Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Continental Ride Tour - 27 Inch

ContinentalRide Tour - 27 Inch(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(47 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(34)
(10)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(72%)
(21%)
(2%)
(4%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by DMI

Reviewed 5/3/2024
by DMI
Casual Cyclist
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great customer service

Very affordable and quality tire. Was recommended by customer service representative who assisted me after I ordered the wrong tires. ??

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/26/2024
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Continental tires are exceptional!

Great for traction, ride quality and minimal water spray on wet roads!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 3/12/2024
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These are great tires!

I like the traction that these tires offer, while still not slowing me down.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joe

Reviewed 10/15/2022
by Joe
Parlin,NJ
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

These are really good tires for gravel and asphalt. They work well under muddy conditions as well. I�ve put a set through the ringer on the GAP/C&O, Empire State Trail and several others. I rode approximately 2000 miles and only sustaining 2 flats. That�s not bad.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Joe

Reviewed 10/13/2022
by Joe
Parlin,NJ
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

These are really good tires for gravel and asphalt. They work well under muddy conditions as well. I�ve put a set through the ringer on the GAP/C&O, Empire State Trail and several others. I rode approximately 2000 miles and only sustaining 2 flats. That�s not bad.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Coloradon

Reviewed 6/10/2022
by Coloradon
Daily Commuter
Northern Colorado (Goathead capital of the USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tires initially but they don't last long.

I installed these tires (Made in India) on my vintage Motobecane, inflated to slightly below the pressure recommended on the tire. They ran well for a few weeks and then I discovered enormous circumferential cracks between the treads. The cracks go all the way around the tires. Looks like the rubber may not have been fully cured during manufacturing. Another issue with these tires- they are VERY hard to install as the beads appear to be about 5mm too small in diameter. Never had these problems with other brands I purchased from BTD -- and I have been riding this bike since the late 1970's.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by jdawg420

Reviewed 5/14/2020
by jdawg420
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I Love Them

I really like these tires. I mainly ride on the street, but when I need to cross over a different type of surface like railroad tracks or gravel, these keep me glued. With some other tires I've had, I'd always feel a little slippage, but these are solid. Work great in the rain without compromising speed. (Heads up I bike for exercise and to run errands around town, not competitively so I can't speak to that). Will probably purchase them again next season depending on the wear. Definitely recommend!

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Thanks for your informative review
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dan S

Reviewed 9/22/2022
by Dan S
Buffalo, NY
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very good tire

I bought these tires for use on my road touring bike.

I used them on a 500 mile trip through Vermont on road, gravel, and packed dirt.

They performed excellent.

Going downhill over 45 mph with 32 lbs. Of gear on my rear rack and panniers, the tires seemed less comfortable but that may be expected at the higher speed. Overall this is an excellent tire and good value for the cost. The tires show very little wear.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NOCO Biker

Reviewed 8/20/2022
by NOCO Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Disappointed.

Less than a year ago I bought several of these tires for my bikes. Within a couple of months of use the tires developed huge cracks between the treads and on the walls. I always run at rated pressure so this is very disappointing. Tires have not burst yet so I suppose I should be thankful. Also very hard to install. I lived in India for a while and I know that their bike tires are not this bad.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Vtboarder

Reviewed 7/25/2019
by Vtboarder
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great economy tire for rougher surfaces.

I needed to replace the tires on my road bike for city commuting and occasional trail riding (gravel roads or other somewhat rough surfaces). I found these and they seemed to fit the bill. Reasonably priced, easy install (tight over the rim at first, but that is normal). I rode them briefly on our rail trail which is compacted fine gravel with occasional sections of larger gravel. Nice tread, thicker that a normal road tire, they worked really well. Just what I wanted!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by vtboarder

Reviewed 6/16/2019
by vtboarder
Vermont
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great affordable tire

I bought these tires to revive a road bike that will be ridden in a city and on occasional gravel trails. I read a review that mentioned how tight a fit it has but I didnt struggle mounting them. I have always found that the first time on a rim is a little bit of work. I road tested them on a nearby trail I have ridden the bike on with smooth road tires and found an immediate improvement. They are a little heavier with the extra layer to help with flat prevention but I like them a lot. Note that they are directional and marked for rotation. Also lower pressure than typical road tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PotatoVelo

Reviewed 5/24/2022
by PotatoVelo
Daily Commuter
Seattle,WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great value for updating an old 10-speed

I purchased a new set of these tires while doing a full overhaul and rebuild on my 1981 speed Schwinn Sports Tourer - great price point, solid tread, fast rolling and they can happily handle some hardpack gravel trails. While tan-walls might be having a moment in the gravel/bike-packing world - these updated my bike tastefully. Easy install. Would recommend.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/8/2023
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great tire

Tires exactly what i was looking for.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Blue Lou

Reviewed 3/7/2022
by Blue Lou
Cycling Enthusiast
Peoria, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Multi surface

Put the tires on last winter. So far so good. Nice feel and not inordinately heavy.

We have a rail trail here and some of it is paved and some not so much. These work great, especially where road bike tires wouldn't be in their element.

Conti. Gotta love 'em.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bmniedbalski

Reviewed 9/2/2018
by Bmniedbalski
Jackson, MO
Overall Rating
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
The best overall tire you can buy for a 27 road bike

Great tires for the price. Wanted to get back into riding a road bike, but did not like the thought of slick road tires from my youth that would come out from underneath you in a turn on wet pavement. Wanted something with a little meat on them, but not a full cyclocross tire, so I could have a comfortable road ride. Have been very pleased with these tires that I bought for my old 27 on road rides, and the trail rides on packed chat to loose gravel. These tires allow you to ride places that you could not with normal road tires. Tires are well constructed, and of high quality. I would recommend these to anyone. They have a nice road bead, and tread on the sides to take turns and not have the wheels slide out from underneath you. The tred gives you a nice ride on packed chat and gravel, and Ive done some slight off road on trails.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Eric of Morton PA

Reviewed 8/26/2021
by Eric of Morton PA
Casual Cyclist
suburb of Phila PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Ride Tour is a good solid touring tire, but need an additional one. Supply chain breaks are a problem!

This tire mounted on the rims of my wife's vintage Schwinn wheels, and showed very good pressure retention over a week in a shed with a string of 90+ degF days. It is unfortunate that it is out of stock, but I clicked on the link to be informed when BikeTiresDirect get more in stock. The tread design is a good step up on the usual smooth center band, and has handled wet road surfaces very well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SprocketsJohn

Reviewed 8/27/2021
by SprocketsJohn
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice lookingtire, but ride is squirrelly

I bought this tire as a temporary replacement for UltraSportII smooth tread tires which are impacted by Covid.

The tread pattern is nice looking,but narrow and squiggles when riding on smooth concrete or asphalt and not maintaining a straight line.

This can be somewhat disconcerting and the behavior feels like the tire is starting to run flat.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 8/25/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Wixom, Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire for road biking

I've been riding on a paved bike path, and occasionally on fine gravel. These tires have been great for this type of biking. They take about 80 psi and roll very well.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/26/2021
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Gooding, Idaho
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great long lasting tire

I use my old Centurion road bike for exercise mostly on paved roads, some dirt. Have over 3500 miles on this set of tires, never had a flat. I'll get at least another 500 miles, then I'll buy another set. Excellent tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Nexus232

Reviewed 12/31/2016
by Nexus232
Daily Commuter
Colorado Springs, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 20 customers found this review helpful.
Hooked rimmed tires on straight rims.

This tire is intended for hooked rims which I did not know upon ordering. I have an old Univega with straight rims, and i have been riding on these tires for months without a problem, despite the warning on the tires themselves. These are a lifesaver compared to the vintage tires I replaced.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]