Mon-Sat 8am-5pm PT
FREE SHIPPING ON ORDERS OVER $50More info
JOIN OUR EMAIL LIST
Sign Up
Serving cyclists
since 2002
WISH
0
Arundel Gecko Grip Handlebar Tape

ArundelGecko Grip Handlebar Tape(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(16)
(9)
(3)
(2)
(3)
(48%)
(27%)
(9%)
(6%)
(9%)
Reviewed 10/23/2020
by Christopher
Western Pennsylvania
Overall Rating
Great feeling tape with one fatal flaw

I love the texture, the color, the very slight amount of stretchy-ness (may not be enough for some BUT it never feels as if it's going to rip), the amount of padding - almost all of it. The issue is that as soon as you try to reposition it even a little bit, the topmost layer starts to peel off. Like, instantly. And there's an unsightly difference between the top veneer and the layer underneath. So you've got to get it exactly right the first time, and forget about ever reusing it. That's a big miss for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/8/2021
by Old and in the way
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville, Tennessee
Value Rating
Overall Rating
Bright color and comfortable

I purchased the red tape. Bright color, easy to install and comfortable to the touch. It is starting to get dirty so I will try some soap and water on it to so how it cleans up and holds up.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/5/2014
by CA cx racer
Competitive Racer
San Jose, CA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.
Great feel, adequate padding, excellent price, easy installation

I've tried everyones bar tape. I like most of them, some are more durable with less padding and grip, some softer with more padding but don't last. Since I change tape annually or semi annually on three different bikes I usually look for a good value. The Arundel Gecko Grip tape appears to be just what I was looking for. Great feel with adequate padding. It was easy to install with the sticky backing. Didn't have to stretch the tape to much while wrapping. Never felt like the tape was going to rip while installing. I haven't had them on my bars long enough to speak to durability. I am using the tape on my cross bike for racing and find they provide good cushioning and grip. We are in a drought here in CA so I haven't raced them in the rain yet. Overall rating of four stars because I haven't had them long enough to consider durability.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/13/2020
by mike_ely
Berkeley
Overall Rating
Good quality but too much branding

I purchased this because I liked the random pattern and color, however when it arrived I saw how large and repetitive the logo is so I stashed it as a set of spares.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/2/2020
by Anonymous
Overall Rating
Not bad!

This tape is great for my commuter. I prefer a little more cushion for longer rides but this tape works great on my secondary bike. Recommend for sure.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/21/2020
by Eddielou
metro Detroit
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Started deterioration in a week

Very poor production. I literally had it on a week and it started peeling off the handlebar near the brake lever. Already had to replace it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/23/2017
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Good grip, good comfort, not easy to wrap

Been using this Gecko Grip for about three years - probably four cycles of new tape - so I like it enough to buy it again, a few times. Only issue is wrapping - the tape is does not flex very well and wrapping around curves leaves some gaps and bumps (or maybe I just can't wrap well...). Once on, the padding is just what I want with gloves, and pretty good without gloves on shorter rides that I have done without gloves. The texture is good, easy to get a good grip, but not tacky or sticky. The tape lasts about three-quarters of a year for me (a year is about 5k miles), and sometimes I push it and develop wear-spots above the levers that let other riders know I have been riding! Would like tape that wraps better, but otherwise this tape is very good.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 5/9/2016
by EmbodiedDespair
Competitive Racer
San Bernardino, California
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Thin, comfortable and very sexy!

I've been using Arundel gecko grip since I got my road bike, about 7,000 miles ago. I've only chanced it twice. Once, because the red tape was way too dirty. The second time, I crashed and messed up a large portion of the tape, so I wanted new tape to replace it. I'm about 2,000 miles into my current bartape and I have nothing but good things to say for it. It is easy to install, comes with absolutely gut busting instructions, the bar ends that it comes with kick hard ass and have never come out and It grips like hell, with gloves or without!

It's much thinner than I expected it to be, initially, but it has never felt uncomfortable on my hands and grips my bars like a good pair of aero lycra shorts. This tape has been with me for casual rides, training rides, crits, climbs, descents, you name it, it's been there with me! Anybody who has problems with this tape is either A) inept at putting bar tape on or B) a terrible person. I'm looking forward to throwing more of this tape on my bars in the future! Thanks, Arundel!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/5/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds WA
Value Rating
Overall Rating
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.
Worst tape ever.

This tape was bad from the start, sticky tape peeled off with white protective strip. It is nice and cushy but does not conform to the bars. Particularly around brake levers. I will stick to Fizik or Lizard Skin. More money but you get what you pay for.

BikeTiresDirect.com Comments
Hi,

Thanks for bringing up your issue with the tape. Many customers have had great luck with this tape, but your individual mileage may vary of course. We would be happy to get you set up with a different set of bar tape that you prefer, just call or email us and we'll get you rolling!

Best,

Derek

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 4/6/2015
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
los angeles
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 7 customers found this review helpful.
Thumbs down

Maybe a fluke, but, I unwrapped the first roll to install (after taking off my old tape.. bad move!, and the 'sticky' tape came off with the protective tape. Obviously, useless, as the tape would slide all over.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/30/2015
by velocaw
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Worth it just for the wrapping instructions

Great tape. As good as all of the tape that costs more. However, the wrapping instructions are awesome. Buy some for a good laugh and for quality tape.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/16/2015
by NorCal rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great feel, look

Like most of us, I have tried every tape you can think of over the years. Based on the reviews I thought I would give Arundel a shot. The downer is, it's difficult to install. The tape is thick with an adhesive backing and won't lay down flat. It's stretch is nil, so you have to overlap about 12 width and pull tight. With tape this thick I don't think it needs an adhesive backing. It tends to bunch up. If you persevere, go slow, take your time and check your overlays it goes a lot easier. When I got to the top and applied my electrical tape finishing tape (note Arundel says on the box don't use their finishing tape, it makes a better chain stay protector lol). I noticed I had screwed up at the bottom and had to unwind the tape and start over. When I did this, most of the adhesive backing pulled off, and it went on a lot easier the second time. The tape could be longer. I had to unwind and rewind the tops until I could get the right length. I don't know about durability, but the feel is great and it helped reduce road shock. Before I used gel tape and this stuff works better. Great grip, and no problem holding on with sweaty hands. I think I will make this my go to tape as others have mentioned. You can get three rolls of this for one roll of Lizard Skin. This stuff is just as good. Excellent value for this product. Besides all the problems with the install, it was well worth the effort!

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 1/19/2015
by Anonymous
Louisville, KY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Great stuff

My go-to bar tape. Thick-ish, grippy without being sticky, yet also stays reasonably clean for a long time. And it's better priced than comparable tape. Comfortable under my hands for hours at a time, with and without gloves. I usually buy a few rolls at a time on sale to stock up for my bikes.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/13/2014
by Joe8753
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.
Good cushioning, good wear, good looks

I like the feel, wear, and look of this tape. It's medium thickness, relatively firm, but it provides good cushioning on rough roads. It does not seem to wear out - I replace when I replace cables once a year (I use black tape, so maybe I don't see the wear...). It looks good on my bike - sort of a matte finish that looks better from some of the dull finishes on tapes of similar price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 10/9/2014
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Favorite Handlebar Tape of All Time

Arundel is my favorite handlebar tape that I've ever tried. It has a classy look. It is very tacky and provides good cushion without feeling big and soft. Perhaps the only downsides are that they are a little more expensive than other tape and they wear a little faster than others that I've tried. I still think they are worth the money and will probably only use Arundel. I haven't tried shellacked cotton tape though.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 8/22/2014
by Don
st. Louis
Value Rating
Overall Rating
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.
this tape doesn't seem to last that long. It looks good but wears off quickly

Wears out too quickly. Won't buy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 7/7/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Brooklyn, NY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Surprisingly nice!

I feel as though I've tried every handlebar tape out there, from simple Deda carbon-look to Fizik that super pricey Lizard Skin stuff. I have always trusted my Arundel bottle cage, so I figured why not try it? It's really grippy, not too thick, a solid black with a pleasing texture that feels really secure. Nice all around.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 3/10/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Louisville, KY
Value Rating
Overall Rating
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.
Good, Grippy

Good tape. Long enough, tacky without being sticky, and easy to wrap.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 2/4/2014
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Denver, CO
Value Rating
Overall Rating
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.
Tacky for TT aero bars. Easy to install and tough. Great price.

The price is really low, especially considering the quality. Used on TT aero bars and they are slightly tacky to help with grip. In several hours of use, they are as good as new.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed 11/12/2013
by Mikey
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando, FL
Value Rating
Overall Rating
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.
Great bang for your buck

I had grown fond of the looks and longevity of the Lizard Skins DSP bar tapes. However, I did not grow fond of the price. The Arundel Gecko Grip tape, at 1/4 the price, is every bit as good as Lizard Skins. I can buy 4 or 5 rolls to keep around the garage without feeling guilty about spending too much. I would stretch the time between bar tape changes with Lizard Skins, because it costs so much. My handlebars wold look raggedy! Not any more! With Arundel tape, I change my bar tape when it should be changed. It performs and lasts as long as Lizard Skins, but I do not feel as guilty when it comes time to change the tape. Great stuff and easy to install, once you figure out that you do not stretch it like cork style tapes. Just keep good, even tension all around and it is good to go.

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.

We are committed to delivering outstanding value and service to our customers, every day.
Try us today to see why so many of our customers come back again and again.

*Orders received before 3:00PM Pacific time are shipped the same day (Mon-Sat). Orders over $50
are shipped free (USA only, excluding AK and HI). Some exceptions apply. See Shipping for details. 73

SUBSCRIBE

Want to save on all your Bike Tires Direct purchases? Sign up here for exclusive discount offers.

BikeTiresDirect on Facebook BikeTiresDirect on Instagram BikeTiresDirect on Strava
5741 NE 87th Ave (I-205 exit 23B) Portland, OR 97220 | 503-342-9985 | [email protected]