Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(614 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(495)
(73)
(13)
(12)
(21)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Reviewed 3/5/2020
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
The Best Tubeless So Far!

I've tried multiple brands of tubeless or tubeless ready tires and mounting them and getting them to seal can be very frustrating-not so with the Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL. I've mounted 6 of them on various bikes and they have sealed & inflated every time the first time that I tried. Perhaps not quite as cushioned as other brands but their resistance to flats is excellent. They also seem to be more long-wearing than many of the other TL or TLR brands. Grip is also excellent! It's the best tubeless I've encountered so far!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love this tire

lAfter years of running tubeless for gravel and MTB and several years of using tubes and GP4000 with my ENVE 5.6 disc wheels I finally converted to road tubeless with these tires. I mount a lot of tubeless tires to suite different gravel and MTB race courses. Probably 10-15 tiresyear on a variety of race and training gravel and MTB wheels. These were tight getting on to the rim but seated very easily without any lubrication (caveat I use an air compressor and Prestaflator). They hold air well and subjectively feel faster than the GP4000. I'm 163lbs and ran the 4000s at 95 front100 rear. I'm running the 5000s 80 front 85 rear. Despite the tubeless casing the ride is much better. Very happy with these all around, and as usual BikeTiresDirect has great prices. I don't think I've bought a tire anywhere else in the last 4-5 years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2019
by R Lawhorn
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love These tires

Ive been a Continental fan since I started riding. I have ridden on Grand Prix 4000s For many years. Glad to see Continental is making a tubeless tire now. They are super tight and seal on the first try. Make sure you have thick levers and an extra pair of hands wont hurt. They roll fast and smooth and corner great...I think they are a bit faster than the 4000s. These tires are a great value and high quality. I highly recommend theses tires. Also cant say enough about BTDs awesome customer service. They are knowledgeable, responsive and really value your business. Orders get out fast and your items show up early most of the time. Great selection and they price match! They are my go to place for all things bike related.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by MadfiberRider
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great Continental tire, their best yet!

These are amazing tires and i have used several widths of the GP5000TL. I use several brands Schwalbe, Conti, Michelin, Specialized, and Clement. For road use, these GPs are my favorite. Amazingly fast and comfortable ride with great cornering. One funny thing with the size. The 32mm just barely fits in my 2019 Tarmac on the rear. A 28mm Durano doesn't since it rubs the seat tube. Also, the 32mm GP5000TL is very tight. I know all the tricks and i barely got it on. The 28mm copy of the same tire was great, very easy to mount. The 25mm copy was a little tight but not nearly so as the 32mm. These were all on the same wheel, a carbon Roval that came with the Tarmac. Also, running 50PSI in that 32mm rear rides like a Buick but still handles like a dream.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Gold Canyon, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire - with one caveat...

I had wanted to go tubeless road for quite awhile and in fact had tried another tire with little satisfaction. Then these Conti's came along at a great price and I decided to give em a go. All in all I am very pleased with how they ride and their durability (so far). Therein lies the caveat - I did get a sidewall slice in the rear tire and needed to replace it. I was a little surprised, but do know for sure that it was a sharp rock that caused the issue. A tip - warm these tires up in the sun or another warm location before mounting as they are a bit tough to get on the rim. Also some soapy water helps slip them over the rim lip. Once mounted, they popped right into place about 95 psi. They hold air as well as any tubed tire I've ever had and provide a very nice ride. I am 6-1, 190 pounds, 25mm tire width, 90 psi. Mavic Ksyrium Elite rims, DT Swiss valve and Stan's sealant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/24/2020
by DonCallme
Cycling Enthusiast
Durham, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
These tires are just the best I've found.

I'm getting a lot of miles on these tires. They hold up very well and are worth the cost in the long run. I'm a big fan of tubeless tires, I have these tires on a set of Campy BORA 45 wheels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent Tubeless Tire

2nd set of these tires. Loved the first set and bought these as replacement. On sale, great buy and value. No mileage figure on first set. Still running them

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2020
by losmorob
Cycling Enthusiast
Nor CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
500 mile update

I'm the previous review explaining how hard these are to mount. But after 600 miles I really like these tires! They roll fast and corner well. No surprises, a very predictable tire. I'm a heavier guy and one of my peeves regarding Continental tires is how quickly they 'square off' or develop a wide flat area . Not with these Conti's. Wear is good, better then the slightly faster but fast wearing Schwalbe Pro-Ones I used to use. If I can find an easier way to mount them I'm all in when it comes time to replace. Zero flats. Zero 'punctures' Well, that's the tubeless experience part.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/16/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF East Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Best tubeless tire on the market

I have been running road tubeless for years now and have tried many brands. The 5000 TL is by far the best tubeless tire that I have come across. It went on my Enve 3.4 SES on the first burst of air and sealed immediately (a first one for me)! I've put 3500 km on and now the wear indicators are gone - not bad for longevity. Typically, I would see a few holes during the lifespan of the tire but the 5000 TL has had none (probably a good portion of luck - but then I ride the same roads most of the time).

Overall - couldn't be happier with this tire and the price at BTD is unbeatable as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/23/2020
by Cesar Medina
Houston TX
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great purchase

Great quality and prompt delivery

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/24/2020
by losmorob
Cycling Enthusiast
Nor CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Mounting issues

As noted in other reviews these tires are extremely hard to mount. Mavic Kyserum wheels. 60 years old cycling all my life and running tubeless about 4 years now. I almost returned them. The hardest tires I have EVER installed. But I ran 4000's and Gatorskins for years before going tubeless and I so wanted to try the new Conti Tubeless. I even heated them up in the oven. (don't tell the wife) Finally success with brute strength, tire levers, soapy water and wondering if I was going to bend my rims with the effort it took to mount. I have about 50 mile on them now. The ride is very nice and plush but firm, compared to the OEM Mavic tires (surprisingly good) and Hutchinson Fusion's (fragile, ripped a sidewall). Rolling resistance seems to be extremely good. I really like them, but not sure if I would go through the ordeal it took to mount them. I think slipping an emergency tube on the road would be extremely had to do. 5 stars for the ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/2/2020
by Beth
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Performance and Reliability

After using French manufactured tires for a couple seasons, I've returned to Continentals after I got stranded on the side of the road one too many times with gashes in the sidewalls. I'm running the 28s on Bontrager Aeolus rims. The handling is fantastic, and I haven't had any issues despite riding them in winter conditions with gravel on the roads. The tires stick in curvey mountain descents, but the ride is still comfortable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2019
by steve
Competitive Racer
Miami
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Can't get them on the rims

I have Mavic UST tubeless Cosmic wheels and the came with the Mavic tires. Those tires are pretty easy (for tubeless) to get on and off but the puncture easily and I though I would try the Conti 5000s. Broke 2 levers, hands are hamburger and I still could not get them on the rims. You gotta know that when they fail to seal (and that DOES happen) it won't be any easier on the side of the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/25/2019
by fastrs4
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire - used on my race wheels all summer

Light, fast, good traction, never punctured. Held air for days with a light amount of sealant. Paired with Enve SES 3.4s. Admittedly I use GP 4-Seasons for winter riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/6/2019
by ST
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth Rollin'

I had trouble fitting Schwalbe Pro One Tubeless on my Roval CLX 40 wheels. These were still tight, but I managed to get them on with 4 hands and 3 tire levers. Once mounted, they've rolled nicely and seem to be wearing well with good durability. I'm glad Continental finally made a tubeless tire. Also, with BTD's price match, I got a good deal!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 4/19/2019
by Dog''s Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
All of Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
A GREAT Tire

I've been using Grand Prixs for about 10 years. Great traction & few tire-related problems.

While the 5000 was recently released, and is 'new & improved,' there was nothing wrong with the 4000 IIs and the reduced price commonly found on them now makes them a really great deal. I will continue to run them on my road bike for years to come.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 3/22/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
A good performer for both the avid cyclist and racer.

I have used these tires for both recreational riding, racing and race training. They have been good performers with reasonable wear and are solid in the corners for both criteriums and high speed descents.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 9/9/2018
by Don
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 30 customers found this review helpful.
Disappointing sidewall flaw

I'm a longtime fan of Continental clincher tires, having used Grand Prix 4000 (including S II) , All Season, & Gatorskin versions. Past GP 4000 tires have lasted 2000-3000 miles treadwear with few flats and no sidewall problems, with ride quality noticeably more supple than the All Season or Gatorskin. But in a GP 4000 S II pair bought from BTD this season that had only about 1000 miles use, the one on the rear wheel recently had a sidewall hole directly under the reflective strip letting a bit of tube push out through it (analogous to an intestine pushing through an abdominal hernia). This required discarding that tire for safety. Fortunately I had an extra tire available to replace it. I don't know if this indicates declining quality control or was just a random event, but I'm disappointed in the exception to the GP 4000's customarily excellent reliability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 9/22/2018
by T. Johnson
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Very favorable impression

I bought these to replace a set of Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires specifically because I was looking to reduce weight and rolling resistance. Based on research, this tire seemed to check both of those boxes while still providing reasonable puncture resistance.

These tires run incredibly smooth and effortless. As for puncture resistance, I just returned from a weeklong bike trip covering 500 miles of rural roads littered with sharp rocks and steel belted tire shards and didn't have one puncture. I even did a little gravel riding (less than 10 miles). I cannot comment on traction in the rain as I plan to use my Schwalbes for winter commuting, however due to the low weight and very low rolling resistance, I very highly recommend these tires for any type of distance riding (multiple day trips, or centuries), they exceeded my expectations.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
Reviewed 8/23/2018
by Spartan Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for 2018

Conti GP 4000 S II, great all around tires. I've been using these for racing and riding for the past two years. I would say I get about 2000-3000 miles out of a tire, so they do last a good while. They handle great and are nice and fast.

They also provide very good puncture protection for a high performance tire. I know there are other 'racing' tires on the market, but they are very light and thin and certainly put you at risk for flats. From my past experience, there are few things that take you out of a race as fast as a flat tire.

If you balance price, performance and protection I don't think there is currently a better tire on the market.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 66