FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50View Details
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
MON-SAT 8AM-5PM PT
Cat Eye Velo 7 Cyclecomputer VL520

Cat EyeVelo 7 Cyclecomputer VL520(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(9)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(39%)
(50%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by FFArider
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
simple and reliable

Very simple, basic and straight forward cycle computer. I like the one button operation. numbers are good to read. Only one battery to deal with. Easy to cycle through functions. Nothing negative to say yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/20/2017
by upthera
Cycling Enthusiast
Western PA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Simple and reliable

Excellent value. Easy to use and durable. More so than other basic computers bought elsewhere for the same price. Functioning well after a month on my beater. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2018
by MDBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Illinois
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great product for the price!

Easy to read, clear display and well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/28/2017
by Cooper
Pittsburgh
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Quality product. Installation is not simple

Quality product. Installation is not simple.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/22/2014
by Eric
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.
Brilliant

This little computer is really made well. The instructions were a bit baffling, but the install really went well- much simpler than the instructions make it seem.

It comes packed with 7 zip ties which is nice if you screw one up. (I did!)

The display is large, crystal clear, and can be read in direct sunlight. Just awesome.

The one bad thing about it? It shows the unpleasant truth about just how slow I am!

Great product. I reccomend it without reservation. (It ships with battery already installed!)

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/17/2014
by thecerkin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Good basic speedometer / odometer

Just what I needed for my little mule city mountain bike! Gives me the basic information that I need while at the same time is rock solid. Now that I can keep track of my miles it's less of a guess when I should be doing maintenance too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/10/2013
by richdeand
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
A good basic computer!

A good basic computer, gives you all the data you need, large screen, easy to read, easy to install.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/6/2013
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
easy to set up and reliable

Easy to set up, very reliable, once set up it continues to work, unlike my previous computer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/19/2012
by MTBMissoula
Cycling Enthusiast
Missoula, MT
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Great computer for the price, Cat Eye is the way to go.

Got this computer a few weeks ago and its been running great in the cold weather here in Montana. BikeTiresDirect had the best price that I could find anywhere and I am loving it. Easy to read screen and simple one button function makes it easy to use on the go. If you're looking for a solid beginning cyclometer this is the way to go, all the functions you need and nothing you don't.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2012
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Hampton Roads, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to use. Works well

Put it on my Mountain Bike. Fit up easily. Been putting miles on the road bike so not much use yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/2/2012
by T42DB
Casual Cyclist
Wheeling, WV
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Reliable simple and easy to readoperate

Easy to read and operate on the bike. Very durable - I wrecked my bike and this computer flew off. I reattached it and it worked like nothing happened.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2012
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good clear and readable numbers - good value for the price

Used on my spare bike for simple mileage and time measurements - nothing fancy

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/12/2012
by Biker Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
Lansing, MI.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
It has what I need.

This is a low cost, yet very useful device for general biking. It has all the function I need to help me train. I also like to use it on long bike hikes.

It took a while, but was not too hard to put on my bike. If you don't want to spend a lot of money, but still want to know how far and fast you are going, I would get this one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/28/2012
by Florida bent Rider
Casual Cyclist
Florida Space Coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good Little Cyclometer

Installed pretty easily with the usual hassle of setting a digital device. I haven't found any way to set the overall odometer mileage. Since I replaced one that had 18,500 miles on it it would be nice to be able to register that in this unit. It tracks the speed and mileage accurately and is easy to set the trip distance. This company is excellent to deal with. I placed this order just before leaving for several days and asked them to delay the shipment so it would arrive after I returned. Their timing was perfect.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/30/2011
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.
good basic computer

For the price this is a great value. I've had one for about 1 12 years, with a bit over 1,000 miles on it. I like the simple one button operation feature, whereas some have two buttons...The set up directions are a bit confusing, but you are smart you will figure it out. The main draw back to this model is the absence of trip time...So on all my other bikes I have the Velo 8 which has this feature, wish the Velo 8 was offered here on this site.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2017
by BigGuy_29er_cruisin
Casual Cyclist
Rapid City SD
Overall Rating
So far So good

First off, I haven't had this on my bike very long. After reading a few reviews and seeing this on sale I decided to purchase it. So far I am happy with it. Mounting the computer on my bars was easy enough for the wired I did cut up pieces of cardboard to stack up on my forks to make sure the wired sensor was close enough to get within specs of the magnetic piece that mounts on the spokes. The instructions aren't that great. I did try several times to get the clock set... in the end I didn't, I didn't order it for the clock anyway. I wanted to know my speed and keep the mileage on my bike. I'm giving it three stars cause the instructions aren't that great and the clock issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/6/2017
by BigGuy_29er_cruisin
Casual Cyclist
Rapid City SD
Overall Rating
So far So good

First off, I haven't had this on my bike very long. After reading a few reviews and seeing this on sale I decided to purchase it. So far I am happy with it. Mounting the computer on my bars was easy enough for the wired I did cut up pieces of cardboard to stack up on my forks to make sure the wired sensor was close enough to get within specs of the magnetic piece that mounts on the spokes. The instructions aren't that great. I did try several times to get the clock set... in the end I didn't, I didn't order it for the clock anyway. I wanted to know my speed and keep the mileage on my bike. I'm giving it three stars cause the instructions aren't that great and the clock issues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/5/2011
by Robert D Smith Sr
Cycling Enthusiast
West Allis, Wisconsin
Overall Rating
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
This is my 1st Cateye Computer for my Mongoose! I had a Walmart supplied more expensive one than the Cateye but, the operation was very shoddy!

I am tickled to death to have such a good operaating Cateye Computer. As I stated above, my other one I paid a little more than $26.00, and it worked about like a 19Cent one lol. I was so fed up with the way that it worked that I just went into to the bicycle shop and ask the attendant what was a good computer, he told me, The Cateye is the oldest and the best made for any price. He sure was right about the performance of my Cateye, it has not missed an inch of calculating except, for the time I forgot to put it back in its saddle on my ride home lmao. Oh well, Crap happens!, they say lmao! Well, thanks for allowing me to share my enjoyment with my new CATEYE COMPUTER.

Sincerely,

Robert DF Smith Sr

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details.