Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(31 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(3)
(0)
(2)
(3)
(74%)
(10%)
(0%)
(6%)
(10%)
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Ikey
Cycling Enthusiast
Enola, PA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

After 1,200 miles on this most recent set of tires. Most of the miles have been over the winter and this spring, lots of debris on the side of the roads. I can't tell you how many people I have passed on the side of the road fixing flats, not me. These Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tires do not get flats. I used to be that guy, I'd get 4 or 5 flats a year. After getting ENVE 3.4 tubeless rims and these Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tires (I ran the 4000's before these) I haven't had a flat in over two years and 12,000 miles. The ride is more compliant and the handling is the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2020
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
The Best Tubeless So Far!

I've tried multiple brands of tubeless or tubeless ready tires and mounting them and getting them to seal can be very frustrating-not so with the Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL. I've mounted 6 of them on various bikes and they have sealed & inflated every time the first time that I tried. Perhaps not quite as cushioned as other brands but their resistance to flats is excellent. They also seem to be more long-wearing than many of the other TL or TLR brands. Grip is also excellent! It's the best tubeless I've encountered so far!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Love this tire

lAfter years of running tubeless for gravel and MTB and several years of using tubes and GP4000 with my ENVE 5.6 disc wheels I finally converted to road tubeless with these tires. I mount a lot of tubeless tires to suite different gravel and MTB race courses. Probably 10-15 tiresyear on a variety of race and training gravel and MTB wheels. These were tight getting on to the rim but seated very easily without any lubrication (caveat I use an air compressor and Prestaflator). They hold air well and subjectively feel faster than the GP4000. I'm 163lbs and ran the 4000s at 95 front100 rear. I'm running the 5000s 80 front 85 rear. Despite the tubeless casing the ride is much better. Very happy with these all around, and as usual BikeTiresDirect has great prices. I don't think I've bought a tire anywhere else in the last 4-5 years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/2/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic tires but were hard to mount on my Easton rims

This is the 4th set of tubeless tires that I have mounted and they were the most difficult. After seating the tires on Easton R90 SL Disc rims with an AirShot canister at 100 psi the tires beads came off the rim when the pressure was released and the tires could not be reinflated after inserting the valve cores. I tried about 8 times with no success. I tried running the tires with tubes for a few days to help them to conform better to the rim and I tried letting them sit overnight with sealant while maintaining pressure from the AirShot but neither helped. I gave up and asked my LBS to help me and they had little difficulty using a compressor. This could certainly be due to the rims rather than the tires.

After getting them mounted I have been very happy with these tires. I am running them at 75 psi front82 psi rear (I am around 200 lbs) and they are very comfortable, fast, and they grip very well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/3/2020
by Rick
Goshen
Overall Rating
Excellent

Set up tubeless. At least 2,000 miles. Size 32s. Replaced with 28s just for a comparison. Will replace with 5000 tubeless when 28s wear out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2019
by R Lawhorn
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Love These tires

Ive been a Continental fan since I started riding. I have ridden on Grand Prix 4000s For many years. Glad to see Continental is making a tubeless tire now. They are super tight and seal on the first try. Make sure you have thick levers and an extra pair of hands wont hurt. They roll fast and smooth and corner great...I think they are a bit faster than the 4000s. These tires are a great value and high quality. I highly recommend theses tires. Also cant say enough about BTDs awesome customer service. They are knowledgeable, responsive and really value your business. Orders get out fast and your items show up early most of the time. Great selection and they price match! They are my go to place for all things bike related.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2019
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura County
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Solid Conti offering.

Fitted 2019 Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tires to Bontrager Aeolus 2 tubeless ready rims. 28 mm. Went on with no problems, just a little lever action at the end. Seated well with no issues. I use an air compressor but imagine a hand pump would have done the trick. Used Orange sealant and no leaks. Holds air well. Roles smooth and corners fine. Holding up with 400 miles ridden so far under road conditions with lots of debris due to FallWinter season. No real cuts or abnormal wear. I run at about 65 psi but am not a lightweight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/1/2020
by ReyBeltran
Competitive Racer
RSM, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
My first tubeless setup. Spinergy FCC47

This is my first tubeless setup. I used a new set of Spinergy FCC47 wheels. They were easy to install and they ride very well, lots of grip in the corners and smooth over rough pavement. I run 75PSI-F 80PSI-R on 25mm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by Old rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Greensboro, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Got these after 2 sets of Bontrager R3 tubeless both suffering punctures. The 5000s have a great ride and hold the pressure.

Nice ride, seem to be durable, hold there tire pressure better than others Ive used.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2020
by rwperk
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not hard to mount, at least for me.

I have ENVE SES 3.4 wheels and I can mount them with my hands and pump them up with my floor pump. Before that I was using Fulcrum Zero Carbon wheels and didn't have trouble mounting on those either although I did use a air compressor to inflate . As with mounting regular clinchers the ease of mounting depends a lot on the model of the wheel. Regardless it is VERY IMPORTANT to use the right technique. I have been very happy with the grip, durability and GREAT rolling resistance. I had been using Schwalbe Pro One Tubeless, I was almost as happy with them BUT the last pair I bought were manufactured inconsistent, one mounted very easy and the other one was tight. The one that mounted easy was very hard to inflate and seal with the air compressor.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/29/2020
by Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
all around Tire

smooth rolling, durable

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Very pleased

Outstanding tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by MadfiberRider
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Great Continental tire, their best yet!

These are amazing tires and i have used several widths of the GP5000TL. I use several brands Schwalbe, Conti, Michelin, Specialized, and Clement. For road use, these GPs are my favorite. Amazingly fast and comfortable ride with great cornering. One funny thing with the size. The 32mm just barely fits in my 2019 Tarmac on the rear. A 28mm Durano doesn't since it rubs the seat tube. Also, the 32mm GP5000TL is very tight. I know all the tricks and i barely got it on. The 28mm copy of the same tire was great, very easy to mount. The 25mm copy was a little tight but not nearly so as the 32mm. These were all on the same wheel, a carbon Roval that came with the Tarmac. Also, running 50PSI in that 32mm rear rides like a Buick but still handles like a dream.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Gold Canyon, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire - with one caveat...

I had wanted to go tubeless road for quite awhile and in fact had tried another tire with little satisfaction. Then these Conti's came along at a great price and I decided to give em a go. All in all I am very pleased with how they ride and their durability (so far). Therein lies the caveat - I did get a sidewall slice in the rear tire and needed to replace it. I was a little surprised, but do know for sure that it was a sharp rock that caused the issue. A tip - warm these tires up in the sun or another warm location before mounting as they are a bit tough to get on the rim. Also some soapy water helps slip them over the rim lip. Once mounted, they popped right into place about 95 psi. They hold air as well as any tubed tire I've ever had and provide a very nice ride. I am 6-1, 190 pounds, 25mm tire width, 90 psi. Mavic Ksyrium Elite rims, DT Swiss valve and Stan's sealant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2020
by DonCallme
Cycling Enthusiast
Durham, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These tires are just the best I've found.

I'm getting a lot of miles on these tires. They hold up very well and are worth the cost in the long run. I'm a big fan of tubeless tires, I have these tires on a set of Campy BORA 45 wheels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tubeless Tire

2nd set of these tires. Loved the first set and bought these as replacement. On sale, great buy and value. No mileage figure on first set. Still running them

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by losmorob
Cycling Enthusiast
Nor CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
500 mile update

I'm the previous review explaining how hard these are to mount. But after 600 miles I really like these tires! They roll fast and corner well. No surprises, a very predictable tire. I'm a heavier guy and one of my peeves regarding Continental tires is how quickly they 'square off' or develop a wide flat area . Not with these Conti's. Wear is good, better then the slightly faster but fast wearing Schwalbe Pro-Ones I used to use. If I can find an easier way to mount them I'm all in when it comes time to replace. Zero flats. Zero 'punctures' Well, that's the tubeless experience part.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF East Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Best tubeless tire on the market

I have been running road tubeless for years now and have tried many brands. The 5000 TL is by far the best tubeless tire that I have come across. It went on my Enve 3.4 SES on the first burst of air and sealed immediately (a first one for me)! I've put 3500 km on and now the wear indicators are gone - not bad for longevity. Typically, I would see a few holes during the lifespan of the tire but the 5000 TL has had none (probably a good portion of luck - but then I ride the same roads most of the time).

Overall - couldn't be happier with this tire and the price at BTD is unbeatable as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2019
by R Lawhorn
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love These tires

Ive been a Continental fan since I started riding. I have ridden on Grand Prix 4000s For many years. Glad to see Continental is making a tubeless tire now. They are super tight and seal on the first try. Make sure you have thick levers and an extra pair of hands wont hurt. They roll fast and smooth and corner great...I think they are a bit faster than the 4000s. These tires are a great value and high quality. I highly recommend theses tires. Also cant say enough about BTDs awesome customer service. They are knowledgeable, responsive and really value your business. Orders get out fast and your items show up early most of the time. Great selection and they price match! They are my go to place for all things bike related.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2020
by Cesar Medina
Houston TX
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great purchase

Great quality and prompt delivery

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 59