building boom and my daily commute takes me through the heart of the rough pavement, steel plates, gravel, gratings and more. The tires are great - smooth riding through all these challenges. They work well in the dry summer months and our three other very damp seasons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2014
by Crankin Grandpa
Cycling Enthusiast
Independence, Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Long LastingTire!!!

I am a great fan of this tire. In 2010 I bought my first Continental Plus, 700 x 28 and got 5463 miles on it. The second one I bought I got 6990 miles. I have used the Schwalbe HS240 on the rear of my bike for the past 2 years and can honestly say that they both ware about the same. I ride about 3500 miles per year, mostly on roads. Best of all, I think I have had only two flats in the past 5 years. I would highly recommend this tire for the money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/1/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great touring tire

I purchased this for touring. I already put about 500 miles on this, and it's still in great shape. At 100 psi, there's little friction, but I still get some good road contact. A very tough tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire So Far !!!

I purchased these to replace the stock tires on a bike I recently purchased. So far I've got about 300 miles on them and they have performed great. I ride good and bad roads, paved trails, gravel trails, sidewalks, dirt paths, etc. Been over glass, pot holes, broken pavement, curbs, a chipmunk (no kidding, ran right over it), and road garbage of every kind. The tires have held up splendidly with no flats! They have good grip but roll real easy. The reflective sidewalls are a plus. I didn't have any more trouble installing these than any other tire I've had.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/24/2014
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Plainfield, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Terrible tire

I have a pair of Cont. Gator Skins which are great tires, so I wanted to stick with the name brand. I filled the Touring plus to the recommended tire pressure and it blew a gap in the side wall of the tire. Bike Tires Direct took immediate action and sent me a new tire at no cost. I put the second tire on and less than a hundred miles later the tire went flat. The inner part of the tire is now pealing away. Having a four hundred mile tour ahead of me, I'm not taking any chance on these tires any more.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

Hi Dave,

Sorry to hear you've had so much trouble with these tires! I'm glad we were able to help you out with the first one. If you believe the second one may have been defective, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us again at [email protected]

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2014
by Messenger38
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT TIRE

These tires are amazing! excellent purchase. A great all-around tire. Anything nature can throw at a you, these tires can handle it. I will say this, they are a pain to get on. Once they are on, your set. I'm a bike messenger in Chicago, and Chicago roads can get pretty torn up. I accidentally in a massive pot hole. I thought I'd get a flat for sure, but these tires pulled through and continue too. For the miles and the terrain I go through, these tires are worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2013
by Bike mule
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
One tough tire

As a bike delivery person in Chicago I needed a tire that could keep me going all day and night without worry of a flat. The Continential Touring Plus is living up to that billing. I recently took a large screw in the rear tire near midnight - in the rain while on a delivery. Not the best situation to be in. I was worried when I removed it the tire would got flat. I was amazed when I took the screw out and the tube still held the air in.

While it tire rides hard in cold weather, the grip is great in the rain. Easy tire to put on the rim, unlike the Schwalbe Marathon I was using before.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/31/2013
by wah
Cycling Enthusiast
central rockies and all points west,north and sout
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
rode the road

best tires out there for touring in all kinds of weather and conditions. i did a 5400 mile tour, and they held up(without a gun).spectacular value. the only thing i don't like about them is i have to pay for them.if you're touring this is your tire. been riding all incarnations of them since 1987, just buy 'em!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 97