Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Challenge Strada Bianca PRO TLR Tire

ChallengeStrada Bianca PRO TLR Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(20 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(6)
(1)
(1)
(4)
(40%)
(30%)
(5%)
(5%)
(20%)
Reviewed 11/28/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Awesome tire no mounting hassle

I love the tire, but have yet to test the durability. Mounted pretty easily on my Zipp 303s with my high volume pump.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2022
by Dylan
Daily Commuter
Tacoma, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Amazing Tire...well worth the mounting hassle!

These tires are simply a joy to ride. They are fast, supple, and confidence inspiring. Yes they are the hardest tires I have ever mounted to my carbon rims, but oh so worth it! After a few rides, I duplicated a 15 mile course over rough and smooth asphalt and 1200 feet of elevation. On the route I was 1.1mph faster with a normalized power 32 watts lower than I had been a week earlier on my old tires. As a heavier rider I ride the rear at 50psi and the front at 48 and they feel wonderful.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2022
by Zak Bugaj
Denver, CO
Overall Rating
2 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
These are impossible to mount

I struggled for a few hours trying to mount these. After wondering if it was because they were the first tubeless tires I was mounting in road wheels I took it to a bike shop and they struggled just as I did. They finally got it but punctured the rim tape in a few places and never held air. So then I had to take them off, which was less difficult, but I refuse to use these even though they are the exact look and tread I'm looking for. Giving away a free set of these unused tires if anybody wants them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/15/2022
by carbonryda
Cycling Enthusiast
Fallon NEVADA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Mounting was rough

I mounted the tires on a pair of BLACK INC Thirty carbon wheels. It took me a few hours and I had some high tech tire levers and various mounting tools. Mounting these tires onto the rims was a complete struggle fest. Toughest tires I ever mounted and I almost thought they were too small with a defect...NOPE. They are just tough to mount period.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/1/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic all road tire

They're a little hard to mount, but on I9 rims it wasn't too bad. They roll extremely fast, and have fantastic grip on packed dirt and pavement. Perhaps they've changed some construction, because they took sealant well and sealed immediately.

I came from Rene Herse Bon Jon Pass 38s to these in 40mm, and they are tops in everything but suppleness.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2020
by Anonymous
Chicago
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Pretty great

Supple, fast, and grippy, and that tan sidewall looks amazing. Overall very happy with this tire, both on pavement and on gravel. I have the 28s on some dtswiss arc1400s and they've done great on "maintained" gravel, haven't tried anything too gnarly though. Only complaint is that it bleeds air quicker than most other tubeless tires I've used. Never a problem on a long ride, but goes completely flat within a week. It's more annoying than anything - I always top up my tires before a ride anyways, these just require a few more pumps.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/22/2020
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 23 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely the worst tire mounting experience.

How do I use this product? Well, let me take a moment to describe my use experience...Two tire clamps extending over my workbench being held in place by my stomach while I strained with a koolstop tire lever, two punctured tubes,...I must say, it was fascinating to see a tire lever fly 20 feet across the workshop...twice.....Anyone with these tires on their bike better pray they never have to change an inner tube roadside with these tires....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/24/2020
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 22 customers found this review helpful.
Absolutely the worst tire mounting experience.

How do I use his product? Well, let me take a moment to describe my use experience...Two tire clamps extending over my workbench being held in place by my stomach while I strained with a koolstop tire lever, two punctured tubes,...I must say, it was fascinating to see a tire lever fly 20 feet across the workshop...twice.....Anyone with these tires on their bike better pray they never have to change an inner tube roadside with these tires....

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Absolute rubbish

Just replaced a pair of GP5000tl with these. They were awful. The hardest tire I've had to mount. Don't hold air. Spin slow. Don't know if I'm more irritated that I bought them, or that I wasted 4oz of sealant on/in them. Cut them off after first ride with them (34 miles). Absolute rubbish. Back to the tried and true GP5000.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2021
by JeffL
Competitive Racer
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good for mixed terrain rides

Purchased these tires for a 200 mile mixed terrain cycling event. These tires rolled very fast on tarmac and did OK in the gravel, although once the grade got over 12% on gravel they did start to lose traction a bit. Since the race was 80% tarmac I didn't want something too aggressive. These have also become my go to winter tire, which I run at slightly lower pressure when it's raining and they work out well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/20/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Front Range
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Fantastic single quiver road and gravel tire. Surprisingly durable even on rougher, rocky trails in the Colorado front range. Don't even bother to swoop out for road wheels/tires for long asphalt rid

Ride on pavement, gravel and lite single track. Really just a great multi surface tire with incredible ride quality, traction and control.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/11/2020
by KP
Competitive Racer
Maine
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
supple and handles well but can be hard to set up!

really fast, really smooth. But setting up onto my particular rims was HARD.

Like breaking tire levers hard.

Once on, they lasted well and ride really nice.

NOTE : being handmade, mine were NOT perfectly round. Only noticed 1x when I was on rollers

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/21/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love em!

Nice a grippy, supple, and work well as tubeless. Also, the tan sidewall looks slick. I'd buy again!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/12/2020
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
heavier than claimed weight

List weight was 355grams. I ordered two and the both weighed in at over 420grams which is not a competitive weight for this class of tire at this price. The gravelking tire in 38mm is lighter and cheaper.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2019
by FlashBazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent tire for pavement and well maintained dirt roads.

These are excellent tires for paved and manicured dirt roads. They roll smooth and, for their size, reasonably fast. They mount easily on UST wheels and seep air at a rate of 5 or 10 psi per day with sealant. One caution Although they mount up true to size, over the span of a couple weeks, the width will grow about 10%. My 36mm tires are now a little over 40mm wide. Fortunately, Ive got room for them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/21/2019
by FlashBazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent for paved, rough, gravel, and dirt roads. Fast and versatile.

I have over 800 miles on a set of these (tubeless), including a century that included good pavement, ultra-rough pavement, and civilized gravel. These tires are fast, ride smooth, and stand up to abuse. I weigh 180 pounds and I keep the tires inflated to about 50 psi tubeless. I regularly ride with roadies and I don't find these tires slow me down enough to matter. At the same time, on sketchy surfaces, these tires provide excellent traction and handling. Very confidence inspiring. In fact, I've never had these threaten to slide out - even in monsoon rain conditions. I will be a repeat customer. You may ask, What do you NOT like about these tires? Well . . . even though they mount up easily, they seep air over time. They've never seeped any sealant, but they lose about 7 to 10 psi in 24 hours. So, I almost always air them up before a ride. Also, the jury is still out on durability. At 800 miles, the tread texture has worn away from the center of the rear tire. The texture on the front is still fully intact. Probably not a big deal, but I doubt the rear will last a full 7200-mile season. We will see.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/31/2019
by FlashBazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent for paved, rough, gravel, and dirt roads - but . . .

I like the Strada Bianca. It's the tire I use on my gravel bike when I plan to be on paved roads, but want to be ready for anything. It's the definition of the allroad tire. Not really for unmaintained roads or MTB trails. It's for civilized dirt, gravel, and pavement. Smooth ride even on rough chipseal. And it doesn't surrender much speed on smooth pavement. Excellent all-around tire. BUT . . . why not 5 stars? I have these tires set up on a set of Mavic Allroad Pro UST disc wheels. They set up easily enough but, no matter what I do or how many times I slosh the sealant into every nook and cranny, they seep air. Not enough seepage to be a problem on all-day rides, but I definitely have to air them up before every ride. They lose about 20 pounds of air pressure over 24 hours. (This is using Orange Seal sealant.) Otherwise, these tires are just about perfect for a huge variety of surfaces.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/13/2019
by FlashBazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
For paved and maintained dirt roads, this is the tire!

For paved, broken pavement, chipseal, and maintained dirt roads - all road riding - it is hard to beat the Strada Bianca tubeless. It provides excellent traction, gives a comfy ride, and rolls fast. With these tires mounted, I can easily keep up with roadie group rides moving at an endurance and even a tempo pace. Is it as fast as my road racing bike mounting 25mm slicks? No. But it's incredibly close. Unless I'm out to get a road Strava segment or to mix it up with the hammerheads, this is the tire I use . . . yes, even on roadie group rides. When the pavement gets a little rough, my fellow riders may complain, but I don't notice the difference. These tires soak up the rumble on rough surfaces. (For reference, I weigh about 178 and I inflate the tires to about 50-55 psi. I feel as if I could get away with up to 10 psi less than that.)

What they are not These tires are not suitable for open range gravel racing. No knobbies. Not very wide. Strada Biancas are at their best on firm surfaces. For gravel racing, Challenge's Gravel Grinder is a vastly better choice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/21/2022
by Mushr
Competitive Racer
Los Angeles, CA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Hard to install but worth it!

I am currently using this set of tires for road riding with my new Fezzari Shafer gravel bike. I have them mounted on a set of Campy Shamal C21's and they are a set of 38s. I have over 1200 miles on them so far in the past 7 weeks or so. They are set up as tubeless. They absolutely rock! No issues with flats and no signs of wear that are noticeable. I have ridden on asphalt, cement with excellent grip and have total confidence on any high-speed sections whether a downhill area or simply high speed (>24 mph for me) on the flats. What is so impressive is the acceleration quality! Just can't say enough. Whether from a stop start or accelerating while on the go the tires not holding back. With these wider tires I am finding excellent shock absorption as I typically ride at the recommended high pressure of 60 psi. I have tried pressures going down to 30 psi at 5 psi intervals and find 60 psi to be most responsive. I have not gone onto gravel as of yet which I will be doing in the very near future. With a full race kit set up of bike bags and content I have full confidence in the traction and control both dry and wet so far. And did I mention the amazing acceleration?! When you mount these, I highly recommend a little soapy water along the bead, and they pop into place nicely. I used a typical flat tire CO2 cartridge and also a hand pump to set the bead without any trouble. Extremely pleased with the tires and love my PRs happening in recent events which I also was first rider in. Cheers!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by Zurich
Cycling Enthusiast
Westminster, MD
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice tire but challenging to mount

this is an excellent road and dirt road tire, i've got about 1k mixed road miles and they look like they'll last another thousand, perfect for dry conditions. the only gripe that i had was that they were difficult to mount on Bontrager aluminum TLR wheels.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 98

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]