FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Challenge Corsa Latex Road Tube

ChallengeCorsa Latex Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(27 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(6)
(4)
(2)
(3)
(44%)
(22%)
(15%)
(7%)
(11%)
Reviewed 10/22/2014
by verticalsuperior
Competitive Racer
dayton ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Haven't had a pinch flat since switching to these

I use the Challenge Corsa under a Challenge Limus 33 tire. Previously I had been experiencing menacing pinch flats with traditional rubber tubes, but the Corsas have been flat-free this season. Even at low pressure for CX, these tubes have held up great. Two minor drawbacks 1) the valve stems aren't long enough to fit through my Aura5 dishes and require an extender (not a big deal, but something to be aware of), and 2) one of the tubes I received had fused together in a spot (maybe the size of a nickel) and no rubbing or gradual air pressure could separate the two layers of latex (the guys at Biketiresdirect.com simply shipped me a replacement and I was good to go). I wish they weren't so expensive, but I guess it's worth it in the long run when you aren't carrying your bike across the finish line.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Jimmy
Ann Arbor
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Delicate to install. Great to ride on

This is the only CX size I have found in latex. Work well once you carefully install them. No tire irons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/27/2016
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
17 mile drive mostly
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
These tubes are prone to separate from the valve stem when pulling the chuck off.

They also balloon unpredictably with very little inflation visible. I suggest blowing into them to get shape before mounting on rim. I use them on fun rides because I like the feel. They make the tires more supple allowing a better ride at higher pressure or less wasted energy at lower pressure. My old tubulars were latex tubed and never lost a stem. These are cheaply made but not cheap.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/20/2015
by mike
Competitive Racer
KS
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good Latex tube for cross

I have been using latex tubes for years in clinchers for racing and also with tubulars (different situation). I knew i wanted a latex tube for cross and this is really the only option out there. They are exactly like my vittoria road latex tubes, no issues in quality. Bleeds air at the normal rate for a latex tube, probably a bit less than normal. I would suggest getting some talc powder when installing to make it easier. When you install inflate them slightly to make sure you do not pinch flat them during the install. Also do not inflate and then see a bubble, then complain about quality, that is normal in all latex tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/2/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Too fragil for me.

It took three tubes to get aired up the first time. Since they seep air you have to inflate them each time. They do not have threaded stems so just trying to inflate them damaged the tube. Three flats in 30 miles.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2015
by Chris W.
Cycling Enthusiast
New Orleans
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Nice paired with Open Tubulars but reliability issues

I paired these with the Challenge Paris Roubaix 27mm tires for a super pseudo tubular feel, and it was all that was promised, supple and smooth! The front tube is still going strong but the rear failed where the valve connects to the tube after only a couple hundred miles. Based on other reviews, sounds like there's a quality control issue with these tubes. I've ordered some Vittoria latex as replacements as they seem to have a very positive response from the reviewing public.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Not worth the extra expense.

These are much more fragile than traditional rubber tubes thus making it easy to destroy them while installing or changing a tire. I lost 1 of 2 during installation. The 2nd one simply blew while on a long ride. I had maybe 70 miles on it and at the time had it recommended inflation.

I wouldn't recommend them unless you know how to work with them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/22/2014
by graveler
Competitive Racer
Boulder
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
probably better than Vittoria latex tubes

I use these with Vittoria open corsa Pave 27 tires. Amazing ride. I've used the Challenge and Vittoria latex tubes over the years. I think the Challenge may be a little better made, they are also a little lighter. I put about 5-7ml of sealant in them with installation. Almost never a flat, if you do, you can usually pump them up again and it will hold. I ride this combo in the mtn gravel roads around Boulder on an S-works Roubaix. I like Caffe Latex over Stan's. regarding the air leak of course this will happen with all latex, just like tubulars. get used to it. I check the pressure and pump them up before every ride. I want different pressures depending on the road anyway. with latex you can more easily get away with low pressures. I weight 135lb and run 70-80psi rear and 70-60 front depending on surface and conditions.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/26/2014
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Leaky

While it provides a smoother ride keep a bike pump handy. Half way trough a five hour ride I had to add 10 pounds. The latex tends to seep off very fast

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2014
by gwpelham
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Nevada
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very versatile, very puncture resistant

I've used this tube for several years and never been disappointed. I ride both 23 and 25 mm tires and this tubes is great in both. I have a wheels with a variety of rim depth and the 48mm stem doesn't look silly on a standard rim but still accommodates a pretty wide arrow rim. The removable valve core makes adding a sealant like Stan's extremely easy.

It's extremely difficult to flat a latex tube. A latex tube with a sealer is almost impossible to flat with a good tire. Perfect for those subfreezing winter rides!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/28/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
No Flats

My wife and I have been using these tubes for couple of years without any flats. In the winter we use Stan's sealant which is easy to install due to the removable valve core. I do replace the tubes at the same time as the tires, so I don't really test their durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/7/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Junction, Colo.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good, but not significantly different than butyl.

Using on my winter cyclocross bike for winter road riding (Trying to save a few grams on heavy winter tires).

No noticeable difference from butyl ride wise. No flats, bit more pumping up, but who cares. Not much weight saving.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/31/2013
by Mariano
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
I can notice the difference over Butyl

I got these tubes for cyclocross so I could get better traction while cornering and in off camber sections. With the same pressure, I notice a little more supple feel compared to a butyl tube. Is it enough to make a real difference in a race, I can't say but for the price it can't hurt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/7/2013
by RD
Cycling Enthusiast
Corvallis. MT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Improved ride quality using latex tubes

Couldn't believe the difference in the ride switching to latex tubes. More of a cushion air ride feel on shock absorbers. Measured weight on two different tubes was 76.8g and 77.6g which was higher than advertised but still good. You have to be more careful installing them as they are easier to puncture. I found that pumping them slightly with air first after installation on the rim under the tire, and then massaging all around the tire bead seems to give you a better chance that the tube will not get pinched by the tire as you gradually go to full pressure. I don't suggest trying to pump in any air prior to installation. It is true they lose pressure faster than butyl tubes when not in use, requiring you to check tire pressure before each ride, but the quality of ride is worth the time spent to do this, which should be done anyway if you care at all about your ride efficiency. If not, don't bother with latex tubes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2017
by Jonsson
Competitive Racer
Lodi, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Poor Quality Control

Should have payed more attention to the reviews. I like smooth stems and I want short stems. I'll added extensions to make the proper length as I want as little stem protrusion and weight as possible. The Challenge tubes were more expensive and I thought I'd step up try them. Bought two of them from BikeTiresDrect. I carefully partially inflated it to straighten it out to insert in into the tire. One 5cm section expanded like a toy balloon, never seen a latex tire do that. The diameter of the tube was much smaller than the rim making it difficult to install tucking it in the GP4000 tire as I worked the bead onto the rim. It was very difficult to get the tub out from under the bead as to not pinch the tube. About 4 minutes after inflating the tire - pow. Taking the tube out, there was 15cm split along the tube in a fairly straight line. Neither split occurred near the final place that I finished beading the tire where is was most difficult to tuck the tube over the rim. Got out the second tube, partially inflated it and once again a thin section that ballooned. Install the tube even more carefully, inflated it and - pow. Same thing with a long split. There went $35 just like that. I got out a Vittoria latex tub installed it, no problem and have been riding on it every since. Challenge might make good tires but these tube at defective.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/13/2014
by Anonymous
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great comfy tube smooth stem and removable valve a plus

Good so far, paired with 25mm Vittoria open Corsas Makes for a fast comfy ride.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/3/2014
by MGFrazier
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Rode great, but developed pinholes

Bought 2 that installed easily and rode great, but both developes small holes that were hard to find and patch.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/1/2013
by Pints & Cowbells
Competitive Racer
Bellingham, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Very compliant, takes some skill to install

I have these tubes paired with Challenge Grifo open tubulars and they are a great combo. I'm 195 lbs and run these at 30 PSI front and rear for cyclocross.

I can feel the difference in ride quality between these and butyl tubes. It takes some getting used to as more compliance can almost feel like your tire is going flat. But once you get used to running lower pressures and letting the tires do their job everything really hooks up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/23/2013
by Mrbvoytilla
Houston, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome

Worth the money. Spend it and get some nice tubes. Your base miles will thank you.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chelsea, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Very flexible, light.

I found this tube difficult to mount with the unused Strada Bianca. I think the Strada Bianca needs to stretched and formed a bit first with a butyl tube.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.