Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
In Stock & Ready To Ship — XT/Ultegra RT-MT800 Disc Rotors
Continental Contact Plus 700c Tire

ContinentalContact Plus 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(8)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(66%)
(25%)
(6%)
(0%)
(3%)
Reviewed 5/6/2022
by A Prandelli
Cycling Enthusiast
Forked River, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Continental Contact Plus 700c Tire

Fantastic,...perfect choice for Randonneurs

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/21/2022
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Good tire for the urban commute.

Needed some tires to withstand the punishments of the urban landscape. Let's face it. Most metropolitan

streets leave much to be desired. The most glaring being lack of bicycle infrastructure. With streets in disrepair and lack of safe corridors for bicyclists, it's important to have tires that can hold up to the wear and tear. My commute is on an electric bicycle going 12 miles to and from work, 5 days a week. These tires currently have over 600 miles on them so far and will probably last well over 8000. I've had Continental Contact Plus tires (700 x 38C) previously. They took the hits from cracked asphalt, glass, road debris, etc. without puncturing or having the sidewall fail early. The current set is 700 x 32C. I get a little more speed from the narrower version but still have the inherent tire protection. Another good brand for urban commuting is the Vittoria Randonneur Classic. A real tough tire but real difficult to seat in the rim with conventional tire levers. I would recommend the Kool Stop Tire Jack. Makes installing tight fitting tires a breeze. Definitely consider the Continental Contact Plus for urban. Also holds up well on fire roads but doesn't have the best tread for traction.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2021
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire, just don't carry wimpy tire tools

A tough tire, and excellent tread design for varied surfaces. I would love this tire except it is astonishingly hard to get on and off, even in my shop. I've run a lot of brands, have a good array of quality tire tools, and nothing comes close to the difficulty level of this tire. I dread the though of having to change this tire on the road, especially in cold weather. But otherwise, it's great. If you have lots of experience changing tires and really strong hands, go for it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2020
by Pcola_Matt
Cycling Enthusiast
Jackson, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Ride!

I researched these tires and decided to replace the stock tires on my Schwinn Kempo with these. Much better ride! Good control and haven't had any issues with punctures. Over 1500 miles on the tires. Liked the performance so much I changed out the stock tires on my Specialized Sirrus with this brand as well. Have over 1600 miles on these tires with no issues. My average speed increased by over 1MPH on each bike after installing theses tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/2/2021
by Bob G
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Competent city tire

Bought these to replace 10 year old tires that came with a Scott hybrid. They feel very secure and inspire confidence even in the rain in my dally commute of 3 miles each way. My bike has a basket in the rear which sometimes carries up to 10 pounds. They feel like they should hold up well for many miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2021
by Richard
Atlanta, GA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Perfect

Great tire for th urban commuter. It lives up to the Continental name.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2021
by Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Everything a should be

It rolls easy and feels very stable. I especially appreciate the additional puncture protection.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/11/2021
by Tom
Northern Michigan
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire

Tire has exceptional traction and rides smoother than my old 23 width tire. This helps when getting older. Also love the reflective sidewall. Very well built tire. I would highly recommend and would buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/26/2019
by Rocket Dad
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
First set-initial impressions

Got a pair of these in 37-622 to replace some old 38-622 Bontragers on my wife's townie. Been around long enough to know Continentals tend to run a bit wider than marked, but these were several mm's bigger than the 38's they replaced. Had to adjust the fenders to get rid of some rubbing. The clearance at the chainstay bridge is tighter than I like, but there's enough space that I'm not compelled to swap these tires out for something smaller.

I've had good luck with Conti's and expect these to ride well and last. The improved puncture protection over the old tires will serve my wife's riding style well. Other than the larger than expected width and that they're a bit on the heavy side, these look like they'll get the job done.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2019
by Artoollious
Daily Commuter
Knoxville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Second set and loving them.

I purchased my first set of Continental Contact Plus tires a couple of months ago and they were amazing. I am a commuter and ran over something on my way out. I never saw what it was, but heard it hit my rear rack as it was thrown. It cut across the tread but only went deep enough to puncture the tube. I placed a tube patch on the inside of the tire and changed the tube. I was able to make it to work and home a few trips until the new tires arrived. I am a high milage rider. I hope they will last as well as they take punishment. They also handle well in rain. Just look out for wet metal.

P.S. The only reason I didn't give five stars is because there is always room for improvement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/27/2021
by terry
Cycling Enthusiast
santa cruz ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Robust tire, though stiff sidewalls and heavy

Need to run really low pressure to achieve softer ride. Using 47mm size on front and running 30 psi achieves both great flat resistance and smooth ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2019
by Al
Space Coast Central Florida
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love this tire!

Great grip with low roll resistance. I switched to the Continental Contact from a comparable Michelin touring tire. I put over 5000 on the Michelin tires and anticipate higher mileage on the Continental tires. The advantage of the Continental is that it has less roll resistance, making it a much faster tire for my rides. My rides are a mixture of paved road surfaces, golf course kart trails and wide community sidewalks. Excellent commute tire that would be equally suitable to gravel and hardpan dirt trails.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2019
by Mike from PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire for urban and trail riding 29er

My Trek X-Caliber 29er never had the same agility (tight turning radius, low center of gravity) as my old school 26 Trek 950 so I found that instead of tight single track, it ended up mostly being ridden on hard packed trails and gravel (Powell Butte, Forest Park) and on urban rides when I wanted something tougher than my carbon road bike. The stock knobby tires worked fine on the trails, but they were slow and wore quickly on pavement.

Enter the Continental Contact Plus This tire is plenty beefy (targeted at heavier eBikes) and has just enough tread to work fine on trails and gravel yet it is slick enough to roll nicely when cycling through parks and neighborhoods on the way to the trails. At 500 miles, I'm sold.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2020
by Tony
Belmont, NC
Overall Rating
Excellent tire!

This is a great tire! Continental is quality. Great grip, sticks in corners, rolls fast and looks great. Also I feel confident cornering in the rain too on these rubbers. Can't go wrong on Continentals my friend :) oh yah, the price is right too! Especially considering the mileage & peace of mind you can get out these tires with their puncture protection and top quality construction. Will buy again. Go ride!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/6/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Miller Beach, IN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
So far so good!

Greatly improved the ride on the bike. Smooth and plenty of grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by Anonymous
Tempe Arizona
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tires

Best dang 28's in the biz, rugged with comfort

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Rochester, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth Riding Tire

A few years ago my wife got a Trek Hybrid bike with 700 x 28 road tires and she does not like riding on the road so we find ourselves riding in the neighborhoods around us and smooth trails so she needed a more all-around tire (700 x 37) which this has turned out to be perfect for.

As soon as she got on the bike she said it rolled better and felt smoother than original tires and feels more confident seeing the slightly wider tire under her when on smooth trails like we have along the canal.

Not easy to get on the rim but it fits the frame with no rubbing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Better than stock tires

Got a great deal on these tires from BTD. Theres not much else to say other than the tires feel like they will stand up to unnerving city streets.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2021
by JGB
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington Heights, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire

Like the tread. Gives a very good ride on a variety of terrain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/26/2019
by Anonymous
Boise
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Meets the need

I will sum up my review with the adjective "Meh."

This tire doesn't inspire me but, like a Toyota Corolla, it does get me there and back. Be ready to put more effort into getting these things up to speed but once there ya good! Puncture problems seem like a thing of the past. Keep em hard though, you're already getting a better workout at 55psi than others.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 82

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]