Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Castelli Mens Estremo Glove

CastelliMen's Estremo Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(54 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(32)
(16)
(5)
(0)
(1)
(59%)
(30%)
(9%)
(0%)
(2%)
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by Steve F.
Saugus
Overall Rating
Magic

These gloves work as well as advertised and maybe better. I went on a fairly long ride with temps around freezing, I began the ride wearing lighter gloves until my hands started to get pretty cold and then put these on. Within a few minutes my hands were no longer stinging and after about 10 or 15 they were starting to sweat, very impressive indeed. These gloves are fairly bulky but not bad considering the warmth they provide, the silicone grip is really secure on the bars as well. Sure I wouldn't mind having touchscreen compatibility but it's something I can live without, if that's a dealbreaker for you I would suggest the warmest PI gloves.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2021
by Anonymous
New York
Overall Rating
Really good

Picked these up to be my coldest weather gloves. They've been a massive upgrade. Can handle down to freezing temps. Sometimes I'll add a glove liner for coldest days and for flexibility. I don't think you could get warmer without going Lobster-style.

Still able to feel the bars and lever okay. Grippy surface on palms is very tacky. I'm not sure if I like this or not yet but suppose it's better than the alternative. For an all-black glove, the styling is still a little loud, but nobody is judging because very few others on the road due to the cold. Got them on minor sale at BTD and very worth it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/16/2021
by Gman
Near Philly
Overall Rating
Order big for below freezing

I ordered xxl even though I have average size hands. That allows me to wear a second pair of winter gloves beneath. Even in temps as low as 28F, I've been able to road cycle for 2h without cold fingers. Excellent quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2020
by Jim
Competitive Racer
Wisconsin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Awesome Winter Riding Gloves!!!!

I commute daily to work and do training rides on the weekends. I have used these from the high 30's to -10 degrees and they are awesome! These are the best winter cycling gloves that I have owned. I don't know how they did it, but these gloves are able to pass the moisture from sweating without losing too much warmth. If they are still kind of wet from a ride, they are dry in about 4 hours.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/3/2020
by rockyMTNhigh
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Lake Colorado
Value Rating
Overall Rating
very well made gloves from Castelli!

I bought these gloves in hopes of using them at temps down to say 15 F. They are very warm in temps ranging from 40's F down to 28 F, but I can't recommend them at temps any lower than that. I rode today at a consistent temp of 20 F for 3.5 hours and they lost all warmth capabilities after 1 hour. I will wear my snowmobile gloves next time at those temps. The gloves are very well made and comfortable and wind proof, they just lack insulation for the cold here in the Colorado winter season, and it's only Dec. 3rd.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2021
by Mlab
MS Gulf Coast
Overall Rating
Nice gloves but...

These are well made and seem to be warm enough but they have no capacity to use a touch screen, which is a must for me when cycling. As much as I hated to I had to return them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/24/2020
by jdromick
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Winter Glove

I bought these gloves for cold (<40F) rides. They are toasty warm and very comfortable. I would not use them for above 50F, as they would be too warm. I road yesterday at 36F and they were very nice.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/26/2021
by Luv2Ride
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Gloves for winter cycling

I use these for my winter cycling. Gloves fit great & will allow for a liner glove if needed. There is nothing that I don't like about them.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/14/2020
by Frederick Z
Royal Oak, Michigan
Overall Rating
Great Winter Gloves

In very pleased with these gloves as I ride all year round in Michigan.

Recently, I wore them on a 64 and 71 mile ride, starting at 28 degrees and avg 32 degrees for the day. Fingers were warm and toasty. When I ride in colder weather under 28 degrees I will drop in a pair of hand warmers inside the top of the gloves. Money well spent and I would recommend these gloves.

Very satisfied ??

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/4/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Gallipolis, Ohio
Value Rating
Overall Rating
freezing cold fingers!

I bought these gloves because they are rated for as low as 23 degrees. I wore yesterday, it was 38-40 degrees and my fingers were FREEZING cold on a short 30 mile ride. I am very disappointed not only because I spent a lot of time looking for a good cold weather biking glove but cost was $90. I have ski gloves that work just as well and I bought for $30.VERY DIASAPPOINTED!!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/31/2020
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Excellent winter gloves

I bought these for mountain biking without a lot of expectations and was quite pleasantly surprised overall. Fit is excellent and these are considerably warmer than I thought they'd be, figuring they'd be warm enough for the 30's at best. These have kept my fingers warm down below 20 degrees, which is saying something, because my fingers run cold after getting frostbite while mountaineering some 20 years ago.

About the only thing these could be said to suffer from is a lack of padding for mountain biking, so you'll feel your bars and vibration after a long ride, since the one palm pad isn't sufficient for shock damping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/13/2020
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine coast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Well made, moderate warmth for those with cold hands

My hands run cold, not Reynauds, but colder than average. These well made and comfortable gloves are excellent for cycling down to about 45F, and to 25F for running. I'm not so sure there is really an acceptable option for me in a full fingered glove to the mid 20's for cycling other than heated gloves. Reading between the lines of numerous reviews for many a warm winter glove, I sense none of them are really suitable for cycling below freezing if your hands tend to run cold. I'll wear shorts and short sleeves if it's 55-60, but opt for light full fingered gloves as the first warm layer to consider.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2017
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good cool weather gloves

Great wrist coverage and pretty good fit for me. They are tight on the end of my thumbs, but so are all my gloves and mittens. My thumb tips get cold pretty much no matter what. I've used these with temps as low as 30F and am satisfied with them. Little grippy features on the palm side is nice and reflective accents, too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Better Than Most

While I don't believe anyone will ever create the perfect winter glove, these have proved to be better than many in my arsenal. I have worn these comfortably down to the freezing mark, below that I would add a wool liner or switch to a lobster claw. Above 45F (7C) I would go with something lighter. These feel solid and well-made and the long cuffs prevent gaps and help keep the cold out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2017
by year around rider
Daily Commuter
Spokane Wa.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
cold weather gloves

Spokane weather a good test and the gloves worked great

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Fairly warm gloves and good wind blockage.

Good gloves. The velcro tab is a little hard to manipulate with the gloves on.

In extreme cold you might need to put on some thin liners in addition to these gloves.

In respect to appearance, these gloves look nice and of excellent quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
They're okay.

These are marketed as very warm gloves on the coldest rides. I think Castelli needs to clarify what they interpret by the coldest rides. If you are talking about 40 degree temps these work okay. If you are talking about anything colder, recommend you look elsewhere. They are well made, but not overly warm.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/7/2017
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Warm and cover the wrists very well, but the right thumb is short - weird.

The early morning temps on my commutes the past two weeks have been in the twenties and even in the teens. Nothing keeps my numbs . . . I mean my thumbs warm. However, these are really nice gloves. Wrist coverage can be a problem for my long arms in riding position, but these provide enough coverage. I like everything about them except that the right thumb is annoyingly short and I feel like the web between thumb and forefinger is restricted therefore when reaching for the brake. It's an annoyance I'll probably tolerate until they wear out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/29/2016
by FeltF2rider
Cycling Enthusiast
EdmondsLynnwood WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very warm and fit is excellent.

Costello gloves fit my hands really well. I wear a medium and other brands tend to be just a little big and small are to tight. Costello are perfect. I have bought a few gloves for winter and always find my fingertips still get frosty. These gloves are warm and as far as being bulky, no worse than any other winter glove. I ride a Di2 bike and have a great feel for the shifting and am able to use my Garmin remote mounted on the inside of my hood as well with no problems. These were pricey but in terms of effectiveness and fit, I have already spent twice that on competitors gloves with less than favorable results. Costello is really becoming a brand I can trust for fit and quality. These are worth a look if your hands get cold with other gloves.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/22/2016
by richpen
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Warm but bulky

I wanted a glove that would keep my hands warm and protected from the wind. I do not ride in icesnow but hands get cold in below 45 degree weather. This glove worked very well even in windy conditions. You lose some dexterity but I was able to shift and brake with little effort. I have the XL and my only complaint is the fingers could be a bit longer. Overall the construction and fabric is good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 43