Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LISTSign Up
Bike Tires Direct logo. Link to homepage.
Serving cyclists
since 2002
Ass Savers ASR-1 Fender Regular

Ass SaversASR-1 Fender Regular(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(0)
(1)
(1)
(6)
(53%)
(0%)
(6%)
(6%)
(35%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Rick

Reviewed 3/3/2022
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua NH.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Did not stay on my Brooks c15 saddle.

Would not fit saddle kept falling off. Had to ride back to find it once. Finally stuck it in my jersey pocket. Supposed to fit any saddle. I have a Brooks c15 saddle. I read this particular fender was designed for Brooks saddles. Would not recommend unless you can try it on at the bike shop to see if it fits before buying.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevo

Reviewed 12/30/2022
by Kevo
sf bar area
Overall Rating
I've never had one of these stay on the bike

I think this on flew off my bike after 15 minutes. I guess I need to be smarter than the ass saver.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cubby Hotep

Reviewed 1/19/2019
by Cubby Hotep
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Totally Depends upon the Saddle

Great idea but there are so many variables that contribute to if this will work on your bike it is kinda hit and miss. First of all, they don't hold up in really really cold weather. They break. I had one on a fat bike and I pitched it in the snow. The bike flopped over, and the fender complete shattered. Packed it home and tossed it.

Secondly these things really depend upon your saddle. The rails the width of the rails, the thickness. I typically have to cut a small notch in the fender so it will stay put. Otherwise it can and will just fall off. If you sharpie your cut marks and use zip ties you can get them to stay put. Cu

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Greg S

Reviewed 11/15/2018
by Greg S
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love this. The perfect size. Works!

A little tuff getting it secured under the rails of my seat. The size is so small, yet it works perfectly for all but the deepest ponds. Very aero too. Love it!

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevo

Reviewed 12/30/2022
by Kevo
sf bar area
Overall Rating
I�ve never had one of these stay on the bike

I think this on flew off my bike after 15 minutes. I guess I need to be smarter than the ass saver.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/3/2018
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Simple and effective

This device is easy to slip on and off or carry in a jersey pocket if rain is threatening. It is not a full coverage fender but keeps your shorts and jersey from absorbing road spray. It weighs next to nothing, and avoiding a waterlogged chamois is well worth the price.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by spartan_Cyclist

Reviewed 1/20/2018
by spartan_Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Doesn't secure well

This seems like such a great idea. Maybe too good to be true.

Well, I purchased the ass saver and gave it a shot. But during my first ride with the ass saver I lost the fender.

I suspect that the fender secures more strongly to certain bikes over others.

I would suggest looking to a slightly more expensive fender which securely attaches to the seat post.

Just to describe the ride I was on. I was on a training ride on a bike path on a fairly windy day. So I suspect my speed and crosswinds were too much for the ass saver.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ray

Reviewed 12/21/2017
by Ray
Daily Commuter
Auburn, N.Y.
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
Doesn't fold well to lock in like the instructions claim. Holes have to be drilled for zip ties.

It needs a more realistic system to install it without loosing the product down the road.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by cyclehaven9w

Reviewed 8/28/2017
by cyclehaven9w
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Easy to Set Up, Good to have for emergencies

This product won't keep you 100% dry, as full fenders would, but that's not the purpose of it. It's an ass-saver for a reason. Construction seems sturdy. It doesn't take up much room as it can fold under your seat when not in use.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by wilybilds

Reviewed 5/31/2019
by wilybilds
Daily Commuter
Queens NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
flimsy

seems like the cheapest piece of crap ....surprised BTD even sells this .Doubt it could be more flimsy if made of cardboard. returning this immediately

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MattSL3

Review for Ass Savers Original Fender
Reviewed 4/4/2016
by MattSL3
Cycling Enthusiast
MIAMI FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
No more muddy back.

This thing works great!!! It keeps the spray and mud from your rear tire off of your butt and back. It's super light and is easy to install. I put it on when the streets are wet or I know it's going to rain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Forbes William

Reviewed 1/23/2023
by Forbes William
Tennessee
Overall Rating
Simple

Must have for any cycling endeavors, yeah get one and share the great clean backside ??

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reviewed 5/4/2020
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Totally useless!

I have had two of these. Neither lasted more than a couple of miles.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Sorry to hear, feel free to reach out to our Customer Service for help. WBW
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Barbara

Reviewed 5/1/2018
by Barbara
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston MA
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
works great, easy, convenient

easy to use and store.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by slimjim

Reviewed 2/8/2018
by slimjim
Cycling Enthusiast
san francisco, ca.
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
A ass savers for sure !

A ass savers for sure !! lost my old one to wind. Gen. 4 front tap, is a improve and update from the previous ones.

easy to use, stored anywhere.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by michaeltaman

Review for Ass Savers Original Fender
Reviewed 2/10/2017
by michaeltaman
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate N.Y. , a little north of Utica
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
GREAT IDEA !

I do a charity ride, Ride For Missing Children in upstate N.Y. It involves many training rides in all diff weather conditions . This product is perfect to put in my jersey to have when it starts to rain.

Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Review for Ass Savers Original Fender
Reviewed 1/5/2017
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Portlandia
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Simple solution

Unlike some other riders, I love the Ass Saver! It's lightweight, easy to put on, easy to carry. And cheap. It does a decent job of keeping your rear dry, and saves you the hassle of putting on full fenders. Your riding mates might get sprayed if they ride too close, but they'll figure it out.

Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Fri). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 1

5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]