Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Challenge Gravel Grinder Race Tire

ChallengeGravel Grinder Race Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(59 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(45)
(8)
(4)
(1)
(1)
(76%)
(14%)
(7%)
(2%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Reviewed 4/21/2018
by jamisjockey
Cycling Enthusiast
Virgina
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Wow! Maybe a little narrower than advertised

I've only got one ride on these but I'm super happy with them! My clement tires aren't very confident cornering, even on the road. These challenge tires transition real well in corners and lock up nicely on gravel. Reasonably fast on road or dry hardpack as well. Corner well in gravel.

I mounted them on a pretty narrow pair of road rims (vuelta) and my micrometer says they're more like 32's on these rims.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/2/2018
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
BTD is an awesome place to shop

Great product, especially on sale

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
upstate New York
Value Rating
Overall Rating
just what I wanted

Just what I was looking for. The larger size fits and will be usable for both paved and dirt roads. Plan to buy a 33 for my wife's bike once they are in stock.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/9/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super fast tires

These tires are very fast, they roll well, but still have good traction when needed.

They have good grip in gravel and the side knobs have enough grip to keep you from losing the front wheel if you hit an unexpected patch of deep sand. As expected they provide virtually no forward traction in deep lose sand.

The only downside is the 38mm tires measure out to 35mm on my wheels, but so far their performance has more than made up for being skinnier than advertised. I'll probably get about 800 miles out of the rear which is on par with other tires I've used.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/4/2017
by Jake Oakley
Cycling Enthusiast
Lehigh Valley Pennsylvania
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Purchased for FallWinter trail, road and gravel riding

I have been riding with the 700x32 tires that came with my bike - worked well in spring and summer riding. Wanted to go to 38s for fall and winter. I have been riding more canal trails and plan on continuing through the fall and winter months. Have about 250 canal trail miles on these tires - they are holding up perfectly, have PSI 55 front and 65psi rear. No flats and a very comfortable and stable ride.

Great price and quick shipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/21/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Great Gravel Tire

Bought these for Rasputitsa and they delivered. The wider version of the Chicane, these puppies hook right up in packed snow in Cyberia and the side lugs hold when it gets a bit sketchy. Bought a second set after riding these.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2017
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Good tire overall

Good all around Gravel grinder but a bit on the heavy side

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/11/2017
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Pittsburgh PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Held up well on the C&O Canal trail.

With over 200 miles on rough roadbed, the tread is still much like it was when new.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/7/2017
by Arthur P
Sweet Home
Overall Rating
Awesome tires

These tires work! Used these in the gravel Epic and went thru gravel, mud wet and dry pavement! They keep on going!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2018
by Flavio Zanin
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good

Very good

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2014
by deebiker
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Go-to adventure tire

This tire is my go-to tire from May-mid September. I opted for the Gravel Grinder after realizing that a 40mm MSO just didn't fit right in my bike. Sacrificed 2mm of width, but gained a hell of a lot of acceleration and versatility of use. Really like that I can use this tire for the early-season races and it's super-puncture protective.

Also, even though it's not technically a tubeless tire, it hooks up like a dream on both my Stan's NoTubes wheels and my DT Swiss rims on my Asylum Meuse.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/25/2014
by PDX teacher biker
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Overall Rating
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.
Out of the saddle in loosey goosey gravel...no problem

I just put these tires on my CX bike to get some rides in before the Oregon Stampede (130 miles, 70% GRAVEL). I am a 5'3 woman so I was reluctant to put this big of a tire on my bike for fear I would think it was too slow when not riding gravel. The tires feel fine on the road but they really do shine in gravel. After riding for a few hours in Forest Park (Portland, OR, gravel roads are fire roads) I was most impressed with how I was able to get out of the saddle and accelerate in gravel, especially up steep uphill grades, without that sinking in or spin out feeling at all. The tire also feels very secure through corners (even if one has to brake through the corner to avoid a dog that should be on a leash). On pavement, the tires feel faster than traditional cross tires. If I do any early season CX racing in dry conditions I would even consider leaving these tires on for racing.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/18/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Overall Rating
Great all around tire

I use this tire to commute(20 miles a day) and also hit the logging roads nearby. Fast on the pavement and grippy on the hard pack.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/12/2015
by Tinbender75
Cycling Enthusiast
Oklahoma City
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great Tire for Gravel, Road or Mud!

When I got my cyclocross bike I primarily got it for gravel and after riding with the stock 32 tire on gravel I decided to try something different. The stock tires walked a lot on gravel and were slow when I was on the road. I read a review of the Gravel Grinders by Guitar Ted and decided to try them. I have rode about 500 miles on them and I love them. No more walking on gravel unless it is very loose. They are fast on the road as well despite their size due to the file tread pattern in the middle of the tread. I had a lot more control on mud as well with them. Mud does like to stick to the sides due to tread on the sides. I highly suggest them and I haven't found anyone who doesn't like them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Great all rounder for all-road riding

I ride lots of dirt roads and rail trails in New England. These are the best all round ones I've found so far (have ridden Vittoria XG, Maxxis Mud Wrestler, Clement MSO 40's). They are light for a 38mm, wide enough to avoid pinch flats, quiet and fast enough on pavement, and provide great traction on a wide variety of surface and allow you to stand on graveldirt hill climbs. They dampen the ride without being too bouncy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/5/2014
by jmorgan29er
Competitive Racer
Raleigh, NC
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Hookin' Up

I run this tire on a Niner RLT9. It has seen a fair mix of road, dirt roads, gravel roads, singletrack and jeep trails. I have run it in group rides on the road and in one of the toughest gravel races (Savage CX) in NC. It is a good all around tire that has hooked up well in turns and just enough volume to not get beat to death on rougher roads and trails. It has seen 500 miles and the center is worn on the rear, but you can still see the file tread. I have run Clement MSO 40s & 32s and this tire comes as a perfect fit for me. It is still fast like the 32 on the road and has the cushion of the 40. My one grip with Challenge and all other companies is to make this tubeless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2014
by Bronco
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome riding tire, but failed suddenly

I love this tire, let me just say that. Once it became available, days before the 2014 Cornhusker State Games, I ordered a pair and had them 2-Day shipped to me to use in the event. At 5545 fr, they handled 120 miles of pavement, gravel, railbed trail, and MMR without a flat or an issue. The 38mm wide casing provided extra suspension and comfort for my 225lb self. I totally agree with Guitar Ted, these are the best gravel tires out there.

Last night, the sidewall on the rear tire failed along a tread block section, and exploded with a dramatic bang (fyi, I'm a former motorsports racer, so I'm freaky weird about determining optimum tire pressures, and checking them before each ride). I was able to boot the tire with a dollar bill and ride back home, where I quickly swapped it out. It failed after about 250 miles.

I love the tire, and I'm ordering a replacement today, but it's not quite all there. I'm not sure if the failure was due to manufacturing defect, or if it was damage induced from a previous ride. We ride a lot of hard gravel in Nebraska. I do not feel the tire should have failed after so few miles.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments

Hi Bronco,

Thanks for your review! I am sorry to hear about the sudden tire failure. Our customer service department would be happy to take a look at that tire to see if it is defective and send a replacement. You can email pictures of that tire to [email protected] with any questions!

Thanks,
Anna

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/9/2018
by Jeremy
Richmond, Va
Overall Rating
I love these tires! I always go with Challenge

Challenge never lets me down, they have a wide range of tires, some with gum wall options. The tread on the gravel grinders is just what I want between commuting on pavement or hitting off road.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2017
by Aaron
Lincoln, NE
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Nice rolling

As the hosts of the unofficial Gravel Worlds, you'd imagine we've got plenty of gravel around Lincoln, Nebraska and we do. I settled on a 38mm set of these to roll on my CX to give me a little more width, but still roll well. They do their job well. Riding on pavement, they're smooth. Riding all types of gravel they handle well too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 26

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]