FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Cat Eye Velo 9 Cyclecomputer VL820

Cat EyeVelo 9 Cyclecomputer VL820(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(56%)
(44%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 4/24/2017
by BigDave
Daily Commuter
Murrieta CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Basic Product with One Flaw

I have already lost two of these exact same Cat Eye's. Unfortunately they slip out of the holder far too easily. I have now had to resort to taping the unit down into the holder and even then I have found a simple bump is enough to dislodge the unit. Needs to have a design change where a release involves a positive press on some lock to remove the unit.

If I lose this one it will be the third strike.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/12/2015
by VeloMac
Cycling Enthusiast
TexasHillCountry.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Spare me the Carbon Offset.

Do we really need a carbon offset? I can think of nothing I would be less likely to pay for than carbon offset. Idiots should know that most of us ride for exercise and not as a commuter to work. One function more than needed. Where is the 8? Having said that, it is easy to read, easy to set up, and functions well as a basic cyclocomputer. You don't HAVE to look at the offset. Perhaps I should forgive Cateye their political correctness this time. -)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/15/2015
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco East Bay
Value Rating
Overall Rating
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Very reliable

I've tried several wireless computers and have found them all to be unreliable. This one has been 100% reliable with no failures whatsoever for over 6000 miles on my commuter bike. The numbers are big and readable and it tells you everything you really need to know for a daily commuter. Battery life has been very good with no problems when I routinely changed it at 3000 miles.

The one complaint I have is that you can't individually change any settings without zeroing out all data. Example, you just can't change the tire size setting without losing your running total on your odometer. You will also zero out your data when you change the battery and I can't find a way of adding the running total to my odometer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2017
by FFA rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
simple and easy to use

Have the Velo 7 on my other bike for many years in all kind off weather and I am very satisfied with it. Don't care much for the 2 extra functions but it was on sale. Great battery life and the display is easy to read. Very important when going 25 MPH and looking down. And it is wired, much more reliable and less batteries that can go dead. The operation of the unit is also very simple, just one button can do it all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/18/2013
by RIDESAFE
Cycling Enthusiast
Clark County WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Another dependable Cat-Eye. Solved cold weather data screen display problem.

Bought after Sigma and another wireless system failed while riding in temps under 40 degrees. wired set-up, but hasn't been a problem.

Large display, easy to see and change while in the saddle.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2012
by DBCSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent, large numbers, inexpensive, easy to install, good features

This and the similar Velo 7 (which may be all that most cyclists need) are excellent CatEye bike computers. I have had a number of computers over the years, and a constant complaint are the numbers are sometimes hard to see at a glance. These numbers are very large. This series of computers benefits from the many years of bike computer manufacturing by CatEye. The only thing not perfect about this is a wireless option! Biketiresdirect.com also has the best prices and availability - better than Amazon too! Order more than $100 at a time to get free shipping on orders.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2012
by kbvin
Cycling Enthusiast
Yuma, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Good, basic bike computer

Used for my daily bikerides. I really only use the cumulative miles. Encourages one to go farther each day!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/16/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
10 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
This product works exactly as I hoped. It has a common and cheap battery easy to replace.

This product works exactly as I hoped. It has a common and cheap battery easy to replace.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/29/2015
by SBBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Barbara, CA
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Everything needed . Nothing unnecessary.

I use this on a commuter bike, mounted in a discrete, less traditional location to keep the look of my WorkCycle simple. The easy-to-read display allows quick information gathering and the button, ease of use.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.