Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TdF LTD Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TdF LTD Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(8)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(62%)
(38%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/15/2020
by Seattle Dave on rock
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
27 of 27 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tire tho seem slightly different than the standards version

I ride the standard GP5000 tubed and tubeless, love them, and decided to purchase the cream TdF version. A few initial observation caught my eye that others have noted in various reviews online. The cream sidewall appears to be some sort of rubber paint on top of the standard black sidewall. Handling it side by side with a standard GP5000 in 25mm, the cream version casing feels noticeably stiffer. The standard casing feels very thin , supple, and flexible, while the cream feels sturdier, almost more like a TL version. I�m not sure if it�s a result of the coating or if the casing differs. I do also notice the standard casing is smooth, while the cream has a more pronounced woven texture slightly showing the thread pattern. Taking some approximate measurements, the cream sidewall thickness is 0.15mm more than the standard. On the scale, it also weights 30g more. The tire bead on the standard also appears slightly thinner and smooth, while the cream seems thicker and coated with a tackier black rubber. Most notably, the cream version is significantly tighter to mount on the same rims, almost to the point of being offensive. The standard version mounts with average effort. That aside the tread appear identical and the cream color is slightly on the yellow side but looks nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/26/2021
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, Calif
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good Tire, BUT

Used on my club rides. Good all around tire. BUT, it wore out quickly compared to the 4000's I have used.

I got about 60% of the miles I got with the 4000's

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Coolkate
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Conti 5000's are the BEST!!!

These Conti's are great. Strong, supple, and a great grip on the road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2021
by BikeOn
Cycling Enthusiast
Concord, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Continental GP 5000 TdF Limited Edition Road Tire

I agree with the other comments - these tires were definitely a challenge to mount! The sidewall is extremely stiff compared to the standard GP5000 tire and I ended up having to use levers to get the final section of bead over the rim. The tires handle and run great so definitely worth both the price and install challenges. My only concern is difficulty in breaking the tire back down (stiff sidewall) if I'm on the road with a flat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Kevin
Boise
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Continental GP5000 tdf

I mounted these on a Trek Emanda ALR 5. I love the way they handle and they look great as well!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/28/2021
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Los Angeles, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Aesthetics and Performance

The sidewall color gets discolored with use, but in a good way. Like other tanwall tires, it pairs well with black rims.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2021
by Anonymous
Twin Cities, MN
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great compound made with classic style!

The regular GP 5000 roll great. Got these despite the ever so small weight penalty of a few grams, to give the bike some more bling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/22/2020
by Rick
Jacksonville, FL
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
GP5000 TDF Edition

I was not a believer in the importance of bike tyres, but these Continental GP5000 Tour De France edition has absolutely changed my opinion 100%. The ride quality & handling is superior to any tyre have used in the past. The cream sidewalls are throwback abd looks absolutely perfect on my Felt F2. I've purchased my backup set already.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2020
by GirlDad0613
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Sleek, sexy, and fast!

The puppies look sick on my wheels. Black on black on tan...Really gives the needed touch to get the juices flowing. Plus it adds like 1000 watts..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/10/2020
by Jon S
ri, usa
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

I bought a pair of these in the fall and couldn't resist buying another when they went on sale. Clean look and the durability is great too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2020
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
The 5000 continental is as advertised, except

My only problem with the 5000 vs the 4000 is life. I got 5000 miles with continental 4000 tires. I am only getting a little over 3000 miles with the 5000 series. This is according to the wear marks on the tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2020
by Gavin M
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Vegas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Quality & style ...

I�ve used continental for years and years , the quality has always been exceptional and now we have retro style , what more could you ask for ..

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/20/2020
by b-rad
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good Tire w/ Great Looks

GP 5000 TdF has good grip, rolls fast, is lightweight, durable, and is an absolute bear to mount!! I had to use levers for the final 'pop'. 4 stars for crazy hard mounting when new.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/24/2020
by Anonymous
Pennsylvania, USA
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love the look, love the performance

Great tire ( it's reputation precedes it)

Finally with cream/tan sidewalls

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2020
by skinnystudio
Overall Rating
0 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
??????????

LOVE THESE... AND, the service at BTD!! ??

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2020
by GM
Nevada
Overall Rating
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Quality

What can I say but quality and now improved style , the 5000 are great but now with the walled sides amazing when rolling the miles ????

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/5/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Hard to find a sharp sidewall tire as good as this one!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
CDS

About what you'd expect from Conti. All around, a pretty good tyre.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/15/2021
by MTB Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Nor Cal
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lives up to expectations

Fast & durable, great looks too. Really tight fit on rim during install but manageable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2021
by Bob
Florida
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good all around tire

Good all around tire with wet and dry traction.No punctures to date.Excellent wear properties.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 96