Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Castelli Mens Estremo Glove

CastelliMen's Estremo Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(84 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(53)
(23)
(6)
(1)
(1)
(63%)
(27%)
(7%)
(1%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by B''ham Biker

Reviewed 1/25/2024
by B''ham Biker
Bellingham
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Not too good for temps below 32 degrees

Had these gloves about a year or even 2. Seldom needed to use until this winter. Mostly don't ride when it's below 32 degrees, but this winter it stayed dry and cold with no icy spots on the roads, so I broke out these gloves and my hands got extremely cold after riding about 15 miles! After the temperature got above 32 they seemed to work as advertised (for me anyway). I reviewed them before just after purchasing them, but hadn't really tested in colder weather.

Seem to be not up to usual Castelli standards sorry to say.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Reviewed 1/2/2024
Upstate NY
Overall Rating
Warm but wrist Velcro could be improved

Gloves are warm. I�ve ridden in the low 30s with wind and fingers stayed warm. They run small, so size up. In my case exchanged an L for XL. BTD as usual made it very easy for me. Issues I have with glove are the gauntlet is not big enough to get Jersey, etc. inside with gloved hand, Velcro is on the inside of wrist instead of outside and isn�t wide enough to tuck in jersey or fasten the second glove properly after having the first one on.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 4/18/2024
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Buy em

For cold weather, none better

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim

Reviewed 4/6/2020
by Jim
Competitive Racer
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Awesome Winter Riding Gloves!!!!

I commute daily to work and do training rides on the weekends. I have used these from the high 30's to -10 degrees and they are awesome! These are the best winter cycling gloves that I have owned. I don't know how they did it, but these gloves are able to pass the moisture from sweating without losing too much warmth. If they are still kind of wet from a ride, they are dry in about 4 hours.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sam

Reviewed 1/5/2024
by Sam
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington State
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Adequate protection to mid-40s

I've been biking in the high-30s to low-40s with the gloves and my fingers are cold. Temperatures above mid-40s provide adequate warmth. As advertised, they are water resistant but not waterproof.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ChrisInPDX

Reviewed 3/20/2023
by ChrisInPDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR, US
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent in cold and wet

These are now my go to gloves for temps below about 40 F. Good with cold and wind. They do a pretty good job on wet as well, but a real soaking rain will definitely soak into them. That being said, I totally did NOT want to spend this much on biking gloves because it seemed really pricey, but I have no regrets after. I also felt they looked bulky and I would have issues with shifting/bell/brakes and that has NOT been the case. They fit well enough to allow for dexterity even on my road bike with di2 shifters. The ONLY gripes I could come up with - I wish the velcro attachment was a little larger so you could have a better tight seal on the wrists, and I wish that they were more touch screen capable, but you just can't get that on thick/warm gloves it seems. If I lost these, I would absolutely rebuy again.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tony M

Reviewed 3/9/2023
by Tony M
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Gloves

These are great gloves for cold weather riding. Did a 2.5 hour mountain bike ride where the temp was 22-25F. My hands were never cold. I've used them on the road also but never at those temps, so I can't say how they would perform there.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michael

Reviewed 12/14/2022
by Michael
Competitive Racer
Salem, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Finally the Right Cold Weather Glove

We all own a like 10 pairs of gloves that aren't the right ones - ever. Basically I end up hating every glove I buy. Except these.

After many years of buying the wrong gloves, these finally seem to work for me in most of the temperatures I ride in so far this winter. 32-42, above that, they are too warm for me but even when hot, they don't get that weird sticky thing that lobster gloves get. Hands start to chill around 32 after about an hour but so is everything else.

Minus points for not working with touchscreens

Plus points for working most of the time anyway

The more modern long zipper would be better too

True to size - use the size chart on these

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dave W

Reviewed 1/25/2024
by Dave W
Cycling Enthusiast
Ellicott City, MD
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome Winter Riding Gloves

These gloves are very warm for winter riding down into the 20's with padded palms and nice silicone grip texture. Not too bulky for operating shifters and droper.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CycleRef

Reviewed 6/3/2022
by CycleRef
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great cold weather gloves

These are great when it's too cold for my medium-weight gloves. Still feel like I have plenty of control on the Di2 shifters and my hands stay plenty warm into the 40's (and probably 30's)? I got them at the tail end of winter so haven't used them yet during super cold rides. But have no doubt these will keep my hands much warmer than double up on medium gloves. Good wind blocking for sure since that's the thing that seems to cause the most discomfort over the course of a cold ride.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/12/2024
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend,OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Almost too warm

Love these, but it needs to be COLD out. So if you have cold hands, these are for you. Finger dexterity is good for such a warm glove.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian Oldham

Reviewed 11/9/2023
by Brian Oldham
Bellingham, WA
Overall Rating
Best Winter Glove for the Pacific North West

Superb gloves. Perform flawlessly

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by B''ham Biker

Reviewed 3/28/2023
by B''ham Biker
BELLINGHAM, WA
Overall Rating
Pretty good, just a little bulky.

I guess to protect from cold temperatures, you need thickness. These gloves will keep your hands warm, but they are a little bulky for shifting and braking. Maybe they will get more flexible with use over time. Seem to be well-made and up to the usually excellent Castelli quality.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve F.

Reviewed 2/22/2021
by Steve F.
Saugus
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Magic

These gloves work as well as advertised and maybe better. I went on a fairly long ride with temps around freezing, I began the ride wearing lighter gloves until my hands started to get pretty cold and then put these on. Within a few minutes my hands were no longer stinging and after about 10 or 15 they were starting to sweat, very impressive indeed. These gloves are fairly bulky but not bad considering the warmth they provide, the silicone grip is really secure on the bars as well. Sure I wouldn't mind having touchscreen compatibility but it's something I can live without, if that's a dealbreaker for you I would suggest the warmest PI gloves.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Anonymous
New York
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Really good

Picked these up to be my coldest weather gloves. They've been a massive upgrade. Can handle down to freezing temps. Sometimes I'll add a glove liner for coldest days and for flexibility. I don't think you could get warmer without going Lobster-style.

Still able to feel the bars and lever okay. Grippy surface on palms is very tacky. I'm not sure if I like this or not yet but suppose it's better than the alternative. For an all-black glove, the styling is still a little loud, but nobody is judging because very few others on the road due to the cold. Got them on minor sale at BTD and very worth it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rockyMTNhigh

Reviewed 12/3/2020
by rockyMTNhigh
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Lake Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
very well made gloves from Castelli!

I bought these gloves in hopes of using them at temps down to say 15 F. They are very warm in temps ranging from 40's F down to 28 F, but I can't recommend them at temps any lower than that. I rode today at a consistent temp of 20 F for 3.5 hours and they lost all warmth capabilities after 1 hour. I will wear my snowmobile gloves next time at those temps. The gloves are very well made and comfortable and wind proof, they just lack insulation for the cold here in the Colorado winter season, and it's only Dec. 3rd.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 1/5/2023
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Exeter, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic cold weather gloves!

Recently after freezing my hands on a road bike ride I determined I really needed a good set of cold weather gloves. The Castelli Men's Estremo Glove is exactly what I needed! Now my hands stay warm on cold weather rides! Highly recommended!!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rockn Randall

Reviewed 12/4/2022
by rockn Randall
Cycling Enthusiast
oklahoma
Value Rating
Overall Rating
really nice glove

9 1/4 palm size large fit perfect. great feeling glove but my fingers still got cold after 45 minutes in the low 40's. However my fingers get cold in lobster gloves.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by nhmtnbkr

Reviewed 1/31/2020
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Excellent winter gloves

I bought these for mountain biking without a lot of expectations and was quite pleasantly surprised overall. Fit is excellent and these are considerably warmer than I thought they'd be, figuring they'd be warm enough for the 30's at best. These have kept my fingers warm down below 20 degrees, which is saying something, because my fingers run cold after getting frostbite while mountaineering some 20 years ago.

About the only thing these could be said to suffer from is a lack of padding for mountain biking, so you'll feel your bars and vibration after a long ride, since the one palm pad isn't sufficient for shock damping.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michael

Reviewed 1/13/2020
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well made, moderate warmth for those with cold hands

My hands run cold, not Reynauds, but colder than average. These well made and comfortable gloves are excellent for cycling down to about 45F, and to 25F for running. I'm not so sure there is really an acceptable option for me in a full fingered glove to the mid 20's for cycling other than heated gloves. Reading between the lines of numerous reviews for many a warm winter glove, I sense none of them are really suitable for cycling below freezing if your hands tend to run cold. I'll wear shorts and short sleeves if it's 55-60, but opt for light full fingered gloves as the first warm layer to consider.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]