FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Clement Crusade PDX Cyclocross Tire

ClementCrusade PDX Cyclocross Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(34 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(31)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(91%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
Mud, grass, sand, bark chips worthy

Tested this tire at a worthy course two times in the last week. Conditions wet, muddy, greasy, grassy, bark dust, gravel. Provided traction for turning, descending and ascending.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/10/2018
by Steve
Overall Rating
Best cyclocross tire around

Ive used this model for years and it never lets me down.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/25/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great front tire

I had set these up front and back to try and get as much traction during the dry PNW summer. Not a great idea. On the rear, this wears super quickly if youre riding any tarmac between off-road sections. Also, it didnt hook up on ourloose-over-hard rock and gravel. Instead, I switched to an MDX on the rear (run in reverse to scoop and bite), and this worked great. Just rode yesterday on a wet, rooty and rocky XC trail, and this stuck like glue.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Just after one race and I'm impressed

First race this last weekend running the tubeless versions of the PDX and I'm very impressed. Conditions were terrible, temps in the low 30's and long stretches of deep mucky mud, including uphill and down. Snow and ice as well, loose wet gravel, slick grass, which meant perfect 'cross racing conditions! I could really feel the difference of these tires over my previous 32mm Grifo Challenge tubed tires that came with my bike. Very grippy everywhere in the mud, grass, wet, ice, snow.

I ran them 25 psi front, 27 psi rear, and I'm 193 lbs and I had no problems at all, didn't feel like I was rolling on the rim, even through some rocky sections, I'd go in thinking I'd have to pick a perfect line, then remembered I'm running tubeless so no worries of pinch flats!

Overall I can tell these are going to be one great set of tires for racing in classic PNW 'cross conditions.

I'd highly recommend them if your into mud.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/19/2017
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Pretty much the standard clincher for racing in PNW mud

Any muddy cyclocross race in the Pacific Northwest will have plenty of people running these clinchers, and for good reason. They drive through mud without getting caked up, they stick to the ground in corners, and they even roll efficiently over asphalt and dry ground.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/8/2015
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Reno, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Outstanding all around CX tire

CX racing and training. Great tire. No dislikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/6/2015
by Anonymous
Reno, NV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent all around CX tire.

Great CX tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2014
by bwheel
Competitive Racer
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
They live up to the hype.

Here in the Pacific Northwest you're likely to see more PDX's on the start line of a 'cross race than any other tire. I'd heard nothing but good things said about them so I decided to give them a go for the 2014-2015 season. I've been running them in a variety of conditions at 40ish psi. with latex tubes and have found the traction and ride quality to be better than any other tire I've ridden. I'd definitely buy again. Also, as an added bonus, they mount up super easy - I haven't even needed to use tire levers.

The only thing to be aware of is that the rubber compound feels really soft. I'm sure this is probably why the traction is so good and the ride is so supple, but if you spend a lot of time on asphalt I'd go with another tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2014
by blairski
Competitive Racer
sacramento
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
they mount wider than advertized

These came in at 35.4 for the 33mm size. Sadly they wouldn't fit in my frame on the rear. I plan to use on the front (or get a frame with greater clearance) soon. For the weenies out there, my scale shows these tires at 280 grams.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/8/2013
by WAMTB
Competitive Racer
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good tire

I put these on prior to a muddy cross race with a lot of grass that was churned into mud. Had great traction all day, and could ride sections others could not. The best cross tire I've tried to date.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/14/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very nice tires for cyclocross. I see lots of guys with these same ones.

These are the first knobby tires I've owned for a 700c bike. I love them! They've been through about 30 miles of rough gravel and 5 cyclocross races and they still seem to have a bunch of tread left. The pricing at biketiresdirect is great. You won't find them cheaper elsewhere. I wasn't surprised to see the majority of guys at cyclocross races rocking these exact tires. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent feel and handling.

These tires mounted up really nicely. They feel like a larger volume than a 700x33 and really grip in all conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/23/2013
by Webchem
Competitive Racer
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around CX tire

Supple, reasonably light, and with excellent traction. These are a great all-around choice for CX racing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/20/2013
by Anonymous
Sault Ste Marie
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic tire

Great tire love the tread pattern and durability

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2013
by Webchem
Atlanta, GA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Light, supple, great traction

Even though it is described as a mud tire, this one has become my favorite all-around cross choice. Traction is great on grass, and they roll well on every surface I've taken them over. I've run them at 25-40 psi and had no flats to date.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/11/2013
by Anonymous
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent racing tire

Soft, grippy and fast under all conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/31/2013
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Northeast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent grip in mud and all-round, very supple casing & round shape. Beautiful tire.

Excellent all around tire which excels in the mud. Very supple rubber that yields round tire profile. Beautiful.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/22/2012
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Louisville, KY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great mud tires

These work great as CX mud tires. They're wonderfully grippy in sloppy conditions. Confidence inspiring. The sale price at BikeTiresDirect was also outstanding.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2012
by colobrio
Competitive Racer
Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great all around clincher

I ran these tires front and back last season, and they did great in almost any condition. This included loose hardpack (very good), grass (great), soupy mud (great), hardpack snow (very good), peanut butter mud (okay, but I'm not sure what would have been better), and powder snow (same). As mentioned below, the rubber is soft, so don't use them for training. Racing only, it's looking like one season rear and two seasons front.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2010
by CrazedCrusader
Competitive Racer
Hood River Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
22 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent traction, all purpose cross-racing tire

I have been running a 70034 front and 70033 rear for the Cross Crusade race series. They do their namesake proud! I am using tubless-specific rims and running the tires tubeless with moderate pressures - between 32 and 40 psi depending on course conditions. I have had good to great performance in all the races I've used them in with the exception of one very slick day when I ran 40 psi in both tires. Too much bouncing and only fair traction. With just a little lower pressure, the tires perform exceptionally. I was previously racing on Challenge Griffo's with latex tubes and the tubeless setup wtih the Clements is definately an improvement, especially in really muddy conditions. The tires seem to clear mud very well. The tread pattern has good, predictible traction and seems to be relatively soft, aiding traction on the variety of surfaces typically encountered in racing (grass, mud, dusty dirt, asphalt, etc). Because of the softer compound, my guess is that these will be a single race-season tire if I use them for a significant amount of training rides as well as races. Lastly, I would credit my Stan's rims with the great tubeless performance I've had. Other rim designs might not work as well for running these tires tubeless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.