Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Easy Tape Rim Strip

ContinentalEasy Tape Rim Strip(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(5)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(79%)
(17%)
(0%)
(3%)
(0%)
Reviewed 6/19/2020
by uvmc20
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond Va
Value Rating
Overall Rating
extremely good product. Replaced original rim tape and solved puncture problems i was having with the original rims! Very good product.

I was having many flats and I finally thought it might be the original rim tape squirming to one side revealing the spoke holes and those wearing holes in the tubes. The Contenital rim tape went on easy and is very stable side to side solving my puncture issues. Superior rim tape to the original on the rims.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2020
by Martin
Cycling Enthusiast
Victoria, BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
The Same High Quality I Always Expect from Conti

Not adhesive, it is a single band that stretches slightly for installation. Robust thick tape that seats in nicely and perfectly fit our 29er 20mm rims.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/23/2020
by Joseph
central florida
Overall Rating
Tuff great fit

Rim strip or guard as I like to call them , good value - these rim strips work excellent and fit perfectly. A must have

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/20/2020
by Joseph
central florida
Overall Rating
great fit

Rim strip or guard as I like to call them , good value - these rim strips work excellent and fit perfectly. A must have

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/20/2019
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Central California Desert
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental Easy Tape Rim Strip NOT Easy

I used or tried this rim strip on two Mavic Open Pro rims. With the first rim, I was successful in getting this rim strip to seat evenly inside the rim. It was not easy to stretch this rim strip over the last section of rim and have it drop in well centered.

On my second Mavic Open Pro rim, it was a failure. In the final stretch over the last bit of rim, it dropped in on the inside side of the rim. No matter how I tried, I could not move this strip over to center it in the rim. Heck, I could not even grab it to get it out of the rim to try again. In the end, out of frustration, I took a sharp tool to cut this rim strip and remove it.

I then proceeded to TAPE my second Mavic Open Pro rim with reliable, truly easy to use, VELOX RIM TAPE.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/11/2018
by DaninPA
Competitive Racer
Lancaster, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
It's The Tape to get

The white cotton tape has been my go-to forever. But high pressure caused spoke holes to appear. Not good.

If you run pressures over 110 PSI, this is the tape to get. It doesn't deform, installs easily, and will probably last until your bike gets donated to a museum.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome rim strip

Use a wooden golf T to align the hole and manipulate the strip one in place. Works great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2019
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
EZ Install hack for a great rim strip...

A golf T should be in every box, but it was pretty easy to borrow. Slip through the strip and stem hole to hold in place to mount, then use the pointed end to gently nudge for minor centering once the strip is on. Works like a charm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Naperville, Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Very Good but Fiddly to Install

This is a very good quality rim strip, but you have to work carefully for it to fit. The width is on the high side at 18 mm, which means it has to be installed exactly in the center of the rim or it may cover the rim tire engagement area, interfering with tire installation (at least my rim, a 700 MATRIX IsoC) . Of course you have to cover the spoke holes, or it won't work. It is very tight the last couple feet or so, and centering is difficult. What I did with the 2nd one (first one I destroyed trying to center the tape the last couple feet) was to install six plastic tire levers across the rim under the rim tape when I had the last two feet or so to finish, and scooted the rim tape to exactly the rim center line. Then I carefully removed the tire levers one at a time starting on the first installed, all the while matching the rim circumference center line with the tape center line. This worked fine The tire is inflated to 105 psi w no problems.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2019
by GrantK
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Best Rim Strips Ive Ever Used

These are my go-to choice after trying at least half a dozen other known and unknown brands. They protect well against puncture from the hostile inside edges of double eyelets even at 100 psi. They are thin, which is very helpful for tire mounting, easy install and stay put well. Pro tip - put a tapered tool like a drift punch through the valve stem hole in the rim and rim strip to keep the strip exactly centered over the valve stem hole in the rim as you install it - saves time and temper.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2019
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
SW Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
I don't know why I waited so long to switch to these rim strips.

Easy to install, economical and they work as intended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/25/2018
by Bob thornton
va beach, va
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great product for the price. High tech solution to age old problem.

Much better than the cloth tape. Great for eliminating pinch flats

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/23/2015
by Flatlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Strong, Lightweight, Easy to Install

Why get anything else? Strong as steel. Light as a feather. Lasts for years. Easy to Install.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/4/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I won't be going back to tape

I found this no harder to install than fabric tape. It won't pick up gunk or leave sticky residue. Seems more durable. No more expensive per wheel than fabric tape unless you're buying the fabric tape in 100yd quantity. What's not to like?

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2014
by RickD
Utah
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
This is the good stuff.

Velox fabric tape is OK, but leaves gooey residue and will retain water.

Other plastic rim tapes are usually only rated to 120 psi and will balloon into your spoke holes eventually cutting on the hole edges and even touch the spoke ends.

This is a heavy, fiber-reinforced tape rated to 15 bar 220 psi, So if you run at 120 or greater you should get this. It is a little harder to install because it is TIGHT, but it is worth the effort.

Be aware that Conti also makes a lighter version of Easy Tape that is like the standard 120 psi rim tape. So be careful to always get this High Pressure version. It is well worth the extra reliability at a very small weight and cost penalty. BTD is one of the few places you can find the High Pressure version.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/9/2013
by TheUn
Cycling Enthusiast
Thornton, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect tape for my wheels

The spoke holes on my wheels seem a bit deeper than most.

I blew out several tubes before I discovered the problem.

This tape solved the issue as was easy to install.

Just use a pencil to keep the stem hole lined up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2017
by GLS
memphis tn
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Continental Easy Tape Rim Strip

The Continental Easy Tape Rim Strip is an awesome product. I purchased a set of Continental Cruise Contact 700c29 Inch Tire 700c x 50mm for my bike. I immediately started to have flats on the inside of my rim, I purchased this Rim strip and it instantly solved my problem. No more flats.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/4/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
As described

Easy to install. Works well with the other continental products I purchased.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/17/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Hollywood, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This was easy ti install.

The rim tape was easy to install and appeared to be well made.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miami
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
The product says it all, easy

Used it since I was replacing wheels, tubes and tires, no hassle to install

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 22