Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Gatorskin 27 Inch Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin 27 Inch Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(65 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(55)
(8)
(0)
(2)
(0)
(85%)
(12%)
(0%)
(3%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 9/11/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire. Seems very resistant to puncture flats.

Great tire. Seems very resistant to puncture flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2018
by Rich G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Vermont
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
A great upgrade for an old bike.

I should have bought these ages ago. They do a great job of soaking up buzz from the road. There's less rolling resistance than cheaper tires. They are worth the extra bucks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2018
by SyncroBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Irvine, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Tire is too wide

I picked up these tires thinking that I would be all set on my vintage Della Santa racer. It turns out that these tires sit kind of wide on my rims. At least a lot wider than my previous tires (27x14). I had to remove the brake shoes to install the wheel back on both front and the rear. My racing frame has narrow stays at the bottom bracket. The rear wheel has so ever slight out-of-true and the tire rubs on the frame. These tires are great but I'm going to swap them out for some narrower ones because they are not practical on this bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2017
by Rich L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A quality 27 tire for the long haul

I was glad to find Continental still provides a quality 27 inch tire that was purchased for our tandem. This should give good service for safe riding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Gatorskins are the way to go

Great tire for the cities. Good tread, Can't beat the puncture resistant features of this tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2019
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very satisfied

Nice to have the tough, durable gator skin in 27 inches for my vintage 73 Motobecane.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/25/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
puncture-proof (so far) tires

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/12/2013
by Bikerdon
Cycling Enthusiast
N.E. Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
This is a high quality dependable tire for everyday road use!

I have used the 27 x1 14 size for about 5 years on my Franklin tandem, riding about 7-8,000 miles per year. The front tires lasts about 4500mi, & the rear about 2500mi. You can dependably wear these down to the chord before changing them. This tire gives a reassuring grip on the road, wet or dry (not loose gravel). The Gatorskins are not puncture proof, but are way above average in resisting flats. I have never had a blowout or chord separation with these tires. They mount easily, but not loose. A GREAT tire!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/29/2013
by Alex
Casual Cyclist
Sherman Oaks, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic tires for commuting and weekend riding.

I ride almost every weekend around 50 miles or so and these tires are fantastic. Never punctured a tube while using these for several years. Decent grip on wet and excellent traction on dry surface. They also last for a very long time. Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2013
by NYC Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing Tire

So far I have only used this tire for about 2 1/2 months and 1000 miles but these tires have been great! I use my bike to commute to work which is about a 23 mile round trip between Queens and Manhattan. Certain roads are in terrible shape and are littered with glass and other debris. It has handled extremely well under these conditions and has an excellent grip on the road. I did have one puncture a couple weeks ago from a small piece of copper, but I doubt any tire could have stopped it. It still runs great and seems like it will last quite a bit longer. Once these come back in stock I will be buying another set of these!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2013
by jasonkrw
Casual Cyclist
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great tires

Put these tires on my 20 year old Ross road bike and now it feels like a brand new bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/22/2013
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Reno, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, a little hard

I bought this to help prevent punctures from what northern Nevadan's call goatheads, little thorny bastards that kill your tires and tubes. since putting these on i haven't had a single puncture. i mostly ride my Schwinn Traveler as a towny, to the bars and parks and just pleasure rides but have had no issues with these tires. they are a bit hard though and definitely feel the road surface more with them. i would buy again and recommend for puncture resistant tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/1/2013
by RickinTX
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best tire for the money!

I didn't want to spend a lot on tires, but I took a chance on these and am glad I did. I have about 3,000 miles on them so far and not one flat! Needless to say the flat protection is awesome, and the ride is as good as it can get. Great grip, I run 95 lbs. in them, they are fast and I love them. I will buy them again when I wear these out. Very Satisfied!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2013
by RickinTX
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome!

This is a good tire, I ride 52 miles a day, everyday, and since I started using these I haven't had a flat, they ride good, firm but not to hard, great grip, they even look good. When I wear these out I will get another set, no doubt at all, I love them!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/23/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area SF
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome tires great upgrade made my old bike ride much better

Rides nice and has a great reputation that seems well deserved

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Angeles, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires, especially for the price!

First experience with Gatorskins. Great ride. Could tell the difference immediately, even though I run 15 lbs. more air in these than I did in my others. Only have about 200 miles on them so haven't run them long enough to evaluate wear or rain traction but am quite pleased so far. No flats yet either.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/15/2012
by markmikel
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Solid performing tire for my old road bike. Better traction than I anticipated.

Best tire I've had on my bike in the 24 years I've owned it. Good cornering, smooth ride. Great tire upgrade for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/14/2012
by SF Commuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Orinda, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire for commuting

I commute 30 miles each day and after 500 miles on this tire, I can definitely say that it has out performed my expectations. I was expecting this tire to be heavy and sluggish, but it turns out that you can't feel the heavier weight since this tire seems to have a low rolling resistance.

It has been a great commuting tire with good cornering and absorption of bumps. Can't wait to see how this tire performs in the weather turns wet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/9/2012
by dim5867
Cycling Enthusiast
Mount Prospect, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Rolling like a king!!!

I'm a Chicago commuter that rides to and from Chicago 3-4 days a week. Rain or shine these tires are holding up great. These tires give me insane grip on the road and taking those aggressive turns are breeze. Hope this review helps. Keep ridin hard!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2012
by SchwinnJim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Long time, No flats!

Gatorskins are the best tire I've ever used. Sometimes my rides take me out past the dump where there is trash on the side of the road (glass, staples, little metal pieces, thorns, etc). I used to get flats every other week or so. But after putting on the 'Gators', I haven't had a flat yet.

Some have said these tires are hard to put on, but I didn't have any trouble with that. Others also have said that because they are hard, they make the ride a little rough. But again, I say, not so!

I definitely recommend to anyone who is 'tire'd of fixing flats!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 94

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]