Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Challenge Strada PRO TLR Tire

ChallengeStrada PRO TLR Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(5)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(31%)
(38%)
(15%)
(15%)
(0%)
Reviewed 2/15/2022
by zjaldrich77
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Regret this purchase - could not mount

I dig that these are pretty, and Euro, but I should have heeded the other reviews, it would appear. I too couldn't come close to getting even one bead of this tire onto my wheels. 10" of tire-to-go was as close as I could get, using every trick and bit of force I know of. Including using a tire jack. It seems like they're 15% too small for a standard 700C

I rode another pair of Challenge 32's throughout last season - no complaints, though they were difficult to mount initially.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2021
by Tom O
Competitive Racer
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Was not possible to mount on my rims

Though I had read some of the reviews on the difficulty to mount these tires, given that in the past I worked professionally as both a Motocross Team Mechanic and later as a bicycle mechanic, I dismissed this info as I've had a lot of experience with tires that are reluctant to mount. However, I'm the fool here as I found these tires to be totally unworkable with my desired rims. The Hunt rims in question have never posed a problem with other tires (Conti/Schwalbe/Vittoria) and all but the Vittoria's mounted by hand. My rims are hookless Alloy and 35mm depth. After an hour and exhausting all the tricks I know, the last 6 inches were impossible to clear the rim even with two levers. Note that these come flat without any curvature which adds a bit to the problem. Giving up, it took me another 45 minutes to get the tire off the rim. They are that tight. So be warned. It may be that your rims will not pose such a problem and I can only speak for the rims I tried. I've had Challenge tubulars before and they are excellent riding but I had no chance to try these. I think that Bike Tires Direct should note this in their "Mechanics Corner" tab.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/22/2022
by Barton
Wisconsin
Overall Rating
Great summer grip!

Excellent grip on dry pavement...horrible on wet roads..

Yeah they are a bear to mount but once they are on what a nice smooth ride

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2022
by Barrie M
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Wonderful Tire in Tubeless Setup

I log big miles on these tires, 25mm wide, with tubeless setup on Bontrager Aeolus Elite 35 carbon rims. I have the shop mount the tires so I don't know if the tire is easy to mount or not. I am 6-2 and 200 lbs and I ride 25-30 psi lower pressures than with tubes with no loss in rolling resistance/quickness. Lovely supple ride. I've had one puncture in approx 800 miles and the sealant plugged it almost instantaneously. I love these tires.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/9/2021
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Lake Tahoe, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.
Road feel unmatched

Seriously awesome tires.

After 3000 mi I can confidently say these are among the best tires I have used. I have tried just about every brand out there and the road feel of these is beyond anything else. I am running the 27mm version tubeless. They are difficult to mount and required 2 levers but such is the case with many tubeless tires. Mounting was about on par with conti.

I also raced these tires on quite long rough gravel sections and abyssmal pavement at an unforgiving pace and they held up flawlessly. I have many long technical descents where I live and they have loads of cornering stability and grip and performed well in the wet, although I'll admit this is an area I am not fond of testing where the limits are.

Overall I can confidently say they are worth a shot if you are on the fence about these. I bought 3 pairs as backup and don't plan on switching any time soon. Plus the tan walls look badass on my bike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/10/2022
by Star
Competitive Racer
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Old school feel, new school tech.

They are somewhat smaller in diameter than other 25mm tires but they ride like old school tubulars. They are very subtle and fast on good pavement. They are extremely difficult to mount, but it's possible with the new tech tire irons that recently came out. Leaving them out in the sun to get hot also helps a good deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/5/2022
by Star
Competitive Racer
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Old school feel, new school tech.

They are somewhat smaller in diameter than other 25mm tires but they ride like old school tubulars. They are very subtle and fast on good pavement. They are extremely difficult to mount, but it's possible with the new tech tire irons that recently came out. Leaving them out in the sun to get hot also helps a good deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2022
by Star
Competitive Racer
Georgia
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Old school feel, new school tech.

They are somewhat smaller in diameter than other 25mm tires but they ride like old school tubulars. They are very subtle and fast on good pavement. They are extremely difficult to mount, but it�s possible with the new tech tire irons that recently came out. Leaving them out in the sun to get hot also helps a good deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/14/2022
by ShaunB
palos verdes
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Summer grip, wet road slip

These (30c) fit my zipp 303s great. Supple ride, dry road grippy, and pretty durable. Thought I found my all around favorite tires. Went down this morning cornering on a wet road. Jammed shoulder and missing some skin. Scary! Now looking for tires with better wet road grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/30/2022
by JZ
Competitive Racer
Ypsilanti, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great road tire

though to get on the rim but great tires. no problems so far.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2021
by Dennie
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Exactly as advertised

Very dependable tire, not the fastest on the road but fantastic grip, excellent durability thus far, and very very stylish. Mounting was an absolute hassle, but no issue once they were on. I do re-inflate them before every ride, they drop from 60psi to 50psi over 24 hours. They handle rough roads really well in the 30mm option.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2021
by Pualu
Cycling Enthusiast
Maui, HI
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love these!

I've been using 30mm Schwalbe Pro v-1 TLE for two years before trying these for three months. These (also 30mm) tires are better in most ways; faster, more supple, & it already seems clear they will prove to be more durable. They were significantly more difficult to pry onto the rim & they do loose a little air between rides every other day but at least they don't bleed sealant from the sidewalks like the Pro V's. These look fantastic in the tan side walls, really like this tire!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/14/2021
by Chris Ralston
Santa Barbara
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic tire, but with a fatal flaw

Because of the shape of the carcass, this tire is extremely hard to mount. I was able to mount the rear tire, but not the front. I couldn’t even get the first bead over the rim.

If only I could get that front tire on, because these are the best tubeless tires I’ve ridden. So supple, so fast, exceptional grip. And very good looking.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 74

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]