Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Continental Contact Plus 700c Tire

ContinentalContact Plus 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(11)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(65%)
(26%)
(7%)
(0%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Bernard

Reviewed 2/4/2024
by Bernard
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver BC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
like em

I have used these off and on for years on my CCX. In my opinion they offer the best ride of all the tires I have used in that price range. They are brutal to get off and pretty hard to put on, I use two dull metal screw drivers. They last me about 5,000 km of mixed use, I ride them down to the cord and I rarely get a flat. Get the bike shop where you buy them to put them on, if you puncture the tube putting them on, you will be leaving a very nasty review here. Otherwise buy your tires at a box store and get a box of patches.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave

Reviewed 11/27/2023
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Lynchburg VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire for a Hybrid

Relaced the original tires that were on my Trek Hybrid with the Conti's, found them on sale at Bike Tires Direct. Wow do they perform great. Air down for hard pack stone and dirt trails, air up for street riding. They handle great at 55-60 psi for trails and 80 to 85 psi for fast rolling on the street or paved trails.

Solid casing which I assume would be puncture proof. Directional tread so be mindful of the directional arrows. They are a bit of a challenge to install, you will need to upgrade your plastic tire spoon to long reach metal ones. I bought a three pack, two to hold the tire secure the third one (with lots of Dawn dish soap) slipped right into place.

Would I buy them again? YES I would. If they would fit my 2000 IF road bike I would by a pair for that bike as well.

All who read this I hope you find my comments helpful; I have been cycling for almost thirty years and I perform all my own maintenance and repairs and adjustments to my bikes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 12/7/2023
by Anonymous
San Diego
Overall Rating
Good tire, not great rolling resistance stence

This is a very well-made tire. Like many reviewers have noted, it is a little more difficult than most tires to mount. I didn�t have any real problems, but it was very tight and I was worried about pinching the tube. The tire has excellent traction. The only downside is that it�s a softer feeling rubber compound and has noticeably worse rolling resistance than the WTB tires, I was replacing. They have cut down my average speed by about 1 mph.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/9/2023
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Richmond, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great commuting tire

I have used these tires for 4 years/thousands of miles, I've only had to replace each tire once in that time. It's rare that I get a flat, the one time I did was just bad luck (rolled directly over an upturned screw). They are tough to replace yourself, but it's worth it. I have rolled over glass, cobblestones, gravel, bounced off curbs, dirt, the biggest potholes known to man, and still this tire endures. And I'm still pretty fast on 28 mm.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/27/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond Indianaadm1958
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fast,grippy,silent and tough tire.

I am recently retired and use the tires daily on an old steel frame TREK that usually has a loaded two wheel trailer attached.The tires are fast on pavement and silent.When I encounter gravel or veer off pavement they stay the coarse!I 10-15 miles daily rides for groceries,to the coffee and occasional touring camping trips. I have complete confidence in the tire. They beaded up nicely and are precisely made.I run them at 100 psi which is beyond the recommended pressure with no problem.When these wear out I will get a size or two wider,I was worried about rolling resistance because of the aggressive looking tread.After using them I can see this won't be a problem! These tires take on pot holes,pavement breaks,dirt,gravel and water eaisaly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Craig

Reviewed 8/4/2022
by Craig
Daily Commuter
Saint Petersburg Beach, Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
I'm the test monkey on this!!!!

Well I have 2 e-bikes one with 5500 miles, the other with 6000 miles. I use 622-47cont.-contact-plus tires, I've had one flat in 11500 miles, some how the nail went in the sidewall. I put a new tube on, then continued on my way (CO2). My opinion is you can't find a better tire than these ANYWHERE. At 5000 miles the rear tire will start balding, but the front will be like new, just swap them, and your good for another 5000. My opinion again is 13000 miles for a pair of these tires is feasible. Best dam tires I've ever had, 63YO-FloridaBoy WestCoast.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Patrick

Reviewed 6/30/2023
by Patrick
East Moline
Overall Rating
Great for touring!

I love these tires because they are super tough. The reflective band on each side helps me feel safer at night as well. We use them on our touring bikes and never have flats.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by eazyrdr

Reviewed 6/27/2022
by eazyrdr
Daily Commuter
portland, Or
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
lightweight alternative to some other e-bike tires

Wanted to drop some weight off my e-bike tires to improve mileage and battery life during the summer. Also need a sturdy tire with all the road hazards in the city. Still to early to tell but is holding up well (no flats or cuts) with slight improvement in lower effort and spin up. Lost about 1/3 the weight of previous tire going to a 37c from the previous 38c it replaced. to note, my e-bike is front shocks and pivot suspension seat post. Being a long time road bike rider the contact plus tires feel more performance oriented, more like being on a regular road bike which I like.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by tomv

Reviewed 6/10/2023
by tomv
boston
Overall Rating
Run it at 60psi

Great tire. Nice roll resistance ,smooth , and doesn�t need to be at max inflation. Didn�t think i would care but reflective strip is a nice touch. I ride a lot of rough roads and these really absorb the bumps.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by craig

Reviewed 10/4/2023
by craig
Cycling Enthusiast
traverse city, Mich
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
great tires at a great price. can ride with confidence

i I have been riding 35 years. I do 13 to 30 plus mile rides twice a week. Sand , gravel to roads.. old tires wearing out, some prematurely, friends recognize continental name an i went with continental tire. a quality product. gives me a confident ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/21/2022
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire for the urban commute.

Needed some tires to withstand the punishments of the urban landscape. Let's face it. Most metropolitan

streets leave much to be desired. The most glaring being lack of bicycle infrastructure. With streets in disrepair and lack of safe corridors for bicyclists, it's important to have tires that can hold up to the wear and tear. My commute is on an electric bicycle going 12 miles to and from work, 5 days a week. These tires currently have over 600 miles on them so far and will probably last well over 8000. I've had Continental Contact Plus tires (700 x 38C) previously. They took the hits from cracked asphalt, glass, road debris, etc. without puncturing or having the sidewall fail early. The current set is 700 x 32C. I get a little more speed from the narrower version but still have the inherent tire protection. Another good brand for urban commuting is the Vittoria Randonneur Classic. A real tough tire but real difficult to seat in the rim with conventional tire levers. I would recommend the Kool Stop Tire Jack. Makes installing tight fitting tires a breeze. Definitely consider the Continental Contact Plus for urban. Also holds up well on fire roads but doesn't have the best tread for traction.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Arcadian

Reviewed 11/15/2021
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, just don't carry wimpy tire tools

A tough tire, and excellent tread design for varied surfaces. I would love this tire except it is astonishingly hard to get on and off, even in my shop. I've run a lot of brands, have a good array of quality tire tools, and nothing comes close to the difficulty level of this tire. I dread the though of having to change this tire on the road, especially in cold weather. But otherwise, it's great. If you have lots of experience changing tires and really strong hands, go for it!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pcola_Matt

Reviewed 8/25/2020
by Pcola_Matt
Cycling Enthusiast
Jackson, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Ride!

I researched these tires and decided to replace the stock tires on my Schwinn Kempo with these. Much better ride! Good control and haven't had any issues with punctures. Over 1500 miles on the tires. Liked the performance so much I changed out the stock tires on my Specialized Sirrus with this brand as well. Have over 1600 miles on these tires with no issues. My average speed increased by over 1MPH on each bike after installing theses tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rocket Dad

Reviewed 10/26/2019
by Rocket Dad
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
First set-initial impressions

Got a pair of these in 37-622 to replace some old 38-622 Bontragers on my wife's townie. Been around long enough to know Continentals tend to run a bit wider than marked, but these were several mm's bigger than the 38's they replaced. Had to adjust the fenders to get rid of some rubbing. The clearance at the chainstay bridge is tighter than I like, but there's enough space that I'm not compelled to swap these tires out for something smaller.

I've had good luck with Conti's and expect these to ride well and last. The improved puncture protection over the old tires will serve my wife's riding style well. Other than the larger than expected width and that they're a bit on the heavy side, these look like they'll get the job done.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Artoollious

Reviewed 8/19/2019
by Artoollious
Daily Commuter
Knoxville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Second set and loving them.

I purchased my first set of Continental Contact Plus tires a couple of months ago and they were amazing. I am a commuter and ran over something on my way out. I never saw what it was, but heard it hit my rear rack as it was thrown. It cut across the tread but only went deep enough to puncture the tube. I placed a tube patch on the inside of the tire and changed the tube. I was able to make it to work and home a few trips until the new tires arrived. I am a high milage rider. I hope they will last as well as they take punishment. They also handle well in rain. Just look out for wet metal.

P.S. The only reason I didn't give five stars is because there is always room for improvement.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Al

Reviewed 5/10/2019
by Al
Space Coast Central Florida
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Love this tire!

Great grip with low roll resistance. I switched to the Continental Contact from a comparable Michelin touring tire. I put over 5000 on the Michelin tires and anticipate higher mileage on the Continental tires. The advantage of the Continental is that it has less roll resistance, making it a much faster tire for my rides. My rides are a mixture of paved road surfaces, golf course kart trails and wide community sidewalks. Excellent commute tire that would be equally suitable to gravel and hardpan dirt trails.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike from PDX

Reviewed 3/22/2019
by Mike from PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire for urban and trail riding 29er

My Trek X-Caliber 29er never had the same agility (tight turning radius, low center of gravity) as my old school 26 Trek 950 so I found that instead of tight single track, it ended up mostly being ridden on hard packed trails and gravel (Powell Butte, Forest Park) and on urban rides when I wanted something tougher than my carbon road bike. The stock knobby tires worked fine on the trails, but they were slow and wore quickly on pavement.

Enter the Continental Contact Plus This tire is plenty beefy (targeted at heavier eBikes) and has just enough tread to work fine on trails and gravel yet it is slick enough to roll nicely when cycling through parks and neighborhoods on the way to the trails. At 500 miles, I'm sold.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob G

Reviewed 9/2/2021
by Bob G
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Competent city tire

Bought these to replace 10 year old tires that came with a Scott hybrid. They feel very secure and inspire confidence even in the rain in my dally commute of 3 miles each way. My bike has a basket in the rear which sometimes carries up to 10 pounds. They feel like they should hold up well for many miles.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Richard

Reviewed 8/20/2021
by Richard
Atlanta, GA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect

Great tire for th urban commuter. It lives up to the Continental name.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tom

Reviewed 6/11/2021
by Tom
Northern Michigan
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Tire has exceptional traction and rides smoother than my old 23 width tire. This helps when getting older. Also love the reflective sidewall. Very well built tire. I would highly recommend and would buy again.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 17

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]