Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Continental Contact Cruiser 700c/29 Inch Tire

ContinentalContact Cruiser 700c/29 Inch Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(88%)
(12%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 10/30/2020
by SCW
Cycling Enthusiast
N W Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
2500 miles still going strong

I have these mounted on my Trek Marlin 6. I ride mostly pavement and bike trails....crushed limestone. These tires are amazing. No flats in 2500 miles and plenty of tread left, I do rotate the tires every 500 miles or so. I weigh 220 lbs. Comfortable, quiet ride and secure on any surface including gravel. Will definitely buy again if these ever wear out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2021
by Gizmo
SE Mn
Overall Rating
Contact Crusiser 55-662 29er

Seems to be a great tire. Am gettin' bike ready for spring. No ridden now 6 inches of snow & ice. All of my ridden is on roads, streets & trails. Put these on a 29er hard tail.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/3/2020
by Mike
Twin Falls
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Nice

I've been using knobby tires on my trek fuel for almost 7 years now with constant flat after flat. Most of my riding is now urban and went with these a couple of months ago. They've been awesome. Quiet and smooth. My bike practically rides itself now and so far no more flats. BTD is a fantastic company to deal with as well. Thank you BTD!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/7/2020
by TomRV14A
Casual Cyclist
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Appropriately named Cruiser

Now that I ride more paved, smooth and packed gravel trails I put these on my 29er. What a transformation for the type of riding I now do. These tires are quiet, smooth, absorb little surface imperfections and are very smooth. The one time I got into about an inch or two deep mud slide area they left me stuck with muddy shoes, LOL, I guess I thought I was on my old tires. I haven�t tried them in the wet but have high expectations.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/4/2020
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Western, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Smooth Riding Tire

A couple of years ago I got a Cannondale 29'er as an alternative to riding my road bike all the time. Came equipped with knobby tires and I found myself riding in neighborhoods around me and on smooth trails so was looking for a tire like this to be my new all-around tire.

Really happy with these tires after a few rides, they are quiet and smooth riding and have roll better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
ottawa,CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very good Tires.

I love these tires they fast on wet or dry roads and corners like a boss and i also run them tubeless with no problem so for running them..

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Glad you like! But for others this is NOT a tubeless tire. We do not recomend and results may vary.
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/28/2020
by llandaff_west
Daily Commuter
Chandler, Arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Product Review Continental Contact Cruiser 700c29 Inch Tire

I wanted a low profile, low rolling resistance tire for my 29er mountain bike that i ride primarily on the street, unpaved roads.

this tire is perfect, handling is excellent

fit is correct for 29er bike tires

for same effort i am now cycling 1-2 mph faster

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/19/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great road tire for Emtb

Have an e-mtb been using mainly on road for cruising and occasional touring. Great tires, very stable and quite a secure feeling on steep downhills. Highly recommend this tire for this use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2020
by shawes
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Perfect tire for streets or smooth trails!

BTD always comes through on my cycling needs!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fast on wet and dry.

Very good tire for commuting on wet and dry road and I can run them tubeless .

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2017
by Jon
Casual Cyclist
Tyler,TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Good cruising tire for streets and hard dirt.

Good for the road and dirt trails.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/21/2017
by Gogos
Kansas
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire - fast abd durable.

I got these tires for bike across Kansas. Did 532 miles with no flats and barely wore the nubs off. Corners well and smooth ride. Fast tire for road riding my mountain bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/23/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best all-round tires

Superb tires for my Salsa Fargo, which I use as an all-surfaces, town-and-country ride. The Contact Cruisers roll fast, they're quiet, and with lots of air (700c x 50 mm), I get a comfortable ride on dirt, limestone, grass trails, gravel, and rough pavement. Overall, impressed by Contact Cruisers for everything I ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/11/2019
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Naperville IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Impressive ride and handling

Love the Contact Cruisers. Installed them on an older Fargo I ride around town (pavement, dirt, limestone). Quiet. Rolls beautifully. As has been my experience with other Continental tires, well made, easy to install.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/7/2015
by teslatech86
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
27 of 27 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent Tires!

I have a Specialized Rockhopper 29er hardtail and obviously it came stock with heavy tread tires which I only use for trails. I purchased these conti's for my daily work commute, and they have proved to be such an excellent choice. They provide great roll, grip, and comfort thus increasing the efficiency of your effort. I have hit so many potholes and down several staircases and these bad boys held up nicely. Wet or dry these provide great grip and control, but have not tested them through the urban snow yet. Im 6'7 around 230 lbs so I keep them between 45 psi and 50 psi (55 max). I ride a lot through Chicago so there are plenty of messed up road conditions including potholes, patches, construction sites, you name it - these tires can handle it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2015
by srbcyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent urbancommuter tire!

I have a specialized rockhopper and came equipped with trail-rated tires, so when im not on the trail and riding around the city i use these and they are such awesome tires! great roll, control, and comfort. continental is definitely a great brand, and given the price of these tires - they are a great value. I highly recommend these if you have a mountain bike that would require road tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/22/2015
by Southern California Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Tehachapi, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.
Great tire.

I have a mountain bike that came with knobby tires. When winter came and I moved it indoors to the fluid trainer, it was very noisy, and the trainer was chewing off the knobs leaving a pile of rubber on the floor. I found this tire looking for a smooth trainer tire. It is wonderful on the trainer - very quiet, and no pile of rubber. Since I do most of my riding on either pavement or hard packed dirt roads or trails, the knobby tires really don't give me any extra traction, so I ordered a second tire for the front wheel. Now that spring is here, I've had them out on the road. They are quiet, comfortable, and good traction (more tire in contact with the road than the knobby had) - they are now my permanent tire on that bike. I don't race, and I don't jump or do other things that some of you do so I can't help you with that, but I will buy another set of these tires when they wear out. Btw, the whitewall is reflective which is nice for after dark. And the tires are directional, although the direction of rotation arrow is hard to see. Look for it and make sure you get them on your rims the right way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/26/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, mn
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Great Spring and early season - 29er commuter tire

Added these to I and my wife's 29er for early season road and trail commuting and biking. These roll great and provide a good level of protection for the junk on the surfaces in the early season. I can now cruise with the 29er about 4 to 5 MPH faster than using the knobby tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2015
by Keith
Corvallis, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
My gravel tire

I recently got a second set of wheels for my Mukluk fat bike to convert it to a rigid 29er with the intent of using them for gravel grinders. There are lots of opinions on which tires to use. I looked at cyclocross tires, but thought I'd try out something from the commuter category instead for puncture resistance. These roll real nicely on the pavement and have a lot of cushion for gravel segments. I've even done a little bit of single-track and they are OK as long as it's not muddy. I'm still playing with air pressure. The last ride was done at 35psi and I can probably go lower still.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/10/2015
by tnoutdoors
Cycling Enthusiast
middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
15 of 18 customers found this review helpful.
Required alternative

When I realized I had an expensive 29er that wasn't going to be used for mtn biking I needed to save my investment. These tires will enable me to ride rail to trail bike ways. This might look quirky to some, but a $2k bike won't be sitting on my wall as a decorative piece now.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 30

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]