FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Mountain King 26" ProTection MTB Tire

ContinentalMountain King 26" ProTection MTB Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(5)
(31%)
(23%)
(0%)
(8%)
(38%)
Reviewed 10/24/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Golden, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Solid AM tire for drygravelsand

I've experienced excellent tire life with this on the front (MK 2.4 Protection), over 1000 miles with plenty of tread remaining. Had previously paired with an X-King 2.2 on the rear, now paired with MK 2.2 on the rear. Up front this tire has hooked up reliably. My first front got pinned in a trough on a trail and twisted the carcass. Fortunately, that tire made it down the rest of the ride.

The one area where I haven't been totally confident on this tire is wet roots. It seems more unstable than expected on that surface, though continental recommend the trail king in that situation. On typical western dry trail conditions it has been very reliable, hooking up well in corners and providing good traction on technical climbs. We don't typically have a ton of mud in the area, but its met my expectations there.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2013
by cohenfive
Cycling Enthusiast
sf bay area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
so far, these are great tires..

I have had the conti mtn king protection on my bike for a few months now, and so far so good. A few hundred miles of xc riding in the sf bay area, but no issues, not knobs falling off, nothing. Just good performance and handling with no flats. I am probably going to get another pair for my other bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/8/2013
by KGA109
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding durability, traction and wear.

I put 800 miles on the Mountain King II tires with ProTection sidewalls. Set them up tubeless and never once had an issue in 800 miles and 100k feet of climbing. Flawless. This year I started the season with a set of Schwalbes - already had four failures and came back here to buy another set of Continentals to go back to what I know works.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/28/2012
by KGA109
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Solid performer 600 miles later.

I ride in Northern Utah with a mix of terrain and elements. I'm using this tire on the front in a 2.4 and the X-King 2.4 in back. The MKII has been great all season long, and with 600 miles on it (again as a front tire) it has worn very well. I see a lot of bad reviews on here, and maybe it's not all that great in back, I have no idea, but as a front it has done a great job. I plan to swap out the X-King (which is pretty well worn at 600m) for a Trail King to try that as the season winds down.

Also, the 2.4 width measures more toward 2.3.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2012
by Reptilehouse
Cycling Enthusiast
Reston, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid performer

This tire offers very good cornering in most cases in dry conditions. Traction suffers a bit on wet roots and rocks, but then again, I have yet to find a tire able to overcome these circumstances, so don't let that hold you back. The side walls are fantastic. My only issue with this tire is that the center knobbies are breaking down faster than the outer ones. Still searching for that holy grail tire that is light, durable, and fast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/30/2012
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
DO NOT BUY THIS TIRE

I used this tire for four 2-hour rides. The knobs looked like I had attacked them with a weed eater. Entire knobs ripped off the tire leaving only tire threads exposed. If these tires were selling for $10piece, they still wouldn't be worth it. Apparently Black Chili Rubber technology by Continental is a waste in this application.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Avoid this tire. Grip is not what it should be for an agressive am trail tire.

This tire (2.4 MK II) has washed out on me a couple of times now (as a front tire). It seems to me there is a transition zone when you really lean into a corner. I no longer have confidence in the grip of these tires. I have a Trail King 2.2 in the rear. Will probably get one for the front now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/31/2012
by Yeti rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Replacement tire is still chunking apart

Original tire was replaced due to durability and the replacement tire literally has lost at least 6 entire knobs on the first ride. The ride was about 12 miles on a typical Colorado trail with rocks, granite gravel and dirt. I have now done a second ride and I am now missing at least a dozen knobs and they are tearing of the center and sides of the tire. The knobs that aren't gone are torn up and will soon be useless.

I have been riding MTB for 20 years and have never had a tire with a similar problem. I will not waste my time on another.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/5/2012
by Yeti rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Terrible durability

using on the front and rear and while the front tire is working fine, the rear is tearing off in chunks. Some of the knobs have torn off to the point where I can see the treads inside and I am sure it will puncture soon. I have used a lot of tires over the years and have never seen anything this bad. Very frustrating for a tire that I read some many good reviews about.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2012
by Chris
Cycling Enthusiast
Bellingham, WA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
New and Improved

I got this tire last fall going into the wet season and it grips and rips. I use the Trail King usually but wanted a more open tread to shed mud and dig in better. It did both great just as I expected. I know Conti had some rubber issues with these tires but the set I had did not have that issue and I used them on rocks and some urban riding. I found this tire to have great corning traits it holds a line really well as things get wet and sloppy. Great tire with a little less volume casing than the Trail King.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/20/2011
by Brad
Cycling Enthusiast
California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Tires lost knobs after just a few rides! Not up to usual Conti quaility!

Purchased 4 of these tires in Sept 2011. Two 2.2 and two 2.4 tires. One of the 2.2 came with holes in the side wall. After a few rides, one of the 2.2 has lost two large knobs down to the casing. One of the 2.4 has also lost a large side knob. The knobs appear to have just ripped from the casing. Other knobs show signs of tearing. These are no longer safe to ride. We are out $200 in the cost of the tires. Use caution until Conti gets them right.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/7/2011
by Jumper
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Poor Quality for a Trail Tire

Tried purchasing a pair of these after being really happy with the Trail King 2.2s. Well, big mistake. After just 50 miles the knobs started tearing off on the rear tire. Yes, I said 50 miles. Even the rubber around the knob tore off with it to where the white threads were showing. Luckily I only had the tires a couple of weeks and biketires works with manufacturers on warranties. I went back to the Trail Kings and wont stray again. The tire feels a little clumsy compared to the Trail King also.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2014
by ANDRE
Cycling Enthusiast
Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
BEST Quality - Longest Life

Been riding this rubber tubeless for 3 years, last set lasted a full year, 1,000 miles of dry rocky trails - No Flats !. Local shop recommended another brand... didn't wear or handle as well. Mounting these with stans took a couple minutes vs other tires that would never seat very well on the rim the 1st, 2nd or 3rd time. Side Walls & Bead are better quality at a Great price

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.