Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Challenge Gravel Grinder Tire

ChallengeGravel Grinder Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(50 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(8)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(80%)
(16%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/18/2020
by Jeff M
westchester, NY
Overall Rating
Excellent gravel tire for all conditions

This tire is outstanding in its ability to provide reliable traction on loose gravel, hard pack, single track and pretty much anything you throw at it while somehow feeling road race tire fast and supple on pavement. It�s been literally perfect for everything I do on it. I highly recommend this for anyone seeking a gravel/cyclocross tire you never need question or think about. I don�t even bother changing it when taking the gravel bike on a road ride as it rolls fast. A great choice after many disappointments prior.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/8/2018
by Anonymous
Central Indiana
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent budget tires

I've got a few hundred miles on these tires now-a pretty even mix of good aged chip & seal, fresh loose chip & seal, crappy patched and potholed chip & seal, and plush marble-sized river-rock gravel. I don't notice any real rolling resistance on pavement, and they stick like Velcro even in the really deep gravel. I haven't climbed much, but the bit of climbing I've done was fine and more importantly I had full control on the descent. I am running them with tubes at 55ish psi, haven't had any flats (punctures aren't likely here, no thorns or sharp rocks) and they do a pretty good job at smoothing out all but the worst bone-shakers. I'd definitely recommend these as a good all-around tire.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/26/2020
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Not too impressed with durability

Rear tire got 2 punctures (both sealed with sealant) within the first month of use. One was on rounded fine gravel, second on rail trail. I liked the ease of mounting and sealing, but 2 punctures on what I'd consider easy gravel have me wondering about long term durability and getting stuck in the boonies.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2020
by Anonymous
norcal
Overall Rating
Nice Tire

These tires are a good choice. They set up easily. I have used them for a few dry CX races and run them at low pressure and they perform well. They are also nice on a graveldirtpavement ride at a higher pressure of 35-40 psi. They roll well and have good cornering qualities. I have over 500 miles on them and they are wearing ok.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/16/2017
by Kahola Kahuna
Cycling Enthusiast
Flint Hills KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
22 of 24 customers found this review helpful.
Go To Gravel Tire

I live in Kansas and am from Emporia, the heart of Dirty Kanza and Flint Hills territory. I have used these tires thru 3 Dirty Kanzas, 2 Almanzos, 1 epic fail at Landrun(mud and weather, tires were fine) and countless other rides and races through Flint Hills Gravel. Two flats, both were pinch flats and totally my fault for running too low of pressure under my 190 lbs. About 53-55 PSI rear and 48 PSI front seems to keep me out of pinch flat trouble even in the Flint Hills Gravel. Rolling resistance is minimal on hard pack, yet traction remains great in the loose stuff. They do tend to wear a little fast, but at the price and weight well worth it. As a side note, on the two flats I did have, they go on and off the rims using no levers for a quick change under the stress of race conditions. In gravel cycling the tire of the moment always seems be in every conversation, but I have found no need to experiment or go tubeless with these tires around and will continue to run the Gravel Grinders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/11/2017
by TK
Ohio
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Worked well for me

Got these for my CX bike and a gravel race. Running them with latex tubes. Race had some single track with hills and some mud. Surprised how well the gripped. Have now been running them on pavement and see that my average speed is not much slower than on my road bike. No flats. Very pleased.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/2/2020
by Brendan O.
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Nice Tires - Love the knobbies, but the mid-flat area could use a little more grip

Great tires, however, mine both came with a bulge from being so tightly folded and I could not work it out with or without tubes. The beads did seat nicely for tubeless use however. The side knobbies are awesome in deep mud and set these apart from some other gravel tires, but I think the mid section, while fast on super smooth dirt or pavement, are a little slick on sandy gravel. I think they need some grooves.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2020
by Rusty Cog
Competitive Racer
Norhwest Wi.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
38 is a tire that rolls great on all surfaces

Corners well on loose gravel going 29mph on downhill corners and is fast rolling on both asphalt and gravel at40psi.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/4/2014
by Bnystrom
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
21 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Lives up to it's name admirably!

I needed tires for a dirt road event in Vermont and after reading a lot of reviews, I settled on the Gravel Grinders. I wanted something wide, with reasonable rolling resistance on paved roads and hard-packed dirt, but aggressive edge lugs for cornering in looser conditions. This tire has all of that and excellent durability, too. I couldn't be happier with their performance.

FYI, at 174, I ran these at 50/55, frontrear and that was perfect on a hard-packed course. My 110 girlfriend ran them at 30/35.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2014
by Chicago J
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
18 of 21 customers found this review helpful.
Perfection for commuter-training or Outright Gravel Road Racing!!

Prior to this I have been racing on Challenges high end open tubular Grifo XS in 33mm and soon its high end open tubular Gravel Grinder in 700x36mm tire. For training and commuting I do not want to burn through [$] high end tires when I can burn through the same tread for less than half the money and have an even tougher casing than the open tubular design saving them for race day! For training I have been riding every type of nail file tread pattern I could buy, My favorite up until this tire was released was in this order, Clement Las 33mm (actually a 36mm)for fast gravel country roads and finer gravel, or for rougher gravel Clement USH 35mm, Vittoria Pro XN 32mm(actually 30mm), Schwalbe Sammy Slick 35mm (actually a 31mm), and for rougher gravel and dirt Kenda Happy Mediums in 35mm or 40mm (both slightly undersized as well. I hope that Challenge continue to make Vulcanized Versions of its already top OT tires like The Grifo Pro now, as I wish they would make a Grifo XS 32mm vulcanized soon for my wife as this is her favorite tire! Do your self a favor and get this tire, it is the best!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/8/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Enterprise, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good pavementgravel tires

After riding with these tires for a few weeks I am quite pleased. I ride probably 75% pavement and 25% gravel and appreciate the fast rolling qualities of this tire with ability to ride at a variety of pressures depending on conditions. So far so good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/20/2017
by runningisfree
Cycling Enthusiast
Wayne, PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Durable, versatile tire for all season use

I use on my cross frame which doubles as a commuter. I pump up tire to 65 psi and it gives a comfortable ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/24/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Louisville ky
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Sweet, tough tire for Hoosier gravel

Originally went w the 33s for tackling the (awesome!) Hoosier National Forest roads. Loved the tires but found them too narrow for some of the loose gravel. Bumped up to the 38s and they are perfect. Expertly manage the slime of sloppy lime dust but also do a better job of floating over loose gravel. Excellent on dry hard packed gravel and tough enough for the occasional bit of singletrack. Roll nicely over paved sections. About 1000 miles without a flat. Have tried them tubeless but the sidewalls leak too much - not sold as tubeless so that's fair. Great tire!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2017
by Aaron
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, ThereIsNoPlaceLikeNebraska
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Near perfect for use with my CX bike on gravel & mixed surface rides.

I live in the city with streets and paved bike paths, but I'm at the edge of town with gravel section roads stretching to the horizons through farmland. These tires have been a welcome upgrade over the stock 33mm tires that came on my Specialized CruX. Smoother rolling center tread, knobby on the edges to bite in the loose and chunky gravel, and enough volume to lower my pressures for a smoother ride. Near perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lawrence, KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent tire for fast gravel riding in all but muddy conditions

Great, light gravel tire, rolls fast, stable in corners.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/26/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
tis is a fast gravel tire

many 100 mile rides no problems yet

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2016
by Gravel T
Seattle
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Solid Gravel Tire

I purchased these after experiencing reliability issues with another tire. I found myself riding hard-core gravel and wanted a tire that could withstand the punishment, but still provide good rolling resistance on pavement. For me, it was between these and the MSOs. I ran the Gravel Grinder Race for 8 months with acceptable results.

A few notes Tubeless performance was unsatisfactory. This was disappointing, but they were not sold as tubeless ready, so what can you do? This is the main reason I don't run these anymore, and why i gave only 4 stars. Another observation is those larger side knobbies. To me, they seemed like a distraction. I did not like the way they felt underneath when they engaged. It felt like the tire changed its characteristics whenever in a hard cornering situation (which is where I want it to be the most consistent). Get rid of the side knobbies, they're dumb.

The tire looks good, rolls well, and is reasonably tough. It's a good alternative to Clement MSO or even USH. Do not expect to run these tubeless. I found they wore a little faster than I'd hoped for.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2016
by Carl
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Running this Tubeless - so far so good - DK will be the ultimate test

I set these up tubeless with Stan's no-tube cyclocross kit on standard rims (Mavic Front, Powertap alloy rear), and have been playing with various pressures between 20 and 40 psi. Have done one long race (107 miles) in Minnesota, and lots of training. Will be riding this in the Chino Grinder (Arizona) this weekend, the AlmonzoRoyal 162 next week, and the DK in June. Hoping the lower pressure will allow all of these to run a bit better than with tubes and higher pressure. So far so good. I'll update if I have any problems.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/18/2018
by MartyJ
Concord, NH
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great for mixed, on-off road

I have ridden hundreds of miles on pavement, gravel and dirt roads. The center tread allows less rolling resistance on pavement and outside knobs provide cornering grip on looser surfaces.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/6/2018
by MartyJ
Concord, NH
Overall Rating
Light gravel tire, good for mixed riding

These tires work well for pavement, gravel and dirt. They have minimal tread on the center and are lightweight for low rolling resistance and the knobs on the sides provide traction in looser terrain.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 78