FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(585 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(474)
(69)
(13)
(10)
(19)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by Dog''s Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
All of Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A GREAT Tire

I've been using Grand Prixs for about 10 years. Great traction & few tire-related problems.

While the 5000 was recently released, and is 'new & improved,' there was nothing wrong with the 4000 IIs and the reduced price commonly found on them now makes them a really great deal. I will continue to run them on my road bike for years to come.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 9/9/2018
by Don
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 25 customers found this review helpful.
Disappointing sidewall flaw

I'm a longtime fan of Continental clincher tires, having used Grand Prix 4000 (including S II) , All Season, & Gatorskin versions. Past GP 4000 tires have lasted 2000-3000 miles treadwear with few flats and no sidewall problems, with ride quality noticeably more supple than the All Season or Gatorskin. But in a GP 4000 S II pair bought from BTD this season that had only about 1000 miles use, the one on the rear wheel recently had a sidewall hole directly under the reflective strip letting a bit of tube push out through it (analogous to an intestine pushing through an abdominal hernia). This required discarding that tire for safety. Fortunately I had an extra tire available to replace it. I don't know if this indicates declining quality control or was just a random event, but I'm disappointed in the exception to the GP 4000's customarily excellent reliability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 6/6/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Soft and tacky

Great for races, climbing, and descending. Probably a little soft for commuting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 3/22/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A good performer for both the avid cyclist and racer.

I have used these tires for both recreational riding, racing and race training. They have been good performers with reasonable wear and are solid in the corners for both criteriums and high speed descents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 9/22/2018
by T. Johnson
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.
Very favorable impression

I bought these to replace a set of Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires specifically because I was looking to reduce weight and rolling resistance. Based on research, this tire seemed to check both of those boxes while still providing reasonable puncture resistance.

These tires run incredibly smooth and effortless. As for puncture resistance, I just returned from a weeklong bike trip covering 500 miles of rural roads littered with sharp rocks and steel belted tire shards and didn't have one puncture. I even did a little gravel riding (less than 10 miles). I cannot comment on traction in the rain as I plan to use my Schwalbes for winter commuting, however due to the low weight and very low rolling resistance, I very highly recommend these tires for any type of distance riding (multiple day trips, or centuries), they exceeded my expectations.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 5/22/2019
by JP
Cleveland, OH
Overall Rating
Amazing tires

Great tires. They are my go to tire for training and racing

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 5/28/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Island, ny
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Order came on time and was correct.

Ive used this tire before. It is durable. not prone to flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Spartan Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for 2018

Conti GP 4000 S II, great all around tires. I've been using these for racing and riding for the past two years. I would say I get about 2000-3000 miles out of a tire, so they do last a good while. They handle great and are nice and fast.

They also provide very good puncture protection for a high performance tire. I know there are other 'racing' tires on the market, but they are very light and thin and certainly put you at risk for flats. From my past experience, there are few things that take you out of a race as fast as a flat tire.

If you balance price, performance and protection I don't think there is currently a better tire on the market.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Boll Weevil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas Delta
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable. Just reliable

The only puncture I've ever had with Conti GP4000s was a pinch flat - my bad. For my road bike, I can't imagine a better investment, especially when they're on sale!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 9/7/2018
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
The Continental Grad Prix 4000S II road tire is the Go To Tire for cyclists.

I run the Continental Grand Prix S II road tire on three of my four road bikes. They simple are the best tire for the money. Good rolling characteristics, puncture resistant and long lasting. I have tried other brands with no where the success of these fine tires. Highly recommended for your road cycling both racing and training.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 8/6/2018
by Philip
Philadelphia
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire - improved ride

This tire has just the right amount of road-gripping firmness while delivering a very comfortable ride. I'm very happy with the feel and handling. Its a big improvement over what was on my road bike previously.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 3/22/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A good performer for both the avid cyclist and racer.

I have used these tires for both recreational riding, racing and race training. They have been good performers with reasonable wear and are solid in the corners for both criteriums and high speed descents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 10/9/2017
by MightyG
Cycling Enthusiast
Beverly Hills, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
BEST BALANCE OF, DURABILITY, MILEAGE, PERFORMANCE AND VALUE...

Like many cyclists, I've tried a lot of different high performance tires looking for that one tire that excels at everything. In the end, I use GP4000's on all of my wheels. A few tires have a more supple ride, a few corner better. Other tires are miserable to fit or have weak side walls or get lousy mileage or are prone to flats. GP4000,s just inspire confidence. They corner well in wet and dry, I get excellent mileage, (3,000 mi. plus), average about 1 flat per year, never had a side wall problem and they have relatively low rolling resistance. I've hammered these tires on So. California roads and the GP4000.s always get me home safely.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by Rubber side down
Cycling Enthusiast
Mpls
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Would pay more

Ive been riding some balding but not quitting 33mm Jack Brown Green tires for past several years wondering what a good handmade, $70 each, set of tires would be like. I tried these as an inexpensive interim and will go no further. They ride like Ive never experienced in my old 23mm Conti GP days theyre supple, fast (sure, anythings faster than Jack Browns) and astoundingly grippy. BTD makes them so freaking affordable, you have nothing to lose in the 28mm size, I say.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 1/17/2019
by NorthBayBiiker
Casual Cyclist
NorthBay, Bay Area, Ca USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great road tire

These a long lasting, durable road tires that perform great and live up to the hype. The longevity of these tires also make them a great value. I use them on a daily basis for training rides in all conditions. Because of geographic considerations where I ride and live, I typically climb 3000 ft. on any given ride. These tires provide light weight for climbing and great stability when descending Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 4/27/2019
by LEE
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Only use Schwabel or Continental tires, they never fail in performance and quality.

Responsive and durable tires are Continental, like everything and wouldn't buy other tires except Schwabel.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 4/25/2019
by Anonymous
San Francisco
Overall Rating
Great Roll Resistance for the $

I put one of these on my front wheel for racing in CA to help swallow broken bits of our roads. They worked great. Of course you need to know the clearance of your bike. On my Reynolds rims these balloon to 29.2. Enjoy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 4/16/2019
by cleetus
Daily Commuter
Meridian, ID
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Hard to mount

Very difficult to mount especially in cold weather. Tire developed a hop in it after only 800 miles of riding. Avoid Continental tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 7/21/2017
by Tommy
Atlanta
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Spider-Man tyres

If Spider-Man rode a bicycle instead of using webs he would be on a set of Continental GP 4000's enough said!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 4/18/2019
by Mikebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
They ride very smoothly

I find these tires to be very comfortable. Of course, that may be because I went from 25s to 28s. They seem to have great road traction also.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.