Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Castelli Intenso UL Shoecover

CastelliIntenso UL Shoecover(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(55%)
(45%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Reviewed 11/20/2022
by Hornbeam
Cycling Enthusiast
St Pete,FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Size chart is off, but still good

As Michigan Biker says in their review you have to put the shoe cover on first. I unzip it and put my foot through the foot hole and pull it up to where my calf muscle starts. The Castelli logo goes on the outside of the shoe. Then I put my shoe on and adjust it. I pull the shoe cover down over the shoe and fit it to the toe first. And starting at the toe I pull the sides down until i get to the heel, and at that point it is just a matter of pulling it over the shoe and securing the velcro on the botton of the shoe. I have to hold both sides of the shoe cover to get it zipped.

These are very windproof. Along with a nice winter sock I think anyone that uses these shoe covers will be pleased,

The size chart is off, but giving Castelli the benefit of the doubt I do not know how they could make it more accurate with all the shoes on the market. I wear a regular width 42.5 Lake MX241 and a 42 in the Rapha Powerweave. They are both a lot of shoe. More shoe than foot. The size chart puts me in a medium for one and someplace in between for the other. I went with a L and it is tight, but it is the right size for both pairs of shoes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/18/2022
by Alex
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice shoe cover in the cold

This is my first serious shoe cover, in terms of cold protection I have tested down to about 30F and it has been great! I bought this type of cover specifically because I use mountain bike shoes (Specialized Recon 2.0, has quite a bit of tread). It takes a bit of effort to get the cover on, but it fits nicely over the shoes with plenty of room for the shoe tread and Shimano SPD. I am a little concerned that over time taking these covers on and off will start to wear them out, but so far they seem pretty sturdy with some light use this spring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2022
by Michigan biker
Competitive Racer
Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great for shoulder season.

The gore-tex infinium fabric is very warm and somewhat water resistant for its weight/thickness and Castelli uses it well for these good-looking shoe covers. These are covers where you put them on first, then pull the front and back over your shoe. I've learned not to rush or avoid that or you risk ripping your shoe covers. I'd say these are great road and gravel covers for the shoulder season and a bit colder, but might be a bit delicate for abusive mtb and under-insulated for (Michigan) winter.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/12/2022
by indiecycle
Cycling Enthusiast
Walla Walla, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Warm and Dry Feet

Bought on Sale. Have worn a few times, temp down to 40F and max of 60F. Nice quality, feet are happy, the covers are not loose but they fit well on my size 43 shoes. Maybe I am even faster because the covers are more aero? One can only hope!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/6/2022
by Robert L
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fit was a bit too big

This is easily 5 stars for me, but I wear an 11.5 shoe and found the 2XL recommended in the size chart too big on my lace up road shoes. I hope my mtb shoes will fill them out a bit more. I'm buying them again in XL, but in Black this time as that is the color they have left for me in my size. The Orange color booties I purchased the first time were nice as they matched my POC Omni Air Spin - Zinc White/ Orange AVIP color helmet. Oh well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2022
by Robert L
NYC
Overall Rating
Nice booties

The fit seemed one size too big. Just the right amount of warmth. They are great booties to finish off your Castelli winter kit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2021
by Late Night
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to put on, warm, quality materials

I got these to take the chill off my usually cold feet, and they do the trick. I don't use them in the rain, but they have been good in mist / wet roads. As for fit, I got the XLs to cover Fizik VENTO INFINITO KNIT CARBON 2 in 45.5 and they could be a little tighter for my tastes, but definitely no flapping. They go on easily, stay put, and are very orange on my moving feet, recommended.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/17/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Not bad at all!

These are doing the job even when it's wet out. Easier to get on than some I've had. Only maybe 6 rides on them, but they look like they'll be durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/27/2022
by Control Freak
Cycling Enthusiast
Hilly East Tennessee
Overall Rating
Fits like a glove! (if you size up)

Most shoe covers are either too thin or too bulky. These Intenso UL covers hit the right balance between protection, fit and comfort. The Gore-Tex Infimum fabric is the same as my riding vest and jacket and it really works to block out wind, snow and cold. One ride I was on recently was slushy and the covers got really wet and my feet got pretty cold after that. I should have put on my other thicker neoprene covers. Like everything else Castelli makes, the size is small so you should look at their size chart and get one size up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2022
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maine, USA
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good to have these

Got these covers to replace my well-worn Castelli Toe-Thingy covers which were not enough for the weather here in Maine. These are a big improvement in comfort... cold still gets in but a lot less and is now tolerable on 2 to 4 hour rides. These are very tight and probably need to be - I got the size "L" and they just fit with a lot of effort on my size 44 Fizik road shoes. Once they are fitted, it is clear that "L" is the right size, but it is a bit of a struggle at first. Overall, very happy with these covers. The eye-sore yellow color is a big addition to my being visible to distracted drivers too.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/21/2022
by Uros
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington NC
Overall Rating
Weather, wind and cold proof

Exactly what I needed to keep my feet warm during the winter months ! Love Castelli gear !

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 49

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]