Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Bell Stratus MIPS Helmet

BellStratus MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(14)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(58%)
(35%)
(5%)
(0%)
(3%)
Reviewed 8/30/2021
by CrankyNinja
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Affordable MIPS - comfortable enough

Traded up to this as I wanted a MIPS helment for a multi-day road ride. Previous was a Bell Solar (non-MIPS), which I liked, so I stuck with the Bell line. The Stratus is a much larger helmet, which does feel a bit strange at first, but it is comfortable and vents well. Supply was limited, so I compromised on my color preference, and ended up with a white helmet. I am finding it difficult to get both straps through the included holder (will probably require some tools to guide it through), but otherwise no complaints.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/13/2021
by Jim
Overall Rating
Great Deal

Great fit em true to size (L), great price , smooth delivery

Thumbs up!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2021
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Light, good helmet. Needs longer straps though.

Overall I'd say that this is a really good helmet, as is usually the case with Bell helmets. It's lightweight, breathes extremely well and has good airflow. Fits my big noggin well, without pinching anywhere, even when I'm wearing a skullcap. Good price point for a MIPS helmet.

The only drawbacks I've run into with it to date in the six or so months I've worn it, factoring 150+ miles of riding per week, is that I'm noticing some minor degradation of the styrofoam in spots, and as others have mentioned, the chin straps are too short for my liking.

This latter aspect I think may be from Bell overcompensating for having too-long straps for many years, but they erred too far in the other direction and need to find a happier middle ground. On the size large and with my height face, I have a mere 1-1.5 inches or so of strap outside the buckle when the strap is fairly snug under my chin/jaw, which isn't very much and too little for my liking. I'm not sure this helmet will work for me in the Winter with a thicker skull cap on as a result of the overly short straps. Hopefully Bell remedies this in their next iteration of the helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/16/2021
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Quality

This is a quality helmet. Helps keep the head cool on hot days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/15/2021
by sk
Cycling Enthusiast
arizona
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great venting and weight...excellent value!

This helmet has great venting and airflow. Its light weight is really close to the higher priced Z-series Bell, but a lot cheaper! Excellent value in a competitive helmet market!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/9/2021
by Deanwalter
Vancouver Island
Overall Rating
Great value but not a race helmet

I own the Z20 and now the Stratus. The Z20 is a superior helmet but the Stratus is still a good helmet. I purchased the Stratus for foul weather gravel riding. The helmet fits my rounded forehead well. The straps were an ample length. I saw reviews that said the straps were too short. The fit adjustment dial is easy to use. I'm able to comfortably wear a skull cap and a hooded baselayer underneath the helmet. My two biggest issues with the helmet are 1) the vents aren't spaced to hold sunglasses securely and 2) the helmet is somewhat bulbous and not streamlined. Even with these two issues I still like the Stratus a lot. It is reasonably priced mid range helmet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/25/2021
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable protection

fits true to size, fits my rounder head shape - no hot spots on the forehead or temples. Good ventilation.

only issue (minor) my Oakley flak jacket shades don't mount securely, but not a bid deal.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by JPE
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Springs
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Pros & Cons

First, BTD did a great job filling the order and shipping the product as ordered. The product itself has some issues. The chin strap is too short. I wear a skull cap and the adjustable end of the strap just clears the buckle with no excess to fit in the keeper. I contacted Bell and their response was that I was not wearing the helmet properly. I have been riding bikes for 60 years and 40 of them have been with a helmet without exception. I know how to wear a helmet. When winter comes I plan to wear a heavier head covering, which will not work with the strap as currently configured. I am looking for an extender to resolve that issue. The second issue is that the MIPS fit is different than the predecessor design. The helmet needs to sit somewhat back on the head to keep the helmet from sliding too far forward on the suspension. Otherwise it starts to come over the eyebrow. That issue I have adjusted to. I was surprised that given Bell's great history they did not want to work a bit harder to resolve this issue as it does affect rider safety. Nothing stays the same, it appears.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/19/2019
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Nice helmet

This helmet looks great and fits good once you pull down the inner liner. After I had it a couple weeks the tightening strap broke and came loose at the back. I sent it back to BTD and they are sending a new one. Hopefully it will last. I like the way it looks. Also I agree that the chin strap could be longer. It pulls out if you are not careful. Other than that once you have it on you forget it is there and don't think about it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/7/2019
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Super Comfortable, Unsure Of Color Lifespan

Very comfortable helmet and I only have two complaints about it. 1) I miss the slight sun visor built into my last helmet. This is something I can live with, though. 2) In 7 months of use, the color is noticeably fading. I bought the Retina Sear version and the back is now much lighter than the front from sun bleaching. No apparent damage to the out plastic shell.

Overall, I think this is an excellent choice for a helmet. Mine sees daily use, 160 miles (255 km) week, and once I strap it on, I don't notice I'm wearing it. The air vents provide good air flow, something important here in the desert SW, to keep you cool, even when working hard in the heat. I just wish the color had held up better.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/13/2020
by Gustav
SW FLA
Overall Rating
overall a very good helmet

It's got great safety reviews. it fits comfortably, well ventilated, & despite what the negative reviews say, I have no problem getting my sunglasses into the vents when I need to store them while rolling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/15/2018
by R Evans
Daily Commuter
Palo Alto CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Great fit, but chin strap is too short

I bought this helmet for the MIPS feature. Previously I wore a Bell Sweep helmet, which I really like.

I find that Bell helmets (more oblong) fit my head shape better than Gyro helmets (more circular). For my wife it is the opposite.

I found that the Stratus helmet fit me as well as my Sweep helmet, except for a too short chin strap. In adjusting the chin strap, I barely had enough strap to pass through the clasp and fold back on itself into the plastic strap retainer. It seems to stay on during my ride, but will often get loose when I release the clasp. I worry that, if I am in an accident, the accident forces might release the strap and I might lose the helmet when I need it most. There should be at least a half inch more strap. This was not a problem on my previous Bell Sweep helmet.

The Bike Tire Direct price was very good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/17/2018
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Choice To Protect Your Head!

Been logging a lot of time in this helmet over the last few weeks, since I bought it. I'm only going to dock it half a point and on only one area sweat control. Yes, I do get a nice air flow over my head, but the built-in pads dogged saturated, nonetheless. Not a major deal as I've learned to lean to the side and press the brow of the helmet to drain the excess sweat.

Fit is easily adjustable, comfort level is excellent, and the helmet is light, to the point I do not notice I'm wearing one. An added plus is that bright color give you a real high visibility if you share the road with motor vehicles.

If you value what's inside your head, this is the helmet to protect it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/24/2020
by mike g
Cycling Enthusiast
Nebo,NC
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Nice fit and value

Initial appearance and fit are as expected. I was getting close to needing a new helmet and the sale price persuaded me in the purchase.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/5/2020
by Tim O''
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Adjustment wheel and straps broke after a few uses.

Started out fine but after a few wears the adjustment straps came free for the adjustment wheel and won't catch back in so the helmet is now useless.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/6/2019
by TNRoadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Bristol, TN
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is my favorite helmet.

I have used several different helmets, including other models made by Bell. The Stratus is the best yet. It fits securely, is lightweight, has plenty of ventilation and this model even includes MIPS. I am very happy with this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/1/2019
by GL biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Atascadero, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Really Good Helmet

This helmet fits well and is comfortable as well as stylish. It is good it has the Mipps protection as well. I highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2018
by Jim D, Michigan
Cycling Enthusiast
West Michigan
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic! Light, well ventilated, fit perfectly out of the box, easy to adjust. Liked it so well, I bought 2!

Road Cycling. Can't think of anything I don't like about it. One of the best helmets I've owned and a great value for the price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/8/2018
by Cyclomama
virginia
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great helmet

Bought this one because Virginia Tech says it tested at the top of their crash worthiness tests. Its comfortable and looks good too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2018
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Roanoke, VA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable and safe

This is one of the safest helmets according to a Virginia Tech study. It's also very comfortable to wear. Overall, I'm very glad to have it and it's a big upgrade from my old brain bucket.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 40

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]