Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(54 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(6)
(0)
(4)
(3)
(76%)
(11%)
(0%)
(7%)
(6%)
Reviewed 10/20/2020
by Dave M
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
very satisfied

I only have a few hundred miles on these tires but, so far, I'm very happy with them. They were pretty easy to mount on my Enve rims, ride nicely at about 75 - 80 psi, hold air really well and after only a few hundred miles I haven't had a single flat. There aren't even any detectable nicks in the rubber. This is the opposite of my experience with some other tubeless tires I had which were lighter and had a slightly better ride but were not very cut resistant.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Vic
Dallas
Overall Rating
Well see

This is my first attempt at road tubeless. I initially ordered the Schwalbe Pro One TL cancelled my order after seeing more favorable reviews on this tire. I tried all the tricks I saw in YouTube to mount and still had a challenge. There's no way I could stuff a tube in these tires if I had a flat in the road that didn't seal. I am having to fill these up every 2-3 days despite having sealant but this might be part of the cons with tubeless road tires. I lose about 5 psi every day. On road performance has been good, just what is expect for GP5000s

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/12/2020
by pdx biker
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Second GP 5000 TL I have bought

Bought my second GP 5000 TL tire after a huge staple took my last one out. Had about 500ish miles on the last one but a staple double pierced the tire and actually punctured the side wall from the inside. Stans tire sealant couldnt seal the side wall and didnt trust it enough to try and patch up or something. Considered buying a non tubeless because the current selection of TL tires isnt as large, we are currently heading into winter so almost got some Gator Skins, and these tires are SUPER hard to mount.

GOOD: The tires ride well and besides the staple I never had issues with leaks or punctures.

BAD: Hard to mount on rim, possibly not quite as puncture resistant as I would like.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/24/2020
by Double D
Cycling Enthusiast
Tulsa, OK
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far so good!

I've purchased two sets of these, one for my road bike (28s on DT Swiss PRC 1450s) and one for my gravel bike (32s on Easton EA90cx). Running both tubeless. Relatively easy to mount and seat using an air compressor. I have over 1,000 miles on the road bike set with no flats or other issues. Compared to a set of Schwalbe Pro Ones I have on another road bike I'm definitely more pleased with the Conti's as the Pro Ones seem to puncture easily and were much more difficult to get seated. I've tried other brands and always come back to Conti. No complaints - would recommend. Kudo's to BTD for their great service, reasonable prices, and price matching policies!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tire for my road bike

Bought my first road bike last year and had to replace the tires that came with the bike after 500 miles. A friend suggested I try the Conti 5000 tubeless ready tires and I like them so much I bought another pair this summer even though the current Conti tires on my bike look and ride great. I like the smooth ride and confidence I have when taking corners on these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/11/2020
by Ikey
Cycling Enthusiast
Enola, PA.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

After 1,200 miles on this most recent set of tires. Most of the miles have been over the winter and this spring, lots of debris on the side of the roads. I can't tell you how many people I have passed on the side of the road fixing flats, not me. These Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tires do not get flats. I used to be that guy, I'd get 4 or 5 flats a year. After getting ENVE 3.4 tubeless rims and these Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tires (I ran the 4000's before these) I haven't had a flat in over two years and 12,000 miles. The ride is more compliant and the handling is the best.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2020
by Dan Malloy
Naples Italy
Overall Rating
So disappointed

This is my first go with tubeless. I knew there were challenges with mounting, but I was looking forward to the benefits. I have OEM DT Swiss PR1400 tubeless-ready wheels on my Canyon. Super difficult to just get the tire on the rim, and then two days of trying everything, including an air shot compression bottle, valve core in, valve core out. I ended up at the LBS. The front tire mounted up with minimal fuss. But they fought with the rear tire for an hour, finally getting it to mount using extra tape and lots of sealant. Great. Ten days later, the rear tire started losing air on an early morning ride. With CO2, I was able to get home. I did an underwater test and air was bleeding out from the bead on one entire side. There were also foamy bubbles forming on both sidewalls. I reported this to BTD, and they generously shipped me a new tire. LBS mounted, all good. Two weeks later, the front tire lost its seal, and LBS can't make it work. The front now has a tube in it, and if the rear fails, it will get one too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/5/2020
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
The Best Tubeless So Far!

I've tried multiple brands of tubeless or tubeless ready tires and mounting them and getting them to seal can be very frustrating-not so with the Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL. I've mounted 6 of them on various bikes and they have sealed & inflated every time the first time that I tried. Perhaps not quite as cushioned as other brands but their resistance to flats is excellent. They also seem to be more long-wearing than many of the other TL or TLR brands. Grip is also excellent! It's the best tubeless I've encountered so far!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by Bullet
FoCo
Overall Rating
Oustanding tubeless tire

Bought a set and mounted them on Hed Ardennes in March. Struggled a little getting them on but they pump right up because the tight fit makes a good seal. Had to replace the rear tire due to a sidewall tear in June. Front tire lasted all summer >4000 miles! Overall I love these tubeless tires for relative ease of use, plush ride at correct psi, grippy in corners, and durability.

Pro tip - leave in direct sunlight for 20 minutes prior to mounting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/15/2020
by DickRN
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Plush ride - Goodbye tubes.

I use the 5000 TL 28s on my road bike and Bontrager XXX 4 wheels, (Domane SL). A little difficult to install, stretching the final bit, and worth the effort. I'm using Orange Seal and the punctures I have received, construction staples, sealed quickly allowing me to continue my rides. I ride in Central Oregon and this setup smooths out the ride and allows me to descend at speed, with confidence. Instead of pointing out the gravel at intersections we can ride right through. No loss of speed in the pace line and I'm getting PRs over my previous tube setup (28s) and previous 25s on my former bike. I'm getting 1500 miles on the rear tire with 75 pounds of pressure. I changed the front at about 2K miles. My wife, much lighter 135 vs my 199 pounds, is using 70 pounds of pressure front and back. I found I needed the extra pressure due to my torque on the wheels, and my massive thighs causing the brake rotors to rub at 70 pounds. I use 72 pounds in the front tire for the same reasons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/10/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental tubeless road tire

I have been using tubeless road tires on and off for years. This is the first tire that performs how I expect a tubeless tire to work. It mounts and dismounts easily and can be filled and seated with a regular floor pump.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2020
by TomG
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not compatible with Mavic Ksyrium

Try as I might, I was unable to mount these on Ksyrium Elite wheels. I've always been a fan of Conti clinchers - 4000's and 5000's - but they're simply incompatible with Mavics. I had to switch to Schwalbe Pro Ones.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/27/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Love this tire

lAfter years of running tubeless for gravel and MTB and several years of using tubes and GP4000 with my ENVE 5.6 disc wheels I finally converted to road tubeless with these tires. I mount a lot of tubeless tires to suite different gravel and MTB race courses. Probably 10-15 tiresyear on a variety of race and training gravel and MTB wheels. These were tight getting on to the rim but seated very easily without any lubrication (caveat I use an air compressor and Prestaflator). They hold air well and subjectively feel faster than the GP4000. I'm 163lbs and ran the 4000s at 95 front100 rear. I'm running the 5000s 80 front 85 rear. Despite the tubeless casing the ride is much better. Very happy with these all around, and as usual BikeTiresDirect has great prices. I don't think I've bought a tire anywhere else in the last 4-5 years.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by dazer1virginia
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Simple to set up tubeless on Roval SLX 24 wheels

I heard these were hard to mount...on the contrary, I did it with a floor pump. I don't have many miles on them yet, but hope they will last. Seem to be smooth rolling and fairly sticky. I initially got the 32mm, but they would not clear my front fork, something to keep in mind if your bike is a few years old (mine 2016). These are perfect though. I might have been able to go with a 27mm, but knew the 25mm would work. Fast return of the ones that did not fit and credit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/27/2020
by Anonymous
Olympic Peninsula, WA
Overall Rating
Fast tubeless

Put these on my gravel bike mounted tubeless. I have about 750 miles with about 150 gravel on them so far. I run them at 55F/60R psi. I am 175lbs. No flats easy to mount and I feel WAY faster than the Schwalbe G-One�s I�ve used for about 2000miles. I would remount the Schwalbe�s for a challenging all gravel route, but these are the best tires for 99% of my riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/30/2019
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura County
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Conti offering.

Fitted 2019 Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tires to Bontrager Aeolus 2 tubeless ready rims. 28 mm. Went on with no problems, just a little lever action at the end. Seated well with no issues. I use an air compressor but imagine a hand pump would have done the trick. Used Orange sealant and no leaks. Holds air well. Roles smooth and corners fine. Holding up with 400 miles ridden so far under road conditions with lots of debris due to FallWinter season. No real cuts or abnormal wear. I run at about 65 psi but am not a lightweight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/2/2019
by R Lawhorn
Cycling Enthusiast
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Love These tires

Ive been a Continental fan since I started riding. I have ridden on Grand Prix 4000s For many years. Glad to see Continental is making a tubeless tire now. They are super tight and seal on the first try. Make sure you have thick levers and an extra pair of hands wont hurt. They roll fast and smooth and corner great...I think they are a bit faster than the 4000s. These tires are a great value and high quality. I highly recommend theses tires. Also cant say enough about BTDs awesome customer service. They are knowledgeable, responsive and really value your business. Orders get out fast and your items show up early most of the time. Great selection and they price match! They are my go to place for all things bike related.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/18/2020
by Anonymous
eugene, or
Overall Rating
My new go to TL tire

My experience with TL tires is limited. My new bike came with schwalbe pro one tle tires, they ride nicely, but were leaky. Sealant would ooze out of the pores and the tires would lose air and unseat themselves. Anyway, switched to the Contis and no issues. I can mount by hand, they seal up easily and no leaky pores. They ride wonderfully too, so it�s a no brainer for me to stick with the contis.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires running tubeless.

Running 28mm tires in the new zipp 303�s tubeless at 56/60 psi front/rear. With this setup, these tires are great. Smoother ride, the cornering grip is amazing, they have good puncture resistance, and the downhill speed isn�t reduced. If anything, I believe I can descend faster due to better cornering grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2020
by RositaMike
Cycling Enthusiast
Centennial CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Low rolling resistance plus comfort - great tires!

About the fastest general-purpose road tires. I changed from 25s to 32s and like the extra comfort with no loss of speed. The change added a few ounces but not much. Being tubeless with pretty good puncture resistance according to the tests, they should be mostly flat-free. Nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 29