Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Speed Ride Tire (Wire Bead)

ContinentalSpeed Ride Tire (Wire Bead)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(10)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(83%)
(8%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/19/2020
by JustTheFactsMaam
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Price Performance - Grip and Roll

Thanks, Michigan Man, for your review. I bought the 42mm tires -- outstanding balance for all around road and mild trail and gravel riding. Tire rolls smoothly and feels very sure on the road and corners.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by Jsutt
Saint Louis
Overall Rating
Very nice ride

I am not an off road biker and found this tire to have a smooth ride on pavement with a good price point

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good all around tire

Smooth rolling tire with a bit of grip on gravel roads and corners nicely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/8/2020
by krismonroe
Cycling Enthusiast
Breckenridge, Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
NOT TUBELESS - Otherwise a great general use tire!

Nice tread, fast on pavement, and confident in the gravel.

It's really a good tire but is NOT TUBELESS COMPATIBLE.

Continental states on their website All mountain bike tires from Continental are Tubeless Ready in the ProTection and Performance formats. although this SpeedRide does not follow that (probably because it's not a mountain bike tire).

It has go puncture protection if you like using tubes anyway, so there's really nothing to worry about, I just prefer tubeless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2019
by Front Range dirt bag
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good for Commuting!

I ordered these tires for my Fuji Cross Comp because I didn't feel very confident on the skinny road tires that originally came with the bike (I bought the bike second-hand a few years ago). I'm not much of a long-distance road road cyclist. I often use this bike for local errands and a 10-mile commute to work one day a week, and I wanted some bigger tires to absorb bumps from all the cracks and debris that I ride through along the Platte River in North Denver. I also wanted something a bit more grippy. I've really loved these tires because I feel so much more confident on turns, and they're very helpful with navigating cracks in the road, gravel, and patches of grass. Plus, these tires look bad-ass on a road bike. There is a reflective strip along the entire sidewall, so that helps to alert cars to your presence.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Michigan Man
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fast on tarmac and hardpack with less worry

Most riding on these tires has been on tarmac and dirt road in Michigan. The dirt roads are hard pack with many 15mm-35mm single loose stones scattered around. Even with 32mm tires, pinch flats happen hitting those. The 42mm Speed Rides give me a chance to look around and enjoy the view with less worry for tire saftey.

On tarmac they roll very easy and are quiet with a supple feel. This is a great priceperformance tire. Continental could do even better though if they would make a 42mm version of the Ultra Sport II folding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/23/2019
by Anonymous
Charlotte
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love them - no complaints

Bought them for long gravel grinders over some tough terrain. So far weve been through two 75-mile plus gravel races, in addition to regular road, gravel, and single track, and theyve performed extremely well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Glendale, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire for phoenix so far

I ride these tires on a CX bike on gravel, cement, dirt around phoenix and they handle well and absorb a lot of shock. They are quite big and do catch some wind though. The reflective whitewall is more profound than the pic shows which I like for city riding. I've seen several women glance at me and lower their shades will riding on these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/2/2017
by FLYGEE
Pomona, CA
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Grippy, and wonderful

I purchased the 42 size and was upgrading from a 38. There is a difference between the two and the 42's do weigh a little more (when inflated) but the 42's offer great traction both on dirt and street. The tread pattern is great and they are durable. I've been having these tires for a little over a month and no flats yet. I dont expect getting a flat anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Aaronsshort
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Happily Surprised

I got this tire in a pinch before a bike packing trip. It held up better than expected on my route and continues to receive miles. I didn't think the reflective ring would be a strong point but I've been pleasantly surprised.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tire for great price

Great tire. Smooth and easy to gain speed. To my surprise tho, I found these tires are flippin Awesome on snow and Ice!!!! I mean 4 of snow and packed icw and snow. Amazing!!! Rode all over the place and my tail end slipped just once, but not much. Ill be buying again!!! Customer for life!! Used to make my own studded snow tires and what a pain in the a that was!! No more!! Thanks, Rob

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/30/2019
by jeremygeorge16
Cycling Enthusiast
South West Missouri
Overall Rating
Great tire

This has been a great all around tire for the riding I do. Which averages around 15 miles per ride on rural chip and seal roads with some gravel in SW Missouri.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 67