Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
Blackburn Road Mirror

BlackburnRoad Mirror(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(19 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(3)
(3)
(3)
(3)
(37%)
(16%)
(16%)
(16%)
(16%)

User submitted reviews

Review by BikerBill

Reviewed 2/5/2024
by BikerBill
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Used these for years - critical for safety.

Large mirror provides a good view of what's happening behind. Easily removed and re-installed w/ tools. Major issue is the mounting piece breaks easily if the bike falls over to the left. Mirrors themselves are pretty robust. Have a modest collection of orphaned mirrors. (Blackburn has actually replaced a couple of these for free over the years. Good customer service!)

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike from SB

Reviewed 3/21/2022
by Mike from SB
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Scared me silly

On flat smooth pavement works well. BUT on a fast downhill the pavement unexpectedly turned very rough and I needed to brake quickly. I could not immediately get my hand around the base of the mirror to grab the brake lever before I reached the rough patch. What should have been a moderately quick slowdown turned into a exciting ride that I do not want to repeat. I immediately removed the mirror and put it I my back pocket. I will use during leisurely rides around the neighborhood but that is it.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by patsdiner

Reviewed 3/21/2023
by patsdiner
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fun house mirror

I've been a long time fan of the previous iteration of the road mirror. I purchase three new ones, only to discover they've changed the design. You know that distorted passenger side mirror on your car? The "Things may be closer than they appear" one? Yeah, they did that with a bike mirror. Equally as useless. Do you want a car closer then it appears when your on a bike? Wrote to Blackburn about it, got indifference.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 10/19/2020
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Terrible quality control -- blurry mirror

I've used this brand for years but at least once every few years I knock my bike over and break it. This time when the replacement arrived it was clear that the manufacturing specs have changed. It came with a protective film which I removed yet the mirror was terrible and distorted badly. I contacted Blackburn and they said they'd replace it but it's been on backorder there for over 2 months... I've had poor experiences with Blackburn in the past 2 years but this is the only mirror that fits my bike nicely so I'll have to be patient.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BK

Reviewed 8/6/2020
by BK
Daily Commuter
Midwest USA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Horrible distortion

I've used Blackburn road mirrors for 10 years or so. Unfortunately I tend to break mine every few years, mostly due to carelessness. I just received my latest replacement from BTD (great fast service!) and boy was I disappointed. Clearly they are no longer the same quality. The distortion is so bad I can't make out traffic behind me clearly at all (and yes, I did remove the clear protective film that ships on the mirror.)

Blackburn's quality has nosedived in the past few years as I've learned from the panniers I bought that suffered from both zipper and mounting hardware failure in less than a year. Ugh.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bryan

Reviewed 10/28/2021
by Bryan
Hillsboro, OR
Overall Rating
Good mirror

Glass is clear. Shape is perfect. I like the added reflector. Holds position and doesn't vibrate.

The only think I don't like is it seems the clip that straps to your shifter was designed before modern shifter gained some girth (the edges of the clip land on the center of the shifter instead of wrapping around at all, but the Velcro still holds it just fine). So fit isn't perfect. But it works. I use it every day.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 9/9/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Excellent

Works great

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bcyspec

Reviewed 7/18/2017
by Bcyspec
Cycling Enthusiast
Decatur Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Not sure

I purchased this and the mirror glass just fell out and broke after a couple hundred miles on my roadbike , I contacted Bike Tires Direct and they apologized and said they sent me a replacement hope it stays together. I was impressed with their willingness to help.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TD

Reviewed 7/13/2021
by TD
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
A very flexible product.

I ordered this product because I have a very unique bike frame that does not allow for standard mirrors to be attached. This product allows me the flexibility I need to have mirrors that attach easily to my bike frame in a safe and useful manner and location on my bike.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 11/8/2013
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Naples Florida
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Full View

I use this mirror for touring because it provides a full scale, accurate reflection. All others I have found represent vehicles as farther back, faster moving and more difficult to pick up. If the bike falls the mirror will usually be broken so the trade off is that some others are more durable. I carry a spare and buy a couple when on sale but the crystal clear accuracy is well worth it on the open road. I have ridden across the country 7 times and this product is as important as the right tires.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JARHEAD

Reviewed 4/22/2019
by JARHEAD
Cycling Enthusiast
the villages, fl.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
easy to install

multiple mounting options, easy to install, good clarity

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dr. Courtenelli

Reviewed 6/21/2018
by Dr. Courtenelli
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Any bump makes this one droop

This is a great mirror for someone who wants to be distracted from the road, traffic and other riders as you'll constantly be reaching down to readjust the mirror.

A bump in the road makes it droop.

Expansion joints in the road makes it droop.

Riding on concrete roads makes it droop.

A smooth road with a minor anything makes it droop.

Did I mention it can't be tightened enough to keep it from (...wait for it) drooping?

I liked the optics, but I'm sending it back.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Johanzel

Reviewed 6/4/2018
by Johanzel
Casual Cyclist
Bay Point, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Safety is the reason for rear view mirrors!

Easy to set up and provides security on traffic lanes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by laidbackrider

Reviewed 10/26/2014
by laidbackrider
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay SF area
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
good optics, mount is OK

The optics on this mirror are great, however I had problems getting the universal joint tight enough to hold on bumpy roads.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by EVILJOKER

Reviewed 8/8/2013
by EVILJOKER
Cycling Enthusiast
north Iowa
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
i love this rearview mirror, wish i'd bought one for my right side! it survied IOWAS RAGBRAI!

I've installed it on my surly long haul trucker touring bike. its an awesome product and easly removed .

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Murray Montreal.

Review for Blackburn 2012 Road Mirror
Reviewed 1/31/2013
by Murray Montreal.
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Florida and Montreal
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
I wouldn't ride without it.

My club mates insisted that I get this mirror if I were going to cycle in a pace-line. Frankly, I was hesitant. Now that I have it, I've become dependent on it for safety and security. Further, I can call out the Car Back warning when I am riding at the tail of the line and I can see that we are All In. I think it's a necessary.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 7/16/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Always needs to be adjusted

This mirror just didn�t work for me when you strap it on youre good and then as soon as you start riding the view is jiggly and it never stays put it seems like I always had to adjust it and it would get out of adjustment about every two or three minutes.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by THE BRAD

Reviewed 3/15/2021
by THE BRAD
Cycling Enthusiast
ST. LOUIS, MO
Overall Rating
THE RIGHT PRICE FOR GOOD VALUE

THIS IS THE 3RD MIRROR NOW I HAVE ONE ONE EACH BIKE

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by TruElvis

Review for Blackburn 2012 Road Mirror
Reviewed 12/24/2012
by TruElvis
Cycling Enthusiast
Princeton, NJ
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Will not fit if you have Dura-ace hood

This product will not fit on a bike with a Dura-Ace 7900 hoods. The end that you are supposed to attach to the brake hood is too curve to wrap properly around it. It's too bad because the rest of the product looks to be well made.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]