Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Arundel Rubber Gecko Handlebar Tape

ArundelRubber Gecko Handlebar Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(83%)
(10%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)
Reviewed 11/12/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Very good

Very easy to apply

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/16/2020
by Ron
Cycling Enthusiast
Ann Arbor, MI
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Confident grip

Getting older and looking for more hand comfort. The tape provides a good grip and is comfortable, but I also put it over Specialized Phat bar gel. My handle bars look swollen, not exactly a combination if you have aero bars, but it works for me. Absorbs the vibration while still providing a confident grip.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/3/2019
by Norcal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Auburn Ca
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Love this tape

First of all, in the sea of bar tape that is out there, this stuff is reasonably priced. This tape offers a good grip on the bars. I tend to sweat alot (I ride in a hot weather area). The sweat drips down my hands like a river. Solved the problem with this tape. It cushions the ride, I think it makes my bike ride better. I always have a hard time applying tape. This was a tad difficult to install for me, but no more or less than other tape. I cleaned my bars with alcohol first. When I was finished I noticed that I had a gap in the drops and had to rewrap one side. The tape pulled off, but the adhesive backing stayed put on the bars. But in went back o.k. without tearing the tape. You can pull hard without risk of breaking the tape. I love the feel of this stuff. I was thinking of buying it before and was swayed by the good reviews on BTD. This is my new go to tape. Try it, you'll like it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2020
by NB Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Comfortable bar tape

I picked this tape hoping for a good grip through our sweaty summer months. They were great through the summer with retaining their grip with the sweat running hard in the summer. Seemed to shed water and sweat more than absorbing. They still look like new after a few months of wear. Nicely padded for extra comfort on the rough country roads we often ride on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/25/2020
by Normandy biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great hand feel

I like the nubby surface of the tape. A bonus is the extra length which I used the closely wrap the tape around the top handlebar curve. The material appears to be of good quality. Not sure of the tapes long term durability, have only been using it for 2 months.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by CR
No. NJ
Overall Rating
Comfortable & long lasting bar tape

Arundel bar tape looks great and feels very securee. This grip tape holds well when wet as well.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/27/2020
by Scotty K
Boston
Overall Rating
My Go To Tape

After many years of trying various tapes (Fizik, Cinelli, Brooks, etc.), this has become my go to on my cross, road and commuter bikes. I love the tacky feel in the cold or wet, muddy CX races with just the right cushioning. Perfect for New England riding

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2020
Competitive Racer
Louisiana
Value Rating
Overall Rating
This is a very good bar tape the go to.

This product is the best that I have used. I use it on my road bike and have installed on many others seem to be a hit for every one of them. the softness of feel and durability of this product make it my go to bar tape. It seems to be a popular bar tape all around and some times hard to get in that it's sold out often.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 9/8/2020
by Anonymous
Earth
Overall Rating
Arundel Rubber Gecko tape, black

I would not describe it as being 'soft' or 'comfy' even though it is a bit thickish. But nevertheless it is serviceable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 6/18/2020
by Wa_biker
Seattle
Overall Rating
Love this stuff!

Not cheap, but it lasts me at least year of riding (5000 miles). Easy to put on and feels great.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/20/2020
by John Wilson
woodbridge va
Overall Rating
Rubber Gecko bar tape - fair price and I love the feel

Purchased this for my road bike and love it, perfect feel for comfort and a secure grip

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/10/2020
by Mark K
Cycling Enthusiast
Omaha, NE
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Really like this Tape!

This tape has a great feel and has lasted longer then other tape I have used in the past. I will definitly continue to use in the future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/14/2018
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
nice tape

If you are someone who likes a great grip with a little cushion, this is it. I replaced tape that used gel strips and this has a better feel to it all on its own.

Overall Rating 5 Value Rating 0
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/19/2019
by Scotty K
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great Tape

I've used Fizik, Cinelli, and other brands, and this has become my favorite for my road and cross bikes. Especially for cross, when it's wetmuddy, I like the feel of this tape when you need to control your bike

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/17/2019
by VinnieS
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Best Handlebar tape, period!

Put on my gravel bike. Provides plenty of cushon and feels sticky. Haven't ridden in rain yet, but assume it will provide a secure grip. Kept the package in my shop so I don't forget what I used. Will eventually convert all my bikes to this as I replace bar tape.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/28/2018
by Old Dan
Daily Commuter
Llano Estacado, TX
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Best bar tape I've used

I've used lots of different bar coverings, cloth tapes from the '70's, foam tubes (ugh!) and plastic tapes that were all the rage in the '80's, modern manufacture cork tapes by Cinelli and Specialized and others, and perforated synthetic leather tapes. In comparison to other tape this Arundel Rubber product is significantly easier to wrap. Its stretchiness gives you more leeway to make nice even wraps the entire span of a drop bar regardless of whether you're on a straight or curved section. There's less need to undo and redo and pull hard on a wrap because one side of the tape isn't down tight to the bar. And the finished bar has a nice feel, with good grip and cushion. Unfortunately I can't write from personal experience about long term performance because I put this tape on my Italvega single speed build, and my son liked it so much he took the bike to school. He rides the heck out of that bike in all kinds of weather and I've heard only praise, so that's a strong endorsement.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 12/20/2018
by andy
Competitive Racer
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
only bar tape I have used the last 3 years

previously, I used the FIZIK 3mm thick bar tape with the fizik silicone padding add-on underneath. I like the extra cushioning for my hands without the bulk as well as the cleanability. at the rec of my bike shop, I tried the Arundel Rubber Gecko Handlebar Tape. it has the same cushioning as my previous set up, but is more durable and easier to keep clean than the fizik. it also less slippery. I presently have it on both my bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/3/2018
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Fantastic product! The only bar tape I use now.

The bar tape wraps beautifully and is super comfortable. I have it on three bikes currently and absolutely love it! It also looks great and is very durable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/12/2018
by MikeW
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Great grip great price!

Its a good deal! its a great grip! It would be great if it was 10-15$ but I paid about 20$ Def grippy feel and holds up well. I only installed it a few weeks ago but so far so good!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/25/2019
by Eric
Cycling Enthusiast
Arvada, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Wore Out in 30 Days

This bar tape wore out in 30 days. The tape is embossed with Arundel. Where your hands touch the embossed part is where the grips wore out. I have never had a grip tape wear this fast.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50 are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 95