FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Hometrainer Tire (700c)

ContinentalHometrainer Tire (700c)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(39 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(11)
(2)
(4)
(2)
(51%)
(28%)
(5%)
(10%)
(5%)
Reviewed 5/29/2018
by TriGuyRy
Competitive Racer
Des Moines, IA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best trainer tire out there, but significant durability concerns

Generally I'm a big fan of Conti tires. And this is a solid product, better in my opinion (from trying both) than its competitor from a brand that starts with V. When new, this tire is amazingly smooth and provides outstanding traction on my Computrainer (old school, I know). In previous winters riding inside, this tire would last a whole season. But this past winter season, I've been sorely disappointed in the durability of this tire. The rubber compound would start to break down and flake off in tiny bits (similar to, but much smaller specks than seen if you try using normal road tires on a trainer) right on the crown of the tire, within the first 100 miles of use. Then over the next 100 miles, I could see small cracks forming across the center of the tread. By 400 miles, the tire was losing its shape due to the walls flaring out in a couple locations. By 700 miles, the tire failed and I got a flat. On my trainer. During an indoor ride. Two months of use was not what I expected from this tire.

Thinking I'd just gotten a lemon because I'd bought it from a different retailer in February, I bought this one from BTD in April, and I was very happy with it from the start. But I could see tiny cracks forming again at 100 miles or so of use. I'm about 700 miles into this one and the shape and smoothness of the tire is still great, so it's doing better than the one from February, and maybe it'll last much longer. But the widening cracks down the middle make me worry that its failure is imminent.

I don't know what's going on. Did the tire compound change from previous generations? Is my newfound zest for indoor training due to Zwift causing the rapid demise of my trainer tires? I always have a fan set up within 2 feet of the tire blowing directly on the trainer's roller to keep heat down on the tire. I'm a respectable rider, but my FTP is only 274 watts, so there are tens of thousands of riders just on Zwift who are pushing MUCH harder loads than me, potentially heating up tires more than I do. Are they using tires, or are they mostly using direct drives? Maybe it's the latter, and I'm probably gravitating in that direction, as having to buy a few of these tires a year would, over a few years, justify my purchase of a wheel-off, direct drive trainer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2018
by Pierre
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Should have been using this before

I use a Tacx trainer for Zwift and had been using whatever older tire I had for my trainer wheel. I never really put too many thoughts into it until a friend told me about this trainer specific tire. What a difference this makes. The feel is not much different but the noise level is considerably lower and I do not see black dust from the wear and tear all over the place anymore. Glad I switched.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2016
by User Hostile
Cycling Enthusiast
California''s Central Coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Non-Euclidean roundness.

Bought the tires on sale (27) rather than 700. Due to some work issues, I was unable to use the tires till now (past the return period (60 days). Oops, they're both out of round. And on rollers, it makes for a rather fatiguing ride. On a mountain bike. With suspension. Go figure.

This is the second time I've received a set of tire that were out-of-round (different brand). BTD was good enough to replace them, but well with in the warranty window. I was going to eat the cost and buy another set, but I note that they no longer supply the 27 tires.

They're quiet (aside from the Tell-Tale heartbeat) and grippy. Would prefer that the tires be able to handle higher pressure (max is 65 psi) as they have more drag then the regular tires road tires I've used. The result is less stability on the rollers.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/21/2017
by Gon
CDMX
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent trainer tire

Good choice to avoid wearing down your rear tire on your trainer. A lot quieter too. Very easy to installremove (32). I used it to keep you riding while recovering from a hand injury. Would buy again, but dont think it will be soon as it seems durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/2/2015
by CSlayton
Cycling Enthusiast
Kentucky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Hard to mount but loves me long time

I use the 1-Ups trainer (USA!) and this tire works a treat. Since the pressure against the tire is infinitely adjustable on the flywheel, I actually use the an induced slight squeal to smooth out my pedal strokes, No noise means I am pedaling in circles!

I exclusively use Schwalbe for outdoor riding, but this Conti trainer tire is good value, but I replaced a previous one ONLY because it was bright yellow and showed every grease spot. I have never worn one out in over 5 years.

It is a bch to mount!

At least it is on my heavily-spoked Mavic CXP22, that were built for a customer who failed to pick them up from LBS, and they are an excellent trainer rim, since the weight/momentum factor does not matter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/17/2015
by Charx
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Don't use that old worn-out tire....

In the past I have always used my worn out Conti's as my indoor trainer tire. I ran out of old tires one fall and decided to try Conti Hometrainer. It's quiet and grippy and was very well. I think it is a bit expensive .... but I am really liking it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/13/2015
by Dustan
Cycling Enthusiast
Rockingham County
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tire for use on rollers and tubeless

i got a set of these tires two winters ago, they are still in good shape most of the way through the third. Not much smell usually and I don't notice any noise from the tires. I usually put 120lbs in them and they stay good for the week. I recently had two front tire flats, the tire was flat before my ride, one hole at the valve stem (rim problem?) and the replacement split where there was a scab type patch. Since I didn't have another spare tube I took the rim strip out, wrapped three layers of electrical tape around the rim, stuck a Stan's No Tubes valve stem through the hole and pumped it up. It is working fine, I just have to put air in twice a week now, no sealant used. It is a pain in the thumbs, palms, and a few other body parts to get on but I guess that is what makes it work tubeless so easily. Putting some baby powder on it helps it slide on a bit easier, maybe. When I have to take the back tire apart I will convert it also.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2014
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Bad ass

2nd one I've owned. First one lasted 8 yrs. Excellent product... no rubber shards flying around...minimal squealing. But still doesn't help the scenery in the garage!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 2/24/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
arid desert
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lasted 101 hours before the tread separated.

This is the second Continental Hometrainer tire I've purchased, it was on sale. The first lasted 101 hours before the tire split causing the tread to separate and the casing wires to break. Not sure if this is good or bad but I was surprised the tire didn't last longer. Continental had advertised the tread would not separate! I'll probably try another tire next time even if it's more expensive.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2014
by MerlinAma
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Disappointed again.

I used this tire on a bike specifically built to reside on my Computrainer. I had used some of these last year too.

Previously I was airing the tire up to 120psi and before long, a split was opening along the tread. After looking at the sidewall I discovered I should never go above 100psi.

So with the latest tire, I made sure to not go over 100 psi.

Sadly, the tire developed a split. BTD has agreed to make it good under warranty but I haven't had a chance to try another tire.

Wish I could figure out what was happening since the tire seems to be vey quiet and very smooth.

Based on my history with this tire, I can't really recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 1/20/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Disintegrations at 500 miles

I have an Elite-Real Axium trainer. My first tires I used on it was some older road tire. It gave me about 1500 miles. Because of noise, numerous flats and finally a sidewall blow-out, I bought the Conti trainer tire. I am disappointed. I keep them inflated to about 115 psi. Both of the ones I have tried have disintegrated within 500-600 miles leaving piles of rubber crums on the trainer and on my bike. When the tire wears, flats follow. I am still searching.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2014
by Roger
Cycling Enthusiast
Silver Spring, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Works like a charm

Ordered this tire to use on my indoor training bike over the worst of the winter. Having destroyed a regular road tire in the past, felt like this could save me from purchasing a regular road tire just to see it shredded before the start of the outdoor season. In the past, I've used a end-of-life tire no longer good for outside use. However, didn't have one for this season. Got this training tire and so far it has performed well. It doesn't overhead on sufferfests over 1 hour like my regular tires did. Having used it for 2 months, it appears it will easily last several seasons and spare my other tires for outside road use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 12/10/2013
by Mark
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Un-necessary

Needlessly difficult to mount on any rim. Buy the Vittoria trainer tire or just use a cheap, thick clincher tire such as a Fyxation or the like.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 11/26/2013
by tri.connelly
Competitive Racer
Washington, DC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A great tire that solved my Computrainer problem of constant flats with regular road tires!!!

This tire solved my problem! I recently purchased a Computrainer (SEP 2013) and was constantly blowing out tubes using regular road tires. I tried everything before finally purchasing this tire. I've not had a single flat since and I've been doing quite a bit of riding since the weather turned cold. And biketiresdirect.com had the best price I could find. Highly recommend for CT users having a hard time with flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 11/4/2013
by Barry
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherman, Il
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Training tire but very hard to put on the rim

This is a great training tire and like all Continental tire it is hard to put on. This training tire though is quite a bit harder to install onto the rim. I had to use other tools to get it on the rim. Once on though this is a great training tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 9/28/2013
by 50x11
Cycling Enthusiast
Calgary Canada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Computrainer Pro Lifesaver

I put a TON of miles hours on my computrainer year round and rely on the Continental Home Trainer tire to ensure my early morning sessions are completed without a bang, literally. I've tried other brands (will test the Vittoria at some point) and had only very short life of 1 - 3 months, typically with the Continental I seem to get around 9 months between required tire changes. Great value based on this type of economics!! Plus like I mentioned I don't run the risk of a 4:30am shotgun blast in the form of a heat induced blowout scaring the crap out of me!! On that basis alone - priceless!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 2/22/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
All that it was advertised to be

Quiet running. No sign of wear after 400 miles

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 1/25/2013
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, WI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A must tire for trainer use

I purchased this tire to use on my new Cyclops trainer. I had read that using a road tire will wear it down considerably, so I went with a trainer tire. I have been using Conti tires for years with great success, so I went with their trainer tire. I think it is way more durable for trainer use than a road tire would be, and much cheaper, also. As torturously boring as it is, I have been racking up the hours on the trainer, so I am glad I decided on this tire, as I'm sure my roadies woundn't have survived. A little hard to put on the rim, but worth it. Great product, and great price from BTD.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 1/7/2013
by MerlinAma
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas Panhandle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Worked for me

I had been using worn out tires from my road bike on my Computrainer but always seemed to be having an issue at the worst possible time.

So last year I tried a Continental trainer tire. It lasted almost all year and I ride my trainer a lot!

The only reason it failed was likely my fault as I didn't notice the 120 pound inflation limit. I often went to 125-130 and eventually the rubber split along the length of the tire as a result of my over inflation.

I'm more careful with my new tire and so far it has held up as expected.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental 2013 Hometrainer Tire (700c)
Reviewed 11/22/2012
by slift
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Didn't want to ruin my good clinchers

I have a separate rear wheel for use with this trainer tire as I didn't want to wreck a good clincher tire on the trainer. Not much to report other than this tire is doing trainer duty and seems to be holding up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.