Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Castelli Pro Thermal Skully

CastelliPro Thermal Skully(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(89%)
(0%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 12/12/2021
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Meh. Could be better for the money. Not windproof or very warm.

This skull cap is definitely not Castelli's best product by a long shot, but it's not horrible either.

On the positive side, it's reasonably warm for its thickness, which isn't very thick and provides warmth down in to the 30's, so long as it's not very windy. Fit is excellent, even for my large melon (7-7/8") with room to spare. Wicks and breathes pretty well too.

Where this falls short is windproofness - it's only very mildly wind-resistant, probably up to low to mid 20mph range. You will definitely feel wind through it above 25pmh, especially sustained winds/headwinds over 30mph

On a ride today where the winds picked up as a I got into later afternoon in temps of the low 40's to upper 30's, my head was chilled as the sustained winds got above 25mph. Calling this a 'thermal' cap is a bit of stretch in my opinion - and that's saying something because I run warm and heat up even more when I ride, so for me to notice shortcomings in a skull cap is notable.

There are definitely better options from Gore Wear and Pearl Izumi, especially for colder temps and needing true windproofness. I'll likely keep these for riding in mid 40's to mid 50's temps with low wind, but will use other options for colder windier days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/11/2022
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Thin and effective

Just right for cool mornings around 50-60 degrees

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by George
Croton on Hudson, ny
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My new favorite for winter rides

Fits my large head and covers my ears well ! Thin but warm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/3/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Winston Salem, NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Lightweight but warm

Thin material but keeps the heat in. Has enough to cover ears, which is key to me. Very comfortable to wear.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/8/2021
by Germancho_sam
Clermont FL
Overall Rating
No more freezing ears

Keep me out of the freezing sharp feeling on my ears. Recommend it

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by dudeyak
Cycling Enthusiast
Ft. Worth TX
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
PERFECT Cool-Weather Headgear!

Was specifically looking for a low-profile skully, to wear in our usually-mild deep South cooler wx / winters. There are a LOT of similar choices out there, with seemingly wildly varying prices, most with a fair amount of negative reviews, for some reason: too small, doesn't cover ears, ill-fitting, etc.. My ears are quite sensitive to cold, so that is a deal-breaker for me. Fortunately, this Castelli Pro Thermal Skully turned out to be ideal: snug-enough fit to stay in place, but not tight. Material is thin enough to not affect helmet fit, but is warm enough, and seems to be windproof, and covers my ears (precise fit is adjustable enough that it would seem to be able to fit nearly any size head). Fabric seems to be pretty breathable, too, and should do well in cold wash + air-dry. VERY happy with it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by Control Freak
Cycling Enthusiast
Hilly East Tennessee
Overall Rating
Just right

Castelli kits just fit better. The thermal skully is no exception. I like this new version as it comes down lower to cover my ears. It is thin enough to fit under my helmet. I have been using the skully and the head thingy together in temperature between 32F and 50F.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2022
by Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Overall Rating
Warm. Great Fit

Warm. Covers ears. Fits comfortably under helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2021
by HO
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Keeps head warm

Really nice piece of gear. It's very thin, but keeps my head warm under my helmet during winter rides. I regularly ride for over an hour in 25F-30F degree weather (plus windchill).

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 40

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]