Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Arundel Rubber Gecko Handlebar Tape

ArundelRubber Gecko Handlebar Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(34)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(2)
(85%)
(8%)
(3%)
(0%)
(5%)
Reviewed 10/3/2019
by Norcal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Love this tape

First of all, in the sea of bar tape that is out there, this stuff is reasonably priced. This tape offers a good grip on the bars. I tend to sweat alot (I ride in a hot weather area). The sweat drips down my hands like a river. Solved the problem with this tape. It cushions the ride, I think it makes my bike ride better. I always have a hard time applying tape. This was a tad difficult to install for me, but no more or less than other tape. I cleaned my bars with alcohol first. When I was finished I noticed that I had a gap in the drops and had to rewrap one side. The tape pulled off, but the adhesive backing stayed put on the bars. But in went back o.k. without tearing the tape. You can pull hard without risk of breaking the tape. I love the feel of this stuff. I was thinking of buying it before and was swayed by the good reviews on BTD. This is my new go to tape. Try it, you'll like it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/11/2021
by Overlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Lecko my Gecko!

I'd been using the "regular" Arundel Gecko bar tape for a few years, but always had slight problems getting it to lay flat on the curves, and it was prone to getting snagged, resulting in minor tears. So I tried this Rubber Gecko, and I like it much better. It wraps quite well, just about as well as any tape I have used. It provides good cushioning without feeling bulky, I think. It seems more resistant to snags and tears. It provides a good grip, even when wet. So far, it seems like it will last a long time. I expect that I will keep buying it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by Normandy biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great hand feel

I like the nubby surface of the tape. A bonus is the extra length which I used the closely wrap the tape around the top handlebar curve. The material appears to be of good quality. Not sure of the tapes long term durability, have only been using it for 2 months.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2020
by Scotty K
Boston
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
My Go To Tape

After many years of trying various tapes (Fizik, Cinelli, Brooks, etc.), this has become my go to on my cross, road and commuter bikes. I love the tacky feel in the cold or wet, muddy CX races with just the right cushioning. Perfect for New England riding

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/22/2021
by NickSlyness
Daily Commuter
Austin
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Favorite new tape

Local bike shop put this on one of my bikes in for service last year. Switched all my road bikes to this. Really like the feel. It does wear a bit after 1000s of miles, but not enough to detract from my overall high rating of this tape.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/14/2021
by rgsheldon
Fallbrook , Ca
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great bar tape.

This is my favorite bar tape. One great asset is that there is plenty of tape to wrap you bar thoroughly .

It is very pliable and therefore wraps tightly to the bar. I also love the comfort. It has the perfect texture to be suitable on sunny days and wet days.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/6/2021
by John
Viera, Florida
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Grippy tape with cushion

Very pleased with this bar tape for grip

In all weather plus the cushion feel it gives. Seems to be outlasting my other tapes and holding up very well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/26/2021
by Nick
Colorado
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Tough Tape that isn't Cork

Criminally cheap tape with fantastic feel and durability. Wish they did purple.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/28/2020
by Charlie
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.
Horrible bar tape

The bar tape is a rubber film with a sticky foam backing. The rubber film comes off the foam backing very easily. If you have to make any adjustments while wrapping your bars, then it will tear. Additionally, it leaves a royal mess on your bars when you take it off. It is by far the worst bar tape I have ever used in 20+ years of cycling. Not worth $0.25.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Very good

Very easy to apply

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Ron
Cycling Enthusiast
Ann Arbor, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Confident grip

Getting older and looking for more hand comfort. The tape provides a good grip and is comfortable, but I also put it over Specialized Phat bar gel. My handle bars look swollen, not exactly a combination if you have aero bars, but it works for me. Absorbs the vibration while still providing a confident grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by NB Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Comfortable bar tape

I picked this tape hoping for a good grip through our sweaty summer months. They were great through the summer with retaining their grip with the sweat running hard in the summer. Seemed to shed water and sweat more than absorbing. They still look like new after a few months of wear. Nicely padded for extra comfort on the rough country roads we often ride on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2020
Competitive Racer
Louisiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
This is a very good bar tape the go to.

This product is the best that I have used. I use it on my road bike and have installed on many others seem to be a hit for every one of them. the softness of feel and durability of this product make it my go to bar tape. It seems to be a popular bar tape all around and some times hard to get in that it's sold out often.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
nice tape

If you are someone who likes a great grip with a little cushion, this is it. I replaced tape that used gel strips and this has a better feel to it all on its own.

Overall Rating 5 Value Rating 0
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by Wa_biker
Seattle
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Love this stuff!

Not cheap, but it lasts me at least year of riding (5000 miles). Easy to put on and feels great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2021
by William.Lonergan
Overall Rating
Excellent product

Arundel rubber Gecko handlebar tape that l purchased has great grip is not slippery and excellent cushioning I highly recommend it,props to BikeTiresDirect

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/29/2020
by Mike J.
Competitive Racer
Kalamazoo,MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great tape for gravel!!

I'm using this bar tape on my gravel race bike. The tape was one of the easiest to apply and it is very grippy! Should come in handy when the going gets rough and/or wet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by CR
No. NJ
Overall Rating
Comfortable & long lasting bar tape

Arundel bar tape looks great and feels very securee. This grip tape holds well when wet as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2020
by Anonymous
Earth
Overall Rating
Arundel Rubber Gecko tape, black

I would not describe it as being 'soft' or 'comfy' even though it is a bit thickish. But nevertheless it is serviceable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2019
by Scotty K
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tape

I've used Fizik, Cinelli, and other brands, and this has become my favorite for my road and cross bikes. Especially for cross, when it's wetmuddy, I like the feel of this tape when you need to control your bike

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 22

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 800-682-0570 | [email protected]